??!
4 photos
Yamaha Motor YZF-R15 v2.0

Yamaha Motor YZF-R15 v2.0

4.4 from 12 reviews

See the Best Sport Touring Bikes in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0

j. m.

j. m.

  • 2 reviews

For the price it's perfect

published

Purchased in February 2015 for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Mileage 36,000 km
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Comfort
Fuel Efficiency
Gear Shifting
Handling
Suspension
See all answers

James

JamesMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Everyday commuter

published

Had this bike for the past 2 years. Ride to and from work everyday, approximately a 45 minute ride. Does well in 80km/hr zones, however struggles a bit on freeways. Can tell from the increased vibrations when having to maintain 7000 rev/min. Would recommend especially due to the fuel economy. Get up to 400km per tank

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Jimbo

JimboMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Great bike for a nervous rider

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Yamaha YZF-R15

published

I bought this bike on last year with great discount from motobiz blacktown. Service is bit expensive but more cheaper on fuel. I used everyday for travel from home to work and work to home. It is great saving machine. Can't expect more than this from this motorcycle. No need for bigger engine.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

fadi

fadi

  • 3 reviews

awesome choice

published

what can i say , best choice i made in the last 2 years , if you live near the city lets say under 10km then this is your ride ,easy to ride ,excellent performance ,cheap to run , parking is free, looks are sporty and learners approved ,just one awesome

Date PurchasedJan 2015

My first bike

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

What can you do to a R15

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

jacoboncloud

jacoboncloudSydney, Australia

  • 3 reviews

Perfect bike for learners!

published

I got this bike as new from local yamaha Sydney dealer. Stylish, Powerful(though it's just 150cc but has 12kw). Owning this bike for only one month and love it. Only thing is neutral is sometimes hard to kick but I think because it's new?? And the price is acceptable with lower cost on CTP and insurance (Again because of it's 150cc)

Recommend for learners and daily commuters.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Awesome riding experience.

published

Please don't fall for the rumours about the seaing position of the split seat. In v2. The riding experence is great for a person who has a desire to race. And the top speed of 130 is a fake it can do better, after several service. And only problem i see is that the bike cannot actually defeat its most compitators like the rc200,rs200, but it can over the sf150&apache190 or bike lower than 200cc and 20bhp.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
John Crossland

John Crossland

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Riding a YZF-R15 in NZ to get back into biking after over 20 years away from riding in UK

published
5 comments
John Crossland
John Crossland

See Murray Walker re: wobble & weave on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fvsDIq3WwVA

John Crossland
John Crossland
John Crossland
John Crossland

Awesome value for money, especially $4k

published

Glenn F

Glenn FMelbourne, Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

2014 V2 -Was excited from the little information on the web, 1500kms later pretty much blown away.

published

See all Yamaha YZF-R15 reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian Nason

Brian Nasonasked

What is the top speed that can be maintained for an extended time e.g riding on open highway?

1 answer
John Crossland
John Crossland

Depends a lot on your weight. I'm heavy and fairly squashed it at 110kgs being 20kgs less than the 130kg bike fueled. Someone 60-70kgs would have a blast on it. I reckon it'd hold 80-90kg riders. Over 100kgs and you'll find you'll get less out of it than lighter riders. After running in I found 7500rpm was an indicated 110kmh that was probably a real 100kmh. 8500rpm indicated 120kmh. Not a two up machine unless you and your riding partner each weigh less than 50kgs. Popular in Thailand and India with smaller riders. Well made. Handles poor roads fine. I rode my R15 in Christchurch with roads as bad as the one I rode on in Goa. Look up the Aussie guy who rode coast-to-coast on an R15.


Get an answer from our members and Yamaha Motor representatives

Details

CategorySport Touring Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
Engine Capacity150cc
Compare all Yamaha YZF-R15

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.