??!
2 photos
Toyota HiLux MK7.III

Toyota HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

3.8 from 51 reviews

Reviews

3.8

51 reviews
5
(19)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (4)
  • Handling
    4.4 (5)
  • Braking
    4.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Features
    3.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Sean

SeanSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car I ever owned

published

I bought my SR5 in 2014 done 223,000 some very long drives from Karratha WA to Perth WA and Sidney NSW to Tom Price WA with hotshots for mines. Car never give me any trouble just basic services and tyres. Never have done brakes on it. Drives much the same as the day I got it. Highly recommend the SR5 never let me down.

Purchased in September 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Samuel C.

Samuel C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

7 Years & 220,000KM - Zero Issues!

published

Purchased our current Hilux new in 2013 and as of January 2020, still own it with no plans to sell. Have done 220,000km in that time and have only done standard servicing in that time - nothing has failed and we have had zero breakdowns.

Is it the best or most capable 4wd on the market? No, but it has been outstandingly reliable for us with a mix of daily driving, dirt roads, offroad touring, towing a van, beach driving and more.

Keep up the servicing and they are a tough little unit!

Purchased in June 2013 for A$42,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Grange

GrangeRockhampton

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good ute

published

I brought a new Hilux twin cab sr5 in 2014 and it was a good ute except the cruise control was very touchy it would kick back even on the slightest of hills but besides that it was a good solid ute with plenty of grunt I had the 4 litre fuel injection petrol motor with 4 speed automatic transmission and it certainly never run out of power, the interior was a bit plasticy and the sat nav dropped in the screen which was fixed under warranty the seats where very comfortable and quite a good ride for a ute . The service was great loan car and capped price services is a good thing all in all a good ute .

Purchased in April 2014 for A$51.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux MK7.III compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bk.S

Bk.SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable ute

published

Purchased in February 2019 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Simon

SimonCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

I love ggn15r Hilux It has the 4.0 litre v6 petrol engine

published

I use my Hulu everyday for work and leisure. The 4 litre v6 engine won't get get you as many KS to a tank as some other double cab utes but when you need the power it is definitely there. It's roomy in the cab and engine bay for changing oil and filters although the rare seats do lack a little space. Bad points are it's rather heavy on fuel and parts are expensive but I guess what is in the these days.. I would definitely recommend these to trades or family's for camping or boat towing.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Warranty is questionable

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDouble Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Drive4WD
seandouglas

seandouglasSydney

  • 5 reviews

Ute

published

The new model and series is a leap from the last line of hiluxs and With more comfort and technology out into the car it really makes the Ute more better then the last, takes the hits and keeps on moving and that’s what you need in a Ute especially for a tradie

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
DriveFWD
Brad

BradMelb

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Good workhorse.

published

Bought 2nd hand when 2 yo and still under warranty and v happy. Enjoy the way it drives and auto is nice to have. No fuss and easy to clean with vinyl floor. Seats comfy and radio reasonably good.
My model doesn't have electronic stability control which I would like as I have needed it a couple of times in wet weather - the truck is deceptively heavy and can lose traction esp in front end.
I have done 110k so far and no problems. Recommend.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Micky O

Micky OGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great vehicle to own

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux MK7.III compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gunzo

GunzoSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 21 likes

Id get another

published
BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Steve

SteveDalby

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good solid ute

published

Hilux drove well, under powered in today’s market but solid enough to do the job. Comfy to sit In for long drives, road noise quite low, reasonable price to service, fuel useage acceptable being 10lts per 100kms, interior one of if not be best quality as in no rattles or panels coming out over rough roads etc. not the market leader for tech In cab but all in all good vehicle.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Drive4WD
Ian bywaters

Ian bywaters

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

two tray petrol hilux

published

Best thing i have ever bought.always have had old holdens they told me to test drive one .I was surprised I thought Japanese shot. But I must admit it works hard.it carry heavy loads as good as the holden brakes stops with a load read well.it always has half ton on board it gets 180 ks more out of the same amount of fuel as the old holden. Really happy wouldn't be with out it.it a Japanese ute but it's good no wonder holden and Ford couldn't compete.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015
DriveRWD
goose2001

goose2001Perth, Western Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 15 likes

Reliable, never had to fix a thing in 5 years

published

Bought in 2012 and done 125,000km so far. Not one thing has gone wrong, just had to replace tyres and regular services. I've had other brands and they slowly seem to fall apart. Only draw back is the Toyota doesn't have all the fancy technology like the others. Ride is also rougher but it is a big 4wd and not a car.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Good car bad servicing

published

Great truck has had air con unit replaced Tx valve replaced GPS unit replaced front leather seat cracked after 40.000 kms
Poor dealer service filters not changed brakes never adjusted air filter never cleaned
Work ticked off and never done consistently
Going to use non dealer servicing so I pay for work actually done
80000kms service done and bad brakes hand brake not working , air filter not cleaned or replaced , guess none of this is part of a $700 plus service

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Fisho

FishoMelbourne, Victoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 16 likes

Safe, practical, fit for purpose and great for towing

published
BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Drive4WD
Utes

Find out how Toyota HiLux MK7.III compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

Toyota Hilux Workmate - a very experienced vehicle - one owner but many previous drivers

published
BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size2.7L Petrol
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Martin

Martinyogimoose@aol.com

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good not great

published

Toyota used to mean very, very reliable. Fortunately it still is in this case. 3 litre turbo diesel with a tip tray is a very useful pairing. Plenty of power and of course 4WD and the famous old reliability make this the go-to ute for a great variety of functions.

BadgeWorkmate
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Drive4WD
robert

robertGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Best auv money can buy

published

Great truck, never a problem, always reliable,sold my hilux to my sis in law when her merc suv broke down on her,she spent heaps on that car,she absolutely loves my toyota.I've since gone on to buy a 2011 corolla which I love.one day if I get back in some money I'll definitely go for another hilux,their absolutely awesome.

BadgeSR5
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
onetrack

onetrackPerth, WA

  • 24 reviews
  • 13 likes

Top class vehicle that drives and performs far better than expected.

published
BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Turbo-Diesel
BodyCab Chassis
CabSingle Cab
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2017
DriveRWD

Toyota will out last the others

published

The 3ltr 1kd hilux is a good vehicle it may not be the most powerful or have have flash interior but its chassis is well built and strong as is its engine . With a good secondary fuel filter and injector seats and seals replaced regularly you will have no issues. Fuel consumption is not as good as other Utes on the market but it's not bad either, if you find you have poor fuel consumption then your injectors need replacing.
My 2c! /diesel mechanic / done time with Toyota.

BadgeSR
Engine Size3.0L Diesel
BodyUte
CabDual Cab
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
Page 1 of 3
See all Toyota HiLux reviews

Questions & Answers

Khan.D

Khan.Dasked

HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

Would a 2019 sports bar fit a 2012 hilux duel cab ?

1 answer
Bill Z.
Bill Z.

I would think not. But can't be sure 100%

Melissa H.

Melissa H.asked

HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

Will a 2014 model Toyota Hilux Bullbar fit a 2016 model Toyota Hilux

1 answer
Sean
Sean

I don’t believe so because of a model update and extra air bags ring your local dealer service department

Allan.A

Allan.Aasked

HiLux MK7.III (2011-2015)

what is the noise level reading inside a single cab Hilux diesel at 100 kph

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.