??!
1 photo
Asko D5436SS (Stainless Steel)

Asko D5436SS (Stainless Steel)

MPN: 35903211
3.8 from 35 reviews

See the Best Built-in Dishwashers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
16
4 star
8
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
5

Jeee2

Jeee2Sydney, NSW

  • 22 reviews
  • 3 likes

Time usedul

published

We just had a upgrade in our kitchen and this has been helpful and time efficient my mum rinses the dishes before putting it there’s just few problems sometimes it does this thing when it’s start selecting option on it’s on which is pretty scary but another than that the asko customer service are not really helpful if I was with my mum in the time of purchase I would have selected a model of the button all this digital stuff are making it harder for most people

Purchased in April 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Fiona lekias

Fiona lekiasPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great dishwasher

published

Really happy with our asko dishwasher definitely money well spent ,very easy to use and keep clean couldn’t recommend enough and really glad we chose the stainless steel design matches our new house very nicely

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers
Karen S

Karen SSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Loving this dishwasher!

published

Our last three dishwashers were all the same brand, but this time we switched to ASKO. It was highly recommended by my Mum and a friend who have each had theirs over 15 year. I was looking for something that would last and was water saving. This dishwasher is everything they advertise it to be!

Purchased in August 2017 at Bing Lee Physical store for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
See all answers

Waste of money

published

Absolutely terrible. Would not recommend, been mucked around with warranty, did not receive replacement. Dishwasher was "fixed", still does not dissolve powder or heat up. Leaves dishes dirty and slimey.

Purchased in December 2018 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

Chrissy

ChrissyVictoria, 3085

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Mostly wonderful

published

We love our Asko Dishwasher, it's easy to configure the bottom tray and the different programs for temperature and drying time. It washes perfectly and the drying time, once lengthened, is good for most things except a lot of plastic on the top. Sometimes it ends early if we open the door to put extra items in.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

AS.

AS.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stay away from ASKO!!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Daisy

DaisyMelboune

  • 5 reviews

Great product

published

We have used it once or twice a day for 2-3 years without Any problems. As lots of users mentioned, very quiet. Drainage is good and dishes come out very clean in most times. Design is flat and stylish. Stainless always looks better. I don't have any other Asko product, but happy to try other stuff too.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Ellie

EllieAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect and quiet

published

Loving the dishwasher so far. Very quiet and efficient. a large variety of settings. Dishes always come out clean and dry.

It has a cutlery basket which is great but also a large knife drawer.

the Asko installation was very professional and neat. They even showed me how to use the settings to get me started.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Pilot55

Pilot55melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Top Marks To Asko

published

This really is a better than average dishwasher, we are very happy with it.
After putting up with various different dishwashers of varying qualities over the years it is very nice to finally have one that ticks all the boxes.
Quiet,efficient, cleans well. There isn't much more you can ask for is there? Oh I forgot it also looks extremely smart in the kitchen.
Its rare to have absolutely no complaint but that is the case with this. Excellent dishwasher.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Max C

Max CPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very quiet machine

published

Cleans very well and runs super quiet. I normally use the Eco mode and find that it cleans sufficiently, it can handle cleaning stuck/burnt cheese from oven dishes. Looks very modern from the outside and fits in well with my newly renovated kitchen. Been very happy with it so far.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

iReview

iReviewPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The days of doing dishes are long gone

published

Nice stainless steel finish. Came with bonus Quantum Dishwashing Tablets. Multiple modes with varying times for different loads. Also has a Turbo Drying Feature. Perfect size for a family of three. It gets used once every two days or so. Also has a 6 min rinse feature for in between days when you want to just give it a quick spritz if you are worried about the food on the plates drying out. I always give mine a quick rinse in the sink before placing it inside.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

tommy

tommyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cleans well

published

It takes a while to finish a cycle of around 1 and a half hours but the dishes have always come out clean. There are plenty of wash options for all situations from quick wash, normal wash and heavy wash and can also choose the water temperature for each option. It seems to be very water efficient also.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Asma

AsmaBankstown

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can’t live without it

published

Asko dishwasher is the best invention ever never had problems with it cleans the dishes all the time no need to do anything by hand the only thing that I would love if it was free standing because I don’t have room in my kitchen to put it I have it in the dining area

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Krunal Patel

Krunal PatelMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is most important appliance of our home.

published

Dose very tidy job clean like commercial dishwasher. Efficient on water usage. Very quite More than enough cycles to choose, I personally like ECO mode. I would purchase again. The only issue is it does take so long to go through a wash cycle. I would give it 5 stars.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

Very quiet but has issues

published

Great machine. So quiet to run and very efficient. A lot of wash cycles to choose from including and ECO mode. I would purchase again. The only issue is it does take so long to go through a wash cycle. Even the ECo mode is a long cycle. If they had a short cycle I would give it 5 stars.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
SP Brisbane

SP BrisbaneBrisbane

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent Dishwasher

published

I have moved quite a bit and had the good fortune to own several ASKO dishwashers over the years, I have consistently found them to be excellent. The house I now own had a kleenmaid dishwasher which never washed as well as I would have liked and I was willing it to break down, which it did in 2017 so i replaced it with an ASKO. The things that i like about ASKO and this model is that it washes everything exceptionally well AND it drys everything properly. Some dishwashers never dry glasses or plastic items such as Tupperware properly, ASKO knows how to do it well and it works every time. I also like the layout of the inside and little things like the knife drawer. This is a great model and I am very pleased i have it

Date PurchasedMay 2017

AlBris

AlBrisBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Superb Dishwasher

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Silverback

SilverbackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Don't be fooled by the salesman.

published

This is very good dishwasher that washes very well. It have very good parts and appears to a quality made product. However the drying function on the more expensive model is a joke. Constantly having to dry plastics, cups and Tupperware from the top shelf. This was the main feature the salesman said would completely dry everything. No more have to leave the door open to get rid of condensation. Don't waste your money on the more expensive model. I would not recommend this machine. It just not worth the money.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Em W

Em Wsydney

Completely hopeless customer service, don't buy unless you can fix it yourself.

published

1. The call-back service does not work so you will be on hold forever.
2. The dishwasher works really well provided that you wash your dishes before putting them in- no joke.
3. The service man fixed the door so tightly that it requires 2 people to hold the door open before loading the dishes. We are told that even though it was their service man who damaged the door, the machine is now out of service so we have to pay to fix it…??
4. You will be told that someone will call you back, but it won't happen. Ever. So you call again, and hold on forever again….

Overall a useless and disappointing product and service.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Frustrated

Frustrated

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

ASKO dishwasher

published

I bought this dishwasher because the man at the Good Guys said it was amazing. Its amazingly expensive but not an amazing dishwasher. I have to get the ASKO people back 3 times to get it working properly and it works ok no better than the $600 Bosch I had even though the ASKO was $1600. It leaves food scraps on the oven dish and sometimes the knives and forks no matter the setting. Disappointing really thought it was going to be mind boggling good but unfortunately not.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Page 1 of 2

See all Asko D5436 reviews

Questions & Answers

Cath T

Cath Tasked

Good morning, I went to clean the fine filter this morning and there was water sitting in the tub under it. Can you please advise what I should do? It is about 4 mths old.
Thanks

1 answer
Mr Squiggle
Mr Squiggle

Hi Cath,
I cant see if you had a repy to this.
It is great to hear you are taking care of your investment. Water in the sump is quite normal. All brands of dishwasher will have water left under the filter grate after the final rinse. So dont worry about it.
If you are wondering how I can be so sure of this. I have been an account manager for Asko, Miele and F&P. I have worked in appliance retail for nearly 20 years.

I hope this reassures you.


Icarus M

Icarus Masked

I’ve had this model for around 6 months
Just now it won’t cycle properly
It’s staying on rinse and will keep going for hours on the Eco and normal function
I tried unplugging it but nothing seems to work
Now I’m stuck with stale dirty water that won’t drain!

What should I do?

1 answer
Phil
Phil

I am sorry but I personally have no idea, why this is happening. Have you checked the filters at the bottom. If it's only 6 months old then it should still be under warranty and you could call a technician


GLENN

GLENNasked

The dish washer is not washing properly dishes still dirty.
Washer has been cleaned.Any help?

2 answers
heather
heather

We have the white model. But I guess the functions are the same.
We found, as we are on tank water, and run a UV filter on all water that comes into the house, it can effect the way certain brands of dishwashing products work.
We have good success with Fairy and Finish brands....but only with the types in those brands that have the dissolving wrappers..Hard, solid tablets of any brand don't dissolve properly ....but we ARE on tank water!

I cannot comment on how the Asko works on normal town water..
If, after changing brands if tablets, you have no success, I suggest you contact ASKO for a service call

Matt
Matt

Perhaps have your water tested for hardness. If you look back to your owners manual, there will be a section discussing this and what is needed to address water hardness if it is an issue. If you are in a capital city on the east coast, this is probably not a problem, but don't take my word for it of course. As Heather suggested, a phone call or email to Asko should be your first port of call and they may be able to answer the water hardness question for you also.


Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

Details

CategoryBuilt-in Dishwashers
Price (RRP) $1,699
FeaturesCutlery Rack, Eco Mode/Wash, Foldable Racks and Height-Adjustable Upper Rack
Number of Place Settings 14
Water Rating4.5 star(s)
Water Consumption12.7 L/wash
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)
Energy Consumption275 kWh per year
Control Panel Position Front
Maximum Noise Level46 db
Number of Programs6
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Dimensions 820 x 596 x 559 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Compare all Asko D5436

Visit official website
  • MPN: 35903211

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.