??!
2 photos
Apple Airpods 1st Gen

Apple Airpods 1st Gen

MPN: KHAIRPODS
4.4 from 313 reviews

Reviews

4.4

313 reviews
5
(186)
4
(95)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (49)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (48)
  • Sound Quality
    4.2 (47)
  • Bass
    4.0 (45)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (47)
  • Battery Life
    4.2 (49)
  • Bluetooth
    4.4 (48)
Previous
Next
Chloe L.

Chloe L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Best on the Market

published

My AirPods are the best investment I have made in a while, I sew and I was tired of my headphone cables getting in the way and the AirPods fixed this for me. Sounds quality is awesome, they stay charged for a week with A decent amount of usage. Really, really happy with them and would highly recommend.

Purchased in March 2019 at Apple Online store.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Anthony C.

Anthony C.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Faulty, poor excuse from Apple

published

One of the pods no longer charges properly, they cut-out / disconnect during calls, they run out of battery very quickly. Apple expect me to pay $110 to replace only one of the pods and their excuse was that it was more than 2-years since I bought them. Surely earphones that cost as much as apple charge would last far longer than 2-years..... very disappointed.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Gee

GeeNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Worth the money love it

published

No wiring that gets in the way when I’m exercising. It doesn’t fall off. Sometimes I forget I’m wearing it. I listen to music mostly and to watch videos. The sound quality is awesome. I can walk from one room to another and reception is still there. It charges pretty quickly. Really happy with them.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Apple Airpods 1st Gen compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Imogen C.

Imogen C.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Can not live without them!!

published

I got these for running and I love them!! I was a little worried they would fall out and I would lose one or bother forever, but they only ever fall out when I do a silly movement or bump them myself - not a design fault, I am clumsy.

The sound is great quality and they are so comfortable that I sometimes forget i'm wearing them.

Would recommend for anyone that likes listening to audio books, runs/walks or find standard corded headphones annoying.

The battery time is great, by the time they are running low I am probably ready to have a break from listening (usually while i'm working) and they recharge in the case very quickly.

Purchased in February 2016 at JB Hifi Home.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Andrew T.

Andrew T.

  • 3 reviews

Perfect!

published

These headphones are just perfect, that’s it! There’s no flaws! They are perfect for running or any sport activities, they don’t fall out and are sweat resistant. Also great music quality

Purchased for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Charlie Huang

Charlie HuangPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Compact beast

published

Very cool and compact headset which you can take it with you everywhere anytime. I use it when I travel and commute. It is very tiny but somehow it has got advanced technology enable to get rid the the noice around you, so people whom you talk to can hear you clearly.

Charging case is awesome too, you can leave it for 5 mins and it last for an hour or so.

Purchased in July 2018 at Apple Store Australia for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Dies after a year just out of warranty. Terrible

published

Not suitable for any physical activity as it’s not sweat resistant. Sound quality and volume was good until left AirPod stopped producing the same sound and was quieter (same with my brothers pair). Wireless range is not good, beats headphones are better

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$239.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Baffled at the good reviews here

published

I used my Airpods for a range of activities - gym, conference calls, watching movies on phone etc. They are not at all suitable for exercise, they felt so loose I could hardly tell whether they were in half the time. I have brushed past my hair and caused them to fall out.
Sound was ridiculously quiet and would randomly change itself in the middle of a movie or song to become quieter? Sometimes if watching a movie if I took out or replaced an ear it would assume that my music would be to start playing - very frustrating
I will say good wireless range and battery life also lasts.

Purchased in January 2020 at Apple Physical store for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Anges Aggie

Anges AggieIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love these

published

These are the best headphones I’ve ever used. Make life so much more easier and I never get the cord snagged on anything anymore!! It’s alittle annoying having to charge my headphones up now but still. No cords, no problems

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Apple Airpods 1st Gen compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lench

LenchGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wireless is fantastic

published

First time I’ve had wireless and it’s fantastic. I can move around without having to worry about the cords. They sit comfortably in my ears and the sound is amazing. I use them a lot more than the ones with cords

Purchased in January 2020 at Dick Smith for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Chutima L.

Chutima L.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

My everyday music assistant

published

Love it so much. I had dr Dre over ear headphones before but I do yoga and lot of head stand and the headband is alway interfere. This one solved all problem it doesn’t hurt my ear and it’s not interrupt my yoga practice.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bing Lee for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Amber

AmberGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good product with small problems

published

Nice product design, luckily didn't lose one of them as my friends did, connection sometimes be poor that's when you miss a normal cable headphone. usually, last half-day more if you constantly listen to the music.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Do not recommend

published

Just after using for 3 months, right side of airpods no longer works. Apple orchard service staff troubleshooted for TWO HOURS, changed the earphones and casing but still unsuccessful. Even the replacement set does not pair with the staff’s ipad. In the end, I have to make do with refund of gift card (Money refund not allowed)

Purchased in August 2019.

James K.

James K.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

its ok

published

when you lose them the find my iphone app is bad the AirPods have to be connected to your iPhone to find them which is stupid they sound great but once you lose there gone

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$219.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Jo Jo T

Jo Jo TSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Great earbuds

published

Love these earbuds, pair so easily with all my apple products and are so compact. Sound is very clear although doesnt turn up very loud. Yeah I know thats not good for ear health but I love loud music. Would like the option to be able to turn them up louder if I wanted.

Purchased in September 2019 at eBay for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Apple Airpods 1st Gen compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
swamprat96

swamprat96

  • 40 reviews
  • 20 likes

Lasted 8 months

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

To easy to steal

published

I love my air pods except yesterday mine was stolen from my high school classroom. Theres is no way to fnd them now cus it is to easy to sync them to someone elses phone. Need to make them to where it is impossible to do that. Im really upset cus I worked to save my own money for them jus to have them stolen. Everything about them was amazing

Purchased in August 2019 for A$213.00.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Rodrigo

RodrigoSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good worth for value

published

They are iconic and look good in your head, but the sound could improve. The good is that is easy to connect with every other piece of Apple Equipment. Good enough for running.

Purchased in June 2019 at eBay for A$99.99.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Jesika I.

Jesika I.Sydney, NSW

Still, it is one of the best earphones.

published

I was lucky enough to purchase the first generation a year ago. I like that I can tap on the ears to change songs etc. Also, sync well with Apple Watch and I can switch songs with watches.

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers

Only last a year then go quite

published

Ive had them for just under 12 months, theyre great used them every day, but have now gone quiter than usual bit disappointed seem how much I spend on them was expecting them to last longer than 10 months!

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Battery Life
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
Bluetooth
See all answers
Page 1 of 16
See all Apple AirPods reviews

Questions & Answers

King Bob Minion

King Bob Minionasked

Airpods 1st Gen

Why are they so expensive for 1st gen? Looks great. Reckon you could get with them with $170. Just asking pleeeeeeeeeease my son really wants them but everywhere is to expensive. Thanks

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.