??!
3 photos
Victa Ultralite

Victa Ultralite

UDS406, UDS407, UCS406
3.6 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (6)
  • Safety
    3.7 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (6)
Previous
Next
Elsie

ElsieChisholm 2905, ACT

  • 2 reviews

.Seemed good at first.

published

A bit dissapointed. It does the small patch of grass ok but has become very hard to start. Maybe this is because I use it infrequently, but now I have to remove the plug and squirt some fuel into the cylinder each time or it wont start. The old Victa 2 stroke I had previously started easily. Sorry I didn't get an electric mower now.

Purchased in June 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Brett L.

Brett L.Central Queensland, QLD

Sub par

published

This mower is suggested for small lawns, but even with a small lawn it does not perform well. Much of the cut grass does not make it into the catcher and ends up back on the lawn.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Bekk J.

Bekk J.Perth, WA

Brilliant little beast!

published

Easy setup, easy to manouvre around tight corners. Started first go. Had no issues mowing my 6x17m lawn (buffalo, winter grass and weeds) had to empty the catch about 3/4 way through. Excellent!

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$369.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Ultralite compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Glenda

GlendaNorth-West & West coast, TAS

Very sad

published

Having bought only ever Victa mowers in my life, I have been irritated and disappointed by my recent purchase of the Ultralite. The clippings build up extensively in the front of the catcher. The clippings do not seem to blow back properly into the catcher so one is forever stopping and starting to manually remove the clippings......

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Glenda
Glenda

Oops..Re above review I mean they build up in the back (not front)of the mower...

Kerryc

KerrycGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

You get what you pay for!

published

Purchased this mower as we only have a small yard to maintain and thought that a small machine would do the the job, such a waste of money! Mower will stop after a few strips as clippings build up in front of catcher, you need to manually push them back in far enough to continue or empty the 2 handfuls of grass from catcher to start again. The most frustrating lawn mower iv ever owned and neither Bunnings or Victa would consider replacing it for me as its not "faulty". Spend a couple of hundred more and avoid this little nightmare!

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$340.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Ranga Tang

Ranga TangHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Victa Mower

published

Good little mower. Downsized from a ride on to a small yard. Wanted a Victa as grew up with them and reliable. This mower is small but does the job. Starts first go with ease. Only downside iflawn gets to lose g it struggles but that's to be expected.

Purchased in July 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$359.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Krisjm1983

Krisjm1983

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic!

published

So easy to start and use!
I only have one properly working arm and I have no issues starting it first go, every time. It is easy to maneuver one handed, the height adjustment is very easy to change.
The catcher is a decent size, and is easy to undo and reattach. Best of all though is it will now anything without bogging down and threatening to stop. We mowed through huge weeds in small paddocks and everything with it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Donna

Donna

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for big lawn

published

Aussie made Victa is the most impression of lawnmowers Made by Aussie for Aussie lawn. It Always . Actually help me make my grass greener than neighbour ;))) .it’s light weight make you mow the lawn faster and easy to turn to make spiral cutting line like a pro grass man

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Doreen

Doreen

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s ok

published

It’s ok if the grass is a bit long find it hard to push through,it seems to dig into the ground and won,t go over .Very hard to push sometimes partner hates it . I don’t have too many problems with only him .It is very light and catcher is easy to take off,which is great for me and easy to start.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Victa Ultralite compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eddie

EddieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great lawnmower for the price!

published

We are very happy with this basic lawn mower for the home!
It runs very well for a petrol mower and does the job. Only problem is starting it up can sometimes be a pain. Grass catcher bags are great too and extremely easy to empty.
This lawnmower has been going for over 3 years now and is still functioning very well!

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Petrus Hurter

Petrus HurterClifton Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome little mower

published

What a great little lawn mower. Having operated 2 lawn mowing and property services businesses in both New Zealand and Australia this little mower is light, manoeuvrable, cheap on fuel, sharp as a razor and safe as a Swedish Pastry Shop. Quick on the start and being ultra light it does not wear you out on small lawns and gets into those hard to reach nooks and crannies easily with its slim profile. If you have a small to medium sized garden this is absolutely all you will need. A little bit of cleaning and post mowing maintenance should make this mower last for years and years and years.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Hells

HellsWA, 6167

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great mower

published

Great mower easy to use ,well hubby seems to love it cuts nice and low glad we bought this saving us a ton on hiring a mower man. Neat cut catches well cheap on fuel.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Scotty the AJ

Scotty the AJAU

  • 21 reviews
  • 20 likes

Old fashioned lawnmower from Victa.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Questions & Answers

Alex H.

Alex H.asked

Ultralite

I am looking to replace the blades on my victa ultralite however I can only find 18” blades on the bunnings website. Will these be ok? Or am I missing something

No answers
REP

REPasked

Ultralite UDS407

the spark plug has a very long porcelain piece. What sized box spanner is required to remove the spark plug?

2 answers
Elsie
Elsie

You need a special box spanner from a mower dealer. I got one from a shop in Tuggeranong, Canberra.

REP
REP

OK got one at Bunnings in Underwood

Pararto

Parartoasked

Ultralite

I'm puzzled by the operation of this mower. Is the carburettor automatic? It seems to just idle regardless of the density of the cut. I feel it needs to rev faster. It's clearly no Ferrari. I want to go brrmm brmm, and it just goes tick tick. I haven't been able to find any info on its operation in the manual.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Victa representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Victa Ultralite
Victa Ultralite UCS406
  • Discontinued

Victa Ultralite UCS406

4.0
(1)
Victa Ultralite UDS406
  • Discontinued

Victa Ultralite UDS406

4.0
(8)
CategoryPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn MowersPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) A$369.00A$359.00A$359.00
Power SourcePetrolPetrol
Catcher Type CollapsibleCollapsible
Cutting Deck MaterialSteelSteel
Cutting Width406 mm406 mm
Height of Cut17 mm to 72 mm17 mm to 72 mm
Number of Blades22
Weight24 kg24 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine NameBriggs & Stratton 450E SeriesBriggs & Stratton 125cc OHV 4-stroke 125cc
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
BrandBriggs & StrattonBriggs & Stratton
Engine Displacement125 cc125 cc
Compare all 3 Victa Ultralite

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.