??!
1 photo
Toyota HiLux MK7.I

Toyota HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)

3.8 from 34 reviews

Reviews

3.8

34 reviews
5
(16)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Courtney

CourtneyHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best car Ive ever owned!

published

The car gets used day to day wether being for travel to work, four wheel driving or long drives it never misses a beat, being well looked after and serviced when need be its never given me any major issues.
Strong engine and just a tough 4x4, would not change it!

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brushy57

Brushy57Perth, WA

Great vehicle

published

Purchased my 05 turbo diesel hilux with 261,000k's on it injectors had been done at 245,000 apart from the usual costs associated with a 14 year old vehicle runs a treat serviced regularly 7500 -10000ks now up to 345,000k's used for work, off the beaten track and towing the tinny wondering how many more k's it will run for?

Purchased in October 2015.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
David R.

David R.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

2008 HiLux 3 litre turbo diesel

published

Purchased in August 2017 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux MK7.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Toyota vehicles are better

published

We only own Toyota vehicles for work and personal use at this time and will only buy Toyota vehicles in the near future!
We find they are more reliable and last a lot longer without repairs or replacing broken items!
They just seem to be better quality and more reliable over a long period of time than other brand vehicles!
Melville Lock Service highly recommend Toyota hilux and other Toyota vehicles!
Mark Berkovic
Melville Lock Service
0408404048

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2000
Drive4WD
Mark M.

Mark M.AU

  • 69 reviews
  • 1 like

Review of our 4 wheel drive

published

We got this 4 wheel drive vehicle last year and it’s great but the leg room is good but one of our 12v sockets don’t work in the Vehicle and we have a tow ball for towing our camper van and a stability control in 4 wheel drive as well and 6 cd stacker player with fm and am radio and good room in back of the 4 wheel drive to put our shopping into and good leg room.and
Seat belts in back are sometimes lock on me it’s annoying

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Drive4WD
Tamika

TamikaBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Tough and Durable

published

We brought the Toyota SR5 in 2005. this purchase has been amazing. The vehicle has always been a strong kicker, had a few minor hiccups but once repaired, no further problems. 13 years later this car has gone through hell being a fleet vehicle. and it is still holding strong, had a few tricky issues with the internal cab fan but again fixed twice and no problems,

This 2005 model will go on forever with expected maintenance for its age.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2005
Drive4WD
troopie1987

troopie1987AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

I will stick with my toyotas.

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2012
Drive4WD
kjpjp

kjpjpBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

2007 SR5 - Issues

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Rob M

Rob M

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Clutch, gearbox and differential design problems.

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
1 comment
Rob M
Rob M
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux MK7.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mick

mick

  • 3 reviews
  • 12 likes

toyota hilux v6 4.0 litre

published

have owned this hilux for the past 9 years and will never ever buy another ute ,only Toyota this ute is a beast has never ever broken down I have done 670,000km and still goes as new never changed clutch , I got no words for the hilux v6 4.0.l such a good ute its a 5 speed manual I use Castrol magnetic oil 10/40 the only problem that I have is the clutch bearing is bit noisy when I realise the clutch pedal but this has been happening for the past 7 years so I don't care it keeps up with v8 this ute is amazing

BadgeSR
Engine Size4.0L V6 Petrol
BodyUte
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
DriveRWD
Philmangione

Philmangione

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Was reliable until the motor ceased

published

I've always been a Toyota man and have had a mix of hilux' and hi-ace's. I owned a 2007 turbo diesel 2x4 hilux, I bought it from a Toyota dealer with 170,000km on the clock. The car was serviced regularly and maintained, it was reliable and drive well up until it hit 200,000km where it decided to cease up on me in the middle of the freeway. The mechanic told me it was from the injectors that leaked and cause the oil sump pickup to clog. Apparently this is a common problem in the 05-07 turbo diesel hilux 's. Since Toyota have moved their manufacturing to Thailand these cars have lost all their reliability and quality. I will never own another Post 2005 hilux again. stay away from the turbo diesels.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
DriveRWD
slimeysideways

slimeysidewaysBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

Unbreakable workhorse

published

I've owned a lot of cars, but my 2005 Hilux SR with optional tradepack, would have to be the best so far. The 5 speed auto is a peach & mated to the 4ltr V6, torque & power are perfectly matched for fuel economy, good interior, ample leg room. It has travelled 245,000Km & is as tight as the day it rolled off the line. I'll keep this one, I don't see the need to replace it. If you're looking for a good reliable, comfortable & practical ute, this is the one.

BadgeSR
Engine Size4.0L V6 Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
DriveRWD
HAPPY

HAPPYHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

2006 series hilux 4wd not a patch on earlier models

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Drive4WD
egg

eggwauchope

Unbreakable

published

I have v6 2006 oct series. hit 300000 kms and have only just changed suspension and springs, im a roofer and has never let me down. mind you I wish Toyota would sell upgraded hilux rather than me having to go to all the trouble of shopping around for accessories. have driven all other types of utes and found them to be rubbish, but lets face it, you will always come across lemons in every make and model, I susppose I was just lucky

Engine Size3.4L V6 Petrol

Extremely durable

published

I am a miner in northern Sweden. We drive mostly Toyota hilux in underground mining to get to workplaces and for service personnel etc. These cars stay underground almost all the time, and we are doing 5-shifts at my workplace. This means that each car has up to 25 different drivers. They run on gravel roads 1000 meter underground in extremely dirty and hard conditions. The slopeways incline 10%. There is never any problems with the hiluxes in our workplace. many of us drive them like they are stolen.

TransmissionManual
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux MK7.I compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jimmy c

Jimmy cNewcastle, New South Wales

Sad hilux

published

I have a 2005 turbo hilux sr5 automatic it's a good truck. But I'm having trouble with it . It stalls at lights it stalls when you are driving slow. You can tell it's about to do it. It gets real rattley and stops it starts up straight away but sometimes you can go for weeks with out a problem .and then it's starts playing up again do anyone know what's wrong with it.
It's a good handling 4wd on road and off road
The air bag light stays on and it rattles on startup and it's stalling

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Danny

DannyGeelong

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable

published

I've had this Hilux from new in late 05 and it's only been back to the dealer once for a recall. The biggest problem with it was the dash clock falling into the dashboard when adjusting it. Oh yes, and the fuel economy isn't great. The 2.7 motor started off at 13l/100km new around town and now it's around 12.2.
Basic, easy to service, comfortable bucket seat, powerful enough.

Engine Size2.7L Petrol
Mr D

Mr DAU

  • 4 reviews

For Work or Play

published

I purchased my 2005 V6 Auto Hilux about 18 months ago with 80000klms, don't let every one tell you that they are thirsty compared to the diesel, it is smooth, quite and not smelly or messy at the fuel bowser and a pleasure to drive, the economy depends on how you drive it, at over $7500 for a diesel injector pump I will stick to a petrol any day, I have also done a fair bit of towing, I love the 5 speed Auto it's a breeze,
Smooth Auto, Powerful V6, Resale Value,
Not as good off-road Standard as there use to be,

TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSR5
Engine Size4.0L V6 Petrol
1 comment
CROCO29
CROCO29
shamus

shamusauckland

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Diesel injectors bad

published
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
2 comments
Serenatopia
Serenatopia

Hi there, thanks for the comment. Is the automatic petrol version has the same problem you mention with the diesel bypassing injector fuel and getting into oil sump?

shamus
shamus

injectors on diesel not like petrol one. Mates hilux gearbox broke a cog and needed expensive repair at 160000km, they very lightly built gearboxes compared to the old model.

Andrew1964

Andrew1964AU

  • 8 reviews

2005 Hilux SR5 4.0 V6 Auto 4 door 5 seat

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeSR5
Engine Size4.0L V6 Petrol
3 comments
CROCO29
CROCO29
Andrew1964
Andrew1964

I read some guy in Melboune sells a bolt on supercharger kit. So the V6 goes from 180 to 280kw and you need touch nothing else!

Andrew1964
Andrew1964

Update- 07/2015 still going strong! only routine servicing required. Still averaging 11-12 /100

Page 1 of 2
See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)

Drivers vinyl grey seat needs replacing of my 2008 Hilux Dual Cab Workmate, wanting to know if the later model seat will fit?
up till what later models?

No answers
frank

frankasked

HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)

what gear should i tow my van with my 4l v6 hilux

No answers
Angus O.

Angus O.asked

HiLux MK7.I (2005-2008)

My drive train light just came on after taking the air filter out

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.