?
? !
5 photos
ALDI Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

ALDI Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

2.3 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.3

12 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (5)
  • Safety
    3.2 (5)
Previous
Next
Mark O

Mark OCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Not a bad little saw

published

Bought my Ferrex 16" saw at Aldi for $99 a year ago as a back up saw for my twenty year old Husqvarna - TBH I didn't expect much for 99 bucks but now it's accounted for about 5 tons of firewood it no longer owes me anything - Just changed the OEM chain which wasn't the best and now with a decent one it cuts like a champ - Mainly cutting Iron Bark and Red Box Gum usually up to about 12" in diametre - Had no issues with starting cold or hot but it can leak chain oil a little if l leave it full to the brim - Bottom line is if you feed it fresh fuel keep the air filter clean and look after the chain it's a good little saw for occasional DIY use.

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vkoio4

Vkoio4

  • 3 reviews

Has cut a lot of firewood!

published

Over a couple of seasons I've used my Gardenline 45cc as a backup saw for the smaller stuff, but also some heavier work. It's been pretty darned good value for being on the markdown table at $40! Always reliable to start and idle, easy to handle and no particular fuss. It powers through thick, hard timber in reasonable time. The chain is low quality of course, but has lasted until now. I enjoy using the handy tool-less adjuster, though it's probably not as robust as the typical two bolts and nuts. My saw doesn't seem to leak much oil for a Chinese unit and, unlike my 62cc eBay specials, actually does oil the chain! The fuel line has now rotted, its first failure, but one that is fixed for a few cents. So, overall, a decent little unit.

Purchased at ALDI for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ferrex 3 year warranty is fake

published

Chain tensioner is a nightmare.
Will end up maiming or killing someone. Either that or it will fail.
As I've mentioned, here in the UK the Ferrex tools Aldi's sell with a 3 year warranty.
I've tried to claim on this ( for their Ferrex cordless 40v circular saw (Lazer always fails as (bad design- on all the time via seperate switch so burns out. Happened on all ones I'm aware of (mine and friends that's 5 between us))))
I was informed by head office customer service that they'd refund but no repair or replace available.

Purchased in October 2018 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019) compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Single use chainsaw

published

Worked fine once last year. I drained, cleaned and stored it properly. It starts this year but won't keep running, and yes I am using correct mix of fresh fuel. It's going back for a refund.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
accadakka

accadakkaPerth, WA

chain will not tighten anymore

published

Bought this one in August 2017, used it few times and replaced chain once. Today I got another chain and I am not able to tighten it anymore. Upon closer inspection noticed that screw is not turning anymore, something is broken is I don't know how to fix it. it is still under warranty as it has 36 months but I am not sure if authorized repairers are willing to repair it. unless anyone here knows how to get this one fixed and can provide detailed instructions

Purchased in August 2017 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fredo

FredoSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The money is better spent in the pub

published

Purchased in April 2016 at ALDI for $169.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian B03

Ian B03Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Not a reliable item

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Works good but is cheaply made

published

Workss good plenty of power, but safety brake broke chain got hot and stretched with caused the chain to wear out the chain bar cost me $90 to get fixed as l lost my reset so if your just looking for something to use every now and then ok but not to use alot

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

POS

published

Started once now won't start. No customer service available because the product is discontinued. Leaks fuel everywhere. Stay clear & don't purchase.
This chainsaw started once after an hour of priming & a sore shoulder. Cut 2 trees & now wont start after almost an hour again of pulling & priming.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019) compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't buy it

published

Bought in February 2017 should have not bothered, oil leaks, chain easily loosens, under slight load slips spend extra go with a known brand I have used this to cut down a palm tree it couldn't keep up maybe ok with soft green wood rubbish for palms after every cut had to turn off tighten chain.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

aldi chainsaw 45cc

published

Could not start the chainsaw. After changing the china made spark plug with a Champion RCJ7Y spark plug. It started after 2 pulls, all good.
Do yourself a favour and a lot of arm strength, just bay the new PLUG. It does the job for the handyman around the home.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dan

DanBendigo

Poorly Designed

published

Do not buy this brand of chainsaw, it is very similar to the Sunseeker brand (made in China), whereby the start recoil mechanism is too inferior to normal quality design standards and incapable of normal starting operations.
Whilst I was happy with the operating performance it is the inferior plastic used in the strating mechanism that lets it down.
I could not return the Sunseeker as the guarantee address and contact details did not exist, whereas the chainsaw purchased from Aldi did have these details and therefore managed to obtain a full refund.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all ALDI Petrol Chainsaw reviews

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

1 answer
Chainsaw user
Chainsaw user

It will say on the chain and the box

Col H

Col Hasked

Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

Thankyou Tezza for your previous answer. On further inspection I have found a crack in the oil delivery line. Are the two pipes available?

1 answer
Chainsaw user
Chainsaw user

Yes, ebay

Col H

Col Hasked

Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

My chainsaw loses oil so it doesn’t oil the chain.

3 answers
tezza
tezza

Yes , they do leak a bit of oil; which looks a lot worse than it is; but I found that it still oils the chain. Checking the oil container regularily will ease your fears. Very annoying that they leak at all.

Col H
Col H

Thankyou Tezza. On further inspection I have found a crack in the oil delivery line. Are the two pipes available?

tezza
tezza

Sorry, I do not know of their availability ; possibly try Aldi. I must check my oil line now....

See all ALDI Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019) questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

Details

Compare all 11 ALDI Petrol Chainsaw
CategoryPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $99.00
Use Pruning
Bar Length40 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System
Power (kW)1.5 kW
Engine Displacement45 cc
Special Buy Dates
  • 9 Apr 2016
  • 22 Oct 2016
  • 19 Aug 2017
  • 1 Sep 2018
  • 12 Oct 2019
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateApr 2016
Discontinuation dateOct 2019
Compare all 11 ALDI Petrol Chainsaw

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.