??!
2 photos
Asko D5424SS (Stainless Steel)

Asko D5424SS (Stainless Steel)

MPN: 35903134
3.1 from 51 reviews

See the Best Built-in Dishwashers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(23)
(2)
(1)
(8)
(17)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)

Alooni86

Alooni86AU

  • 3 reviews

Terrible faults all the time

published

Every 6 to 12 month we get faults on this machine we have had 3 call outs in 3 years stay away. Asko service department is great to deal with but the cost of every repair we have had it's not worth it to call out again


Leser Potts

Leser PottsSydney, NSW

Down Hill

published

My asko is falling to pieces parts just break. All the plastic parts on the racks break. I always rinse the plates and actually it does wash well , it’s very noisy. The door handle fell off . My mother always had asko & New World dishwashers same company they were fantastic. I’ Never buy another one

Purchased in May 2012 at 2nds World for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Mal M

Mal MCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never again

published

Totally frustrated by the operation and Asko service provided . After getting this 4 year old dishwasher serviced ( no real service provider in regional Victoria.) nothing comes out clean.
I've tried tablets and liquid. I feel sorry for the complaints line people. I recently purchased a Miele for my city home. The difference is like night and day.

Purchased in April 2015 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Suggest you steer clear of this model or try another brand

published

I've been an Asko advocate for many years, having owned 4 Asko's over 20 years without incident at 2 locations. Unfortunately this particular model seems to have design issues.

In recent times I have purchased two D5424 and have the same troubles with both.
- The tablet dispenses only half of the time - I.e. The dispenser door opens but the tablet does not dispense
(tried numerous different tablet products and still exhibits the same issue)
- Dishes are often covered with food particles and residue at the end of the cycle
- Wash cycles are excessively long
After a long history with Asko I am left with no choice but to change to a different brand.
Other friends have indicated they've experienced similar issues

Date PurchasedJan 2016

terracan

terracanCoolum Beach, Queensland

  • 2 reviews

Works well till plug jumps out

published

9 months old but it spits out yellow plastic plug under basket and sends out a very loud sound but keeps working till I stop it only after around 9 minutes Turn it off sop up allthe fouled water with towels take out grubby basket and put yellow plug back in and away we go till next time. About 1 in four times I wash it happens Very v v frustrating

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Ozara

OzaraSurat

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Plates are now always shining white but sometimes smell

published

After one wash the plates come out of our Asko super shiny but some smell. Contacted our Bunnings shop and they told us to clean out the filter despite having only bought it in March this year. It still smelt until we found running a wash before hand helps greatly reducing the smell. The plates still come our shiny so can't complain to much and the smell isn't very bad yet.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Nick

NickSydney

Will never buy another Asko

published

This is the third Asko dishwasher we have had and by far the worst. Glasses and dishes frequently smeary. Has broken down three times and whilst the service men are good, dealing with Asko head office in Melbourne is not. They take no responsibility and are extremely discourteous. We would not buy another Asko.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Anne J

Anne JEaton

Timers

published

Cleans dishes ok but the times for the different settings are not working properly. Up to 6 hours for one setting. 4.5 hours for eco setting. Only setting that is correct is the rinse setting - 7 minutes. Have had this fixed under warranty before. Would not recommend an Asko dishwasher. Had hoped it would last more than 3 years without having another lot of issues.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Antoinette

AntoinetteFrankston South

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The best dishwasher

published

I have had this machine for approximately 2 years and absolutely love it. I was a little hesitant after reading the reviews, but the sale person at the good guys convinced me it was a great unit and it definitely is! It cleans every time to perfection. The button is a soft touch, as others have mentioned, but seriously you do get used to it. This dishwasher is the best!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
  • Verified purchase

Buyer beware!

published

Worst dishwasher ever. Dishes still come out dirty and you end up having to re-wash by hand. Tablet only pops out and dissolves sometimes if you are lucky. Have to pre-rinse dishes and clean filter and arms after every single wash and then it still does not clean. Had a Meile for 15 years, wish I had brought another one.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Bee

BeeAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet and efficient

published

Asko was first recommended to me as the dishwasher of choice by my Danish sister-in-law. The whole family now uses Askos and Mum's has been going strong for more than 12 years. The poor little wheels on the bottom rack are nearly ready to fall off, however. No apparent built-in obsolescence with this brand. How refreshing!

Date PurchasedJul 2015

David

DavidSouthwest, VIC

  • 12 reviews

Good looking and easy to use.

published

Always cleans well, we mainly use the economic cycle and it has never let us down. The machine is relatively quiet and runs the cycle at a reasonable speed. I particularly like the quality of the racks. They don't rattle as some dishwashers do. This was pointed out to me by the salesman that recommended my first Asko dishwasher. So when the time came to replace it I noticed the difference with the quality of racks in other brands.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

tropicmerc

tropicmercRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Heaven, I'm in Heaven ...

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Clare

ClareSydney

  • Verified purchase

Blocked up

published

We had our machine less than 12 months when a blockage in a pipe occurred. I tried to fix this myself but couldn't. Called Asko out and they advised it was a seed that had somehow got through the filter and blocked the pipe. Cost $100 to repair and the technician said the only way to guarantee it didn't happen again was to wash dishes before putting them in the dishwasher. That completely undermines the point of having a dishwasher - particularly one of the most expensive ones which claims 'no rinsing required'. When I complained to Asko the customer service was very rude and offered no solution. Will never buy this brand again.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Asko brand. Never again

published

I expect better longevity for the price. I also had problem with asko oven, element and fan replaced and asko microwave oven fuse replaced, total cost $490, not happy. Won't buy asks again even discounted 90%. All appliances both same date. Gas cooktop.. No problem yet.
Cheaper brands have better lifespan. At least you can throw it away if got broken.

Date PurchasedJul 2015
KarenH

KarenHIpswich

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Didn't last 5 years - not worth the extra $

published

Bought this machine 4 years ago, and have had one service call under warranty. The machine cleaned the dishes well and was fairly quiet. It stopped working after 4 years of use - the display wouldn't show and it made a pumping sound when the door was closed. Rang Asko and was told it was probably the central processing unit and would cost over $400 to fix. Considering it cost me more than twice the cost of my last dishwasher that lasted 8 years, it certainly wasn't value for money. Going back to a Becko for less than $500!

Date PurchasedAug 2012

mika4795

mika4795Sydney, Australia

  • 12 reviews

Wow!

published

I have been using this machine since past 10 years! Hugh room for dishes n cutlery
Each time its a sparkle clean
It cnt get any better then this! Very streardy machine
One of the finest products available in market with competitive price, no regrets at all in buying this

Date PurchasedJan 2007

Sam

SamMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Cleans dishes better than I can

published

When our last Asko dishwasher died after 6 or so years (electrical issue), we bought this as a replacement. Works great, is simple and easy to use and is relatively quiet when in operation. The regular wash feature is all I've needed to use, though there are many other options available. It wont dry your dishes as it doesn't have an inbuilt fan, but if you're a patient person willing to let evaporation work its magic or don't mind using a tea towel for its intended purpose, this shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Tracy Sowry

Tracy SowryCanberra

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Of The Best

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Billy

Billy

  • 4 reviews

Perfect!

published

The Asko dishwashing machine not only looks great but cleans everything great. I have never used such an effective dishwasher, and it is so quiet. We have now had this for 4 or 5 years and it is still running great and doesn't look like showing any sign of wear and tear.

Date PurchasedSep 2012

Page 1 of 3

See all Asko D5424 reviews

Questions & Answers

Patrick

Patrickasked

When I use dishwashing pods, sometimes the pods don't dissolve and I find them in the cutlery tray or still in the detergent holder. Should I only be using liquid detergent?

2 answers
Yvonne
Yvonne

I use the Aldi brand ("Logix) of tablet and it works perfectly does the same or better job than the well-known ones and costs a fraction of the price of the others. Even though it is recommended to put the tablet in the detergent holder, I have just put it in the bottom of the dishwasher so it is being dissolved from the start and that worked well too.

Blade38
Blade38

We stopped using pods earlier on and now use dishwasher powder that you can purchase from Coles or Aldi. In addition we put 2-3 capfuls of vinegar into the liquid holder and this combination works well and is cheap!


Vic

Vicasked

A mouse has nibbled the outlet hose. As this isn’t a warranty issue I would like to replace it myself. Do you have any instructions for diy replacement? Model D5424 thanks

No answers

Cazz

Cazzasked

Hi. I have an Asko D5424 and the display is showing three horizontal lines and the door won't open. Can you please help?

2 answers
kaiak
kaiak

there is a kid safe switch inside the handle cover.
try that one.
also you can search online manual for details.

Benno
Benno

I had the same problem with my mums dishwasher. The door handle has a spring loaded switch which will show the symbol - - - to indicate the door is open still. The spring had gone on the handle switch which doesn’t close the contact to the electronic switch hence sending a signal to the display that thinks the door is always open. Switch needs to be repaired or replaced by a service technician. Hope this helps.


Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.