??!

Reviews

3.8

80 reviews
5
(37)
4
(17)
3
(9)
2
(8)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (7)
  • Internal Layout
    4.5 (6)
Previous
Next
Elise

EliseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Best dishwasher ever

published

The asko dishwasher are great, they clean better than any other dishwasher we have ever had. Dishes come out almost completely dry and you can pack them full to the brim without Compromising the wash.

Purchased in August 2018 at Asko Appliances for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Pebblage

PebblageGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Works Fine

published

I had written a review about how this machine leaves residue despite the filters being clean. Turns out the connection pipe hadn't been drilled out properly on installation. All fixed and has worked brilliantly since.

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Mel

MelPerth

  • 2 reviews

Doesn't dry plasticware

published

We were sold this dishwasher based on the fact the salesperson at the Good Guys said it would dry tupperware/plasticware. That was a complete lie- this dishwasher constantly leaves my plasticware dripping wet and I have to dry it on a drainboard or by hand. My mother-in-law's $600 Bosch does a far better job, as did our old Westinghouse dishwasher. The size of the dishwasher is great and it washes pretty well, but the cycles are incredibly long, with no express option given. I regret buying it and am considering selling it and replacing it with a Bosch. Disappointing- the worst $1600 I have spent.

Purchased in September 2017 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Built-in Dishwashers

Find out how Asko D5436 compares to other Built-in Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don’t buy it. It doesn’t wash the items on the top shelf.

published

Bought this dishwasher based on good reviews. For us it doesn’t wash properly if the top shelf is full even on a pots and pan heavy duty cycle. It leaves residue on the insides and outsides of the cups and glasses.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Jeee2

Jeee2Sydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews

Time usedul

published

We just had a upgrade in our kitchen and this has been helpful and time efficient my mum rinses the dishes before putting it there’s just few problems sometimes it does this thing when it’s start selecting option on it’s on which is pretty scary but another than that the asko customer service are not really helpful if I was with my mum in the time of purchase I would have selected a model of the button all this digital stuff are making it harder for most people

Purchased in April 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Fiona lekias

Fiona lekiasPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great dishwasher

published

Really happy with our asko dishwasher definitely money well spent ,very easy to use and keep clean couldn’t recommend enough and really glad we chose the stainless steel design matches our new house very nicely

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Karen S

Karen SSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Loving this dishwasher!

published

Our last three dishwashers were all the same brand, but this time we switched to ASKO. It was highly recommended by my Mum and a friend who have each had theirs over 15 year. I was looking for something that would last and was water saving. This dishwasher is everything they advertise it to be!

Purchased in August 2017 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$1,399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Emk

Emk

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money

published

Absolutely terrible. Would not recommend, been mucked around with warranty, did not receive replacement. Dishwasher was "fixed", still does not dissolve powder or heat up. Leaves dishes dirty and slimey.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Chrissy

ChrissyVictoria, 3085

  • 4 reviews

Mostly wonderful

published

We love our Asko Dishwasher, it's easy to configure the bottom tray and the different programs for temperature and drying time. It washes perfectly and the drying time, once lengthened, is good for most things except a lot of plastic on the top. Sometimes it ends early if we open the door to put extra items in.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Built-in Dishwashers

Find out how Asko D5436 compares to other Built-in Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hellokitty9

Hellokitty9Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Simply the best brand dishwasher!

published

I've always wanted to rate this dishwasher brand. Finally got the chance to do it. Talking about the features, controls, performance. It runs well. Although I still scrape and rinse a bit of the dishes before I put in. It is perfectly clean. It is my forever best friend in the kitchen. The only brand I buy.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Worst dishwasher I've ever had!!

published

The control board died 5 times after I used this dishwasher. Only 5 times! This is the worst dishwasher I've ever had but actually the most expensive one. The previous one I bought for $500 lasted for 5 years never had any problem and it was much quieter. This ASKO one cost me $1600, it makes terrible noises, dishes couldn't be cleaned enough and now it's dead. Trust me, if the sales men recon this machine to you, ask them to [Word Removed] off!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
AS.

AS.

  • 3 reviews

Stay away from ASKO!!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Bruce

Bruce

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just out of Warranty. Control board died!

published

Dishwasher is 3 months out of warranty (just over 2 years old) and the control board is malfunctioning. It had one warranty repair within 6 months of purchase but that was unrelated. I will be contacting Consumer Protection because it is a major fault and you would expect more than two years out of a dishwasher. Parts and labour will probably come to about $600. I spoke to Asko on the phone but they did not offer to fix the problem for free. I would expect more from a $1399 machine.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Love my dishwasher

published

Cleans dishes really well, sometimes have to open door a bit to get them to dry but not always. Really quiet. I have the extra heat option so that means it takes a bit longer but that’s fine. Arms are metal not plastic, which is better than most other brands. Has a handy knife drawer. I really love my dishwasher. Third Asko machine, they have all been good.
Pros
Metal arms
Easy to clean filters
Can move the spindles down for large pots
Knife drawer
Big compartment for rinse aid.. no need to refill very often takes a whole bottle
Cons
Cycle takes long time with extra drying option

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Cec

CecHAMILTON

Disappointing

published

The salesperson sold this dishwasher saying that it is the only dishwasher that dries plastics. Wrong! It does not dry plastics properly. The machine has a 2.45 hour ECO cycle - not certain whether the electricity being used for 2.45 hours could be considered ECO!!! The start switch is also very temperamental. I cannot switch it on 99% of the time so have to wait until it decides to work. A very expensive machine with poor results. On the plus side, it does wash clean but we rinse all dishes prior to dishwashing so a less expensive machine would probably do the same. Very disappointed and frustrated ASKO.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Built-in Dishwashers

Find out how Asko D5436 compares to other Built-in Dishwashers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Georgia

GeorgiaAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Swedish, well built dishwasher

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Daisy

DaisyMelboune

  • 5 reviews

Great product

published

We have used it once or twice a day for 2-3 years without Any problems. As lots of users mentioned, very quiet. Drainage is good and dishes come out very clean in most times. Design is flat and stylish. Stainless always looks better. I don't have any other Asko product, but happy to try other stuff too.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Frogman

Frogman

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Quiet, Quiet, Quiet.

published

Excellent Swedish quality. Matches all their product range. Very quiet machine. Stainless steel. Good place settings and will accept all our cutlery and crockery with plenty of room. The machine is inbuilt and is very quiet which is the reason we bought it. It’s wuiet function is an advertised option and it is true. Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Liv

LivAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Neat looking and effective

published

This dishwasher cleans and dries the dishes very effectively, with he exception of a few droplets of water left in deeper pots at the end of the cycle. Dishes come out free from smears. It is not loud but not particularly quiet either - kind of in the middle. I love how sleek and neat it looks with the flat front. One annoying thing is how long the cycle takes - three hours is pretty long.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ellie

EllieAU

  • 5 reviews

Perfect and quiet

published

Loving the dishwasher so far. Very quiet and efficient. a large variety of settings. Dishes always come out clean and dry.

It has a cutlery basket which is great but also a large knife drawer.

the Asko installation was very professional and neat. They even showed me how to use the settings to get me started.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Mike K

Mike Kasked

D5436XLS

ASKO D5436 Dishwasher
Size: XL
ART No : 484491/05
Serial No : 73430015
How do I reset the basic Dishwashing time for the 'Daily wash' program (with Cold Water), without either of the High Temperature or Long Dry options being turned ON, to 2hrs 25 min (2:25) to match the Program Chart table in the rear of the Operating Instructions manual ? The current setting is 1hr 48 min (1:48) and it will not complete the normal default cycle. It has never been higher than 1hr 59 min (1:59) ! All the other Programs exactly match the Dishwashing times stated in the Program Chart table without either the High Temperature or Long Dry options being turned ON.

No answers
Stacy

Stacyasked

D5436

Can this model be adjusted to time fill?

No answers
Buapet

Buapetasked

D5436

Why the top arm is not spinning. I've clean the arms and pipe. To test the adequacy of th he pump, I had blocked off the lower water outlet and stiil hardly any water in the top arm. Taking the front and rear plates off, I couldn't see any diverting valve.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.