9 photos
Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol

Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol 2020 and Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol 2022. Grande, GXL, GX
3.8 from 10 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

3.8
10 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (5)
  • Handling
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (5)
  • Features
    2.6 (5)
Previous
Next
ChrisC
ChrisCGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Dumped it within the first year

published

Underpowered, under optioned, uneconomical, worst car I have ever owned and couldn’t wait to get rid of it before it’s one year anniversary. Dealer couldn’t even provide matching floor mats.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Flairs
FlairsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

The Seats are a real big disappointment, The Dealership was not very helpful after the deal was signed

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Angelo
AngeloSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Nearly excellent

published

A great all round car. I would have given it a 5 stars if only it tech was updated to meet it competitors. They need to introduce apple car play to get the rating. But I am lead to believe they will offer an upgrade soon.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike
MikeSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Classy, beautiful and reliable

published

Very reliable classy car for all your daily commutes. It has every function you need. Smooth running. Attractive and everyone comments on that with you. Strong safe but cosy. Service program is well organised.

Purchased in February 2018 at Western Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
The Lounge Lizard
The Lounge LizardDarwin, NT
  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

The car I said I would never buy

published

i have just bought a Kluger, the car I said I would never buy- but I am glad I did. My deal breaker on a new car was a full size spare tyre- that gets rid of about 80% of the possibilities.

Having owned 4WDs for most of my life, Including most recently a 120 series Prado, I realised that I had not done any serious off-roading for a long time, nor was I likely to. But I still wanted reliability, room to move and that full size spare- enter Kluger. A good looking car these days especially in Crystal Pearl and enough mumbo to make highway travel a breeze. The recent update has the Kluger swarming with safety feature. The only one I am not sure about is adaptive cruise control.

Early days but this is very easy to live with.

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
sophieleilua21
sophieleilua21Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Amazing family car

published

I use this car mainly for family transport, my everyday car. It has cotton service once as we just purchased it just over 6 months now which Toyota does every 6 months

Purchased in November 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
pjw304
pjw304Murrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

LOVE this beautiful vehicle!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD
Jane S
Jane SAU
  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good Car, solid engine, but missing key features

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
DriveAWD
S.G
S.GAdelaide
  • 12 reviews

Fantastic car!!

published

I’m absolutely in love with the 2018 kluger!!! I had it on hire for a month or two a few months ago and I must say it’s by far the most fancy four wheel drive I’ve ever driven. I’d highly recommend it to anybody with a large family as they have fold away back extra seats as well!!

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
DriveAWD
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nic f
nic fmelbourne
  • 7 reviews

Amazing!

published

Smooth drive and very well thought of interior! The purchasing process was made extremely easy through Patterson Cheney Dandenong. The Kluger is very spacious and great for long drives. I would highly recommend the Kluger to anyone who has a large family or owns dogs. The middle console is my favourite due to the large space it provides.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
See all Toyota Kluger reviews

Questions & Answers

Phan
Phanasked
Kluger AWD Petrol GX (2014-2021)

Can open and close window by key on Toyota Kluger GX 2018?

Thanks

No answers
See all Toyota Kluger questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Kluger AWD Petrol (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy20" Chromtec18" Alloy
Doors 444
Seats 777
Fuel Consumption8.8 L/100km8.9 L/100km8.8 L/100km
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Engine Code2GR-FKS2GR-FKS2GR-FKS
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm
Boot Capacity241 L241 L241 L
Phone ConnectivityAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and Bluetooth
Wireless ChargerNoNoNo
Security FeaturesImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizer
RoofPanoramic Glass
Steering Wheel AdjustmentTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/Down
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Headlights
TypeLEDLEDLED
Headlight FeaturesAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/Off
Safety Features
CamerasRearRearRear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and Rear
Hazard PerceptionBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision Warning
Lane AssistanceLane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
Speed Sign RecognitionYes, read onlyYes, read onlyYes, read only
Dimensions
Kerb Weight1,970 kg2,045 kg1,970 kg
Ground Clearance208 mm208 mm208 mm
Driver Information
GaugesAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and Digital
Built-In Navigation SystemYesYesNo
Heads Up DisplayNoNoNo
Voice ControlNoNoNo
Digital Radio (DAB+)YesYesYes
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.