?
? !
9 photos
Toyota Tarago
4.4 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.4

61 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (5)
  • Braking
    4.5 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.3 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.8 (4)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (4)
  • Features
    4.5 (4)
Previous
Next
Chris B.

Chris B.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Road Trip Van

published

Fantastic vehicle for the family to tour the country. Has never let us down and gets good fuel economy 9l/100km. I have over 260,000 km and it still runs perfect just with minor maintenance ie oil changes and filters.

Purchased in August 2015 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
graemec

graemecCootamundra

  • 4 reviews

2006 Toyota Estima V6 G Edition

published

Purchased in April 2020 at SUN ORIGIN MOTORS.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Banyek

BanyekWestern Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Looks better than it is.

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rahul

RahulHunter Region, NSW

This vehicle is truly a great design

published

I have had this car from 2013 to 2020, never had a single issue apart from changing the headlight lamp twice. As far as you service (oil and oil filter, brake pads) this vehicle on time, it lasts forever

Purchased in November 2003.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris D

Chris DIllawarra, NSW

Awesome car - 2008 Toyota Estima V6 Aeras 3.5L

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Best People Movers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
review123

review123

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Toyota Tough

published
BadgeGLX
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
FastTurtle

FastTurtleMelbourne

  • 26 reviews
  • 17 likes

Best vehicle I've owned so far. 2006 Estima 3.5 V6, AWD, 8 seater

published
BadgeEstima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
F. Fuller

F. FullerMareeba

  • 2 reviews

A disappointing cramped fuel guzzler

published

We upgraded from an older Toyota Hiace Super custom to the 2014 Tarago. we have 6 kids and I knew from the start it was too small but went against my gut and now regret it. 8 seats yes but don’t expect to fit a realistic family of 8 comfortably. 2 adults, 2 teenage boys and 4 younger kids and no one is happy.
Add the terrible fuel consumption of the 4 cylinder and it’s a big regret on my part.
For a smaller say 4 kid family zipping around the suburbs it probably do fine but a big family

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Trollman

TrollmanSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great and durable car!

published

Driving experience is great! Very smooth and great if your looking for a family car. I suggest if your looking for a car with better interior designs but less durability, get the Nissan Elgrand. Reliability is great and is cheap for its price. Servicing is cheap since the parts are basically everywhere

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
edwink

edwinkSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Family workhorse for over 20 yrs and still going strong

published

They say Toyotas last for ever and from my experience it has always been true. I also own an 90s corolla and both vehicles have out lasted the delivery trips from bunnings, road trips with the kids around Australia, up the snowys, etc. Performance is impeccable. Love the space in the vechiles. Love the rounded look on mine, i am confident it will keep going for another 20 yrs.

BadgeGetaway II
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 1998
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vickie R

Vickie RSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect Family car

published

This is a great family car, drives very smoothly and noise is limited. The dashboard and interior are quite nice but now out-dated compared to other cars. There is a lot of leg room for the front two rows but a bit squishy at the back. It is not heavy on fuel which is + and is quite affordable to run it but we do have another car. It is a beautiful family car, with it seating so many people and looking so good.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emrah

EmrahBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

I absolutely love it

published

last year I bought estima Aera g Edition. Very smooth Light interiror. ITs very elegant car. you feel like you are driving 2010 car. The engine is very storng and this model has a lot of features. Automatic doors. Moveble seats. Both windows at the back roll down. Its much better than tarago.

BadgeG edition
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
graemec

graemecCootamundra

  • 4 reviews

2005 Toyota Estima MCR30 V6 Premium

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
BadgeAeras Premium
Engine Size3.0ltr
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dan B

Dan BGold Coast

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great van for camping or families

published

Very smooth car. Also, very efficient with the gas. lots of interior space. the engine is definitely big enough for its size. You can take the seats out and have lots of room for moving furniture or even for camping. taking the middle seats off is not that easy though. overly, happy with the car.

BadgeGLS
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lin

lin

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

This is a good car. stable, quiet and easy to drive.

published

I have 3 pp mover. 1st is tarago, 2nd odyssey, 3rd elgrand. Tarago is a good choice.
I did drive tarago 10 yrs. seldom got problems. No main problem.
Stable, Elgrand>tarago> odyssey.
quiet, tarago>elgrand>odyssey.
cheapest running cost. tarago > elgrand 2.5 > odyssey.
Price cheapest. Odyssey> tarago> elgrand 2.5.
cabin space tarago 7 seat > elgrand 2.5> odyssey.

BadgeGLX
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2005
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
People Movers

Find out how Toyota Tarago compares to other People Movers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
fstee6

fstee6Miles

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best ever!!!

published

The seven seat Tarago Ultima is the most amazing car. The flexibility of the seating arrangement / storage area is fantastic. You can even comfortably sleep in it if need be. From the kids point of view the best aspect of the car is the leg rests that come up from the two seats in the middle row. It is an extremely powerful and smooth car to drive and guest (friends) that drive the car comment on how great it is. Very economical even though you can only use premium unleaded petrol in it. There is nothing that I could question with this vehicle. It is superb!!

BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fostering 6

Fostering 6MILTON

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

A true thoroughbred.

published

My most trusted and appreciated possession. Purchased with 230000k's on the clock, now has just under 400000. It just goes and goes and goes with minimal attention. I have had 100s of kids in this car and although its looking a bit tired and worn inside, the airconditioning still works beautifully, the seats are still comfy and the engine just purrs along. My teenage son has requested it be handed down to him if I replace it so it must have some street cred too! Honestly, the best purchase I ever made. Would buy another in a flash.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarah61

Sarah61AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

A fantastic car!

published

I bought the 2005 3L estima for my growing family and business. This vehicle is comfortable, modern and the designers anticipated every need I could have thought of. When I got it I thought it would feel insecure to drive, it's so tall! But instead it is a solid, secure and well balanced power/manoeuvrability drive. The extra space inside allows easy travel from the front to the back seats, great for young families, and there's heaps of boot space.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SandyS

SandySMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for family day outings!

published
BadgeUltima
Engine Size3.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bashar

BasharFairfield West

No Lumbar support ,2 fake A/C outlets at back

published

Great to drive but not economic to run ,couple of my friends convert the van into LPG. I use the van as maxi Taxi my average spending is $55 .
When my friends converred into LPG the average went into $35. The coast to convert the van is around $4000.

BadgeGLi
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Graham W

Graham Wasked

Tarago

I am looking at either a Toyota Tarago Ultima v6 or a Toyota Estima v6.

I would prefer a AWD Estima v6 with 8 airbags. These appear to be very rare.
The Tarago was never sold here with AWD.

The biggest concern I have with the Toyota Estima is the lack of rear airbag protection and no side airbags for the front passengers. It appears that 90% of Estimas imported to Australia only have 2 front airbags.

All v6 Taragos came with 7 airbags from 2006. All 4 cylinder Taragos came with 7 airbags from 2011.

It seems crazy to me to buy a people mover (designed for 7 or 8 people) with no airbag protection for the rear passengers in 2021.

Thoughts?

No answers
Brooke b.

Brooke b.asked

Tarago

I just brought a 2000 model and it's leaking petrol it's pouring under driver side

No answers
Max M.

Max M.asked

Tarago

How long should it take to r&r drivers side rear sliding door on a 2008

1 answer
Chris B.
Chris B.

I'm thinking about an hour and a half. If it electric opening maybe an extra 30 minutes

See all Toyota Tarago questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota Tarago

Other People Movers

Previous
Next

See all People Movers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.