20 photos
Volkswagen Passat

Volkswagen Passat

B6 MK6, B7 MK6, B5 MK5, etc...
4.1 from 82 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (9)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (9)
  • Braking
    4.6 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (9)
  • Handling
    4.4 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.7 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (10)
  • Features
    4.0 (9)
Previous
Next
Chris C.
Chris C.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Deceptive Marketing: Expect a little more, get a lot less from Volkswagen.

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Donal O'Keeffe
Donal O'KeeffeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Passat B8 2.0TDI 150 DSG, a smooth, efficient, spacious sedan

published

Purchased in December 2019 at VW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nuts
NutsMelbourne
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice car but VW service is pathetic

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Germie
GermieVictoria

Absolutely Brilliant

published

Purchased in October 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Danielle223
Danielle223Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great family car!!

published

Loving my Volkswagen Passat Alltrack. We bought it just before having a baby and it’s such a great family car. It’s comfortable and runs smoothly. Very spacious in the boot.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Ashley
AshleySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car, no significant problems

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Terrible transmission Very expensive to fix

published

I had the Passat for 1 year and it was nothing but trouble from the start. Transmission problems, EPC lights coming on and other issues too. Costs an arm and a leg to fix and not all mechanics touch European cars and even auto-electricians shy away from VW's.

Interior is nice, with quality touches here and there but overall a very bad experience. Probably wont ever buy a VW or Audi in future.
Terrible!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
dontwannawalk
dontwannawalkSydney, NSW

Nice car but fundamentally flawed

published

Purchased in October 2013 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Zoot
ZootPerth, WA

I will NEVER purchase another VW (Passat or sny VW for that matter)

published

Purchased in March 2011 at Volvo dealership for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason
JasonPerth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Automatic transmission is a money pit

published

Purchased in July 2014 at AHG (Automotive Holdings Group) for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Maria
MariaPerth, WA
  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Passat R-line, Luxurious

published

I use this Passat R-line sedan for work and for private use. It is very comfortable but most of all, very economical. I can get a 1000 km out of a tank of petrol.
I love the luxury package, the memory seat position, the stylish dashboard, the driver assist options, though at times it thinks it is smarter than I am and tries to make decisions for me, ie, changing lanes in traffi:, if the car thinks the other car is too close, it would try to stop you from moving to the other lane. However, once you are use to driving this smart car, you will get use to the intellect. It is stylish and a pleasure to drive.

BodySedan
Badge206TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
renlee
renleeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes

Fantastic car

published

Recently purchased the Passat R-Line wagon to carry our two bikes. This is the best car I have every owned, the comfort is just outstanding and the safety and mod cons is terrific. The car has a lot of space, more than the Tiguan we were going to purchase originally. This car has every luxury in it and is just a blast to drive, would highly recommend this vehicle. The only negatives are the Satnav leaves a bit to be desired but I just plug in my phone and use Google maps through Apple car play, fixes that issue and also the car does not have a DAB radio which is slightly annoying. Other than those two slight problems that car is amazing.

BodyWagon
Badge206TSI R-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Graeme
GraemeGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car to drive but had a few faults

published
BodySedan
BadgePassat
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedJune 2012
1 comment
Graeme
Graeme

When you buy a new car for about $45000.00 you don't expect to be quoted $7000.00 to fix the Satnav & reversing camera, 15% of the cost of the car for a Sat Nav that you could probably something similar at Autobarn for well under $1000.

Remarkably good

published

A limousine like car with a smooth silent ride, a spacious interior and cavernous boot. An overall average of 7.2 ltr/km suggests economy rather than performance but it has surprising acceleration especially when overtaking. Fit and finish are excellent, well above others in the market of a similar price
BTW the car was cheaper in Australia than its equivalent in the UK or Germany! The car has been faultless so far at 50k with not even a rattle. We were so impressed that we bought the latest Polo as a second car

BodyWagon
Badge132TSI
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Other Sedans

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dejan
DejanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

This car is the best car I ever owned

published

I bought 2013 Passat v6 4 motion 2 1/2 years ago .At the beginning I was heaving noises at timming chain Area,was Quoted at volks wagon $6000 to change it my mehanicar stripped it And everything looked brand new he replaced tensioner bolt for timing chain problem fixed
Never had any problems again
I am in love with it now, preformance is just amazing
Recommend to change engine oil every 5000 km

BodySedan
Badge220FSI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Sedans

Find out how Volkswagen Passat compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Melzi
Melziasked
Passat

Would you buy an Passat 09 diesel variant? I know diesel gate and DSG disasters... just wanting anyone’s solid experience. Thanks

2 answers
Chris C.
Chris C.

Sorry, but I have only had petrol engines, so no experience with diesel variants.

Trent
Trent

I currently have a 09 diesel that has done 190k. Fantastic car. There have been some minor issue like a sensor that went but it’s been a great car that has given us very few issues. I never got the patch for diesel gate done. Maybe why I like the car still

Max Mar
Max Marasked
Passat B6 MK6 (2006-2011)

I own a VW Passat B6 diesel 2007. For the last year or more, I have had this strange shudder from 1200 to 1400 rpm. I have had the car scanned at VW and there is no error code. The shudder/vibration is present in neutral and felt when coasting to stop and the rpm drops to 1200 or when accelerating from stop and exactly from 1200 rpm to 1400 rpm. Beyond that range it is perfect. I have had the car looked at by the dealer, a Euro specialist and a Bosch service station. They all admit there is a shudder but cant identify the problem. The Euro guy thinks it may be the DMF but the VW dealer tells me that if it was the DMF, the noise would be far more audible and ruled it out. He reckons it is likely a injector or mechanical fuel pump issue. The car otherwise runs awesome. I have done 240K mostly drives between Wangaratta and Melbourne and before Sydney to Melbourne. I plan to drive it for as long as no major service issue props up, otherwise it is going to the wreckers. I'd never put a new DSG or spend any serious money on the car given its age and worth(lessness).

1 answer
Steve H
Steve H

I had a similar problem "jerk" in 2007 passat tdi dsg6. Over time it got worse and at lights takeoff became quite embarrassing. Ended up being clutch packs and not mechatronics unit which mechanic said was 9 out of 10 times the problem. Second hand dsg6 fixed it for $2k. Other option was to rework my transmission at best anticipated minimum similar cost. That said an advisor in Germany (internet) suggested to me recently that siemens injectors can be spent around 160km, and at 160km upwards, an injector r and r and clean may eliminate future problems. I obtained a second set of used injectors and had them cleaned and reset for $60 each, and have them on standby in case. At roughly 20km/litre and my own 7500km servicing and parts from Denmark at 1/3 VW prices (including air freight), I love these cars and have had 2 x 2007 and will probably have a third given problems I researched in models from 2009-2013. Hope this helps. To "superior" unhelpful spectator comment, blow it out your ****. Good luck

Nadine T.
Nadine T.asked
Passat

I have noticed that my back top tail light remains on even when the car is turned off. I only notice it in the evening and at night.
I have a 2015 Volkswagen Pasat wagon. Is this a common issue? How can I resolve this?

No answers
See all Volkswagen Passat questions

Get an answer from our members

Volkswagen Passat

Details

Compare all 15 Volkswagen Passat
CategorySedansSedansWagons and SedansWagons and Sedans
Starting Price $39,790$42,790$39,790$43,790
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6 L/100km6 L/100km6 L/100km6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 66 L59 L59 L59 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power132kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6200rpm132kW @ 6200rpm
Max Torque250Nm @ 1250-5000rpm250Nm @ 1250-5000rpm250Nm @ 1250-5000rpm250Nm @ 1250-5000rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)3 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Compare all 15 Volkswagen Passat
Visit official website

Other Sedans

Previous
Next
See all Sedans

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.