??!
1 photo
Xiaomi Mi Max

Xiaomi Mi Max

4.3 from 12 reviews

See the Best Mobile Phones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

Dev

DevGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Good for Money

published

I have been using this Phone since 4 years now. Its one of the best phone from Xiaomi of that time. The camera pic quality was good though has degraded over a period of time. Not sure if this is due to upgrades or ageing or may be not well handled by me :( But overall its not a bad choice at the price and when you want a big broad screen and when other brands are quite expensive to give you these features.

Purchased in December 2014.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Andrew

Andrew

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone but too big

published

I love this phone. It is fast. The screen is amazing for videos and games, even just general use. But it is too big. I can't fit it into my pocket. I have dropped it and smashed the screen 3 times now. And yes, it has always been in a case. I so desperately want to be able to use it but it is just way too big. It would be great for a woman with a handbag, but for a tradie etc, its no good.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Mom1

Mom1

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic Phone

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Mark

Mark

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great phone for price

published

The phone has a huge 6.4 inch screen which is becoming a trend.. I don't think it's as practical as 5-6 inch screens as it's difficult to hold especially if you have smaller hands. The operating system and ui are fairly decent but some elements are not as good as regular android. Fast enough and can't beat value for money.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Nick N

Nick NBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought it for the battery life, not disappointed

published

An improvement from my Xiaomi redmi note 3, battery life lasts easily a day with heavy usage. However, camera quality is similar to the note 3 (poor quality) which is to be expected on a cheap Xiaomi phone. Can sometimes lag a bit when too much memory is used up.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

David

DavidMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fast phone and nice size

published

This was my first Xiaomi phone and I'm surprised how good it is for the price. The size is perfect for browsing and playing games. The battery life is very good for such a big phone. I typically only need to charge it every second day instead of every day with my previous phones.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

ningning

ningningAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but more design for using at China.

published

This phone is made by Xiaomi which is a Chinese company and have its MIUI system which costumed by Andorid. Mi Max is a good large phone. When watching movies or play games, the feeling is amazing. But some function could only be used at China such as using your Xiaomi Mi Max as bus ticket or purchase when you buy. And it still a quite good phone though you may need to install the Google Play store by yourself.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

annoyed42

annoyed42SYDNEY

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

6.6 4g Mi Max

published

This phone is huge!
After rooting the handset and installing a custom Nougat rom, this thing runs like a dream.

It requires the install of google Play.apk from the internet.

I have had this phone since August last year and still use it everyday. Highly recommended
Xiaomi Mi Max Prime 128GB

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Art

Art

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good value for money

published

This is a big phone with convenient screen. Probably suited better for big blokes arms however sure the ladies would appreciate it too. Good performance with 4GB of RAM, screen animations are smooth. Battery life is surprisingly long for such a big screen. No issues with Xiaomi UI as well.

Well worth 350AUD.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Scott

Scott

  • 4 reviews

Exceeded expectations

published

Big, beautiful and reliable. This phone has exceeded my expectations after owning a Leagoo Shark 1 and an Elephone p9000. 2 day battery life with frequent use. Good looking screen. Even the Xiaomi android overlay isn't too intrusive or full of bloatware. Some of their own apps are actually quite good. 2 friends have also bought after trying out my Mi Max.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Ray

RayMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Would never buy Xiaomi again

published

Xiaomi Mi5 using Global Stable 8.2.2.0 Android 7.0.NRD90M in Melbourne Australia. GPS location is not accurate on this phone and looses GPS signal regularly. Not suitable for Google maps if navigating in car as it lags about 100 metre behind actual location. No good for Fitbits or Pokemon go players. Power on off switch is in a position that when you hold the phone it turns off, why couldn't the power button be on the top. The back sensor on the bottom right of the phone is super sensitive and the slightest touch takes you back to where you dont want to be. Camera quality is very poor. Very sorry I bought this phone. The reviewers of this this phone who gave it good reviews should have a good hard look at themselves.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Beloooooong

BeloooooongBrisbane

Best battery life ever !

published

After searching for a mobile phone with excellent battery life, I came across the Xiaomi Mi Max - with a stunning 6.44-inch IPS LCD capacitive touchscreen, 16 million colours, 1080 x 1920 pixels resolution and 342ppi pixel density I was pleasantly surprised to see a price under $300.

This is a great phone - but be aware that the size makes it difficult to manage during your day to day tasks of shopping, mowing, BBQ'ing, etc.

Still a great phone though!

Questions & Answers

Jenny Y.

Jenny Y.asked

Does the mi max 3 work in Australia?

No answers

Sierra

Sierraasked

How well does Xiaomi mi mix 2s reception work in rural areas? Is it of blue tick reception standard?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Xiaomi representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $239
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging Port Micro-USB
Operating SystemAndroid
Display
Pixel Density342 ppi
Screen Size 6.44"
Screen Resolution1080 x 1920 pixels
Display TechnologyIPS LCD
Camera
Max Video Resolution 1080p (Full HD)
Hardware
ProcessorHexa-core 4 x 1.4 GHz & 2 x 1.8 GHz, Octa-core 4 x 1.4 GHz & 4 x 1.8 GHz
Battery Size4,850 mAh
Memory (RAM)4 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Grey, Silver, Gold
Dimensions 173.1 x 88.3 x 7.5 mm
Body MaterialGlass
Weight203 g

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.