27 photos
Toyota Kluger

Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger 2020 and Toyota Kluger 2022. AWD, 2WD
4.1 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

4.1
18 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (10)
  • Braking
    4.6 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.1 (9)
  • Handling
    4.1 (9)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (9)
  • Features
    3.6 (9)
Previous
Next
wed_1
wed_1Sydney
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

There's a reason you see them everywhere!

published

We were in the market for a larger family car which had 7 seats and a petrol engine. After looking around we found the Kluger to be the best fit what we needed.

We have owned the vehicle for 9 months and I have no regrets about the purchase. We can easily fit 3 car seats and the kids have alot of legroom in the second row.

Fuel economy around town is a little average at about 15 L/100kms but that can be expected with a heavy car.

Fuel economy on the highway has surprised me though, getting down to as low as 8 L/100km.

Purchased in November 2020 at Toyota Dealers for $58,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
ChrisC
ChrisCGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Dumped it within the first year

published

Underpowered, under optioned, uneconomical, worst car I have ever owned and couldn’t wait to get rid of it before it’s one year anniversary. Dealer couldn’t even provide matching floor mats.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pedro L.
Pedro L.
  • 2 reviews

Dream

published

What a truly exceptional car to drive, super spacious, powerful and reliable. I cannot fault this vehicle. It’s always a pleasure to drive with so much room in the cargo area for camping

Purchased in January 2017 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Flairs
FlairsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

The Seats are a real big disappointment, The Dealership was not very helpful after the deal was signed

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $69,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Angelo
AngeloSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Nearly excellent

published

A great all round car. I would have given it a 5 stars if only it tech was updated to meet it competitors. They need to introduce apple car play to get the rating. But I am lead to believe they will offer an upgrade soon.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Nader
NaderGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Very good car suitable for families

published

very good family car , It has a bit high fuel consumption ,rather than that it is amazing, very smooth ,bought it use same year, no issues or complains at all

Purchased in June 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mike
MikeSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Classy, beautiful and reliable

published

Very reliable classy car for all your daily commutes. It has every function you need. Smooth running. Attractive and everyone comments on that with you. Strong safe but cosy. Service program is well organised.

Purchased in February 2018 at Western Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
The Lounge Lizard
The Lounge LizardDarwin, NT
  • 6 reviews
  • 11 likes

The car I said I would never buy

published

i have just bought a Kluger, the car I said I would never buy- but I am glad I did. My deal breaker on a new car was a full size spare tyre- that gets rid of about 80% of the possibilities.

Having owned 4WDs for most of my life, Including most recently a 120 series Prado, I realised that I had not done any serious off-roading for a long time, nor was I likely to. But I still wanted reliability, room to move and that full size spare- enter Kluger. A good looking car these days especially in Crystal Pearl and enough mumbo to make highway travel a breeze. The recent update has the Kluger swarming with safety feature. The only one I am not sure about is adaptive cruise control.

Early days but this is very easy to live with.

Ian
IanPalmerston, NT
  • 4 reviews

Great family wagon

published

Car gets used every day and is comfortable and reliable. It is used around town and on the freeway. It fits our family of seven with ease and I recommend it over other family rigs.

Purchased in May 2015 at Peter Kittle Motor for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sophieleilua21
sophieleilua21Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Amazing family car

published

I use this car mainly for family transport, my everyday car. It has cotton service once as we just purchased it just over 6 months now which Toyota does every 6 months

Purchased in November 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sean
SeanSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Very reliable performance and excellent driving experience

published

- Commuting, family transport and school pickup
- Daily driving around 30 ~ 50 km
- Half-yearly service at a fixed price $180
- But a bit high fuel consumption 12.8 liter for 100 km

Purchased in December 2015 for $41,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gillian
GillianHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed with key quality and warranty

published

Purchased this car new in Jan 2018 - in Feb 2019 the key broke - it just opened and the inside computerised piece fell out ( could not find it ) - the car is still under warranty and yet I had to pay $245 for a repair . There was not a mark on the key itself - so the fault was not mine .I have never had this problem with any key before. Extremely disappointed in the service dept at the Toyota dealership that they don't warrant their faulty key.

Purchased in March 2019.

Incentivised Review No
Year2017
pjw304
pjw304Murrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

LOVE this beautiful vehicle!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD
Jane S
Jane SAU
  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good Car, solid engine, but missing key features

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
DriveAWD
S.G
S.GAdelaide
  • 12 reviews

Fantastic car!!

published

I’m absolutely in love with the 2018 kluger!!! I had it on hire for a month or two a few months ago and I must say it’s by far the most fancy four wheel drive I’ve ever driven. I’d highly recommend it to anybody with a large family as they have fold away back extra seats as well!!

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
DriveAWD
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how Toyota Kluger compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Waldo
Waldoasked
Kluger (2014-2021)

Is there another fuse box in a 2018 kluger apart from the one in the engine bay have looked everywhere

No answers
Prue
Prueasked
Kluger (2014-2021)

Has anyone had a Kluger that’s dash began squeaking? This is a new kluger 11000km. Two squeaks in different spots along the dash. I can not stand it to the point I feel like returning it to Toyota for a refund.
If the dealership looks for the squeaks how will they do it?
If it involves pulling the dash apart I think it will just cause more noise.
Also there is a slight rattle in the drivers door. I swear I need ear plugs to drive it so it doesn’t irritate me

No answers
Bryce
Bryceasked
Kluger (2014-2021)

Do the new Toyota Kluger's have the same oil clogging problems as the previous models

No answers
See all Toyota Kluger (2014-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)

Details

Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Chromtec18" Alloy
Doors 4444
Seats 7777
Fuel Consumption8.7 L/100km8.7 L/100km8.7 L/100km8.8 L/100km
Engine6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L6 Cylinder 3.5L
Engine Code2GR-FKS2GR-FKS2GR-FKS2GR-FKS
Max Power218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm218kW @ 6600rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm350Nm @ 4700rpm
Boot Capacity241 L241 L241 L241 L
Phone ConnectivityAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and BluetoothAndroid Auto (Wired), Apple CarPlay (Wired) and Bluetooth
Wireless ChargerNoNoNoNo
Security FeaturesImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizerImmobilizer
RoofPanoramic Glass
Steering Wheel AdjustmentTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/DownTelescoping (Manual) and Up/Down
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Headlights
TypeLEDLEDLEDLED
Headlight FeaturesAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/OffAutomatic On/Off
Safety Features
CamerasRearRearRearRear
Cruise ControlAdaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)Adaptive (ACC)
Parking SensorsCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and RearCross-Traffic Alert (Rear), Front and Rear
Hazard PerceptionBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision WarningBlind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Forward Collision Warning
Lane AssistanceLane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
Speed Sign RecognitionYes, read onlyYes, read onlyYes, read onlyYes, read only
Dimensions
Kerb Weight1,885 kg1,885 kg1,955 kg1,970 kg
Ground Clearance208 mm208 mm208 mm208 mm
Driver Information
GaugesAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and DigitalAnalogue and Digital
Built-In Navigation SystemYesNoYesYes
Heads Up DisplayNoNoNoNo
Voice ControlNoNoNoNo
Digital Radio (DAB+)YesYesYesYes
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014Jan 2014
Compare all 9 Toyota Kluger (2014-2021)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.