??!
1 photo
Whirlpool 31L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JT479IX

Whirlpool 31L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JT479IX

MPN: JT479IX
4.8 from 13 reviews · View Statistics

Benchtop and Toaster Ovens Buying Guide

Everyone loves a good, home-cooked meal - crispy-crust pizza, anyone? A benchtop/toaster oven is a mini, portable oven that sits on your kitchen counter and achieves delicious results. Read on for more information about whether a toaster oven is right for you.

Read now

Pros

  • Multi-functional cooking ability

  • 90 pre-programmed recipes

  • Durable build quality

Cons

  • A little pricey at $649

Reviews

4.8

13 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Previous
Next

Excellent for crisping and reheating meals.

published

This oven is solid and works effectively to reheat meals and to crisp leftovers. Works quickly and the crisping plate is fantastic. Saves me booting up the wall oven for small quantities.

Purchased in October 2020 for A$616.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Good Microwave

published

There a lot of functions to work through but the basic microwave and oven work a treat.

The microwave itself is very sturdy and heavier and better built compared to the other microwave/oven combos out there.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$649.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Stan N

Stan N

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fabulous Microwave

published

This microwave is unbelievable. Cooks my roast dinners in half an hour.... delicious. Steamer is super also and cooks vegetables perfectly. Other features like fan forced oven, grill/microwave work beautifully.
Best Crisp and Grill on the market.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Whirlpool 31L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JT479IX compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JJJ

JJJ

  • 3 reviews

Takes some getting used to

published

So far does a great job of cooking food when you can work out the appropriate settings for what you are cooking, but this is not always obvious so some things can take a bit of trial and error. Still learning the ropes of this machine as I go. Food is cooked evenly, and I am loving the ease of the sensor function!
I do wish companies would use straightforward language to talk about product features instead of fanciful gibberish like “6th sense” though!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

LOKESH

LOKESHGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

This is one of the Magic wave not just Microwave in the Market

published

The best part of this Microwave is most of the popular dishes menu is pre fed, all you have to do is follow the instruction and result is very impressive. This is in true sense a House master Chef who can look after most of daily food preparation. My wife is very happy and so i am. Highly recommended

Purchased in September 2020 at Home Clearance for A$420.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Am struggling to adapt to this way of cooking - takes time to adjust my thinking

published

I have not used a convection oven before and am finding it confusing until worked out. I would have appreciated being able to go to a demonstration - but am sorting it out - sometimes with trepidation.
When I sort out a recipe the results are good. Am looking forward to receiving your cook book.
all in all a great product.

Purchased in August 2020 for A$704.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Fran

FranNorth-West & West coast, TAS

EXCELLENT

published

Purchased in May 2020 for A$599.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Jill S.

Jill S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Love it!!!

published

Once you have had one you will never go back. I love the expanded menu, such as the chef menu, it really works. The food stays fresh, just like a normal oven, especially using the crisp plate. This is NOT a normal microwave! Love it!!! Thank you Whirlpool.

Purchased in August 2020 for A$649.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
phoenixd

phoenixdMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 117 reviews
  • 33 likes
  • Verified purchase

No other microwave would do

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Arisit for A$649.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Find out how Whirlpool 31L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JT479IX compares to other Benchtop / Toaster Ovens

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michelle L.

Michelle L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Best kitchen Appliances I have ever bought A+

published

what can I say. I have gone from having a Microwave and a oven to all in One. The defrost is perfect it doesn't cook the corners of the meat like a Microwave dose. Best chips on the crisp plate. Kids love it. They look at the chef menu and cook dinner now. They love how its programed.
Especially the popcorn button, perfect popcorn.
Don't knock it till you try it. You will not look back

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Incentivised ReviewNo
ovenbaked

ovenbakedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

No beeps, great convection oven.

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Researcher

ResearcherSydney, NSW

This is the new update

published

This new oven is better and greater than our previous one we searched for an alternative in this price range but nothing else on the market can better this oven. One disappointment with this machine is that it did not come with the baking tray or plate cover (optional extra) as it did with JT369. that aside I am enjoying learning using this .

Purchased in June 2020.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified purchase

Would be lost without it

published

Questions & Answers

John

Johnasked

Can reach 400C

1 answer
Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

Hi John,
These microwaves reach a high cooking temperature, but not up to 400°C.
Regards

Jill Urli

Jill Urliasked

I would like to know the price and also how many Litres is this air fryer please

3 answers
Stan N
Stan N

This is not an air fryer it is a microwave !!

Whirlpool
Schae P.Whirlpool

Hi Jill,

The JT479IX is a convection microwave not an air fryer. It has a 31L capacity and for pricing depending where you are located please visit your local Harvey Norman or Bing Lee Store.

Kind Regards,

John
John

Can’t make good pizzas

Winston

Winstonasked

Is Arisit keeping parts to repair this microwave? I've had the two forerunners to this latest (Whirlpool JT369 and Ariston MWA33B), and both failed due to manufacturer's faults. Neither could be repaired within or outside of 12 months, making the 2 yr warranty a sham. The first, at over $500, had to be left for the street clean up.

5 answers
Greg
Greg

Winston, I certainly hope that’s not the case with this machine. You would have to ask them, but I’m sure that if it’s not repairable during warranty; the microwave would be replaced. Please contact the distributor for definitive answers to your questions.

Winston
Winston

The only significant updates to this unit (besides a big jump in price 2019-20), is the door handle and badge changes. Within or out of warranty, parts were not available for repair (incl. manufacturing defects). The distributor for Whirlpool and Ariston (Arisit) are somewhat lax. People don't make the link on this Review site, because it's product specific (despite this microwave being manufactured by the same company and distributed by the same company). Whirlpool, the current badge on this unit, replies here, but not to other Review pages about the same product or service. Smoke and mirrors for an expensive product with repeated manufacturing defects.

Researcher
Researcher

I would hope so they are obliged by Australian consumer law to have parts available for at least 10 yrs from manufacture and I would suggest that you ring them up and ask them

Get an answer from our members and Whirlpool representatives

Details

Features:

  • Multi-functional capabilities allow you to use this handy appliance for variety of functions, as it works as a convention oven, microwave, griller, steamer and defrost. There are also more uncommon functions such as bread defrost.
  • The in-built convection oven features an adjustable temperature setting, which you can raise or lower in increments of 5 degrees Celsius – allowing for more precise cooking
  • A 31L capacity is on the more sizeable end of the spectrum when it comes to benchtop ovens, allowing you to cook or re-heat generous servings of food
  • 90 Auto recipes allows you to easily prepare foods at the press of a button

Points of Praise for the Whirlpool 31L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave:

  • The solid build quality of this benchtop oven, due largely to a stainless steel construction, was appreciated by reviewers
  • Reheats meals and crisps leftovers well, with many reviewers in particular being fans of the special crisping plate
  • The convection oven functionality was viewed as highly convenient by reviewers, particularly for times they had small quantities of food to cook and preferred not to use the wall oven
  • The plentiful functions offered by the auto menu and chef’s menu made cooking a variety of foods a breeze, including popcorn, cakes, pies and toasted sandwiches.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

The Whirlpool 31L Convention, Crisp & Grill Microwave has cooked up a storm of success, winning the 2021 Award for Best Benchtop/ Toaster Oven. Top points were awarded for this benchtop oven’s outstanding cooking and re-heating performance, as well as for its durable build quality.

Visit official website
  • MPN: JT479IX

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.