??!
3 photos
Asko W8844XL / W8844XL ECO

Asko W8844XL / W8844XL ECO

W8844XL and W8844XL ECO
2.7 from 52 reviews

See the Best Front Loading Washing Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
11
4 star
8
3 star
7
2 star
8
1 star
18

Pat

PatGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Wished I replaced my Miele with Miele instead of Asko

published

I bought the larger version of the Asko new to reduce number of loads but this machine has real problems with towels and just refuses to spin regardless of whether I reduce number of towels or rearrange load.
My Miele lasted 20 years and never missed a beat in that time regardless of what I put into it.
I doubt if this Asko will go the distance since it's not performing the basics from the get go and thinking of replacing it before too long.
Also extremely noisey.

Purchased in January 2018 at The Good Guys for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Dryer TypeMiele T 230 C
See all answers

Adam

AdamSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

If I could give it zero, I would.

published

Bought machine, machine works well for 3y 4m now it's shaking and making a hell of a noise on spin. Asko say, out of warranty, you pay for service call and depending on what was wrong with it, they might help!

Fair washing machine life for this amount should be ~10 years... Will chase them up and one way or another have it fixed but it's not the point. They shouldn't gouge customers on price selling something that should be premium quality if a, largely 2 person household can break it in 3 odd years - stay clear if I was you!

Purchased in March 2016 at The Good Guys for $1,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Rain

RainPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Asko is a disgrace

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Asko Appliances for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Nic

Nicbrisbane

  • 24 reviews
  • 35 likes

Is it washed up?

published

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Andy

AndyBALLARAT

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Asko fiasco

published

Machine is just twelve months old and door glass has exploded at 1600 rpm. Extremely dangerous, destroyed washing and machine is filled with shards of glass. Asko response after two weeks. 'operator error' will not replace under warranty. Customer service is non existent in Australia. State service managers' words "Good luck sunshine" 'we have many of these new machines doing this" if so why are they not recalled. Note all newer models now have a plastic cover over the glass. Be very very careful, someone is going to get hurt.

Update: Asko have now agreed to repair at their cost. You would think it would be more cost efficient to replace with new unit than expensive repair but what can we do?

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Kristen D

Kristen DNarangba

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Lemon

published

We were convinced to buy this above a Miele by the salespeople. Wish we had gone with our gut.
Have had terrible trouble with the seals and now the bearings have gone.
Washes well, and has good options for different washes. I especially love the hand wash feature.
For the price compared to the problems we've had I Would not recommend.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

This is a dog!

published

Nothing but problems!! Trying to get it replaced. Had 3 call outs. First the seal then the computer not working meaning the wash could go on for an extra 45 minutes! Not what you want when you are time poor. Would not recommend at all as completely unreliable. Don't buy!

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Lemon since the start.....

published

Nothing but trouble since we've had it. The Good Guys salesman convinced me that I would be buying a super reliable washing machine that was built stronger than any other on the market and wouldn't give me any trouble! There has been fault message after fault message and now there is power to the machine but the program won't start...... 6 people to wash for, I'm losing my patience with it.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Gary A

Gary AAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Asko

published

An excellent job for example ready to replace doona washed on Max heat Max 14000 spin came out like New and relatively dry so easy hang and finish drying
High rated for per and water consumption/ electricity salesman said he'd had one for 25 years never broke down.
Installed it myself easy as hook up the hose remove restaining bolts at the rear the unit, plug it away it went 1st go...

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Frogman

Frogman

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best of the Best

published

only Machine without a rubber seal on the door and that is the reason we purchased it.
Quiet well modulated machine with ease of function and range of cycles. Good quality build, durable and fully functional.
It washes all fabric types well and has appropriate cycles to match. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a high quality washing machine.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

VVell

VVellGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Becoming my laundry friend.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016

michelle

michelleadelaide

mixed

published

The door what is with the door?
did read some reviews before buying and there was mention of issues with the door not closing but I thought they may have been unlucky. I did decide to purchase this machine and guess what that door is doing my head in.
some times it closes but mostly not.
after pressing start you have to stand there and wait for the click and press door in again and more often than not you have to do it again. and sometimes it just bounces open and have real trouble getting it to lock in.
Apart from that a great wash
but THAT DOOR very annoying

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Joan

JoanBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Pretty good so far

published

I bought the Asko ECO machine. It washes pretty well, the clothes come out clean and I like that I can choose the temperature, wash time and type of spin cycle. I do have trouble closing the door as it take a lot of strength - so I push it closed with my knee and body weight. I don't like how once the door is closed it can't be opened. I've had it for around 2 years but have only used it for last 6 months, I hope it lasts longer than others have experienced. I paid extra to get the ECO model and was told there was on overnight ECO wash but can't find a setting for it all.

Date PurchasedJun 2016

NEIL

NEILsydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

$2300- I Got Ripped Off -- ASKO

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015
1 comment
NEIL
NEIL
Mega tired

Mega tiredMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Really disappointed with ASKO

published

I've had this machine less than two years and had quite a few problems with it. I'm very glad I bought the extended warranty. When it works it's superb, so that's something.

My biggest issue is with ASKO's service. It can take a long time for them to send someone out - meanwhile your clothes are rotting in the machine and you can't do any washing. If your machine breaks down mid-cycle it's not really the sort of situation where you can wait a week. Also, when I call, I expect to be able to speak to someone who can schedule a service visit for me, not told that someone will get back to me, which can take days.

I will buy Miele appliances in future. I've had a much better experience with them.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Asma

AsmaBankstown

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can’t live without it

published

Clean my clothes well but work clothes I have to soak them otherwise they will never be clean it doesn’t wear out the colors very quiet the best feature in this washing machine is the hot water hose option it saves electricity
The only thing I don’t like is when I forget something and I wanna but it with the load it starts all over

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Robert P

Robert P

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great washer, top price, just missing features

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Gaela Russell

Gaela RussellCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Another great Asko appliance

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

LS47

LS47Sydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

Horrible-nappies come out stained and it rips clothes

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Towels are like sand paper

published

Cleans clothes well I can't complain but towels do not come out fluffy they are more like sand paper.
I have tried all options on the programs but they still come out like sand paper.
I e-mailed Asko and informed them that I was not happy with the way the towels come out. Asko made suggestions and I tried all their suggestions but my towels are still like sand paper.
The machine was very quiet in the beginning but the noise level has increased over the year but still quieter than my old top loader.
Also I noticed that the detergent separator was missing when I purchased the machine that's disappointing considering I paid $2498.00 for it.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Liz

Lizasked

How many standard towel can you put in the 7 kg ASKO front loader

No answers

Liz

Lizasked

W8844XL

I have an ASKO 7 kg washer which is 6 years old and it started foaming from detergent dispenser and a lot in the machine.
Could you please tell me how to fix it as it took awhile to try and drain it so l could open the door.
Have done more loads and seemed to work properly but last spin still looks like there could be a few suds there that clothes wipe away before finishing and door opens. Machine model is W6448 eco

No answers

maria m.

maria m.asked

my machine is 3 years old and after it finishes the cycles the door no longer opens automatically, I have no idea what to do looking for solutions,

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Asko representatives

Details

Asko W8844XL ECO

Asko W8844XL ECO

3.8
(17)
Asko W8844XL

Asko W8844XL

2.3
(34)
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Capacity10 kg10 kg
Household Size 5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof)Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)
Water Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)
Colour / Finish WhiteWhite
Dimensions 850 x 595 x 700 mm850 x 595 x 700 mm
Maximum Noise Level72 db72 db
Number of Wash Cycles1212
Weight94.2 kg94.2 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.