??!

Reviews

3.2

24 reviews
5
(8)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (4)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (5)
  • Safety
    3.0 (5)
  • Thick Fabric Performance
    2.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Kimberley R.

Kimberley R.Queensland

Amazing

published

Despite the reviews, I actually love this machine. I've made many cloth pads etc and haven't had any issues. It sets perfect with great quality needles and thread. I absolutely love this little machine

Purchased in May 2020 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Beginner
See all answers
Jodie

JodieGippsland, VIC

Great overlocker

published

There has been so much negative about the Aldi overlocker that I wanted to put this post up. I went to Aldi yesterday just to see what the overlocker was like. When I got there they only had 2 available so on impulse I grab one and must say I am impressed. I have own an old janome ezy lock for year, it a great machine but it's a pain to thread. The Stirling opens up fully for a very easy threading. I have only sewn cotton so far but I'm impressed and so glad I took the leap without thinking yesterday. The inside are metal so should last.

Purchased in September 2020 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Intermediate
See all answers
Deb

DebGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst machine ever

published

Cotton continually snaps and needs rethreading. Never been able to get the tension even. Bobbin cotton often breaks. It sounds ‘clunky’. Cotton nearly always breaks when you change the thickness (eg. pleat), no matter how slow you go. LED light needs to be supplemented with an external lamp to see clearly. I have broken about 4-5 needles in the course of sewing 6 masks. False economy, wouldn’t recommend.

Purchased in May 2020 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
See all answers
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how ALDI Sewing Machines compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julie Butler

Julie Butler

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointing machine

published

Side loading bobbin regularly jams. Cotton reel sits in short mounts, slips off during sewing and falls off when filling bobbin. Reverse switch requires too firm push. Don't bother trying.

Purchased in May 2020 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Thick Fabric Performance
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
See all answers
Alison H.

Alison H.Sydney, NSW

cheap, so disappointing

published

I decided to get this machine as I wanted to get back into my sewing, within the first few stitches the needle bent, then after changing the needle it stopped working, threads will bunch up, then the material would bunch up, tried everything to get it working. I got my way through sewing a face mask nearly to the end before it stopped working. I now need to buy a new machine - I would not recomend this machine to anyone, waste of money.

Purchased in May 2020 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Sewing Experience Level Advanced
See all answers

So disappointed

published

I just bought this machine after having a janome, sewed 2 seams and it doesn't work now. Tried everything to get it working .wasted my money. Will now have to buy another machine but would definitely not buy or recommend this nachine.

Purchased in May 2020 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Sewing Experience Level Intermediate
Fedup

FedupPottsville

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

Absolutely the best sewing machine I have ever had

published
Date PurchasedApr 2009

no help

published

I had this bought as a gift for Christmas in the Derby store, and it came threaded up prior to my purchase Great.My joy soon turned to disappointment because of the poor quality thread that it had been pr threaded with which which was very thin and broke off as i was taking it through. I am now struggling to get anyone to help with this

Date PurchasedDec 2016
The Sewing Guy

The Sewing GuyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Re-badged Janome - What's not to like?

published

Well, it is a pain to thread, more so than our Bernina 800DL, but I bought 3 for the school I teach at and they have been great. Considering that they are used by a succession of students who don't "own" them, the have been trouble free. They are serviced every 3 months with out other machines and the service guy says that there is no difference between them and the Janome branded one - no lower quality parts, no shortcuts. It's the self same machine. An absolute windfall, I was able to get the three (having to go to 2 stores, as each store only had 2 delivered - cleaned out one store, one from the other) for what had been allowed in the budget for one.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how ALDI Sewing Machines compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Siobhan S

Siobhan S

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Rebranded Janome, excellent entry level overlocker

published

Alright for beginners

published

I got this for my 18th bday after I first started studying fashion. Still works fine (6 years later with moderate use) on basic cottons when you can get the tension right. I had a lot of trouble threading it and getting the tension right, might just be me though. It's great for someone not needing to sew a lot of varying fabrics or if you want one but don't NEED one. If you sew a lot I'd suggest getting something like a Janome that is more reliable. I am upgrading to a Janome MyLock 644D. It was suggested by a sewing machine repairman (who had a very strong opinion against the Aldi overlocker I might add!) and a friend of mine who makes and sells hand made dresses for a living.

Gail

GailSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

worked good for 14 months

published

I was very happy with this machine worked well!8 weeks out of 1 year warranty just stopped working i was very disapointed !At $199 not worth paying to fix!now i know why the warranty is only 12 months!The repair bill would be more than it cost for the machine!Great little overlocker when it was working!It just cost me $500 for a more reliable brand with 3 years warranty !

Jen

JenHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Moving parts bend, then no more sewing

published

I used my overlocker 5 times, at first it was brilliant, then for some unknown reason it jammed, after removing the offending material from under the foot and needle it didn't work the same, it broke 5 needles, then moving parts started hitting each other and finally no thread chains would be made. So, would I recommend it? based on my initial experience yes, but based on how easy it suffers critical operational damage, then NO. it may be worth spending a bit more for a higher quality build machine.

Yvonne G.

Yvonne G.Central Coast NSW

Overall good :)

published
annlou

annlounewcastle

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Works well and good value

published

While threading the lopper is a pain the rest of the machine is great. Love using it, good value, should have bought on sooner. Would like to have more information in the booklet which is a bit basic. The machine looks a lot like a Janome8002D serger. Curious to see if that is what it really is.
cost was very reasonable
hard to thread looper

Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Find out how ALDI Sewing Machines compares to other Sewing Machines & Overlockers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jean41

Jean41Woodend

A nightmare!

published

Have spent 1 hour trying to thread the lower looper. It is so inaccessible, it is impossible. When I purchased it the machine sewed well, but now the lower looper thread has broken and that is the end of sewing!
Am now looking to dispose of it and buy a more user friendly brand.
Inexpensive
A bad design for the lower looper threading. It is hidden in the works and hard to access.

5 comments
bernieboy
bernieboy

my mum brought me one of these and I love it but I spent most of high school textiles classed threading overlockers for the price it is excellent only downside no two thread overlocking

House of Pants
House of Pants

Can you help with what settings you have it in Bernieboy? I am struggling!

bernieboy
bernieboy

all tensions on 3, stich lenght 3 and your differential three 1.0

This overlocker is terible

published

I have previously owned a brother overlocker, 3 threads, when it was thirty years old I decided to buy the 4 thread Lumina from Aldi. This has been a major disappointment.I finally convinced my husband that I needed this machine and it would be great. No so. The threading mechanism is terrible, so cumbersome and the thread keeps breaking. I have spent so much time rethreading and very little sewing. When sewing fine fabric the trick is not to have to sew it many times. I wouldn't recommend this machine to anyone.
In expensive
Terrible threading mechanism

Excellent

published

This is an overlocker that Janome provides the majority of parts for and Aldi then assembles. Any parts are usually available at your Janome stockist. It is a basic overlocker and wont hem overlock but you have to pay a larger amount for an overlocker with that feature. It is a good basic machine for overlocking edges to be used in conjuction with your sewing machine.
Clear and easy to read threading diagrams.
Threading the lower looper.

Pam Willis

Pam WillisPelican Waters, QLD. 4551.

Best sewing machine I've ever had.ever used.

published

I've been using a sewing machine since I was 15 years old. Had quite a few in my time, but find the Aldi Lumina Computerised Sewing Machine the best I've ever used. the easiest to change to decorative stitches and very quiet! I would recommend this Machine to anyone!
When my Sister-in-law came over for a visit to Australia, she was so impressed with this Sewing Machine. She has been trying to buy the same model in England.
I don't know how much it cost - it was a Christmas pressie. So happy with it.
Everything about this Machine is so easy to use, Quiet & efficient. It's in constant use in my house.

2 comments
Ann25
Ann25

I agree this is a fantastic little machine. I have a much more expensive one but value for money you cant beat it.

Pam Willis
Pam Willis

the price being sold at Aldi stores for this Lumina Aldi computerised sewing machine is $299.00. very good value for money.

maribelle

maribelle

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good

published

I had a Janome for about 22 years and having spent some time in Queensland I think the inner workings may have rusted a little. The Lumina is a good replacement machine and was inexpensive for general sewing requirements. I don't need a lot of fancy stitches so it suits me just fine.
I find this machine very easy to use and d the stitches I have used needed very little adjusting
The reverse button is a little awkwardly positioned other than that nothing else

1 comment
Kuhu
Kuhu

Do you remember how much you paid for it?

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Aanchal

Aanchalasked

Easy Home Mini Sewing Machine

How to thread the bobbin

No answers
Aanchal

Aanchalasked

Easy Home Mini Sewing Machine

How to thread the bobbin

No answers
goodgran

goodgranasked

Easy Home Mini Sewing Machine

My machine is brand new but is very noisy to operate. Is this normal.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.