??!

See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(7)
(14)
(6)
(5)
(20)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (5)
  • Safety
    4.0 (4)

accadakka

accadakkaPerth, WA

chain will not tighten anymore

published

Bought this one in August 2017, used it few times and replaced chain once. Today I got another chain and I am not able to tighten it anymore. Upon closer inspection noticed that screw is not turning anymore, something is broken is I don't know how to fix it. it is still under warranty as it has 36 months but I am not sure if authorized repairers are willing to repair it. unless anyone here knows how to get this one fixed and can provide detailed instructions

Purchased in August 2017 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

Heath McInerney

Heath McInerneyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

About time an affordable 4 stroke chainsaw

published

This saw is good on fuel. Runs nice and smooth. Ok it's not a 24" bar stihl or husky, but for what it is; it is a good saw. Ingenious how the engine oil is the bar oil. Only bad point, the file that comes with it, is soft and wears out after only 6 or 7 sharpens. That being said, new files are only about $7 at any mower/chainsaw store. No harder to start than any other saw. I have been cutting Aussie natives with it

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers
will

willSydney, NSW

great chain saw works like a treat

published

used for cutting fire wood and large tree branches on my farm in the country new i have 4 saw all two stroke but the four stroke is just great well done .

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Safety
See all answers
Melissa D.

Melissa D.Illawarra, NSW

Faulty product.

published

Safety bar won't disengage. Can't cut anything because the chainsaw doesn't work. Waste of money don't bother buying one. No video on the website either. Very unhappy with this product.


Gutsy unit .....so far so good

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Aldi Carnegie for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

Steve

SteveAlbury

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Ideal For Light Work

published

Bought this 37 cc chainsaw from Aldi primarily for light work during annual camping trips. Starts every year with 2-3pulls,nice compact size does the job great. Its not industrial designed so only good for light domestic jobs. But it does overly leak chain oil so only put enough oil in for what you need.

Purchased in February 2014 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Wow - how dodgy

published

fuel priming problem - The priming pump seems to pressurise the fuel tank no problem but absolutely no fuel to the carby. And the chain lube leaks oil everywhere! Cant get a service shop to even look at it.

Purchased in December 2017 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Fredo

FredoSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

The money is better spent in the pub

published

Purchased in April 2016 at ALDI for $169.00.

Ian B03

Ian B03Benalla

  • 3 reviews

Not a reliable item

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Not bad

published

Works very well but struggled with larger wood diameters. Got quite warm /hot after about 30 mins use. Would recommend for home use. For the price it was a decent buy. ALDI return policy is very good however so not too big a risk if you do decide to return.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Rocko Wallaby

Rocko WallabyGold Coast

  • 12 reviews

Useless product, and forget any warranty claim!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Aldi 4 stroke chainsaw

published

Simply great very light , as for fuel Ron 91 octane is fine . Starts first time every time and is very grunty without the noise and smoke . One oil tank is a very practical for crank and bar . The only thing I would improve would be using a larger bar and increasing the chain size , otherwise it was money well sent .

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Tough little saw 47.1 CC Chainsaw $199

published

47.1 CC 4-stroke chainsaw from Aldi Toowoomba for $199.

I think Gardenline finally listened. This saw kicks butt. It's a 4-stroke which is completely different fom
other chainsaws I've used in the past. I know chainsaws and this thing blows my mind. Sounds like a
generator when idles and sounds like a trailbike revving. Love the sound. Haven't had much negativity to
say except, get a better spark plug as the cheap chinese sparkplug causes the saw to spit after that, it's a
47.1 CC monster. Make sure yall use 98 octane fuel and 10w 30 pure oil for the best performance.

Starts everytime now. Don't drop start it, won't help you much.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

gardenline petrol chainsaw

published

BRILLIANT. A little beauty. Perfect for female gardeners. Light and so easy to start. Simple to pull apart for cleaning. Did throw its chain but quite easy to fix.
Felt quite safe using it. It did
ALDI please you need to reinstate this little gem There is nothing like it on the market place.
I'm deaperate

Date PurchasedMar 2017
James

James

  • 2 reviews

Awesome Saw

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Sandy

SandyThe Mallee, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fabulous Buy

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Plenty of power starts easy

published

Gor my 53cc aldi chainsaw for $100... was on the clearance rack to start it i dont listen to the instructions i turn the ignition switch off give it 2 pulls with the choke on then turn ignition switch on with no choke & it starts easy although the bar is 16 inch ive been cutting hardwood logs up 20 inch thick wirh no problems the stated 2.2kw of power isnt to be laughed at anyway so far so good

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Sully62

Sully62

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Chain will not tighten

published

Started my chainsaw up on Saturday no problem, eventually chain loosened, read the instructions how to tighten, unlocked it but the dial won't turn to tighten or to loosen, cane home very disappointed. Anyone any ideas ??? Struggled for ages trying to tighten it. Will have to buy firewood now. Wife not impress.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Greybeard

GreybeardUpper Coomera, Qld

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

A great Chainsaw

published

Although I have only have had my ALDI Gardenline 53 cc Chainsaw for a few weeks I have found it to be a great piece of equipment, but must admit the spark plug connection is badly designed, while checking the spark plug gap the clip came off with the rubber boot, could be the problem why some don't start, a new clip fixed the problem.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

klr_rider1

klr_rider1Canberra

Aldi Gardenline 53cc Chainsaw

published

I bought this chainsaw for $A149. I tried unsuccessfully to start it for 4 days. I even changed the sparkplug. I also tried Start ya aerosol spray.The Manual contradicts itself on the starting procedure. The Manual does not provide information on options to replace the Chinese sparkplug, After 4 days, I returned it to Aldi and received a full refund. With my refund, I bought a Stihl Mini Boss MS 170 chainsaw which does start.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Lindsay W.

Lindsay W.asked

Hi Do you have a parts list and user manual for the above chainsaw.

No answers

ASHRAF A.

ASHRAF A.asked

i bought from both brand Gardenline and ferrex but i need spare parts like chain and bars where i can find them? i appreciate if you can forward a number where i can find spare parts

3 answers
accadakka
accadakka

chain... you can buy from Bunnings. Just count the number of links

ASHRAF A.
ASHRAF A.

and what about the bar

ASHRAF A.
ASHRAF A.

the chain bar< Where can i get it from?


Mateygeese

Mateygeeseasked

Is this model still available

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.