??!
5 photos
Westpac Altitude Platinum
3.3 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

Are rewards credit cards worth it?

Getting rewarded for spending money sounds like an ideal scenario. But will a rewards card really give you bang for your buck? This short guide will take you through the things to think about before signing up for a new rewards credit card.

Read now

Pros

  • Uncapped points earn rate

  • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

Cons

  • $150 Annual Fee (additional $50 if you choose Velocity or Qantas)

  • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

Details

Compare all 8 Westpac Altitude Platinum
Pros
  • Receive 80,000 Bonus Altitude Points if you spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first 90 days from card approval

  • Earn 1 Altitude Point per $1, uncapped

  • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

  • Receive 60,000 Bonus Qantas Points if you spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first 90 days from card approval

  • Earn 0.5 Qantas Points per $1, uncapped

  • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

  • Earn up to 3 points per $1 spent

  • No Additional Card Fee

Cons
  • $150 Annual Fee

  • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

  • $200 Annual Fee

  • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

  • 3% Currency Conversion Fee

  • $30 Late Payment Fee

CategoryBalance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit CardsBalance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit CardsBalance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit CardsBalance Transfer Credit Cards and Rewards Credit Cards
Card TypeMastercardMastercardAmerican Express
BenefitsComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferReduced First Year Annual Fee and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points Offer
Minimum Credit Limit A$6,000A$6,000A$3,000
Minimum Income A$30,000
Additional Cardholders 1111
Additional Cardholder Fee A$0 p.a.A$0 p.a.A$0 p.a.A$0 p.a.
Minimum Repayments2%
Rewards ProgramWestpac Altitude RewardsQantas Frequent FlyerWestpac Altitude RewardsWestpac Altitude Rewards
Points Earn Rate 1 points per $10.5 points per $12 points per $1
Points Conditions
  • 1 Altitude point per $1 spent on all eligible purchases.

There is no cap on earn rate.

  • 0.5 Qantas points per $1 spent on all eligible purchases

There is no cap on earn rate.

  • 2 points per $1 spent on eligible purchases in Australia

  • 3 points per $1 spent in foregin currency

  • 1 point per $1 spent at government bodies in Australia such as Australia Post & the Australian Taxation Office

There is no cap on earn rate.

Contactless PaymentsFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
Rates & Fees
Purchase Rate20.49% p.a.20.49% p.a.20.24% p.a.
Cash Advance Fee2%21.49%2%2%
Late Payment FeeA$15A$15A$15A$15
Annual FeeA$150 p.a.A$150 p.a.A$49 p.a.A$150 p.a.
Foreign Transaction Fee 3%3%3%3%
Interest Free Period 45 days45 days45 days45 days
Cash Advance Rate20.49% p.a.20.49% p.a.
Introductory Offers
Sign-Up Bonus

Receive 80,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.

Receive 60,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.

Receive 80,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.

Introductory Offers

Discounted Annual Fee of $99 for the first year ($150 thereafter) and $0 Qantas Rewards Fee for the first year ($50 p.a. thereafter).

Reduced First Year Annual Fee A$99
Balance Transfer Rates
Balance Transfer Period 18 months18 months18 months
Balance Transfer Rate 0% p.a.0% p.a.0% p.a.
Balance Transfer Fee 1%1%1%
Compare all 8 Westpac Altitude Platinum

Visit official website

Reviews

  • Transparency
    3.9 (19)
  • Customer Service
    3.9 (18)
  • Rates and Fees
    3.2 (20)
  • Rewards
    3.8 (16)
  • Online Experience
    3.6 (19)
  • Application Process
    4.1 (18)
Previous
Next
Dori

DoriSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Brilliant service

published

I recently had to cancel our cruise, due to illness. Westpac Complimentary credit card insurance was brilliant; I submitted my claim one day and had a confirmation of payment the following day, with the money credited to my account about 4 days later. I have found Allianz so easy to be insured with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Credit Card User

Credit Card UserSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't select the wrong product from the gift shop!

published

After accidentally selecting the wrong apple watch with my rewards points, I called the help number within 3 minutes.
I was told there was no ability to change the order and that I'll need await product then send it back claiming its faulty for a full refund of points.
From there I can reselect a the correct watch.
What a broken system.

When I asked to make a complaint, I was patched through to Westpac's phone banking. Who subsequently told me they aren't affiliated with the altitude rewards program.

Time to find a better credit card I suppose.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Great credit card with good Qantas points promo

published

I have had no issues with this card and signed up during the bonus Qantas FF points promotion. However although my points did come through, it took nearly 7 months for this to happen, way past the original deadline. I had to chase up a few times hence why only 4 stars.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Altitude Platinum compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gustavo P.

Gustavo P.Sydney, NSW

No Issues so far. Everything working as adverstised

published

Have been using this card for almost a year. Application process was easy and had no issues being approved. Card arrived within a few days from approval. Spent the minimum amount for the bonus points and receive it after 90 days in my Qantas FF account. Recently, it got replaced with a Mastercard card (previously Visa). No annual fee for the first year, just a 50$ for selecting Qantas FF rewards.
Used it overseas with no issues. Points are automatically transferred every month to my FF account. Points conversion rate is not the best but it does the job since I dont spend large amount every month. Would recommend but there are better cards in the market at the moment (higher bonus for higher spending)

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJanuary 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

Great high earning card with home loan package

published

I received the card under a home loan package.

The rewards program is quite simple and accumulates quickly.

The lounge pass access is a nice added bonus.

I have not had to call customer service so can't speak on that front.

Transparency
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Jimb

JimbGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 16 likes

Westpac Platinum Card

published

Have changed from black card to platinum because fees were going to come into force because we changed accounts and were offered new card with no fees for 1 year,I use this for most payments and pay back out of interest bearing account and limits the amount of interest I pay,gives rewards extends warranties on some items even though you have to pay an excess on claim would not consider if under $200,same with car hire insurance also provides travel insurance but make sure you read the fine print,fees not to bad but I generally pay back quickly anyway.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pearl lee

Pearl leeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

Earning points to pay off my debt

published

Been paying bills solely with this card, and earning lots of points. Happy with how there are many rewards to select from. Have collected a kitchenaid mixer, food processor and a Breville Waffle Maker using the reward points. And lately, have been using the points to pay off my debt instead of collecting more cookware.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateOctober 2010
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Carl Millen

Carl MillenDarling Downs, QLD

  • 11 reviews

It's worth having it for the Free Travel Insurance

published

The accrual of Frequent Flyer points for every payment is great.
I get all my property insurance payments paid from my Westpac Altitude Platinum VISA. This now has helped me accrue over 120,000 frequent flyer points.
I don't worry about any late fees because I have setup auto payments into it to cover my insurance payments.
Also the free travel insurance is wonderful with no upper limit for overseas medical expenses and up to $1000 for any emergency dental costs while overseas.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Funky Consumer

Funky ConsumerPerth, WA

  • 30 reviews
  • 15 likes

Looks good, til you try to actually redeem anything.

published

I went through period where I paid for everything on my card. I got up to around 180k points and went to book return flight from Perth to Adelaide. My points got "me" only a one way and the flights offered were all the rubbish midnight flights.

Credit card accounts and departments are designed to make it hard as possible to work out in black white balancing the account, alot different to savings or transaction accounts so there is extra stress in managing it.

I still use the card but I don't care about points anymore I like that it includes complimentary travel insurance although now I am reading horror stories about QBE treating claims poorly for this insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateAugust 2015
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Altitude Platinum compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Iron

IronSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 18 likes

Standard credit card with good introductory offer

published

This card is a normal credit card but does earn some points. They have a great introductory offer with no fee and bonus points which got me in.

The online website is nothing special. The Altitude points seem to be worth less than other loyalty schemes (as in their scheme products are more expensive). There is an extra fee is you want to convert to Qantas points, and you will have to spend a lot to make that worthwhile.

The monthly due date for paying off the card is only about a week after the statement has arrived, which is too short for me and will probably see me closing this account before the next annual fee.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateJune 2019
See all answers
Yuly

Yuly

  • 6 reviews

An OK card

published

Still waiting for the 60000 Qantas bonus points. They charge $50 extra for earning Qantas points though. Reduced first year annual fee. Earning rate is lower than other cards only 0.5 point per dollar. Foreign transaction fees and exchange rates not good.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateApril 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Arvin V.

Arvin V.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

60000 bonus points !!

published

Got 60000 bonus Qantas points after spending few thousand dollars in first few months.

Pros
1) Bonus Qantas points
2) Qantas Reward points
3) Ease of managing the payments
4) Low annual fees
5) Complimentary insurance

Cons
1) Foreign transaction fees and below average exchange rates.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Shirley

ShirleySydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good if there's bonus sign on offer

published

An ok platinum credit card just like any other ones. Signed up for this because of the bonus offer and first year annual fee waived.

The FF earn rate is normal, other insurances offered are also more or less the same with sub par cards. One good thing about this card would be Westpac credit card offers (similar to amex spend X amount get X credit back). Though you don't it too often.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Dat L.

Dat L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Quick applying. Difficult to set up Autopay.

published

Quick application process, but had to go to a branch to set up Autopay from another bank.
Not as many discount offers as Amex, and I never found any offers useful for myself.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Incentivised ReviewNo
Card Start DateMay 2019
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Happy camper

Happy camperPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Is linked to account and debit card which has been can been useful. Interest rate is a bit high.

published

I have used overseas the card and was able to withdraw at most ATMs. Has had unauthorised use and bank did refund money. The conversion rate back to $Au dollars was fair.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
Rewards Credit Cards

Find out how Westpac Altitude Platinum compares to other Rewards Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maurice Porcheron

Maurice PorcheronUPPER COOMERA

  • 6 reviews

Greatest Card Ever - Decent Rewards

published

Have had this card for many years and have never had any issues. I received the card when I took out my first mortgage and have never paid any fees since. I average $1,500 - $2,000 / month on purchases both in Australia and Overseas and never have had any issues nor surprises. The card just works.......

Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ange

AngeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

I love the rewards i reap with the points i earn!

published

I use my Westpac Mastercard for literally everything. All of my bills are set up to be debited and I pay all of my day to day expenses with my card. I always ensure that my card is paid off by the due date to avoid any interest being charged and the fees are minimal. I am constantly earning enough points for a $50 Woolworths voucher to put towards my grocery bill. There are loads of other options too, but this works well for me.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lulu Rocket

Lulu Rocket

  • 3 reviews

Large fees decent rewards

published

Fees are large and interest rate is huge. Rewards have been good. Used card overseas with no issues. Would love to change to lower interest rate card soon. This was prefect for my business when I first got it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Greg

GregLidcombe

  • 6 reviews

Decent credit card

published

I am fairly satisfied with the rewards on the credit card. The annual fee in my opinion is a little high but the insurance options and the ease of point accumulation seems to outweigh that fact. I personally have not used the card overseas but my mate has and said there was no issues at all. I would recommend this card for just the insurance options alone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

DuckOnTheDam

DuckOnTheDamJervis Bay

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

You get what you pay for...

published

Recently got scammed by a fake site selling footwear. So bought 2 pairs for my husband thinking this sounds too good to be true... and it was, haha. After i realised something didn't seem right with the transaction, i contacted westpac altitude and after some investigation and sending details they fully repaid the amount i lost. So heavy fees come with good customer protection.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2000
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

pedro

pedroasked

Altitude Platinum

am using westpac altitude platinum credit card complimentary travel insurance going to usa and columbia in july 2016 have read all the fine print i think and on reading smartraveller they suggest you get in writing confirmation that you are covered etc ring westpac get put through to the phillipines and no they will not give it to you in writing same line as long as you met the conditions in the policy you are automatically covered any thought ????

2 answers
Althom
Althom

Wouldn't trust anything they say if they won't give it to you in writing. Go into a branch and ask there. If you still don't get a straight answer contact a Travel Insurance Specialist.

natural
natural

I used to have a Westpac Gold Card and a "Gold Overseas Travel Insurance" policy came with it. The "conditions of use" booklet had a table of benefits and this certainly provided all the relevant details you need. I would expect you could pick up a copy of the "conditions of use" booklet from your nearest Westpac branch. It may be called a "product disclosure statement" these days but if Westpac says its offering free travel insurance with your card then printed details of that insurance should be readily available.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.