??!
2 photos
Westpac Altitude Black

Pros

  • Uncapped points earning

  • Lounge passes and travel insurance included

Cons

  • Annual fee is not inclusive of Velocity or QFF membership fee

  • $75,000 minimum income required

Reviews

(18)
(13)
(18)
(1)
(23)
  • Transparency
    3.9 (40)
  • Customer Service
    3.8 (43)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.0 (43)
  • Rewards
    4.0 (41)
  • Online Experience
    3.7 (42)
  • Card / Account Used For
    • Everyday Expenses (39)
    • Online Shopping (23)
    • Overseas/Travel (20)
    • Special Purchases (14)
  • Application Process
    3.7 (39)
Kbkb

KbkbSydney, NSW

Ridiculous frustrating application process via Manila Call Centre.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
See all answers
Moe

MoeCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 6 reviews

Awful customer support - Just terrible..

published

I redeemed a gift card for $50.00 however they sent it to my old address despite me changing my address prior to purchase/redemption.

Furthermore, this was supposed to be an online Gift card, as in they send the Gift card to my email NOT physical address..

When I called to see what was happening, the person I spoke with noted my address incorrectly by one digit which has cause other issues..

What really takes the cake though is the copy and paste answer from their complaints team (all of three lines) advising 'Rules were the rules' and there is nothing that can be done.

It's like they didn't even read the issue prior to sending the three sentence garbage response.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers
Trewers

TrewersSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Ok Points - still no Apple Pay

published

Everything keeps listing this card as having Apple Pay. Westpac DO NOT support Apple Pay. This is still a major draw back for Westpac issued cards.

As it is a part of my home loan package the annual fee is waived. Which is good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Altitude Black compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jess

JessSydney, NSW

Good card, but application process was a nightmare

published

Applied for this credit card back in June. They lost my application and required me to go through a number of very inconvenient steps more than once because of an error on their end. Card is okay for everyday use, but don't plan on taking it overseas.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Tim

TimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great card but avoid using overseas

published

Overall, quite happy with this card. I signed up during a promo period. My applicaiton got bounced around for a while and there was a lot of confusion on their end. Eventually, when it arrived, it turned out to be pretty decent. However, do not use for overseas purchases or foreign transactions as there is a steep fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Alvin T.

Alvin T.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

7 months in and no reward even though i met requirements. READ FINE PRINT!!

published

So after hours of Westpac pushing my calls to Qantas and vice versa for hours yesterday, today i get a response from Westpac to say that because i held a credit card within 12months prior to signing up with this new card, i am no eligible for the reward points. They say i should have read the terms and conditions. Emails to encourage your to join to received reward points. Nothing but a Scam.. After 2 decades, it is time for me to change banks and shop for one that are at least honest. Shame on you Westpac.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Jack H.

Jack H.

  • 4 reviews

Perfect card, great mix of perks and rewards

published

The bundle with Amex for higher points earning is great, there are not many cards left out there with this option. The black card has the highest earn rate of any major banks out there, and the conversion to Qantas points is great.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Easy to accumulate and use points

published

Qantas lounge passes are a nice bonus. It's easy to earn and use points. Must have income of $75,000+. Should not have such a high annual fee based on this criteria. Happy with card in general.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Angie K

Angie KPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Good credit card

published

The card came with the home loan package with no annual fee and bonus point at the time of application. It is an easy process to redeem points. Easy to use and manage once set up.

Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Altitude Black compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keli

KeliAU

  • 12 reviews

It was actually really good

published

I managed to get 120000 qantas frequent flyer points by signing up to this credit card and then kept it for a year after. No issue receiving points, and good points per $ spent.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2018
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Prasanth N.

Prasanth N.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great card with a high credit limit

published

High credit limit Got an initial bonus of 80000 velocity points for 4000 spend in first three months.
Free travel insurance.
There is also 2 lounge pass if you do a transaction in velocity site.
The only downside is the foreign transaction fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Warren

WarrenMacArthur 2904, ACT

  • 8 reviews

Bonus points card

published

This card came with our home loan package so there's no annual fee as such as it is included in the loan yearly fee. Great thing about the card is the points that accumulate (1.25 points for each dollar spent) and we get bonus points from different Westpac partners from time to time. Easy to redeem points. We usually get gift cards which usually come in about week. Westpac have great security with their credit cards as well. Also there is travel insurance on the card

DDshopper

DDshopperGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Handy to have.

published

The points are a bonus! Had this for years and never had an issue with it. Highly recommend as a reliable card. Do not plan to change cards ever. Great deal.

Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
adiseshu

adiseshuSydney, NSW

Less worth Altitude Reward points- but accepted everywhere

published

Altitude Reward points are not really helpful to claim or purchase things, because value of these points are less worthy. But good to have to use it any store or POS without any additional charges.

Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2018
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ray

RaySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

It's a fine credit card

published

Accumulating the points used to be much better when they were combined with Amex card but since they split it to Amex issued card (which has separate annual fee) having the Amex is no longer worth it. I used to get the two cards free from annual fee because I have already paid home loan package and now the points accumulation is less and still have to pay Amex annual fee.
Insurance seems to be pretty good.

Rates and Fees
Rewards
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Altitude Black compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rosie

RosieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Awesome rewards system

published

Love the rewards system on the card. You earn 1.5 points on every dollar spent and you have range of products to purchase from their portal. Can buy different store vouchers too

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Eddie

EddieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ok overall card with perks

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
J Harvey

J HarveySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Decent card for sign-up bonus - otherwise there are better cards out there

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2018
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Katie K

Katie KGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Ok Card, too expensive for what you get

published

Worked well overseas, insurance is a good extra as well as the lounge access. Points are a bit low for what you spend so I try and pay everything on the card

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Sree

Sree

  • 5 reviews

Best reward card to get a jump on your reward balance

published

Best card offer on market if you are looking for a jump in your reward balance. They have bonus offers most of the time and great per dollar conversion rate as well. Great app from Westpac to manage your payment and track spending

Transparency
Customer Service
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Goose

Gooseasked

How do I activate my new card?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Westpac representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.