6 photos
Apple iPhone XR

Apple iPhone XR (2018)

64GB, 128GB, 256GB
4.4 from 226 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Mobile Phones in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Apple? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.2 (194)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (192)
  • Software
    4.6 (190)
  • Battery Life
    4.6 (194)
  • Camera Quality
    4.6 (194)
  • Hardware
    4.5 (189)
Previous
Next
Meriam
MeriamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

This has been the best thing ever I call it my personal assistant

published

I’ve had the best experience with this phone it has a great camera, I have so much space in it to store all my precious photos the screen size is perfect I watch all my fav tv shows on it and it’s so user friendly… love it

Purchased in March 2020 for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Alan Burniston
Alan BurnistonIllawarra, NSW

Always with me fantastic

published

Purchased this phone about 3 years ago had a problem with the microphone and apple immediately replaced it with a new phone no other issues. Large screen for easy reading I do all my banking and share purchases with it Sometimes you have to use a laptop for spreadsheets and other online actions Battery life is great the camera is all that you need for every day snaps Before COVID I used it on all my overseas trips and found it logged on to international networks without a hitch. Invaluable for changing or making bookings. Apps like Yelp and Waze made getting around a breeze. Also google translate while in the back blocks of India was so helpful
In general a good reliable piece of technology that you can use anywhere in the world.

Purchased in May 2018 for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Id say Pleasant
Id say Pleasant Campbell 2600, ACT

Could be better

published

Like the features and the colour I got was black , the battery life is better than my last phone . You can clearly see the difference in clarity of camera when taking pictures

Purchased in February 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised Review No
Mobile Phones

Find out how Apple iPhone XR compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good Phone

published

I have been very happy with this phone. Have not had any issues with it. R has great battery life awesome camera and photos the 256Gb is large enough fir all my photos apps and photos I would totally recommend this product apple

Incentivised Review No
Katarina
Katarina
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love this iPhone

published

Love this phone! Had it since it first came out in 2018. Great quality camera. Excellent screen size. Light weight. Does what you need it to do. Just annoying that’s it’s hard to find good phone cases for it.

Purchased in October 2018 at Vodaphone .

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Related Articles

Previous

Tips for Choosing a Mobile Plan and Service Provider

Looking for a new mobile plan? Find out everything you need to know from network coverage and plan types, to data usage and international roaming so that you can pick the best value plan for you.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.21 Feb 2020
tips-for-choosing-a-mobile-plan-and-service-provider

Best personal electronic devices in 2020!

ProductReview.com.au has analysed a year's worth of reviews to find the best wireless headphones, mobile phones and tablets in 2020. Compare specific reviewer ratings, ranging from Battery Life and Sound / Camera Quality to Value for Money and Ease of Use to help you choose the best personal tech.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.1 Nov 2019
best-personal-electronic-devices-in-2020
Next
Gamingchopper11
Gamingchopper11Southwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone

published

The camera quality is excellent
The brightness is perfect
I use my phone for games and watching YouTube
They run so smooth
Basically a really good iPhone would definitely recommend it

Purchased in March 2020 at Apple Online store for $500.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Railea Blyth
Railea BlythSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Fantastic best phone ever

published

XR has great battery life awesome camera and photos the 246Gb is large enough fir all my photos apps and photos I would totally recommend this product apple phones keep getting better and better

Purchased in April 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for $1,300.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Uall
UallNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It is exactly what they said it would be and I am glad I got it

published

I like the quality compared to other iPhones.
Durability and brightness is good.
I use it to play games check Facebook and search the internet.
Found that apps run great

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Brookfield
BrookfieldSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Excellent

published

This camera has enabled me to take pictures like never before, I no longer need my SLR cannon wherever I go.
All apps have down loaded and easily used
I have dropped this phone a number of times and it has sustained my clumsiness.
I am able run all business through the phone using the email, phone messaging as well as write letters and do spread sheets thanks to addition apps

Purchased in December 2018 for $1,800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Mobile Phones

Find out how Apple iPhone XR compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ayla B.
Ayla B.South East Queensland, QLD

Exceeds expectations! I like it

published

Camera quality is good and it survive multiple times falling on the ground and getting spilled with water. This phone is a user friendly. And the battery life is excellent.

Purchased in June 2019 at Vodafone for $1,119.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Diana S.
Diana S.
  • 2 reviews

I like it

published

The best thing for me is that it survived spilled water :)
Face recognition is became annoying in the age of COVID and Face masks.
Camera quality is very good, I love it.

Purchased in September 2018 at Apple Online store for $1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Changed my life

published

Getting an iPhone being able to apply for jobs send emails excellent performance change my life got me a new job made my finances easy to use just in general made everything simplified for me to do with getting my life in order

Purchased in October 2018 at Optus store for $1,400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Stacey Harvey
Stacey HarveyBraddon 2612, ACT
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love love love

published

As expected, iPhone delivers with great functionality. Love the camera upgrade and bigger screen. Durability is great (have dropped this one a lot ... have a great cover which helps). Couldn’t live without it!

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Ziyi
ZiyiGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Phone!

published

Best phone ever. easy to use. Camera is great and featured the first new iPhone design Apple has introduced since the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus launched in 2014 with new screen sizes. It's responsive, apps run smoothly, screen is bright and the battery life is excellent.

Purchased in March 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Other Mobile Phones

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Sunshien
Sunshien
  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Going to buy a second one - love this phone

published

Its good value compared to the iPhone 11 Pro. Love the new colours its sold in. No problems to date. The water resistance is great. cant complain at all. Great Battery life.

Incentivised Review No
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Mobile Phones

Find out how Apple iPhone XR compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

kiwi842
kiwi842asked
iPhone XR (2018)

Hello, I see reports that the battery last for a long time.
I have been averaging 2.5hrs a day screen time and to charge 3 or 4 times a day.
My old Huawei got 2 or 3 days without charging.
Can someone explain why I am getting such a short life between charges?

4 answers
Gamingchopper11
Gamingchopper11

probably because you over charge it sometimes. if that is the case you need to replace the battery.

Uall
Uall

I have had my phone now for just over a year and unless I am playing games all day I only need to charge mine every second day. I would suggest replacing the battery

Scarycooldude f.
Scarycooldude f.

as the battery ages, it holds less charge. You should replace the battery before something bad happens.

Get an answer from our members

Apple iPhone XR (2018)

Details

Compare all 3 Apple iPhone XR (2018)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $1,229.00$1,479.00$1,299.00
FeaturesWaterproof and Wireless ChargingWaterproof and Wireless ChargingWaterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortLightningLightningLightning
Operating SystemiOSiOSiOS
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Build
Weight194 g194 g194 g
Colour / FinishWhite, Black, Blue, Yellow, Coral, RedWhite, Black, Blue, Yellow, Coral, RedWhite, Black, Blue, Yellow, Coral, Red
Dimensions 150.9 x 75.7 x 8.3 mm150.9 x 75.7 x 8.3 mm150.9 x 75.7 x 8.3 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density326 ppi326 ppi326 ppi
Display TechnologyIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCD
Screen Size 6.1"6.1"6.1"
Screen Resolution828 x 1792 pixels828 x 1792 pixels828 x 1792 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetA12 BionicA12 BionicA12 Bionic
Battery Size2,942 mAh2,942 mAh2,942 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB128 GB
Memory (RAM)3 GB3 GB3 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)7MP Standard7MP Standard7MP Standard
Release dateOct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018
Replaced byApple iPhone 11Apple iPhone 11Apple iPhone 11
Compare all 3 Apple iPhone XR (2018)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.