??!
6 photos
Audi Q3

Audi Q3 (2012-2019)

Also referred to as: Audi Q3 2018 and Audi Q3 2020. F3 (2019) and 8U (2012-2019)
4.0 from 21 reviews

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
1

b0ng0man

b0ng0manIllawarra, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Sell it before warranty runs out.

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Audi Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

MikkieD

MikkieDQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Premium feel! Cheap on fuel! Pocket rocket!

published
BadgeTFSI Sport
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
DriveFWD
Paul N

Paul NWollongong

Sluggish Performance. Hopeless MMI system. Too many gimmicky controls

published
BadgeTFSI Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Zac

ZacMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Perfect family car

published

There is a reason why this car is so popular - stylish looks, excellent handling, good fuel efficiency and a premium Audi badge at a reasonable price. Improvements from the 2014 model are to the powertrain, suspension, and most notably the updated front grille and new bi-xenon headlights with daytime LED runlamps.
Would not hesitate to reccomend this car to anyone.

BadgeTFSI
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018

Eyma20

Eyma20

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great small SUV

published

One of the very few SUVs on the market still available in manual transmission! Very smooth handling with great insulation meaning that you can barely hear road and traffic noises in the car. Does 720ks on a full tank and pay an average of $80 to fill it up every 3 weeks. If you’re looking for an suv for a bigger boot capacity this may not be the car for you as the boot space is average, however it will fit 2 large suitcases and 2 carry on luggage exactly (tried and tested!). Personally I love this car having gone from a Ford Fiesta hatchback and finding that the size suited me perfectly as I didn’t want anything too big and scary!

BadgeTDI Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Francie7376

Francie7376Ringwood

  • 24 reviews
  • 36 likes

Absolutely the best car I have every owned!

published
BadgeTFSI Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Sandra M

Sandra M

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

After months of shopping around for a family car, we decided on the Audi Q3. Back when we purchased it in 2015, it was the smallest in the SUV family although it suited us just fine when we were a family of 3. However, now with a second car seat, the middle seat of the car is unusable - I can just manage to fit a handbag in there. That said, the car handles greatly, looks sleek and stylish and has a very comfortable interior. The customer service at Audi is second to none and it is for these reasons that we’ll be upgrading to a Q5 or Q7 in the near future. The only downside to buying is that the base models are very basic and quite expensive to add extra features, and the servicing costs are quite high.

BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

Michael

Michaelsydney

  • 2 reviews

Great car and great value

published

We have owned this car for almost 4 years. To date we have had VERY little issues with this car. We do daily round trips of around 180km and we have found this car to be very economical with especially diesel petrol.

The car handles very well on all types of surfaces including wet and dry. The internal of the car is nice but certainly not in the same class as any luxury vehicles.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Docdee

DocdeeAU

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

My Wife Loves it!!

published
BadgeTFSI
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
pradeepa

pradeepaAU

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best car ever!

published

I love the car, its very easy set up, and seating very comfortable, Great steering,petrol consumption is little higher than normal , but its AUDI!!!
style and exterior look is stylish- entertainment and navigation system is very good
large boot,and easy access via the car
cup holders and door storage very spacy

BadgeTDI Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013

DanielO

DanielOGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Performace wise disappointing for the class

published
BadgeTFSI
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

CherieG

CherieGBundaberg

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this car - so happy we purchased!

published

Love this car! Great steering, awesome speed pick up! Quiet for a diesel. The interior is slick - Audi can always make things look great in a simple and not over the top way. Great on fuel - I get over 1,000km's a tank. The owners before us had children, and considering they were young - the leather has held up pretty well! I was worried if we would have enough cabin space when the seats where down, but compared to my car before (Jeep Patriot), it is very similar. We will definitely look at Audi again when we are ready to upgrade.

BadgeTDI Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Wendyh

Wendyh

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

OK but wouldn't buy again

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Ocky

OckySydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great car- comfortable and cost effective to run

published

We have had our Q3 for a year now and it is a great car, it can sit 5 adults comfortably, we can turn down the seats for added boot space, but its still easy to park around town. Fuel wise (Diesel) for $65- we get up to 900Km of mileage out of it. Great all round car.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Doug14

Doug14CHATSWOOD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Can't find better

published
Badge2.0 tdi, Quattro
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Doug14
Doug14

Traded it for a new VW Golf. Realized I didn't need an SUV for mainly city driving.

Jing liu

Jing liuSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it

published

I am very happy to drive around my sliver Audi q3, it's make me feel good about myself and the car is very quite with very little noise, the handling is very good I only have a bit problem for the signal cause most of janpanese car the signal is on the right hand side

BadgeTDI Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic

Ktas worker

Ktas workerCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ok pointless spare

published

Overpriced comfy plasticky with a pointless spare that you have to INFLATE to be able to use ???? Yes you have to inflate the spare to use. Audi needs to review there own choices either have a spare that you can use instantly or go run flat either way you not wasting peoples time to Inflate a damn tyre

BadgeTFSI
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic

tanalasta

tanalastaWA, 6009

  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great little SUV. Not perfect ... but certainly one to consider!

published
Engine Size2.0
BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic

Legend

Legendadelaide

Q3 brand new Quattro TDI 103kw

published

I love the interior design. However, after the first week I picked up my car, the steering become very heavy and resistant in certain condition. The car service department told me this is normal. The petrol consumption has doubled. Is this normal? But, I love the interior design and ergonomic seat.
I like the ergonomic seat
The heavy steering and rusty exhaust in brand new

Engine Size2.0
BadgeTDI

Damo

DamoSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 17 likes

4 and a half stars

published

Ride quality is good. Pick up on 1.4 litre engine is surprisingly good also. Hard to distinguish from 2 litre engine. Good drive around town. Interior is smart. Overall great to drive. At $45.5K with technic and style packs its a great deal, especially compared to X1 and Evoque. Haggle for a deal.
High driving position, compact size yet decent interior head/leg room, price compared to competition
Options can be expensive, steering light, boot size

TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
BadgeTFSI

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jake Mcgrath

Jake Mcgrathasked

If a fault is diagnosed by an ‘A grade mechanic’ prior to the end date of the warranty, is it still covered under the warranty or does the fault need to be diagnosed by an Audi dealership?

No answers

Matjack

Matjackasked

Q3 8U

Considering buying the TDI Q3. I have never bought turbo diesel before or Audi for that matter. Can people who have owned this vehicle expand my knowledge on performance and satisfaction? They look smart.

1 answer
DanielO
DanielO

Hi
The car looks very smart. I 've had the Audi Q3 now since July and despite what I wrote in my review, I have become accustomed to it. It's a nice car to sit in and drive but the turbo can be annoying. That remains an issue for me. It doesn't take off smoothly like some other cars, be it the turbo or whatever. Personally and in my ignorance, the turbo / transmission or whatever else will likely improve in design and function over the years, but it remains annoying when needing to take off quickly when in certain traffic situations. And then when it does move, it catapults foward. I've gotten used to how to accelerate to allow for this, but the moments when i need to accelerate quickly remain a problem for me.
My Audi is petrol. From what I've read, I understand that diesel is worse in city driving but I don't know.
Now that I've had the car for 6 months, I'm generally happy with it - comfortable and very nice looking, but apart from the turbo, the petrol consumption is apparently also not the most economical.
Good luck.


Legend

Legendasked

Q3 8U

is it normal to have a heavy and resistant steering after the second week you pick up your car? Thanks. IT is Audi Q3 quattro TDI and consume more petrol?

3 answers
Damo
Damo

Hi. Steering should be light and easy. Get it fixed. Good luck

Legend
Legend

Hi Damo, thank you. I brought back to car dealership and they told me everything is normal. So I brought to another mechanic and they scan for me and telling me the scan is normal. But the mechanic told me that it can still be the hydraulic pump failure. He could not fix it for me as it is still under warranty which they want me to bring back to car dealership. I think car dealership will still tell me it is normal as computer showed normal. I am very disappointed with the performance of the car.

Doug14
Doug14

No steering should be firm but easy. Everything loosens up nicely after a few thousand k. If it's a tdi you should be using diesel. I get about 6k a litre.


Get an answer from our members and Audi representatives

Details

Audi Q3 F3

Audi Q3 F3 (2019)

No reviews
Audi Q3 8U TFSI Sport

Audi Q3 8U TFSI Sport (2015-2019)

4 reviews
Audi Q3 8U TDI Sport

Audi Q3 8U TDI Sport (2015-2019)

4 reviews
Audi Q3 8U TDI

Audi Q3 8U TDI (2012-2019)

4 reviews
Audi Q3 8U TFSI

Audi Q3 8U TFSI (2012-2019)

9 reviews
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.7 L/100km5.4 L/100km5.1 L/100km5.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 64 L64 L64 L64 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power132kW @ 6200rpm135kW @ 4200rpm110kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque320Nm @ 1400-3900rpm380Nm @ 1800-3250rpm250Nm @ 1500-3500rpm
Country of ManufactureSpainSpainSpainSpain
Safety Features
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Reversing Camera
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Reversing Camera
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Reversing Camera
  • Active Cruise Control
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Automatic Boot
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Automatic Boot
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJun 2019Jun 2015Jun 2015Mar 2012Mar 2012

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.