1 photo
Apple Watch Series 6

Apple Watch Series 6

GPS, GPS + Cellular
3.8 from 9 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Apple? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.8 (8)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (9)
  • Battery Life
    3.6 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Chris B.
Chris B.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Perfect for me!!!

published

Advanced features to manage health activities, great SOS feature. Sync's very easy with iPhone. Apps used to display on Watch are very handy. It is very useful and convenient to answer calls from watch.

Navigation is displayed on the watch and Apple Car Play which is convenient also................

Very Easy to fit watch, the band clasp is very easily managed with one hand.

Purchased in July 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $649.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Horsesrule
Horsesrule
  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Exceptional, but not perfect

published

I bought the Apple Watch Series 6 in late November after wanting an Apple Watch for some time. After about 8 months with it, it still works well and battery life is exceptional. Data connects well, and it works without issues.
However, the watch's interface scratches very easily, after a while with it in my pocket I'll notice it scratched from other objects in my pocket such as keys and my mobile phone(s).
Another gripe I have is the number of apps I can get for my watch. Not many primary apps are available for it, and also typing on it is a pain.
Overall, I'd recommend getting the 44mm size screen, as it allows for more typing room.

Purchased in November 2020 at Apple Online store.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Great Product. Great Price. Great service from BecexTech

published

Bought from BecexTech at very competitive price. Previously had Apple 3 and the 6 is everything I had hoped. A little concerned when saw product was coming from overseas in current COVID impacted times. It arrived quicker than my interstate purchases, well wrapped and ready to go. Very impressed

Purchased in May 2021 at BecexTech Australia for $524.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Apple Watch Series 6 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poor exercise tracking

published

Most features work well but the exercise activity is useless. Bought for exercise tracking across cycling, walking, swimming aerobics etc it doesn’t come close to the times. If Apple can fix this major flaw, it would be a great product.

Purchased in April 2021 at Apple Store Australia.

Ease of Use
Battery Life
Incentivised Review No
Amorlyn
AmorlynSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

High Expectations for Apple Product..Apple Watch Series 6

published

Bought an Apple watch series 6 for my wife a Valentine's Day present. She so delighted to get her wishlist only to find out the watch doesn't even turned on. She's a heavy apple user since IPhone existed. Now she's stressing about what's the problem and and a big dismay and letdown for both of us. She wants to return the watch the next day after we bought it. A big questionable for us about quality of the product which supposed to be a premium quality of for a premium price.
We feel it's not worth buying for this expensive Smart watch.

Purchased in February 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $629.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality

Related Articles

Previous

Top 5 Smart Watch Brands for Women

Smart Watches are a convenient and stylish way for women to keep track of their health, socialise with friends and family, and stay organised amid the business of life. Now there are more smart watches designed for women than ever before.

Isabella G.
Isabella G.30 Nov 2020
top-5-smart-watch-brands-for-women
Next
Andrew Nguyen
Andrew NguyenPerth, WA
  • 64 reviews
  • 18 likes

Loved the new features

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2021 for $599.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Yasser Jannif
Yasser JannifSydney, NSW

Apple Watch series 6

published

This is my third Apple Watch. Great improvements. I got it of jbhifi with coupon pass retail was $649 and I got off with $589. Great deal. Highly recommend to upgrade if you have been using apple products

Purchased in December 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $589.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Not happy Jan4
Not happy Jan4Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good watch

published

Updated from a series 3 watch and there is a big improvement. Screen and battery life is better and the apps work fine. Blood oxygen sensor works, has a fall detection that the 3 didn't have. Wasn't sure if I should outlay the money when I already had a watch but it was worth it.

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $599.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Joris G.
Joris G.Sydney, NSW

Nice watch but is it worth the price?

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020 at Apple Physical store for $799.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Apple Watch Series 6 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Ted H.
Ted H.asked
1 answer
Andy
Andy

I have no dramas running it all day. And it charges super quick anyway so hasn't really been an issue for me. And if I want it / need it to last longer, I just put it in cinema mode and then it lasts for ages. BTW - this is my first foray into any sort of smart watch so I don't have any comparisons, but it hasn't been an issue for me. And I must add to that I only have the wifi model. No cellular.

Get an answer from our members

Apple Watch Series 6

Details

Features:

  • Includes Bluetooth and WiFi connectivity. Also available in a cellular model so no need to have your iPhone or WiFi nearby to make calls or use data
  • Swim proof and water-resistant up to 50 metres, which means worry-free fun at the beach or pool
  • OLED display technology
  • Up to 18 hours of battery life (takes 1.5 hours to charge to 100%)
  • Updated 6S SiP U1 chip (Ultra WideBand by Apple) allows connection between smart watches
  • The Blood oxygen sensor tests your breathing while you sleep, alerts you to low oxygen levels, and checks oxygen levels in high altitude
  • Always-On Retina Display which is 2.5 times brighter than the old Series 5 makes it easier to check your stats when exercising in bright sunlight
  • Available in 9 different colours and 2 materials. The solo loop is comfy and lightweight and easy to slip on and off, while the Braided solo loop is made from silicone threads woven with recycled polyester. It’s perfect for a more casual look but a little different to the Apple Watch signature style.

How does the Apple Series 6 Smart Watch compare?

The Apple Series 6 Smart Watch shares many features identical with its predecessors that you would expect to see in an Apple Smart Watch. The Series 6 has 50-metre water resistance and Bluetooth and WiFi connectivity, as well as a cellular option - and if you are exercising, going phone-free can really make a difference. Other features include Apple Music, Siri, Apple Pay, Sleep Apps, and Google Maps.

However, there are a couple of notable differences. New features exclusive to the Series 6 include the blood oxygen sensor, which checks your oxygen levels and an updated 6S SiP U1 chip (Ultra WideBand by Apple) that allows you to connect to other Apple Smart Watches and other Apple devices with U1. The Series 6 now also works up to 20% faster than the previous Series 5, making it the fastest Apple smartwatch yet. For extra convenience, the Series 6 now has an Always-On Retina Display, so you don’t have to tap the screen to check the time.

For most, the extra features that come along with the Series 6, such as the blood oxygen sensor, won’t necessarily be needed for daily use. So if you can do without this feature, the cheaper Apple Series 3 has a heart rate sensor that will most likely suffice.

Apple 6 vs Other Brands

Keep in mind though that Apple Smart Watches are not compatible with Androids. A cheaper alternative is the Samsung Galaxy Watch 3, which is compatible with both iPhones or Androids and shares many similarities with the Series 6. These include Bluetooth/WiFi/Cellular connection, blood pressure monitoring, water-resistance up to 50 metres but with a cheaper price point. It does lack some features available in the Series 6 though, such as the hefty 32GB storage space, as the Galaxy Watch 3 is only available in 8GB storage.

There are also FitBit models which are very similar to the Apple Smart Watch Series 6. FitBit Charge 4, Versa 2 and the FitBit Sense all have blood oxygen sensors, are also cheaper and more targeted to tracking fitness goals. The FitBit also has many other features similar to the Series 6, like playing music via Bluetooth while you run or making mobile payments on the go. FitBits are fitness-focused and dedicated to motivating you and helping you find the right workout routine by making you aware of how physical you are or need to be. The FitBit sense has a battery life of 6 days in comparison to the 18 hours battery life of the Series 6, so working out every day won't mean constantly recharging your FitBit.

With the Series 6 attempting to add more of the traditional fitness tracker features that are common in typical fitness tracker devices, such as FitBits, it looks like the Series 6 is here to compete. But will the Series 6 live up to the hype? Only time will tell.

Compare all 6 Apple Watch Series 6
CategorySmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP) $599.00$649.00$1,049.00$1,119.00
ConnectivityBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi4G, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi4G, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi
Display TechnologyOLEDOLEDOLEDOLED
SensorsAccelerometer, Altimeter, Blood Oxygen Sensor, Compass, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Noise Level SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Blood Oxygen Sensor, Compass, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Noise Level SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Blood Oxygen Sensor, Compass, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Noise Level SensorAccelerometer, Altimeter, Blood Oxygen Sensor, Compass, Gyro Sensor, Heart Rate Sensor and Noise Level Sensor
InterfaceTouchscreenTouchscreenTouchscreenTouchscreen
LoudspeakerYesYesYesYes
WaterproofingSwim-proof and Water ResistantSwim-proof and Water ResistantSwim-proof and Water ResistantSwim-proof and Water Resistant
Internal Storage 32 GB32 GB32 GB32 GB
Construction MaterialAluminiumAluminiumAluminium, Stainless Steel and TitaniumAluminium, Stainless Steel and Titanium
Colour / FinishSilver, Space Grey, Gold, Blue, RedSilver, Space Grey, Gold, Blue, RedSilver, Space Grey, Gold, Blue, Red, Graphite (DLC), Gold (PVD), Titanium, Space BlackSilver, Space Grey, Gold, Blue, Red, Graphite (DLC), Gold (PVD), Titanium, Space Black
Release dateOct 2020Oct 2020Oct 2020Oct 2020
Compare all 6 Apple Watch Series 6
Visit official website
  • MPN: M00H3X/A, M06P3X/A and MG2E3X/A

Prices

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.