??!
3 photos
Toyota Kluger GSU50R

Toyota Kluger GSU50R (2014-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota Kluger GSU50R 2019 and Toyota Kluger GSU50R 2021. GX, GXL, Grande
4.5 from 70 reviews

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(43)
(20)
(5)
(0)
(2)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (7)

Nader

NaderGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very good car suitable for families

published

very good family car , It has a bit high fuel consumption ,rather than that it is amazing, very smooth ,bought it use same year, no issues or complains at all

Purchased in June 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

JQ33

JQ33Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable

published

I bought it 2nd hand and it has been great for me. No problems at all not even minor ones. As long as you service it regularly these Toyota cars will never give issues

Purchased in April 2015 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Mike

MikeSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Classy, beautiful and reliable

published

Very reliable classy car for all your daily commutes. It has every function you need. Smooth running. Attractive and everyone comments on that with you. Strong safe but cosy. Service program is well organised.

Purchased in February 2018 at Western Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Louise085

Louise085Launceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Brilliant family SUV

published

I upgraded from a BMW 320i when I had my second baby and don’t know how I coped with such a small car for so long!
The kluger is basic but still stylish and very practical.

It has 5 seats with the option of 2 more in the far rear. Air conditioning reached right to the back and can be turned off if not needed back there.

I’m sitting at around 9.5L / 100 kms which is high but good for a big car. From empty it’s around 80-90 dollars to fill.

Servicing sits around 180-200 and so far I have had no issues.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The Lounge Lizard

The Lounge LizardDarwin, NT

  • 6 reviews

The car I said I would never buy

published

i have just bought a Kluger, the car I said I would never buy- but I am glad I did. My deal breaker on a new car was a full size spare tyre- that gets rid of about 80% of the possibilities.

Having owned 4WDs for most of my life, Including most recently a 120 series Prado, I realised that I had not done any serious off-roading for a long time, nor was I likely to. But I still wanted reliability, room to move and that full size spare- enter Kluger. A good looking car these days especially in Crystal Pearl and enough mumbo to make highway travel a breeze. The recent update has the Kluger swarming with safety feature. The only one I am not sure about is adaptive cruise control.

Early days but this is very easy to live with.


Ian

IanPalmerston, NT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family wagon

published

Car gets used every day and is comfortable and reliable. It is used around town and on the freeway. It fits our family of seven with ease and I recommend it over other family rigs.

Purchased in May 2015 at Peter Kittle Motor for $70,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Michael10

Michael10Northern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not for me.

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Year2018

sophieleilua21

sophieleilua21Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Amazing family car

published

I use this car mainly for family transport, my everyday car. It has cotton service once as we just purchased it just over 6 months now which Toyota does every 6 months

Purchased in November 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sean

SeanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very reliable performance and excellent driving experience

published

- Commuting, family transport and school pickup
- Daily driving around 30 ~ 50 km
- Half-yearly service at a fixed price $180
- But a bit high fuel consumption 12.8 liter for 100 km

Purchased in December 2015 for $41,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gillian

GillianHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed with key quality and warranty

published

Purchased this car new in Jan 2018 - in Feb 2019 the key broke - it just opened and the inside computerised piece fell out ( could not find it ) - the car is still under warranty and yet I had to pay $245 for a repair . There was not a mark on the key itself - so the fault was not mine .I have never had this problem with any key before. Extremely disappointed in the service dept at the Toyota dealership that they don't warrant their faulty key.

Purchased in March 2019.

Year2017

pjw304

pjw304Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

LOVE this beautiful vehicle!

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveAWD

Jane S

Jane SAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good Car, solid engine, but missing key features

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
DriveAWD

S.G

S.GAdelaide

  • 12 reviews

Fantastic car!!

published

I’m absolutely in love with the 2018 kluger!!! I had it on hire for a month or two a few months ago and I must say it’s by far the most fancy four wheel drive I’ve ever driven. I’d highly recommend it to anybody with a large family as they have fold away back extra seats as well!!

BadgeGrande
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
DriveAWD

Yousuf

YousufKellyville NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good practical design inside out

published

We mainly use this car for family vehicle is beautifully design with immense sense of practicality. ride is super smooth if runs on premium unleaded engine is so quite however 8 speed gearbox needs bit improvement shifting is not as seamless as the previous 6 speed gearbox but it still helps you save on fuel , it also makes you feel that car is being driven in big gear at low speed with low revs.

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
DriveFWD
nic f

nic fmelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Amazing!

published

Smooth drive and very well thought of interior! The purchasing process was made extremely easy through Patterson Cheney Dandenong. The Kluger is very spacious and great for long drives. I would highly recommend the Kluger to anyone who has a large family or owns dogs. The middle console is my favourite due to the large space it provides.

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD
Nadene

NadeneSandy beach

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Toyota Kruger 2017

published

I Never ever would of thought I would of bought a Kluger!
But I Love Love Love it, it’s so smooth to drive there is so much room for the kids I the back and I can fit nearly everything in the car because all the seats lie flat!
I highly Recommend this car to everyone with a Family!

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
DriveRWD

Tiff1971

Tiff1971South East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great spacious, reliable family car

published
BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

AYam

AYamNSW, 2125

  • 15 reviews

Best Car I ever owned

published
BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Michael

MichaelBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Beautiful car

published

I bought this card in March 2018 and it drives like a treat, it doesn't sit ridiculously high like some SUVs so my wife can easily move our baby in and out of the back seat. It has grunt when needed but if you're happy to drive gently the economy is very good (around 10L/100km on avg).

BadgeGX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Rhiannon

RhiannonBenalla

  • 5 reviews

I love this car, highly recommend

published

I love driving my car now, I brought a new car for a family car, it is perfect for car seat installation with isofix, beautiful car to drive and it’s a big car but doesn’t feel big to drive, my parter is 6ft 4 and there is plenty of leg room even with a car seat behind the passenger seat, love the leather interior

BadgeGXL
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Belinda H.

Belinda H.asked

Was there a RWD model, at all? I don't want to drive a FWD vehicle. Otherwise the kluge is perfect for us, but it is FWD.

2 answers
Mike
Mike

I believe the standard model is.

Belinda H.
Belinda H.

No MIke it isn't it is a FWD, with an on demand AWD.


steve

steveasked

i wanto kno why the kluger 2019 gear box changes gear all the time

No answers

Thil

Thilasked

How is the fuel consumption in the 2019 GXL AWD model?

2 answers
Nader
Nader

8.5 km per 1 litre

Thil
Thil

Thanks


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.