??!
1 photo
American Express Explorer

American Express Explorer

4.2 from 14 reviews

See the Best Frequent Flyer & Travel Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • $400 Travel Credit each year

  • 0% p.a. on Balance Transfers for the first 12 months

  • Two complimentary entries per year to the American Express Lounge at Sydney or Melbourne International Airports

  • Earn up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1

  • Complimentary Travel Insurance

Cons

  • $395 Annual Fee

  • 1% Balance Transfer Fee

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1

Jerry

JerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great card for the rewards and travel credit & Mobile& travel Insurance

published

I have the Amex Exporer card sinc ethe last 2 years.
The $395 annual fee is compensated by the $400 travel credit.
There are times, when the Tickets on the American express Travel site is a couple of $100 more than other websites.
The Rewards point value has been reduced from $7.41 /1000 points to $5.00 /1000 points.
The promotional offers e.g. vogue fashion nights & Small shop in November are good value for your money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Hafiz Abdur Rehman

Hafiz Abdur RehmanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Awesome credit card for points and travelling

published

This is one of the first credit cards I got and I loved it. It gives you the travel credit of same amount as annual fee plus it give you complementary insurance, lounge passes and many more benefits. The best part is that you can accumulate points at faster rate with this card and although amex is not accepted everywhere but to have that option in your hand is worth it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers
Ann

AnnCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Great card, still going strong

published

Have had this card for 3 years and great card especially for travelling. Lounge access has been a blessing especially with a toddler.
Insurance on card is good as well, got a new phone stolen on the way back from one of our overseas trips and insurance gave us a full refund no questions asked.
Disappointed as the points have diminished in value over the years. But the perks of Amex offers makes up for some of the downfalls, though many of the good offers are full before you can register for it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses and Online Shopping
See all answers
JC

JCMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

A card which gives good points

published

Enjoyed first year annual fee free and $400 traveling credit which I used on air ticket, pretty good service, they sent me reminder by text which help me avoid late payment penalty, no one else does that, the only thing I think can improve is add search bar on the website, so users can search by name, amount etc

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


johnson

johnson

  • 6 reviews

Adjustment of points and rewards dilution

published

Have had it for two years, it's started to decline in its member benefits with stores that are overpriced and not relevant. The discount amount isnt actually attractive for sellers who have an inflated RRP
Also, it's American Express and isn't readily available within stores and if they are - there's usually surcharges.
Points used to get a higher return e.g 1,000 = $5 and it was formally $7+

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping
See all answers

Steven

StevenSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Amazing Card! Great Product! Rewards are fantastic!

published

Had this card for almost three years, the amount of rewards given by this card has been overwhelmingly fantastic! American Express makes it very easy for us to claim our rewards and redeem them on flights. Plus the annual fee you pay for transfer directly to travel credit. Booking your flights with the travel credit on the AMEX service is easy and competitive! Just stay away from hotels!

We've used this card numerous time overseas and the rates are pretty competitive to other banks. There are no slap on fees or penalties for using this card abroad, hence the 'explorer' naming of it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Hayden L

Hayden LGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent Credit Card with Great Rewards!

published

It was quite convenient for me to use my Amex card when I travelled to Phuket last month. It is more and more easier for me to accumulate points for example supermarkets like coles, woolworths, shops like bunings and ikea, etc can accept Amex. Also it will send me some cash back promotion to save in the card and automatically redeem when you hit the requirement. There're lots of ways to redeem my point, credit for repayment, travel credit, transfer to frequent flyer points, etc. The most good part is $400 trevel credit can be used per year. Really recommeneded.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Michael

MichaelSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best credit card

published

good value with $400 travel credit. best credit card on market!
Also come with international airport lounge and lots of amex deals
this is the only credit card I keep for long term.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ross

RossCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • Verified customer

Great rewards earning rate, good all round card

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Special Purchases
See all answers
R Sh

R ShSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

The only credit card I need

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateSeptember 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

AllSuits

AllSuitsSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Pros and Cons of the American Express Explorer Card

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Jason

JasonSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified customer

Ripped off my points !

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses
See all answers

Cisco

CiscoSydney, NSW

  • 47 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified customer

Excellent rewards program

published
Transparency
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Lewis N

Lewis NBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AMEX Explorer 60k point bonus using referral link

published

Excellent value Card. $395 annual fee offset by $400 in travel credit for use on any flight or hotel booking. Complimentary travel insurances included when you use the card to book your travel. Easy app to keep track of spend. The Card has a Great look with a solid dark colour which makes it seem like a premium Card. Handy backup Card to accumulate frequent flyer points are a better earn rate. Use [referral link removed] to sign up and get a 60,000 point bonus (I also receive 30,000 points).

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and American Express representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.