Reviewer Photos & Videos
4 months using, 2 zips broken, few stitching/sewing gone, velcro broken...
I bought the roof top tent new in Sydney there are 4 months ago and since this moment i had every month a new problem.
1. Velcro on the sides are gone.
2. Zip of the cover is broken.
3. Stitching of the cover is broken.
4. Zip and sewing of the bottom part is broken.
Purchased in June 2020 at 4WD Supacentre for $800.00.
- Verified purchase
Tent cover to tight.
Installed our tent a week ago and although we haven't been away with it yet, we had a trial run of putting it up and inspected everything to make sure all's good. Happy with the short setup time, thickness of mattress, tent size and good ventilation. Problem came after packup. The cover is too small/tight and we can't get it completely on, so it won't zip up. Ripped a hole in cover whilst trying to very slowly ease it on as far as we could,, which we needed to do, as we head off on a 3 week road trip in 2 days time!
Purchased in August 2020 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $1,025.00.
We used our tent for two short camping trips and always stored back away under black transit cover. The third time we pulled it out almost all of the straps holding the waterproof cover on and the transit straps were just disintegrating in our hands. Tried explaining this to customer service twice, and just had transit strap shipped to us. Doesn’t solve our problems with it all! Over wasting my breath and time on the matter.. Very disappointed for the money we spent on it to receive such a cheaply made product! Not to mention the amount of money we have spent at their store over the years.
Purchased in April 2019 at 4WD Supacentre Online store.
Great tent, highly recommend.
Mistakenly posted under the weekender model, just putting this review where i meant it to go, Only had a few set ups of the tent and a weekend away. Made a rack for the Ute tub, mounted the tent and even though instructions may be a bit light on, you tube is your friend. You get what you pay for, but for this unit, you get a lot for what you pay for!!highly recommend.
Purchased at 4WD Supacentre.
Great RTT for the money.
Great tent relatively easy to install. The mattress is comfortable even for the price range of the tent. Air flow through the tent is great. You can keep all the windows open, even while it’s raining
Purchased in February 2020.
King roof top tent falling apart
I got a replacement tent from kings as my base split and a few other problems after using it for 3 months. Within 4 weeks the new tent base had split again pushing the supports through. I also had to get the bolt holes re drilled at the shop for the alloy that lays on the roof rack as they didnt line up. Cheap rubbish and bad build quality. Wouldn't buy this if you want it to last a long trip. The mattress is very bad it goes flat and uncomfortable after about 2 weeks.
Purchased at 4WD Supacentre Physical store for $750.00.
Rooftop tent leaking and 6man annex breaks and leaks on 1st setup
Purchased our rooftop tent and 6man annex 30 days ago today, using for first time today and at first sign of rain entire mattress inside tent saturated, seam leaking inside tent.
Within the annex water pooling inside at each of the zips and from the top seeping through the roof seams where annex zip and tent join
Have Requested return and refund or return/store credit-awaiting reply from Kings.
This is also not insect proof with multiple openings at bottom of tent where annex attaches- advertised as bug proof when bought so when torch turned on mozzies take over in annex
Tent was however relatively easy and quick to setup.
Purchased in October 2019 at 4WD Supacentre for $900.00.
Good but not bug proof
Tourer Model with 4 Man Annex (latetest model design at time of review with the covered over ladder section). Not bug proof. To be bug proof a tent needs to be fully enclosed (lining and mesh). The mesh doors and windows are fine but there are 4 open sections around the base. 2 are at each corner of the base on the ladder end (tennis ball size gaps in canvas where the overhanging awning section u-poles connect into base). The other 2 are at the middle base sides where it folds in half (some velcro flaps are present on the sides to cover/seal these 2 gaps but they do not completely seal these sections).
Had the rooftop tent for a few weeks and just finished a camping holiday sleeping in it for 16 days straight. All went well first few days, easy setup and packup however... the floor is very flimsy. After one week it started to bow and buckle with the internall supports poking through. The mattress flattenned to a pancake in the middle. It was right where your hip and lower back sit. Each morning was a painful awakening. The stitching at the zip connection for the cover has come away also.
Purchased in June 2019 at 4WD Supacentre Online store for $700.00.
- Verified purchase
Kings Roof Top Tent Hardshell (not the style in picture)
Update: It appears I am to receive a replacement after a couple off calls.
So hopefully it was onlt the first tent top that was defective.
I purchased the Kings "Kwiky" Roof Top Tent and would like to advise of the following:
Speed of delivery was exceptional.
I would like to point out that the actual Hard shell of the roof top tent is very poorly made in regards to the shape.
My top has large gaps at the sides up 4 cm which will allow water to enter the shell.
I also have great difficulty in closing the tent due to the fact the shell cover is to short at the front.
The whole top section is very poorly made.
ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.