??!
5 photos
Westpac Altitude Platinum

See the Best Rewards Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • Receive 60,000 Bonus Points if you apply by 15 October 2019 and spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first 90 days from card approval

  • Uncapped points earn rate

  • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

Cons

  • $150 Annual Fee (additional $50 if you choose Velocity or Qantas)

  • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

Details

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Qantas Frequent Flyer Visa
  • Discontinued

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Qantas Frequent Flyer Visa

1 review
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Altitude Rewards Visa
  • Discontinued

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Altitude Rewards Visa

3 reviews
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Qantas Frequent Flyer American Express Bundle

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Qantas Frequent Flyer American Express Bundle

No reviews
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Qantas Frequent Flyer Mastercard

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Qantas Frequent Flyer Mastercard

3 reviews
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Velocity Frequent Flyer American Express Bundle

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Velocity Frequent Flyer American Express Bundle

No reviews
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Velocity Frequent Flyer Mastercard

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Velocity Frequent Flyer Mastercard

No reviews
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Altitude Rewards American Express Bundle

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Altitude Rewards American Express Bundle

No reviews
Westpac Altitude Platinum - Altitude Rewards Mastercard

Westpac Altitude Platinum - Altitude Rewards Mastercard

4 reviews
Pros
      • 15,000 Bonus Qantas Points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days of card approval

      • Earn up to 1.5 points per $1 spent

      • No Additional Card Fee

      • Receive 60,000 Bonus Qantas Points if you apply by 15 October 2019 and spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first 90 days from card approval

      • Earn 0.5 Qantas Points per $1, uncapped

      • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

      • 15,000 Bonus Velocity Points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days of card approval

      • Earn up to 3 points per $1 spent

      • No Additional Card Fee

      • Receive 60,000 Bonus Velocity Points if you apply by 15 October 2019 and spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first 90 days from card approval

      • Earn 0.5 Velocity Point per $1, uncapped

      • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

      • 15,000 Bonus Altitude Points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days of card approval

      • Earn up to 3 points per $1 spent

      • No Additional Card Fee

      • Receive 60,000 Bonus Altitude Points if you apply by 15 October 2019 and spend $3,000 on eligible purchases in the first 90 days from card approval

      • Earn 1 Altitude Point per $1, uncapped

      • Complimentary Insurance covers, including Overseas Travel, Purchase Security and Transit Accident Insurance

      Cons
          • 3% Currency Conversion Fee

          • $30 Late Payment Fee

          • $200 Annual Fee

          • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

          • 3% Currency Conversion Fee

          • $30 Late Payment Fee

          • $200 Annual Fee

          • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

          • 3% Currency Conversion Fee

          • $30 Late Payment Fee

          • $150 Annual Fee

          • 3% Foreign Transaction Fee

          CategoryRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit CardsRewards Credit Cards
          24-Hour Phone Contact NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
          Online Live Chat NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
          Card TypeAmerican ExpressMastercardAmerican ExpressMastercardAmerican ExpressMastercard
          BenefitsComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points OfferComplimentary Travel Insurance and Sign-Up Bonus Points Offer
          Minimum Credit Limit $3,000$6,000$3,000$6,000$3,000$6,000
          Additional Cardholders 11111111
          Additional Cardholder Fee $0 p.a.$0 p.a.$0 p.a.$0 p.a.$0 p.a.$0 p.a.$0 p.a.$0 p.a.
          Rewards ProgramQantas Frequent FlyerWestpac Altitude RewardsQantas Frequent FlyerQantas Frequent FlyerVelocity Frequent FlyerVelocity Frequent FlyerWestpac Altitude RewardsWestpac Altitude Rewards
          Points Earn Rate 0.5 points per $10.5 points per $11 points per $10.5 points per $12 points per $11 points per $1
          Points Conditions
          • 0.5 Qantas Points per $1 spent on eligible purchases

          There is no cap on earn rate.

          • 0.5 Qantas points per $1 spent on all eligible purchases

          There is no cap on earn rate.

          • 1 point per $1 spent in Australia, excluding government bodies

          • 1.5 points per $1 spent in foreign currency

          • 0.5 points per $1 spent at government bodies in Australia

          There is no cap on earn rate.

          • 0.5 Velocity Points per dollar spent on eligible purchases
          • 2 points per $1 spent on eligible purchases in Australia

          • 3 points per $1 spent in foregin currency

          • 1 point per $1 spent at government bodies in Australia such as Australia Post & the Australian Taxation Office

          There is no cap on earn rate.

          • 1 Altitude point per $1 spent on all eligible purchases.

          There is no cap on earn rate.

          Contactless PaymentsFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung PayFitbit Pay, Garmin Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
          Rates & Fees
          Purchase Rate20.24% p.a.20.49% p.a.20.24% p.a.20.49% p.a.20.24% p.a.20.49% p.a.
          Cash Advance Fee2%2%2%2%2%2%2%2%
          Late Payment Fee$15$15$15$15$15$15$15$15
          Annual Fee$150 p.a.$150 p.a.$49 p.a.$200 p.a.$49 p.a.$200 p.a.$49 p.a.$150 p.a.
          Foreign Transaction Fee 3%3%3%3%3%3%3%3%
          Interest Free Period 45 days45 days45 days45 days45 days45 days45 days45 days
          Cash Advance Rate20.49% p.a.20.49% p.a.20.49% p.a.
          Introductory Offers
          Sign-Up Bonus Receive 15,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.Receive 60,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.Receive 15,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.Receive 60,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.Receive 15,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.Receive 60,000 points when you spend $3,000 within 90 days from card approval.

          Visit official website

          Reviews

          Review distribution

          5 star
          9
          4 star
          10
          3 star
          9
          2 star
          5
          1 star
          6

          Great credit card with good Qantas points promo

          published

          I have had no issues with this card and signed up during the bonus Qantas FF points promotion. However although my points did come through, it took nearly 7 months for this to happen, way past the original deadline. I had to chase up a few times hence why only 4 stars.

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


          Gustavo P.

          Gustavo P.Sydney, NSW

          No Issues so far. Everything working as adverstised

          published

          Have been using this card for almost a year. Application process was easy and had no issues being approved. Card arrived within a few days from approval. Spent the minimum amount for the bonus points and receive it after 90 days in my Qantas FF account. Recently, it got replaced with a Mastercard card (previously Visa). No annual fee for the first year, just a 50$ for selecting Qantas FF rewards.
          Used it overseas with no issues. Points are automatically transferred every month to my FF account. Points conversion rate is not the best but it does the job since I dont spend large amount every month. Would recommend but there are better cards in the market at the moment (higher bonus for higher spending)

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateJanuary 2019
          Main Point of ContactOnline
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          Great high earning card with home loan package

          published

          I received the card under a home loan package.

          The rewards program is quite simple and accumulates quickly.

          The lounge pass access is a nice added bonus.

          I have not had to call customer service so can't speak on that front.

          Transparency
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Main Point of ContactBranch
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
          See all answers
          Jimb

          JimbGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

          • 22 reviews
          • 9 likes

          Westpac Platinum Card

          published

          Have changed from black card to platinum because fees were going to come into force because we changed accounts and were offered new card with no fees for 1 year,I use this for most payments and pay back out of interest bearing account and limits the amount of interest I pay,gives rewards extends warranties on some items even though you have to pay an excess on claim would not consider if under $200,same with car hire insurance also provides travel insurance but make sure you read the fine print,fees not to bad but I generally pay back quickly anyway.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateOctober 2018
          Main Point of ContactPhone
          Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
          See all answers

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


          Pearl lee

          Pearl leeSouth East Queensland, QLD

          • 13 reviews
          • 1 like

          Earning points to pay off my debt

          published

          Been paying bills solely with this card, and earning lots of points. Happy with how there are many rewards to select from. Have collected a kitchenaid mixer, food processor and a Breville Waffle Maker using the reward points. And lately, have been using the points to pay off my debt instead of collecting more cookware.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateOctober 2010
          Main Point of ContactOnline
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          Carl Millen

          Carl MillenDarling Downs, QLD

          • 11 reviews

          It's worth having it for the Free Travel Insurance

          published

          The accrual of Frequent Flyer points for every payment is great.
          I get all my property insurance payments paid from my Westpac Altitude Platinum VISA. This now has helped me accrue over 120,000 frequent flyer points.
          I don't worry about any late fees because I have setup auto payments into it to cover my insurance payments.
          Also the free travel insurance is wonderful with no upper limit for overseas medical expenses and up to $1000 for any emergency dental costs while overseas.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateSeptember 2017
          Main Point of ContactPhone
          Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          Funky Consumer

          Funky ConsumerPerth, WA

          • 27 reviews
          • 14 likes

          Looks good, til you try to actually redeem anything.

          published

          I went through period where I paid for everything on my card. I got up to around 180k points and went to book return flight from Perth to Adelaide. My points got "me" only a one way and the flights offered were all the rubbish midnight flights.

          Credit card accounts and departments are designed to make it hard as possible to work out in black white balancing the account, alot different to savings or transaction accounts so there is extra stress in managing it.

          I still use the card but I don't care about points anymore I like that it includes complimentary travel insurance although now I am reading horror stories about QBE treating claims poorly for this insurance.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateAugust 2015
          Main Point of ContactOnline
          Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          Iron

          IronSydney

          • 19 reviews
          • 15 likes

          Standard credit card with good introductory offer

          published

          This card is a normal credit card but does earn some points. They have a great introductory offer with no fee and bonus points which got me in.

          The online website is nothing special. The Altitude points seem to be worth less than other loyalty schemes (as in their scheme products are more expensive). There is an extra fee is you want to convert to Qantas points, and you will have to spend a lot to make that worthwhile.

          The monthly due date for paying off the card is only about a week after the statement has arrived, which is too short for me and will probably see me closing this account before the next annual fee.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateJune 2019
          See all answers
          Yuly

          Yuly

          • 5 reviews

          An OK card

          published

          Still waiting for the 60000 Qantas bonus points. They charge $50 extra for earning Qantas points though. Reduced first year annual fee. Earning rate is lower than other cards only 0.5 point per dollar. Foreign transaction fees and exchange rates not good.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateApril 2019
          Main Point of ContactBranch
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
          See all answers
          Arvin V.

          Arvin V.Perth, WA

          • 6 reviews

          60000 bonus points !!

          published

          Got 60000 bonus Qantas points after spending few thousand dollars in first few months.

          Pros
          1) Bonus Qantas points
          2) Qantas Reward points
          3) Ease of managing the payments
          4) Low annual fees
          5) Complimentary insurance

          Cons
          1) Foreign transaction fees and below average exchange rates.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Main Point of ContactPhone
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          Shirley

          ShirleySydney, NSW

          • 4 reviews

          Good if there's bonus sign on offer

          published

          An ok platinum credit card just like any other ones. Signed up for this because of the bonus offer and first year annual fee waived.

          The FF earn rate is normal, other insurances offered are also more or less the same with sub par cards. One good thing about this card would be Westpac credit card offers (similar to amex spend X amount get X credit back). Though you don't it too often.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateMay 2019
          Main Point of ContactOnline
          Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
          See all answers

          Dat L.

          Dat L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

          • 4 reviews

          Quick applying. Difficult to set up Autopay.

          published

          Quick application process, but had to go to a branch to set up Autopay from another bank.
          Not as many discount offers as Amex, and I never found any offers useful for myself.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateMay 2019
          Main Point of ContactBranch
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
          See all answers

          Happy camper

          Happy camperPerth, WA

          • 6 reviews
          • 3 likes

          Is linked to account and debit card which has been can been useful. Interest rate is a bit high.

          published

          I have used overseas the card and was able to withdraw at most ATMs. Has had unauthorised use and bank did refund money. The conversion rate back to $Au dollars was fair.

          Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Special Purchases

          Maurice Porcheron

          Maurice PorcheronUPPER COOMERA

          • 6 reviews

          Greatest Card Ever - Decent Rewards

          published

          Have had this card for many years and have never had any issues. I received the card when I took out my first mortgage and have never paid any fees since. I average $1,500 - $2,000 / month on purchases both in Australia and Overseas and never have had any issues nor surprises. The card just works.......

          Rates and Fees
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

          Ange

          AngeSouth East Queensland, QLD

          • 6 reviews
          • 1 like

          I love the rewards i reap with the points i earn!

          published

          I use my Westpac Mastercard for literally everything. All of my bills are set up to be debited and I pay all of my day to day expenses with my card. I always ensure that my card is paid off by the due date to avoid any interest being charged and the fees are minimal. I am constantly earning enough points for a $50 Woolworths voucher to put towards my grocery bill. There are loads of other options too, but this works well for me.

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

          Lulu Rocket

          Lulu Rocket

          • 3 reviews

          Large fees decent rewards

          published

          Fees are large and interest rate is huge. Rewards have been good. Used card overseas with no issues. Would love to change to lower interest rate card soon. This was prefect for my business when I first got it.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          See all answers

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


          Greg

          GregLidcombe

          • 6 reviews

          Decent credit card

          published

          I am fairly satisfied with the rewards on the credit card. The annual fee in my opinion is a little high but the insurance options and the ease of point accumulation seems to outweigh that fact. I personally have not used the card overseas but my mate has and said there was no issues at all. I would recommend this card for just the insurance options alone.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Main Point of ContactPhone
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
          See all answers

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


          DuckOnTheDam

          DuckOnTheDamJervis Bay

          • 4 reviews
          • 1 like

          You get what you pay for...

          published

          Recently got scammed by a fake site selling footwear. So bought 2 pairs for my husband thinking this sounds too good to be true... and it was, haha. After i realised something didn't seem right with the transaction, i contacted westpac altitude and after some investigation and sending details they fully repaid the amount i lost. So heavy fees come with good customer protection.

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateMarch 2000
          Main Point of ContactOnline
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
          See all answers

          The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


          Faye harp

          Faye harpGeelong, Victoria

          • 5 reviews
          • 1 like

          Westpac credit cards

          published

          We do use it overseas but we stack it up with our own money so we're not slugged with huge fees but when rules change so do cashing in for flights etc.....
          It used to be a great card at Westpac but it doesn't live up to the annual fees we pay

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateJune 2002
          Main Point of ContactBranch
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
          See all answers

          GarethG

          GarethGSouth East Queensland, QLD

          • 2 reviews

          Stay far far away from this product!!!

          published

          Final came to a point were I wanted to redeem some of my points. Now been over two weeks of waiting, customer support cant help at all and don't know what they doing, they cancel some cards and credit the points back to your account without notifying you. Support staff rude and unhelpful. Will definetly be moving to another Bank and product. Shocking shocking service. Now been told the cards will be dispatched after 10 weeks!!!!

          Transparency
          Customer Service
          Rates and Fees
          Rewards
          Online Experience
          Application Process
          Card Start DateFebruary 2014
          Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
          See all answers

          Page 1 of 2

          Questions & Answers

          pedro

          pedroasked

          am using westpac altitude platinum credit card complimentary travel insurance going to usa and columbia in july 2016 have read all the fine print i think and on reading smartraveller they suggest you get in writing confirmation that you are covered etc ring westpac get put through to the phillipines and no they will not give it to you in writing same line as long as you met the conditions in the policy you are automatically covered any thought ????

          2 answers
          Althom
          Althom

          Wouldn't trust anything they say if they won't give it to you in writing. Go into a branch and ask there. If you still don't get a straight answer contact a Travel Insurance Specialist.

          natural
          natural

          I used to have a Westpac Gold Card and a "Gold Overseas Travel Insurance" policy came with it. The "conditions of use" booklet had a table of benefits and this certainly provided all the relevant details you need. I would expect you could pick up a copy of the "conditions of use" booklet from your nearest Westpac branch. It may be called a "product disclosure statement" these days but if Westpac says its offering free travel insurance with your card then printed details of that insurance should be readily available.


          Get an answer from our members and Westpac representatives

          ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.