??!
19 photos
Volkswagen Passat

Volkswagen Passat

B6 MK6, B7 MK6, B5 MK5, etc...
4.1 from 78 reviews

Reviews

(44)
(16)
(7)
(3)
(8)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (6)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (6)
  • Handling
    4.7 (6)
  • Braking
    4.5 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (6)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (6)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (6)
  • Features
    4.2 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (6)


Danielle223

Danielle223Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Great family car!!

published

Loving my Volkswagen Passat Alltrack. We bought it just before having a baby and it’s such a great family car. It’s comfortable and runs smoothly. Very spacious in the boot.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ashley

AshleySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Great car, no significant problems

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Terrible transmission Very expensive to fix

published

I had the Passat for 1 year and it was nothing but trouble from the start. Transmission problems, EPC lights coming on and other issues too. Costs an arm and a leg to fix and not all mechanics touch European cars and even auto-electricians shy away from VW's.

Interior is nice, with quality touches here and there but overall a very bad experience. Probably wont ever buy a VW or Audi in future.
Terrible!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
dontwannawalk

dontwannawalkSydney, NSW

Nice car but fundamentally flawed

published

Purchased in October 2013 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Zoot

ZootPerth, WA

I will NEVER purchase another VW (Passat or sny VW for that matter)

published

Purchased in March 2011 at Volvo dealership for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jason

JasonPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Automatic transmission is a money pit

published

Purchased in July 2014 at AHG (Automotive Holdings Group) for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Maria

MariaPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

Passat R-line, Luxurious

published

I use this Passat R-line sedan for work and for private use. It is very comfortable but most of all, very economical. I can get a 1000 km out of a tank of petrol.
I love the luxury package, the memory seat position, the stylish dashboard, the driver assist options, though at times it thinks it is smarter than I am and tries to make decisions for me, ie, changing lanes in traffi:, if the car thinks the other car is too close, it would try to stop you from moving to the other lane. However, once you are use to driving this smart car, you will get use to the intellect. It is stylish and a pleasure to drive.

BodySedan
Badge206TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

renlee

renleeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Fantastic car

published

Recently purchased the Passat R-Line wagon to carry our two bikes. This is the best car I have every owned, the comfort is just outstanding and the safety and mod cons is terrific. The car has a lot of space, more than the Tiguan we were going to purchase originally. This car has every luxury in it and is just a blast to drive, would highly recommend this vehicle. The only negatives are the Satnav leaves a bit to be desired but I just plug in my phone and use Google maps through Apple car play, fixes that issue and also the car does not have a DAB radio which is slightly annoying. Other than those two slight problems that car is amazing.

BodyWagon
Badge206TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Graeme

GraemeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good car to drive but had a few faults

published
BodySedan
BadgePassat
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJun 2012
1 comment
Graeme
Graeme

When you buy a new car for about $45000.00 you don't expect to be quoted $7000.00 to fix the Satnav & reversing camera, 15% of the cost of the car for a Sat Nav that you could probably something similar at Autobarn for well under $1000.

Remarkably good

published

A limousine like car with a smooth silent ride, a spacious interior and cavernous boot. An overall average of 7.2 ltr/km suggests economy rather than performance but it has surprising acceleration especially when overtaking. Fit and finish are excellent, well above others in the market of a similar price
BTW the car was cheaper in Australia than its equivalent in the UK or Germany! The car has been faultless so far at 50k with not even a rattle. We were so impressed that we bought the latest Polo as a second car

BodyWagon
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Dejan

DejanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

This car is the best car I ever owned

published

I bought 2013 Passat v6 4 motion 2 1/2 years ago .At the beginning I was heaving noises at timming chain Area,was Quoted at volks wagon $6000 to change it my mehanicar stripped it And everything looked brand new he replaced tensioner bolt for timing chain problem fixed
Never had any problems again
I am in love with it now, preformance is just amazing
Recommend to change engine oil every 5000 km

BodySedan
Badge220FSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Don't!

published
BodyWagon
Badge130TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Not Reliable Emission Software Downgrade the performance

published
BodySedan
Badge125TDI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJun 2009

Arif

ArifWollogong

  • 4 reviews

Amazing car VW PassatCC

published

Vw Passat cc is the amazing car to drive very very reliable and very efficient on full Diesel engines sound is very low very comfortable full lather interior wonderful to drive very powerful full luxury features heated seats low maintenance running cost is very low My personal experience is highly recommended

BodyCoupe (CC)
Badge125TDI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Rob

RobCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

VW PASSAT

published
BodyWagon
Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
2 comments
Rob
Rob
Rob
Rob
Qingdao ren zai Mel

Qingdao ren zai MelMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Tech, comfort, economy

published

You would love the driving experience, I do mean that on the highway, over 60kph; the gearbox is still a little bit worried me, as it is running not smooth in gear 1 and 2 under 40kph. But other than that, Passat is a perfect car for the family, I am having a B8 Passat Wagon TSI Comfortline. I love it so much (as mentioned, a little bit worried about the gearbox - DSG 7 speed.) 16500km, average petrol consumption: 8L per 100km; carplay, andrio auto; full safety features. btw auto adjustment seat for driver only. lol

BodyWagon
Badge132 TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.8
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Frank X

Frank XGold Coast

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

I am a international student studying in Australia from 2016. The reason I chose VW is that i believe both the quality and appearance, as well as the driving experience in German auto brands.

The car is so quite and steady wherever places i drive both including the country roads or high way. The leg room is wonderful and it is quiet fuel efficiency on the highway.

BodySedan
Badge132TSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Alex

Alex

  • 2 reviews

The best car I’ve ever driven, german engenering, what can I say

published

Very comfortable, materials not cheap, very precise vehicle, joyable ride, like from not to distant future, spacious enterior, desing very beautiful and very functional with boot bigger than expected engine power even though being diesel is very powerful and yet so economical that is mind blowing so in conclusion one of the best cars in the world

BodySedan
Badge130TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Merlin51h

Merlin51h

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Solid performer

published
BodySedan
Badge125TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Wiseman

WisemanCrows Nest

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car

published

Car drives smoothly and with enough power. I got the 1.8TSI wagon. Fantastic for holidays.
Drive it everyday for work. Phone(s) connected and a panoramic sunroof.
The petrol bills are low as well. 750 km on a full tank of 58 litres.
Leather is great and overall a joy to drive.

BodyWagon
Badge118TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

WolC

WolCasked

There are four sliding plastic covered comma shaped cavities above back doors and wagon windows. What are they for??

No answers

נחום י.

נחום י.asked

I have a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 diesel in 2016 The car turns off after a morning drive and after a second drive is a regular worker someone has an idea?

No answers

debraleayr

debraleayrasked

Looking for workshop paper manual

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.