??!
1 photo
Yamaha YZF-R3

Yamaha YZF-R3

4.9 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.9

15 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Mileage 25,000 km
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (3)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (3)
  • Handling
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
R3 fan

R3 fanNew South Wales

Good little bike

published

I bought my R3 new in 2018. I’ve put 12000km on it, servicing every 5000km. I’ve been riding for 6 years and have mostly ridden 250cc and smaller bikes, often thinking I would like a bigger bike but I am honestly very happy with this one. Most of my ride to work is speed limited to 80 or less so I can’t justify getting a bigger bike. The R3 has plenty of power for what I need. No problem sitting on 110km/hr freeway speeds though - maintains revs at about 7500. I typically get between 350-400 km a tank (95 ULP) which I think is very good. I haven’t modified it in any way - I just treat it gently and look after it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage12,000 km
Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Sayed F.

Sayed F.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

The best LAMS supersport bike but...

published

Purchased in September 2019 at On Two Wheels for A$6,666.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage23,000 km
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Comfort
Handling
See all answers
asherlaide

asherlaideMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Perfect first bike. Amazing handling.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Yamaha World for A$5,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage20,000 km
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Comfort
Handling
See all answers
Super Sport Bikes

Find out how Yamaha YZF-R3 compares to other Super Sport Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

John

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

2017 Yamaha YZF R3 Review

published

I bought my 2017 YZF R3 brand new on the 15th Dec 2017. Today it’s the 3rd Feb 2018. I’ve done 2100 kms on it in less than two months.
My god, what a bike!
I’ve put a tale tidy on it and the Akrapovic slip on exhaust for $399 here in Sydney.
It’s had its first 1000km service.
This bike goes like the clappers when you know how to ride it (took me a while to understand it plus it needs the break in period of 1600kms or so).
I got the blue colour and it turns heads everywhere. I’ve only seen a black one on the streets. It’s a rare bike. Mostly I see ninjas or hyhusongs.
This bike is a dream. Can’t say much more. If you’re looking for a mechanical break down, don’t bother. It’s at the top of its class.
Love it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
mafr0

mafr0South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing LAMS bike!

published

So impressed with the Yamaha R3. Not being the most experienced rider when it comes to non-LAMS bikes, I can't say how it could compares to the big bikes, but I'm amazed at how much bike I'm getting out of this ripper of a machine! I honestly can't see how I'll ever want or need to upgrade as this things keeps my wow-factor well satisfied. Having riding mainly Honda LAMS bikes, this thing is just so much more fun and keen to thrill. My only negative with the bike is the mirrors - I ended up buying extender spacers to get better vision. All in all, fabulous bike, don't know why you'd bother with the heavier restricted 600cc+ LAMS bikes. Can't recommend the R3 more!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Alan Dunn

Alan DunnMAITLAND

  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great LAMS bike

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Mustafa

MustafaVic

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Really nice ride in summer

published

This bike is a really nice bike to ride in summer. I've been riding for approx. 2 years now and it is a great first bike for learner to learn on. having said that, if you live in a windy city, I'd recommend that you get a heavier bike as you'd be feeling the wind pressure.

Ahmad N

Ahmad NSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent LAMS bike for both beginners and aspiring 300cc racers.

published
Duckduck

DuckduckSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great learner's bike

published

The Yamaha R3 is a good bike for leaners, as a first bike. It is extremely easy to control and maneuver. The breaks are very forgiving, which is especially helpful for new riders.

Super Sport Bikes

Find out how Yamaha YZF-R3 compares to other Super Sport Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ROKU

ROKUWestern Australia

  • 16 reviews
  • 29 likes

CRAZY FUN BIKE !

published

My wife bought one of these and asked me to pick it up and take it home for her. By the time I got home, 60 k's later, wanted one ! Great little bike. They say you get what you pay for but in this case, well I think you get more for your money than anyone thinks. I normally ride super bikes, this ain't one of those, but it's a FUN bike and behaves like a decent bike at all times. A pleasure to ride and pretty well made from what we can see so far !

Kevin

KevinGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Can't get off it

published
Roley

RoleyAdelaide

  • 9 reviews
  • 16 likes

YZF-R3 composed and capable

published
Paul E

Paul E

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great commuter with enough power and tank range to tour

published

Purchased in August 2015 for A$7,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage45,000 km
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Comfort
Handling
See all answers

Best learned legal supersport out there!

published

I bought this bike around 3 months ago and have loved it eversince! It's an absolute beast for a 320cc bike and will not disappoint. Would recommend it over any other 300cc learned bike. Even the KTM rc390 as the KTM is only single cylinder and overheats even when you test ride it!

Tw586

Tw586Sydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

all that is needed in one package

published
Super Sport Bikes

Find out how Yamaha YZF-R3 compares to other Super Sport Bikes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.