10 photos
Alfa Romeo 159
4.0 from 29 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Wagons in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Alfa Romeo? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Braking
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (3)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (3)
  • Features
    3.3 (3)
Previous
Next
JED
JEDPerth, WA

Never to touch

published

I have to agree with an earlier comment, first and last time I will ever go near an Alfa Rome again. Purchased the top of the line 2011 JTD 159 Ti with 65,000km on the clock. It has spent more time in the shop then out of it and ever time you count in $1,000's. First got a chug in the engine which required several visits prior to cleaning the head, in excess of $2k. Still didn't fix the chug. Then chewed the front tyres out, had to replace the front suspension $1.5k. Rear electric window winder, $600, Now diesel injector leak, approx $8.5k. All this in 20,000km. Don't ever, ever, ever go near them.

Purchased in June 2019 for $10,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Aaron
AaronGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Perfect car

published

I loved my 159 diesel,
I used to get 960k out of a tank with 70 freeway 30 Citi and 1100 straight freeway. The car was pretty reliable with own a couple parts needing replacement in my ownership.

Purchased in January 2010 at Private seller for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Wagons

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Absolute Luxury Bargain. Make sure you get one with the work done on it

published

Purchased in April 2017 for $7,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wagons

Find out how Alfa Romeo 159 compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam S
Sam SGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pleasantly surprised

published

Having always admired the style of this car I finally decided to take a chance on an Alfa. I've owned a number of BMW's, an Audi as well as a couple of older fords in my youth for reference. I bought from a guy moving overseas for a really low price and figured I'd need to spend a few dollars fixing whatever was wrong with it although I could not for the life of me find anything wrong with it when I bought it. Anyhow, I had put aside $4k to fix any potential problems but after owning it for over 2 years and driven it over 40000km I'm still waiting for something to go wrong! So much for Alfa's bad reputation! None of my 4 new BMW'S gave me trouble free motoring. Love this thing.

BodySedan
BadgeJTS Ti
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Shannon B
Shannon BAdelaide
  • 34 reviews
  • 12 likes

Yay!!!! Finally an Alfa that works!

published

This is my third red Alfa after being burnt by very unreliable 33 and 156 models. This car is a joy to look at and undoubtedly the most stunning car on the road. I bought mine secondhand at 3 years old with 38000kms on the clock. 4 years and 100000kms later can happily say it has not broken down once or hand any glitch or malfunction that I have had with any other Alfa. Everything works all the time. Granted it doesn't drive with the same soul that the older Alfas had. Its more like a the Toyota Camry of Alfas but its great to finally own one that is reliable and doesn't cost $1000's in repairs.

BodySedan
BadgeJTS
Engine Size2.2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2014

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Sparky
SparkyBrunswick
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value Euro-Styled Gem

published
BodySportwagon
BadgeJTD
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010
Gdrive
GdriveSydney
  • 4 reviews

Great car to drive, to look at and reliable too.

published
BodySportwagon
BadgeJTD
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Stevo
StevoAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Style And Grunt That Eats Audis For Breakfast

published
BodySportwagon
BadgeJTD Ti
Engine Size2.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Other Wagons

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

$ vs Experience (Excellent)

published

Just brought a 2007 Q4 3.2 auto JTS with 110000km. Took it to my local mechanic & could do the work required. Looks great, gets up & goes so well. Sounds superb & can be a little thirsty. (Who cares) Loving the experience especially for the price paid. Very nice

BodySedan
BadgeJTS Q4
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3.2
Wagons

Find out how Alfa Romeo 159 compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Updated review (see FUN!!)

published
BodySedan
BadgeJTS
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.2
Bob
BobAuckland, New Zealand

2012 Alfa 159Ti Unreliable

published

This was my second Alfa 159 (the previous one was a 2007 model 2.2JTS).

After less than two years, the aircon stopped working and it took the dealer three and a half months to get it working again.

I filed a claim with the Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal for the unreasonable time it took to affect the repair.

The MVDT concluded that the vehicle "failed to comply with the guarantee of acceptable quality in the Consumers Guarantee Act."

It also concluded that it didn't involve a "failure of substantial character" and so refused to award me any compensation. I don't agree with that decision. To me, having a car without aircon in the middle of summer is a failure of substantial character.

BodySedan
BadgeTi
TransmissionManual
Danny
DannyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Updated Review After A Few Months Of Living With It.

published
BodySedan
BadgeJTS Selespeed
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.2

Best looking car ever

published

I have a alpha Romeo 159 2.4 turbo diesel and it is a pure delight to drive. Very sexy to look at and has a very sporty feel whilst driving. It handles beautifully and has a ton of pace. Only criticism is its a bit low to the ground so have to watch steep decent car parks. You do need find a good service centre or you can be ripped off.

BodySedan
BadgeJTD Ti
TransmissionAutomatic
Ay
AySydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Lovely car to own but headache for reliablity

published

The car handles well . My advise buy the manual only . Got the problem after 110k on clock. The quality material especially the leather asthonishing. After you reach more than 110k better sell it the car will cost you a lot of problem maintenance cost sometimes not worth . And the resale value drop dramaticcally over time. But dont worry about to sell it. There's always some Italian fanatic who wants the car. I sell it for market value only 3 days. Surprise

Engine Size2.2
TransmissionManual

Other Wagons

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Colin
Colincaulfield

2011 Alfa 159 1750 Ti

published

This would have to be one of the best vehicles I've ever driven. The comfort levels are brilliant as I'm 6'4" and that can be a problem, solved by having electric heated leather sports seats that fit both my wife an
d I perfectly. The car doesn't need to be driven hard it does the job perfectly and goes plenty hard enough when needed. Its about to go in for its 70,000k service and compared to a friends BMW325 the 159 has cost 1/5th of his service costs over the same period/mileage. Its simply been a pleasure to own.. looks great and has been a car I've loved to drive for 3 years.

Engine Size1.7
Badge1750 TBi Ti
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Colin
Colin
Wagons

Find out how Alfa Romeo 159 compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Alpha Male
Alpha Maleasked
159 Sedan (2006-2012)

Hi All,
Looking at a purchasing 2008 159 JTS Ti Auto Petrol version - any feedback?

No answers
Jason D.
Jason D.asked
159 Sedan (2006-2012)

3.2 q4 jts what clutch set up does it come with from the factory

No answers
Peter
Peterasked
159

Hi All I am looking at a 2007 2.4 diesel that needs the oil pump replaced. What sort of money am I looking at?.Thanks

No answers
See all Alfa Romeo 159 questions

Get an answer from our members

Alfa Romeo 159

Other Wagons

Previous
Next
See all Wagons

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.