??!
2 photos
Toyota HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

Toyota HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

3.7 from 49 reviews

See the Best Utes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
17
4 star
16
3 star
6
2 star
5
1 star
5

Grange

GrangeRockhampton

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good ute

published

I brought a new Hilux twin cab sr5 in 2014 and it was a good ute except the cruise control was very touchy it would kick back even on the slightest of hills but besides that it was a good solid ute with plenty of grunt I had the 4 litre fuel injection petrol motor with 4 speed automatic transmission and it certainly never run out of power, the interior was a bit plasticy and the sat nav dropped in the screen which was fixed under warranty the seats where very comfortable and quite a good ride for a ute . The service was great loan car and capped price services is a good thing all in all a good ute .

Purchased in April 2014 for $51.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bk.S

Bk.SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Reliable ute

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Simon

SimonCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

I love ggn15r Hilux It has the 4.0 litre v6 petrol engine

published

I use my Hulu everyday for work and leisure. The 4 litre v6 engine won't get get you as many KS to a tank as some other double cab utes but when you need the power it is definitely there. It's roomy in the cab and engine bay for changing oil and filters although the rare seats do lack a little space. Bad points are it's rather heavy on fuel and parts are expensive but I guess what is in the these days.. I would definitely recommend these to trades or family's for camping or boat towing.

Purchased in June 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Warranty is questionable

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD

seandouglas

seandouglasSydney

  • 5 reviews

Ute

published

The new model and series is a leap from the last line of hiluxs and With more comfort and technology out into the car it really makes the Ute more better then the last, takes the hits and keeps on moving and that’s what you need in a Ute especially for a tradie

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
DriveFWD

Brad

BradMelb

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good workhorse.

published

Bought 2nd hand when 2 yo and still under warranty and v happy. Enjoy the way it drives and auto is nice to have. No fuss and easy to clean with vinyl floor. Seats comfy and radio reasonably good.
My model doesn't have electronic stability control which I would like as I have needed it a couple of times in wet weather - the truck is deceptively heavy and can lose traction esp in front end.
I have done 110k so far and no problems. Recommend.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Micky O

Micky OGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great vehicle to own

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD

Gunzo

GunzoSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 21 likes

Id get another

published
BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Steve

SteveDalby

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good solid ute

published

Hilux drove well, under powered in today’s market but solid enough to do the job. Comfy to sit In for long drives, road noise quite low, reasonable price to service, fuel useage acceptable being 10lts per 100kms, interior one of if not be best quality as in no rattles or panels coming out over rough roads etc. not the market leader for tech In cab but all in all good vehicle.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Drive4WD
Ian bywaters

Ian bywaters

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

two tray petrol hilux

published

Best thing i have ever bought.always have had old holdens they told me to test drive one .I was surprised I thought Japanese shot. But I must admit it works hard.it carry heavy loads as good as the holden brakes stops with a load read well.it always has half ton on board it gets 180 ks more out of the same amount of fuel as the old holden. Really happy wouldn't be with out it.it a jap ute but it's good no wonder holden and Ford couldn't compete.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015
DriveRWD

goose2001

goose2001Perth, Western Australia

  • 4 reviews
  • 15 likes

Reliable, never had to fix a thing in 5 years

published

Bought in 2012 and done 125,000km so far. Not one thing has gone wrong, just had to replace tyres and regular services. I've had other brands and they slowly seem to fall apart. Only draw back is the Toyota doesn't have all the fancy technology like the others. Ride is also rougher but it is a big 4wd and not a car.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Good car bad servicing

published

Great truck has had air con unit replaced Tx valve replaced GPS unit replaced front leather seat cracked after 40.000 kms
Poor dealer service filters not changed brakes never adjusted air filter never cleaned
Work ticked off and never done consistently
Going to use non dealer servicing so I pay for work actually done
80000kms service done and bad brakes hand brake not working , air filter not cleaned or replaced , guess none of this is part of a $700 plus service

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Fisho

FishoMelbourne, Victoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes

Safe, practical, fit for purpose and great for towing

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Drive4WD

CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Toyota Hilux Workmate - a very experienced vehicle - one owner but many previous drivers

published
BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Martin

Martinyogimoose@aol.com

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good not great

published

Toyota used to mean very, very reliable. Fortunately it still is in this case. 3 litre turbo diesel with a tip tray is a very useful pairing. Plenty of power and of course 4WD and the famous old reliability make this the go-to ute for a great variety of functions.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
robert

robert

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best auv money can buy

published

Great truck, never a problem, always reliable,sold my hilux to my sis in law when her merc suv broke down on her,she spent heaps on that car,she absolutely loves my toyota.I've since gone on to buy a 2011 corolla which I love.one day if I get back in some money I'll definitely go for another hilux,their absolutely awesome.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

onetrack

onetrackPerth, WA

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

Top class vehicle that drives and performs far better than expected.

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017
DriveRWD

Toyota will out last the others

published

The 3ltr 1kd hilux is a good vehicle it may not be the most powerful or have have flash interior but its chassis is well built and strong as is its engine . With a good secondary fuel filter and injector seats and seals replaced regularly you will have no issues. Fuel consumption is not as good as other Utes on the market but it's not bad either, if you find you have poor fuel consumption then your injectors need replacing.
My 2c! /diesel mechanic / done time with Toyota.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012

Awesome car love it

published

I bought my 2014 model SR auto, diesel in 2014 and have done 55,000km. It gives me 800k out of a 65 liter tank in the city.
U can treat it as rough as u like and it loves it.
They don't have the highest horse power engine but it does me and my 850kg camper trailer just fine.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Is reliable

published

Got a 2013 sr5 update model. Does everything it supposed to do. Not as fast as some other 4wd's but im happy with it and at the time it was the 2nd cheapest of the popular 4wd's. The gps and reverse camera are a good idea cause im crap at parking and I got no sense of direction

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabExtra Cab
TransmissionManual

Page 1 of 3

See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

john doe

john doeasked

what is mileage on full tank on 2016 2.8 hilux.

1 answer
Lib
Lib

900 km per 64 litre tank


Kenny

Kennyasked

Will the injectors out of a 2016 sr5 hilux fit in.a 2012 sr5?

No answers

ibrash

ibrashasked

what could make a Toyota Hilux making a noise from the top of the engine

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryUtes
Replaced byToyota HiLux MK8.I (2015-Present)
Compare all Toyota HiLux

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.