??!
1 photo
Vellux Blanket

Vellux Blanket

2.1 from 43 reviews

Reviews

2.1

43 reviews
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(26)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (6)
  • Product Quality
    2.5 (8)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Turns to mush in your washer

published

My Vellux blanket DISINTEGRATED in my washer. These blankets are touted to become softer with washing, but just turn to mush for you to scoop out of your washer. Do NOT buy.

Purchased in September 2018 for A$50.00.

Value for Money
Product Quality
Comfort

My blanket fell apart

published

Washed king size. As instructions it now a pile of puffy stuff in trash can. It made a mess and we on a septic field. Would not recommend this blanket.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$19.99.

Value for Money
Product Quality
Comfort
shopper98

shopper98AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not a great example

published

Washed according to directions, cold short wash. Certainly not what I expected when opening the machine. Can not recommend this product, it has had very little use, just thought I would freshen it up!

Purchased in August 2016.

Value for Money
Product Quality
Comfort
Sheets & Blankets

Find out how Vellux Blanket compares to other Sheets & Blankets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Vellux blanket- Do Not Buy

published

I had two Vellux blankets in a air tight container. I recently used them to cover up two chairs in storage so I decided to wash them due to the dust on them. They totally fell apart in the washer, leaving a mess of fluff in the machine and a honeycomb mesh type of netting. This is unacceptable and they need to reimburse the money spent on these substandard blankets.

M.mark

M.markGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

After one hand wash and a machine rinse and spin ( light spin holes and sides disintegrating

published

Very disappointed in my King size blanket ( I have 3 others) after one hand wash and a machine rinse and low spin many holes and sides are separating Have read the instructions. I only use it in the summer time.

Purchased in June 2015 at Myer for A$150.00.

Value for Money
Product Quality
Comfort

Embarrassing:

published

My two guest room, twin vellum blankets disintegrated at the same time over my house guest. Not too old, seldom used, never washed but always on the beds. It was kind of scary.

Purchased in September 2009.

Product Quality
Comfort

Disintegrating

published

I have owned two Vellux Blankets, for 30 years now. Used every winter; six month washing (as recommended) slowly moved to once a year. Last spring one fell apart and this fall season the second is disintegrating.

Very strange: I do not own an HE washer so cannot blame it on that. Very warm and not at all bulky; bought because was used in a hotel so I thought it was durable. 30 years is nothing to complain about!

Purchased in October 1997 at HBC for A$99.00.

Value for Money
Product Quality
Comfort
Happy Queenslander

Happy QueenslanderSouth East Queensland, QLD

Queenslander!

published

We've found the Vellux perfectly suited to the Queensland climate, mild / cool winters and warm summer nights. The lightweight nature of the blanket regulates temperature extremely well, I no longer find myself kicking a leg out from under the duvet to cool down. I read some of the negative reviews and can only assume these are a different quality to the Australian product. Highly recommended!

Purchased in March 2019.

Value for Money
Product Quality
Comfort
Sam

SamHunter Region, NSW

Comfort without the bulk!

published

We received our Vellux blanket as a wedding gift 5 years ago, and love it! It provides extra warmth during the winter months without being too heavy or bulky and we have found it stores and washes well. We also utilise it instead of a quilt in the warmer months and find it provides a nice balance of temperature / weight (I like more than just the weight of a sheet). I would (and have) recommended this product to others.

Product Quality
Comfort
Sheets & Blankets

Find out how Vellux Blanket compares to other Sheets & Blankets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Vellux blanket fell apart in the washing machine

published

I think the Vellux blankets cannot tolerate the new high efficiency washing machines. I never had a problem in the past, but one washing in my new HE machine destroyed my beautiful Vellux blanket. Will never buy another. :-(

Purchased at Target.

Comfort

Blanket

published

I decided to wash my vellux blanket. It was suggested to wash every six months. I used cold water with
a mild soap. The blanket fell apart. Shredded in a million pieces. It was hard to clean out the wash machine.
I could not believe it.

Purchased in January 2019.

I rate this blanket a ZERO!!!

published

Washed the blanket in my new washer and it totally fell apart! It was a mess! Ended up vacuuming the inside once the mess dried! Ran the recommended table cleaner today.It seems all clean now.

Purchased in June 2017.

Bunny buns dad

Bunny buns dadWhitney Point

Fell apart in the wash

published

I decided to wash two Vellux blankets that had been stored for several years (they were my deceased mothers) cold water, one cup liquid detergent. The one blanket disintegrated as soon as the water hit, as soon as I saw stuff floating in the water, I yanked it, clean what mess in tub as best as I could and proceeded to continue to wash the still good looking one remaining. Seven or so minutes later that one also started to disintegrate the same as the first one, I'm just glad I inherited them and did not spend my own hard earned money. Taught me a valuable lesson to stay as far away from Vellux blankets as I possibly can.

Date PurchasedDec 2011
Dave

Davenelson

Great Blankets

published

The original Martel Vellux blankets lasted about 30 years bought in Hawaii. The Chinese produced blankets were rubbish. We found some original blankets in Norfolk island at Petes Place, great quality and price and still going. Easy to make the bed, one blanket all winter, no night time fry ups as with duvet, no pushing and shoving with covers and inners, and lite. Track down the original Martella Vellux they are well worth it and we don't believe they are overpriced.
We couldn't live without them and used them in our rental houses in the mountains where temperatures went from -20c to plus 32c. We provided an eiderdown as extra warmth in winter.

Date PurchasedSep 2002

Absolute Crap

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Sheets & Blankets

Find out how Vellux Blanket compares to other Sheets & Blankets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen L

Karen LPeregian Beach Queensland

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Expensive "dry rot" rubbish, if you want to waste money you've made the correct choice with a Vellux

published

As per several other reviews the blankets disintergrate. The best way to ensure they do is to sit on them in bed. They are approximately 8years old. They have a 5 year warranty. For the price you pay it should be a lifetime cover.
They have been washed according to instructions and stored in a moisture proof sealed bag over the 9 months they aren't in use.
Apparently after contacting customer service they say it's dry rot - rotting of the core. My other blankets have never suffered this.
Really disappointed in Vellux.

Date PurchasedJun 2009

Vellux blanket

published

I've had my Vellux blanket for approx 15yrs. It has been the best blanket for in between seasons. Only after last wash did it feel limp & started to tear along the sides. I feel that it was good quality to last 15yrs & am purchasing another. Hope the quality hasn't gone down hill.

Date PurchasedMay 2003
Scaifey

Scaifey

  • 2 reviews

Not quality & expensive to buy

published

My friend gave me a Vellux blanket, I've looked after it well, only gentle wash. It's disintegrated, fabric has broken apart, will have to be thrown out, I'm not sure of the best way to dispose?

Date PurchasedAug 2014
Hatch

HatchSYDNEY

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

I Cant Believe It Has Disintegrated

published

Put simple my expensive Vellux blanket has Disintegrated and is useless... It only lasted two winters!
We put it on our bed last weekend - changed the sheets today and couldn't work out what all these crumbs were. As we got to that layer we were shocked to see it had disintegrated. Ive thrown it away - such a waste of money - definitely not a quality product. DON'T BUY ONE !

Date PurchasedMay 2016

Big disappointment

published

Used this brand for years. Last falI, I purchased one and it literally fell apart. Pieces of fabric fell all over floor and bed. I purchased two more, but they were even worse. The last one shed so much that I had to have a service person clean my dryer vent. It is no longer the original product. I can no longer purchase this product.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Jill

Jillasked

Washing my new Vellux blanket would not be easy too big for my washing machine and no way I could manage it by hand. What happens to it if I do not wash it ? Bought a t David Jones at Tuggerah NSW

4 answers
MandyT
MandyT

Hi Jill, You will find It probably will fit in a washing machine, even a small one, as it's very thin and light - even if it is a king size. They fit easily in our regular household washing machine without a problem. We only wash ours every now and then, if they have a mark on them basically. We use them in our motel. It would be fine to not wash it for quite a while. We hang ours outside on a clothes line often to give them a good airing, but we don't wash them a whole lot. The main problem I've found with ours is that they fray along the sides and the bottom end as not all of them are folded over and hemmed on all sides. I have purchased about 8 and only one was hemmed all the way around. The others just have a zig zag stitch around the 3 edges. I hope this helps :-)

Jill
Jill

Many thanks, Mandy, for your helpful answer. I did buy one several years ago and it was never the same after I washed it in small washing machine. It came out with white streaks all over it and was such a mess I threw it away. Have always regretted not returning it to Myer because I washed it before using it and so never got any use out of it. I thought that over the years they may have improved, but was dismayed to read about the requirement to wash it every three months. It will only be used in our household and so I will not worry too much about the washing. Thank you again for your assistance.
Jill

ellie1410
ellie1410

I wash mine every year after winter use. Have had no problems. If you think your machine is too small take it to a laundry-mat they have much larger machines.

Marlilyn

Marlilynasked

My Vellux blankets have a "chemical smell" is this a health hazard? Also they produce alot of dust? check this out when they are dry on the line, after a shake. My blankets also have what looks like moth holes. I use them on the beds for my guests at my bed and breakfast.

3 answers

No I do not notice a chemical smell & I do not notice partials of dust after washing Maybe it is the type of washing powder I use a liquid &bit is fine as for the holes in the product I think that is the weave of the product $ when you hold it up to light it is more noticeable I have used one of these blankets since 2005 & I think I would have noticed before if these concerns were a worry. My daughter has purchased a blanket for use in her caravan & used the blanket 3 or 4 times in late winter & she would have certainly noticed if there were a broblem. Good luck Bernadette

Marlilyn
Marlilyn

when they are wet on the line I can take fingertips full lint from them. I also use liquid wash. Thank-you for your response. They are made in Australia.

MandyT
MandyT

Hi Marilyn, I have the same problem with ours with the lint. Each time I wash them they look like they've washed with a facial tissue. Small bits all over them. I have used both liquid and granule washing powders, both with the same result. I usually put mine over something large to dry (or on the clothes line) and then have to brush-o-matic the bits away. It's a slow process and takes ages :-( When the blankets were first purchased they did have a funny smell to them, but it disappeared after a while. Because the blanket fabric is veryyy stretchy and thin, it's quite easy to put a hole in them just with fingers, by making the bed. We have to be very careful of that,

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.