??!
6 photos
Volkswagen Transporter T5.II

Volkswagen Transporter T5.II (2010-2015)

3.0 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.0

16 reviews
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    2.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    2.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    3.5 (2)
Previous
Next
craigs902

craigs902South East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

I have major reservations on how long the motor will last. These engines have a massive world wide EGR issue that causes

published

Van is powerful, great to drive, cruises very well and is massive inside. Been setup as a full camper and is awesome for that reason, one of the only vans this size where you don’t have to get out of the van to access the rear, great in rainy weather.

Purchased in December 2016 at Private for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jan_Allen

Jan_AllenWheatbelt, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable Biturbo T1340 132kw 7 speed DSG ex nsw cop van

published

rattling in the twin clutch area now at 165000km's no worries ,this is my third VW Van, first one was a 1974 T2 Factory camper 1800 Auto, second one was a 1976 "African 2.0 litre twin carb manual 14 seater, Totally reliable.I could pull the engine out of either in 1/2 an hour, no problems. This one will be a challenge.

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseShort
CabTransporter
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
1 comment
Jan_Allen
Jan_Allen

Where can I buy a detailed Service/workshop manual for my T5?

T5 not like the T4

published

Replaced our T4 with a new T5 4 years ago.
Despite regular service from the agent we have found this van to be crap compared to our old T4 that basically ran to 250000 without issue. 4 years old (70,000km) and needed new brake disks on the front, catalytic converter shat its self, doors are no longer hanging straight, and on it goes... We won't be buying VW again on the back of this poor life.

BodyVan
Badge2.0LTDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter T5.II compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Clav

ClavAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant van

published

Bought new done nearly 180000 reasonably hard kms carrying heavy loads. Always regularly serviced, including new fuel filters more regularly than required by VW. It can be hard on front tyres and disks when driven hard. Only problem was when it went into limp mode a couple of times @ about 90000 kms. This was fixed immediately with a recall by VW at no cost to me. After driving my previous Hi Ace the VW was like a really comfortable powerful reliable car to drive. I had the 2 seater bench passenger seat fitted and Rhino Lining sprayed on the vans floor - turned out to be a great move. Thoroughly recommended

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Michael

MichaelBundaberg

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great workhorse

published

Great work horse.
Fully loaded & kitted out service van, carries over 1T everywhere and handles it perfectly.
Manual, drives like a car, excellent fuel economy, and enough power for a work van.
Very easy to get around, neat interior, comfortable seats, big door pockets etc.
Had this one nearly 6 years with no issues whatsoever.
Will be replacing it with the same when required.

BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2012

Don't buy VW - great to drive & good fuel economy - unreliable & expensive - not built to last

published
BodyVan
Badge103TDI
WheelbaseLong
CabDual
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2011

Disaster

published

This vehicle is a financial disaster. Gearbox went at only 120,000 kms. Price to fix $10,300.00. Couldn't believe it. But wait it gets worse. They advise fly wheel and drive shaft also need replacing. Price $12,500.00!! The drive shaft is only stocked in the Philippines not Australia. 14 day wait.
I have lost 2 weeks of income plus need to find the cash for the repairs.
Keep clear of this van if you want to get anywhere financially.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014

Much less than what I expected

published
BodyVan
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual

This van is a lemon. Buyers beware!!!

published

My T5 has 47,000kms. It broke a fan belt which doesn't sound to bad, but the fan belt mad its way into the cam belt. There is a hole in the cam belt cover. It wrapped around a cog and caused the engine to go out of time. It destroyed valves, pistons and the head. This can happen at any time in the vehicles life. Volkswagen want nothing to do with it as its just out of warranty. Car is a lemon. Buyers beware!!!

BodyVan
WheelbaseLong
CabHigh Roof
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter T5.II compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not bad. Not great.

published
BodyCab Chassis
WheelbaseShort
CabSingle
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionManual

Not happy

published

I have a transporter 2011 t5 reported in warrente the oil consumption was high.They said they tested but did not do a proper oil consumption test .After 110000 km the engine was said to be worn out .I have serviced the van from the start at vw. There goodwill is to pay half which is a replacement engin. Why do they offer 3 year warrentee and unlimited km if the engine is so good
Not impressed by vw

BodyVan
Badge132TDI
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Ruben

RubenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Its ok

published

Purchased in June 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Cab Type Single
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Now on 2nd Transporter

published
TransmissionAutomatic
h.s

h.sQueensland, Australia

  • 16 reviews
  • 18 likes

The best commercial van, if fingers cross there are no problems

published
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
BadgeTDI340
BodyVan
WheelbaseLong
Kurtos

KurtosSydney

How did this pass QC??

published
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
BodyVan
1 comment
VW Weary
VW Weary

Useful Comments - can you recommend a good reliable van? - Im going to have to sell my T5 - im now scared to drive it as expensive things keep breaking at 170 000km.

Utes

Find out how Volkswagen Transporter T5.II compares to other Utes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

the passengers perspective

published
1 comment
Doc
Doc

Try a ford transit passenger seat obviously passenger seat comfort is a secondary thought in vans most of the ones I have owned had horrible passenger seats
I know this from all the complaints I received from passengers LOL

See all Volkswagen Transporter reviews

Questions & Answers

branko

brankoasked

Transporter T5.II (2010-2015)

I need second hand gerbox for vw transporter 103 tdi lwb vin/chassis wv1zzz7hzah233337. Any help?

No answers
Momo

Momoasked

Transporter T5.II (2010-2015)

My vw transporter is losing oil and lost a lot of power. What could be the cause?

1 answer
Big M.
Big M.

If oil not visibly leaking anywhere mine was getting blown out of one of the turbos ( tdi 400 bi turbo)
the main larger one

Michael Marcuse

Michael Marcuseasked

Transporter T5.II (2010-2015)

I brought a new t5 2015 4 motion 2 liter twin turbo duel cab. Lacks power but for a 2 liter what do u aspect. But some days it stores on U when u drop into 2 gear still moving 10 k'a plus to take off again. It's a very annoying. Is it a fault and what else can go wrong when I taken it for its service they can't fine any problems but it only happens sometimes & sometimes it's more?
Mike

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Utes

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.