??!
2 photos
Toyota HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

Toyota HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

3.7 from 48 reviews

Reliable ute

My budget for work and family ute was $25,000. This budget was able to choose latest Triton, Colorado or Navarra. And some tells Hilux is overpriced. So I asked lots of question about these utes to my mechanic friend. According to his experience, Toyota was best recommend for me.

I bought ex government hilux from a local dealership. It is 2012hilux Sr dual cab 4x4 3.0d4d. 150,xxx km and full log book serviced.
For 3 month I have driven about 7000km both urban and highway.
4x4 driving few times for off road . Drives smooth.
Cabin inside is very quiet compared with 2018 Isuzu dual cab I did test drive.
Interior it is okay as I already drove Workmate. Wish there is rear aircon duct for kids. Anchor point is ready for babies.
Fuel efficiency is not good but I didn't expect.
For work only, I should single cab. Ute tub is limited uses.
kids love to ride this ute than mum's SUV.

Purchased in February 2019 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

I love ggn15r Hilux It has the 4.0 litre v6 petrol engine

I use my Hulu everyday for work and leisure. The 4 litre v6 engine won't get get you as many KS to a tank as some other double cab utes but when you need the power it is definitely there. It's roomy in the cab and engine bay for changing oil and filters although the rare seats do lack a little space. Bad points are it's rather heavy on fuel and parts are expensive but I guess what is in the these days.. I would definitely recommend these to trades or family's for camping or boat towing.

Purchased in June 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Warranty is questionable

I purchased vehicle in early 2015 last of the 3L diesels. Thought I had made the right decision... vehicle is always serviced and well looked after. At about 15000km it developed a really bad knock in the engine when cold. Told dealer I bought it from “oh this is normal”. Took is for inspection at around 27000km told “ everything is within spec and noise/rattle is from aftermarket exhaust (engine stock apart from this). Put up with this until around 45000km and took to another dealer which had vehicle for 1 week told the same all normal. Ended up getting new injectors noise fixed.... sent injectors to diesel Speacialist and 2 were found to be faulty and out of spec. All these costs were out of my own pocket. Spoke to both dealers were not interested and said because I’ve have got it fixed elsewhere they will not help. Would not recommend these vehicle and really have no idea what to buy next warranty is not worth the paper it’s written in and the dealers either have no idea how to fix or are not interested.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD

Ute

The new model and series is a leap from the last line of hiluxs and With more comfort and technology out into the car it really makes the Ute more better then the last, takes the hits and keeps on moving and that’s what you need in a Ute especially for a tradie

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
DriveFWD

Good workhorse.

Bought 2nd hand when 2 yo and still under warranty and v happy. Enjoy the way it drives and auto is nice to have. No fuss and easy to clean with vinyl floor. Seats comfy and radio reasonably good.
My model doesn't have electronic stability control which I would like as I have needed it a couple of times in wet weather - the truck is deceptively heavy and can lose traction esp in front end.
I have done 110k so far and no problems. Recommend.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Great vehicle to own

I'm a Toyota man. My whole family is. Come to my house and you'll think you're in a Toyota car yard! This is my second lux (2014 SR5 TD dual cab) and I'm very happy with the look, feel and economy. It's my first diesel ever but after I got used to the "noise" I was fine. I get about 600 kms to a tank mostly city/suburban driving. My wife has a horse so she packs the back with her junk. I seldom get to drive it! My first lux was 2006 petrol, dual cab with a hard lid. That was a hassle with camping and carting around the horsey stuff. We sold it to get a Camry for my wife when I retired. This one has a canopy which we both find more useful all around. I've only had it services once per the manual and nothing has gone wrong. I would reccomend in a heartbeat.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD

Id get another

My first 2wd Hilux workmate was a petrol one purchased in 2007. (purchased new for $20500)
The 3l turbo diesel is a much better engine, more torque and power at lower RPM and more economical.
I got if for $26500 brand new in the end of 2014, including heavy duty tray 2550 long and with a tow bar.
its a good plumbers work vehicle.

I do have 2 criticisms though,...the touchscreen Radio/head unit loses its touch function along the lower 10mm band on the bottom of the touch screen,...this happened at only 40,000kms and almost had me changing the unit out (at my cost as vehicle was over 3yrs old) because I couldn't connect my new phone via bluetooth.
It intermittently corrects itself and I was able to input my new phone, but I have since discovered that this is a common fault with this model hilux.

My only other criticism is that my always carrying around at least 5-600kgs of Jetblaster and tool boxes has flattened out the rear leaf springs too much and I'm looking at getting them re-sprung with 3 extra leafs at only 55,000kms.
I was told at the suspension place that this is a common problem with all "1 tonne" utes that are constantly carrying up to or over half a tonne.

For the price and resale value at 5 to 6 years old,...ill probably get another one in 2020

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Good solid ute

Hilux drove well, under powered in today’s market but solid enough to do the job. Comfy to sit In for long drives, road noise quite low, reasonable price to service, fuel useage acceptable being 10lts per 100kms, interior one of if not be best quality as in no rattles or panels coming out over rough roads etc. not the market leader for tech In cab but all in all good vehicle.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Drive4WD

two tray petrol hilux

Best thing i have ever bought.always have had old holdens they told me to test drive one .I was surprised I thought Japanese shot. But I must admit it works hard.it carry heavy loads as good as the holden brakes stops with a load read well.it always has half ton on board it gets 180 ks more out of the same amount of fuel as the old holden. Really happy wouldn't be with out it.it a jap ute but it's good no wonder holden and Ford couldn't compete.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015
DriveRWD

Reliable, never had to fix a thing in 5 years

Bought in 2012 and done 125,000km so far. Not one thing has gone wrong, just had to replace tyres and regular services. I've had other brands and they slowly seem to fall apart. Only draw back is the Toyota doesn't have all the fancy technology like the others. Ride is also rougher but it is a big 4wd and not a car.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Good car bad servicing

Great truck has had air con unit replaced Tx valve replaced GPS unit replaced front leather seat cracked after 40.000 kms
Poor dealer service filters not changed brakes never adjusted air filter never cleaned
Work ticked off and never done consistently
Going to use non dealer servicing so I pay for work actually done
80000kms service done and bad brakes hand brake not working , air filter not cleaned or replaced , guess none of this is part of a $700 plus service

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Safe, practical, fit for purpose and great for towing

I traded an earlier Hilux for a 2012 SR5 to get a 2.5 tonne towing limit for my 2.2 tonne boat. I have done 37,000kms. I also wanted more airbags, more comfort, satnav (importantly has speed zones and advises when exceeding speed limits - excellent) and more safety features. While the SR5 does not have the bling of some other high spec utes, it does everything exactly as it is meant to. It is simply fit for purpose. Towing is very good with electric break away brakes. Handling and braking all good for a ute. Great off road in the bush. Tough. It has never let me down. Best thing I did was add a DP Chip. It made the car run smoother, increased torque and power significantly and improved fuel economy about 10%. The only negatives are the 6 month service intervals (many competitors are 1 year), problems with the satnav and a mobile connecting, and the 2.5 tonne towing limit. I really want a 3 tonne limit to give me a safety margin. The fuel tank is too small for towing so I had to add an extended fuel tank. Added a Water Watch fuel filter as an essential safety measure. My wife is happy driving it!

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Drive4WD

Toyota Hilux Workmate - a very experienced vehicle - one owner but many previous drivers

In April 2017 I bought an automatic 2014 Toyota Hilux Workmate, single cab with an alloy tray. It had done 47,400 kms and was advertised as a one owner vehicle. Shortly after buying the Hilux I discovered it was an ex rental Hertz vehicle. How it had been treated in its previous life is unknown.
To be fair it had been regularly serviced and of course it was very, very clean! It came with a 12 month Warranty so I have plenty of time to discover any hidden problems.
Obviously the Hilux came very experienced with multiple drivers over its 3 years on the road and the tray was evidence it had been well used. To the casual observer it looks to be in very good condition overall. In the cabin it shows evidence of wear and tear but it is 3 years old. I smartened up the interior with a new set of lambs wool seat covers - much more comfortable than the vinyl underneath.
In just over 3 months I have had the Hilux serviced, put on new tyres, a rear vision camera, a mesh screen behind the rear window and additional rails under the tray. Being the base model it definitely needed these extras.
Since being serviced it has behaved extremely well. Starts on the first turn of the key in the ignition and the engine runs very smoothly. I have taken the Hilux into town and it performs very well in traffic. In the paddock I load it up and it has no problem transporting the debris to the bonfire site. It is proving to be extremely useful - my very large wheelbarrow with an engine!
My Hilux is not a sophisticated machine but it does have air con, CD Player, Am & FM Radio and a touch screen. However wind up windows and door locks that require the use of the key was rather retro.
The bottom line of course is it is proving to be very reliable, extremely useful and automatic! The optimistic Used Car salesman said to would do 500,000 kms , no problem As I only plan to do 5000kms per year as it is a second vehicle, so it should last a long time!

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Good not great

Toyota used to mean very, very reliable. Fortunately it still is in this case. 3 litre turbo diesel with a tip tray is a very useful pairing. Plenty of power and of course 4WD and the famous old reliability make this the go-to ute for a great variety of functions.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD

Best auv money can buy

Great truck, never a problem, always reliable,sold my hilux to my sis in law when her merc suv broke down on her,she spent heaps on that car,she absolutely loves my toyota.I've since gone on to buy a 2011 corolla which I love.one day if I get back in some money I'll definitely go for another hilux,their absolutely awesome.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Top class vehicle that drives and performs far better than expected.

I purchased a 2013 2WD Hilux SR single cab, diesel, with 27,000kms on the odometer earlier this year.
I have always been a Toyota man, but I am very impressed with the comfort, the driveability, the roadholding, the build quality, and the outstanding fuel economy of this little work ute.
It's a far cry from earlier models of Hilux (I previously owned a 2004 model), with airbags, central locking, cruise control, bluetooth, and seating that is more than comfortable on long drives.
Doing a 400km trip in the 2004 Hilux wasn't an experience I enjoyed. Doing a 400km trip in this vehicle is something I really look forward to, such is its good roadholding, its turn of speed (120kmh cruise is a doddle), and its great fuel economy.
I regularly achieve under 8.5L/100kms on long runs at highway speeds, and under 8L/100km around the city.
I consider this fuel economy outstanding, as I have fitted a heavy steel tray as well as a Toyota step towbar, and the vehicle weighs 1860kgs empty.
The reliability of the Hilux is yet to be tested, but I see plenty with in excess of 250,000kms on the odometer and still running very well.
The final factor in my choice is the fact that Toyotas always hold their value well, and you can sell a used Toyota in good condition in a very short time, such is their reputation for build quality and reliability.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017
DriveRWD

Toyota will out last the others

The 3ltr 1kd hilux is a good vehicle it may not be the most powerful or have have flash interior but its chassis is well built and strong as is its engine . With a good secondary fuel filter and injector seats and seals replaced regularly you will have no issues. Fuel consumption is not as good as other Utes on the market but it's not bad either, if you find you have poor fuel consumption then your injectors need replacing.
My 2c! /diesel mechanic / done time with Toyota.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012

Awesome car love it

I bought my 2014 model SR auto, diesel in 2014 and have done 55,000km. It gives me 800k out of a 65 liter tank in the city.
U can treat it as rough as u like and it loves it.
They don't have the highest horse power engine but it does me and my 850kg camper trailer just fine.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Is reliable

Got a 2013 sr5 update model. Does everything it supposed to do. Not as fast as some other 4wd's but im happy with it and at the time it was the 2nd cheapest of the popular 4wd's. The gps and reverse camera are a good idea cause im crap at parking and I got no sense of direction

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabExtra Cab
TransmissionManual

Awesome ute. A little primitive compared to other cars in class

Good Tough Work ute, Get about 600 to 650 K's out of 65 litre tank. Dashboard is tacky but simple like the driver. 130,000 k's on clock now. Good size inside. Don't flog it and you don't have problems. Same as all cars. As ute is safety pack the over sized brakes and ABS are awesome. Wrapped and good for another couple years. A good Fourby. After mate bought current shape Hilux and very disappointed, next ute may be a D Max as friends and co workers are very happy with the Izuzu's.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 3

See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

what is mileage on full tank on 2016 2.8 hilux.
No answers

Will the injectors out of a 2016 sr5 hilux fit in.a 2012 sr5?
No answers

what could make a Toyota Hilux making a noise from the top of the engine
No answers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.