??!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (11)
  • Safety
    3.4 (10)
Previous
Next
tezza

tezzamelbourne

  • 4 reviews

good prototype. ... thats all..

published

I had to try a 4 stroke chainsaw. Not keen that engine oil serves as chain bar oil too. When idlying and also cutting, it sends out a spray of oil wherever you point the saw. Very messy. Also leaks when not in use. Relatively easy to start and I have cut small ; up to 120cm ; and it works for a few hours before it overheats and we both have a rest. Powerful, and could handle a larger chain.Needs to be run monthly , otherwise the fuel gums up and starting is difficult and revs are hard to build. The idea is great , just needs some decent seals and fine tuning.

Purchased in November 2018 at ALDI for $198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mark O

Mark OCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Not a bad little saw

published

Bought my Ferrex 16" saw at Aldi for $99 a year ago as a back up saw for my twenty year old Husqvarna - TBH I didn't expect much for 99 bucks but now it's accounted for about 5 tons of firewood it no longer owes me anything - Just changed the OEM chain which wasn't the best and now with a decent one it cuts like a champ - Mainly cutting Iron Bark and Red Box Gum usually up to about 12" in diametre - Had no issues with starting cold or hot but it can leak chain oil a little if l leave it full to the brim - Bottom line is if you feed it fresh fuel keep the air filter clean and look after the chain it's a good little saw for occasional DIY use.

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

cheap and does the job

published

the chain lube is way too much from factory but you can just adjust the screw so less comes out. really powerful and in my experience starts within 3 pulls

Purchased in March 2020 for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Petrol Chainsaw compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vkoio4

Vkoio4

  • 3 reviews

Has cut a lot of firewood!

published

Over a couple of seasons I've used my Gardenline 45cc as a backup saw for the smaller stuff, but also some heavier work. It's been pretty darned good value for being on the markdown table at $40! Always reliable to start and idle, easy to handle and no particular fuss. It powers through thick, hard timber in reasonable time. The chain is low quality of course, but has lasted until now. I enjoy using the handy tool-less adjuster, though it's probably not as robust as the typical two bolts and nuts. My saw doesn't seem to leak much oil for a Chinese unit and, unlike my 62cc eBay specials, actually does oil the chain! The fuel line has now rotted, its first failure, but one that is fixed for a few cents. So, overall, a decent little unit.

Purchased at ALDI for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Ferrex 3 year warranty is fake

published

Chain tensioner is a nightmare.
Will end up maiming or killing someone. Either that or it will fail.
As I've mentioned, here in the UK the Ferrex tools Aldi's sell with a 3 year warranty.
I've tried to claim on this ( for their Ferrex cordless 40v circular saw (Lazer always fails as (bad design- on all the time via seperate switch so burns out. Happened on all ones I'm aware of (mine and friends that's 5 between us))))
I was informed by head office customer service that they'd refund but no repair or replace available.

Purchased in October 2018 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Single use chainsaw

published

Worked fine once last year. I drained, cleaned and stored it properly. It starts this year but won't keep running, and yes I am using correct mix of fresh fuel. It's going back for a refund.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sue

SueTuggerah

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

unreliable

published

Used once on small bush. Worked for 20 minutes then nothing. Chain won’t turn. Don’t bother with this one. Leaks fuel and oil Really not buying anymore electrical stuff from ALDI. Too unreliable Finally learned my lesson

Purchased in December 2019 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
accadakka

accadakkaPerth, WA

chain will not tighten anymore

published

Bought this one in August 2017, used it few times and replaced chain once. Today I got another chain and I am not able to tighten it anymore. Upon closer inspection noticed that screw is not turning anymore, something is broken is I don't know how to fix it. it is still under warranty as it has 36 months but I am not sure if authorized repairers are willing to repair it. unless anyone here knows how to get this one fixed and can provide detailed instructions

Purchased in August 2017 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Heath McInerney

Heath McInerneyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

About time an affordable 4 stroke chainsaw

published

This saw is good on fuel. Runs nice and smooth. Ok it's not a 24" bar stihl or husky, but for what it is; it is a good saw. Ingenious how the engine oil is the bar oil. Only bad point, the file that comes with it, is soft and wears out after only 6 or 7 sharpens. That being said, new files are only about $7 at any mower/chainsaw store. No harder to start than any other saw. I have been cutting Aussie natives with it

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Petrol Chainsaw compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
will

willSydney, NSW

great chain saw works like a treat

published

used for cutting fire wood and large tree branches on my farm in the country new i have 4 saw all two stroke but the four stroke is just great well done .

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Melissa D.

Melissa D.Illawarra, NSW

Faulty product.

published

Safety bar won't disengage. Can't cut anything because the chainsaw doesn't work. Waste of money don't bother buying one. No video on the website either. Very unhappy with this product.

Incentivised ReviewNo

Gutsy unit .....so far so good

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Aldi Carnegie for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Steve

SteveAlbury

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ideal For Light Work

published

Bought this 37 cc chainsaw from Aldi primarily for light work during annual camping trips. Starts every year with 2-3pulls,nice compact size does the job great. Its not industrial designed so only good for light domestic jobs. But it does overly leak chain oil so only put enough oil in for what you need.

Purchased in February 2014 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Wow - how dodgy

published

fuel priming problem - The priming pump seems to pressurise the fuel tank no problem but absolutely no fuel to the carby. And the chain lube leaks oil everywhere! Cant get a service shop to even look at it.

Purchased in December 2017 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Fredo

FredoSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The money is better spent in the pub

published

Purchased in April 2016 at ALDI for $169.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how ALDI Petrol Chainsaw compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian B03

Ian B03Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Not a reliable item

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2017

Not bad

published

Works very well but struggled with larger wood diameters. Got quite warm /hot after about 30 mins use. Would recommend for home use. For the price it was a decent buy. ALDI return policy is very good however so not too big a risk if you do decide to return.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rocko Wallaby

Rocko WallabyGold Coast

  • 12 reviews
  • 42 likes

Useless product, and forget any warranty claim!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Aldi 4 stroke chainsaw

published

Simply great very light , as for fuel Ron 91 octane is fine . Starts first time every time and is very grunty without the noise and smoke . One oil tank is a very practical for crank and bar . The only thing I would improve would be using a larger bar and increasing the chain size , otherwise it was money well sent .

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Tough little saw 47.1 CC Chainsaw $199

published

47.1 CC 4-stroke chainsaw from Aldi Toowoomba for $199.

I think Gardenline finally listened. This saw kicks butt. It's a 4-stroke which is completely different fom
other chainsaws I've used in the past. I know chainsaws and this thing blows my mind. Sounds like a
generator when idles and sounds like a trailbike revving. Love the sound. Haven't had much negativity to
say except, get a better spark plug as the cheap chinese sparkplug causes the saw to spit after that, it's a
47.1 CC monster. Make sure yall use 98 octane fuel and 10w 30 pure oil for the best performance.

Starts everytime now. Don't drop start it, won't help you much.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Col H

Col Hasked

Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

Thankyou Tezza for your previous answer. On further inspection I have found a crack in the oil delivery line. Are the two pipes available?

No answers
Col H

Col Hasked

Gardenline / Ferrex 45cc Chainsaw (Apr 2016, Oct 2016, Aug 2017, Sep 2018, Oct 2019)

My chainsaw loses oil so it doesn’t oil the chain.

2 answers
tezza
tezza

Yes , they do leak a bit of oil; which looks a lot worse than it is; but I found that it still oils the chain. Checking the oil container regularily will ease your fears. Very annoying that they leak at all.

Col H
Col H

Thankyou Tezza. On further inspection I have found a crack in the oil delivery line. Are the two pipes available?

tezza

tezzaasked

Gardenline / Ferrex 4-Stroke 47.1cc Chainsaw (Aug 2018, Aug 2019)

I have not used this saw for a year. Old fuel has been replaced but still will not rev more than idle. Appears to be fuel deprived. Any suggestions please...

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

Compare all 9 ALDI Petrol Chainsaw
CategoryPetrol ChainsawsPetrol ChainsawsPetrol ChainsawsPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $149.00$99.00$149.00$199.00
Use Pruning and Small tree felling, trimming, and cross-cuttingPruningPruning
Bar Length41 cm40 cm40 cm41 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System, Automatic Chain Oiling / Lubrication, Carrying Case Included and Tool-free Chain TensioningAnti-Vibration SystemAnti-Vibration System and Automatic Chain Oiling / Lubrication
Power (kW)1.5 kW
Engine Displacement53 cc45 cc54.6 cc49 cc
Special Buy Dates
  • 21 Mar 2018
  • 27 Mar 2019
  • 25 Mar 2020
  • 9 Apr 2016
  • 22 Oct 2016
  • 19 Aug 2017
  • 1 Sep 2018
  • 12 Oct 2019
  • 8 Apr 2017
  • 10 Oct 2020
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2018Apr 2016Apr 2017Oct 2020
Discontinuation dateMar 2020Oct 2019Apr 2017Oct 2020
Compare all 9 ALDI Petrol Chainsaw

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.