2 photos
Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

MS 170, MS 171
3.9 from 61 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Petrol Chainsaws in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Stihl? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Long-life air filter system

  • Anti-vibration system

  • Chain brake

Cons

  • Can be difficult to start up

  • Poor build quality

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (8)
  • Safety
    4.3 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
John
John
  • 14 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good Little Saw

published

Purchased in July 2015 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Victoria Jonson
Victoria JonsonFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Dreadful

published

I bought this chainsaw based on the reviews. However. I seriously wish I'd never bought it now. It is an absolute nightmare to get going .Everytime I want to use it I have to return to the store to get the staff to get it going. I deeply regret buying it and wished I'd got and electric chain saw.

Purchased in April 2018 at Braschs for $250.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised Review No
Dogman
DogmanSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Didn't last very long - 14 months

published

. From the instructions - It was very hard to start. Had to watch a blogger on U-Tube explain
. Only used it a few times and at 14 months the motor seized up
. The dealer said "no 2 stroke oil in petrol mix". I don't believe this was the case. The gas (petrol) in the tank was the right mix of oil and petrol- we both could see that. Maybe only Stihl 2 stroke oil should be used.
. Not sure I'd buy another Stihl 170.

Purchased in April 2019 at GYC for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dogman
Dogman

Please note -my review is NOT in any way to be a criticism of GYC - they are a very efficient and trustworthy dealer and I'll recommend them to anyone. My review is about my experience with my Stihl 170.

Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Handle is plastic $70 to replace didn’t last three trees

published

I waited six years to buy a Skihl. Got the warranty. look on the bottom. Plastic handle. It’s held together with a tiny piece of plastic on a spring cracks easy cheap Chinese junk now. You’ve been Warned by if you’re an idiot.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Good for current price

published

Starts alright if you follow directions and use new fuel and Stihl oil. Full choke (lever to bottom) and few pulls till fires. If fires but not start, click choke lever up a notch. That usually starts after a few pulls and then blip to idle and off you go. Spoke to dealer and he stressed importance of fresh fuel if even 10 hrs old. Is a solid, reliable tool for price. Not meant for large trees but good for re-growth and branch pruning. Not too heavy for older man or fit female.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sean K
Sean KMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Solid piece of engineering you won’t regret passing over you hard earned cash for BUT!!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2009 at Gumtreee .

Build Quality
Value for Money

cheap rubbish

published

was ok to use at the start, used this chainsaw 8 times and nothing but troubles. under powered, no decent tuning ability and now it is not running in the high rpm range. it is unable to be tuned like most decent chainsaws and i have decided to bin it as the cost of repair does not warrant the return to service. i will go buy a decent echo next or a cheap bunnings chainsaw i think.

Purchased in December 2017 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Anthony
AnthonySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews

Tree trimmer

published

We purchased this little beauty as it was cheaper than having our 30 year old one repaired after lending it to friend. (it did not take to well being run over by a tractor and slasher)
We use this model to trim back the smaller branches and trees up to about 250 mm in diameter depending on circumstances. It cut very clean and quickly so long as you keep the chain sharp. Light and easy to manage and use. Ideal if you have to be up in a tree to drop limbs. the only negative is that it appears to use more chain oil than the old model. All in all a great little a great little machine and great value for the money.

Purchased in February 2018 at Brisbane Mower Centre.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Pig
PigGillett

Oil leaking

published

Peaple when chain oil leak just open cap when done working to relieve pressure and won't leak much. Same with gas cap. Great little saw. Great for limbing but also for falling small trees and bucking up. Would buy another any time also own a 251 and a dolmar 7900.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris U
Chris USouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for home!

published

Very easy to start, even after extended storage. You can double the warranty to 4 years, at the cost of buying a $15 (1L) bottle of oil when first purchased. Can feel a little under powered at times,especially if you haven't sharpened the chain in a while. Otherwise a perfect saw for home use. Pays itself off after 1 year vs a $99 throwaway saw just in its ease of use and reliability.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Dave
DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 32 reviews
  • 27 likes

Bought after reading reviews, owning a Stihl Blower Vac and still having a bad taste in my mouth fro

published

A great little chainsaw, unfortunately I found it a little under powered than what I expected for the job I used it for and the first time I used it, having said that I have only used it once and at this stage have no requirements to trim other trees. At the time of purchase I was given free chain

Date PurchasedJune 2018
aumegm
aumegmAdelaide, South Australia
  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Stihl MS 171.

published

Have used the MS 171 in a commercial setting. Use the correct fuel ratio and follow the startup instructions on the Stihl website, you shouldn't have any issues. Save the cutting of stumps until the end as cutting dirty wood will result in a blunt chain. Generic chains are available on eBay at a cost of $10-15. Keep a few in your kit & change them over as soon as the saw stops pulling into the wood to avoid further damage. At this price, it is hardly worth the time of sharpening.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
SimonG
SimonGCliftleigh
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Saw

published

Fantastic Chainsaw.
Have owned it for 2 weeks and have used it for hours cutting up firewood.
The best thing I did was walk out of Bunnings ans givw the Stihl shop a go.
The price was not much more than the rubbish at Bunnings.
Easy to start and look after

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
bren
brennsw
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

top little saw

published

got one of these when we built on 5 acres ,a great saw , starts every time,i have cut down 50m trees with this , shouldnt of really ,but it done the job and saved me hiring someone else with a big chainsaw...no complaints about this saw , as a carpenter i also use it a lot on roofing jobs and other projects along with the usual firewood duties....i have had many electric saws that only last a year or 2 but this has been going longer than that and is in great order.....

Date PurchasedMar 2011

First saw I reach for.

published

I have owned my ms170 for over 10 years now and I never have any issues starting it. I do treat all my saws like my children. It gets used at least twice a week and never lets me down. Keep the chains sharp and the bar oil topped up and i expect to be using it for another 10 years

Date PurchasedApr 2007
Petrol Chainsaws

Find out how Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss compares to other Petrol Chainsaws

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

JG P.
JG P.asked
MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

what length chain do i need if replaced

No answers
Mark O.
Mark O.asked
MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Does the MS 170 and the MS 171 use the same chain?

No answers
Bill H.
Bill H.asked
MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Hi bought still 171 mini boss off the wrack at dealer starting problem emeditaly
back on wrack
second one better until out it field dreadfulstart also
seems like fuel not helping when starting up cough and cough later pull trigger to run chain dies completely warranty expired by one month
now have 170 runs ok but quote to deal with other $80 per hour
One does not chuck these units over shoulder every 5 minutes
Any tips
Bill Holleman

2 answers
Dogman
Dogman

Bill, U-tube have some good videos on the best starting procedure. I suggest you take a look. They don't like stale fuel so it's best to drain the tank when not using it. My 170 seized up so I changed brand and paid a bit more for an Echo chainsaw. It's beautifully engineered, starts first pull and runs very smoothly (made in Japan too). I'm not longer a fan of Stihl although I do own a Stihl petrol blower which has been a great machine. It's old and not made in China.

Victoria Jonson
Victoria Jonson

I bought the Stihl Mini boss because of the great reviews, however, one review said "it's a bugger to start but when it is going it is a great little machine".
This is true, it can be very difficult to get it going especially if it hasn't been used for a few months. Also, you must have the correct fuel mix which I purchased at the store where I bought it. This gave me an extra 2 years warranty (4 in total).
I also drain the fluid back into the container when it's not in use. Sometimes I also have to leave the machine until the next day as continually pulling the starter floods the engine.

See all Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss questions

Get an answer from our members

Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

Details

The MiniBoss series by STIHL presents an entry-level petrol-powered chainsaw, ideal for cutting firewood and felling small trees. It’s easy to start with a combi-lever and contains an automatic STIHL Ematic chain lubrication system.

Features

STIHL anti-vibration system: This anti-vibration system dampens the oscillations from the engine which significantly reduces vibrations at the handles, too, ensuring smooth operation of the chainsaw.

Compensator: This controller in the carburetor prevents the fuel-air mixture from getting richer as the air filter becomes clogged which keeps the fuel/air ratio in the combustion mixture constant. This also makes the engine power constant. The filter doesn't need to be cleaned until a significant drop in power occurs.

Single-lever master control: All the important functions such as start, choke, throttle and stop can be operated via a single lever.

STIHL Ematic-System: The Ematic chain lubrication system ensures pinpoint lubrication of the saw chain links and guide bar rails. When used with STIHL OILOMATIC saw chain, it will provide maximum lubrication, longer wear and less oil consumption than conventional methods of chain lubrication. The Ematic system can reduce bar oil consumption by up to 50%.

STIHL ElastoStart: STIHL ElastoStart reduces the shock caused by the compression of the engine during starting. The compression shock is taken away from the user’s joints and muscles through a spring or rubber element in the starter handle.

Pre-separation air filtration system: The innovative long-life air filter system greatly extends the service life of the filter. Air routing removes larger particles of dirt, meaning the actual filter has less to do, and the saw can be used for longer without having to clean the filter.

Advanced combustion technology: Four overflow channels swirl the fuel-air mix before ignition, allowing for optimum combustion and highly efficient performance. The result is lower consumption and high torque across a broad rpm range.

QuickStop Chain Brake: The QuickStop chain brake is a protective mechanism when handling chainsaws. The chain brake is operated via the front hand guard and brings the saw chain to a standstill in fractions of a second. If the kickback is strong enough, the Quick Stop Chain Brake automatically releases.

Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss
CategoryPetrol ChainsawsPetrol Chainsaws
Price (RRP) $249.00$399.00
Use PruningPruning
Bar Length35 cm
FeaturesAnti-Vibration System and Automatic Chain Oiling / LubricationAnti-Vibration System, Chain Brake and Tool-free Chain Tensioning
Weight4 kg4.3 kg
Power (kW)1.3 kW
Engine Displacement30.1 cc31.8 cc
Fuel Tank Capacity250 mL270 mL
Release dateMar 2008Mar 2008
Compare both Stihl MS 170 / 171 MiniBoss

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.