??!
21 photos
BMW X1

BMW X1

E84, F48
4.5 from 23 reviews

Reviews

4.5

23 reviews
5
(16)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (7)
  • Handling
    4.7 (7)
  • Braking
    4.7 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.9 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.9 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.9 (7)
  • Features
    4.4 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (7)
Previous
Next
Bharath R.

Bharath R.Southwest, VIC

Sensor problems under 95,000 km

published

I bought a 2015 BMWX one diesel version and facing problem with the oil indicator which is showing faulty and BMW people said that’s out of the warranty but it’s only 95,000 km so I don’t think it’s a quality product. 95,000 km where is other brand is giving unlimited kilometres for seven years and this is under five years under 95,000 km. So called top brands don’t have trust on their quality. And from the beginning to till now it’s only been to BMW for servicing and all the works.

Purchased in June 2015 at BMW Dealers for A$50,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TTaT

TTaTSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Excellent car - best value for money

published

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Gordon Bouris

Gordon BourisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

The one thing I love above all else with this car is the lack of cabin noise. It is so quiet and drives like a dream. Plenty of room and perfect for work and the family.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how BMW X1 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
EJM

EJMPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Lovely small SUV, our family loves it!

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Zamster

Zamster

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

2016 X1 18d - best in its class (and price range)

published

This car has a stunning appearance and the drive is brilliant. Taking into account the price, i.e lower than an X3 and Mercs this is is worth a test drive.
Keep in mind that because it is alot cheaper than an X5 it does not have a premium feel like an X5 however it is certainly a better drive than Mazda and Hyundai's similar size vehicles, including top of the range Mazdas which have a similar price tag.

Purchased in October 2017.

Year2016
Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car hasn't had any problem so far apart from idrive screen shutting off which was easily fixed with the software update, car is very reliable and perfect for daily use. Highly recommend the X1.

Purchased in July 2016 at BMW Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ben

BenSydney, NSW

Part of the family!

published

Had the car since 2016. Wife, kids and I loved it then and still love it today! Perfect for getting to places in style and safely. First time BMW and SUV driver. Would recommend.

Purchased in February 2016 at BMW Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Louise

LouiseCastle hill

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing car

published

Amazing car ! We got it at Hornsby BMW I cannot recommend them enough ! Their team is amazing. Just has our first service & their service teams amazing. Had no problems at all with the car. Beautiful to drive & great on fuel. Plenty of room in the boot & backseat

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive0
THEZ

THEZ

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Entry Level BMW

published

A BMW was never on my radar until I looked at a friends X1 and was surprised at how little it cost. Although I have the base model, it has plenty of features. I love the Sports Mode and automatic parking. The only negative is the number of subscription offers available these days to compliment the electronic equipment such as concierge, maps, apple play. Overall, a great car.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how BMW X1 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liz

LizSouth Australia, 5413

  • 21 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my Beemer

published

Just love it.
Beautiful to drive, great to passenger. Easy to clean.
Great vision, love the sunroof, upgraded and got the M Sports pack so love the leather seats and interior.
Fits four adults very comfortably and even the grandchilds baby seat.
Have the run flat tyres - which I'm not sure about.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Xav

Xav

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Affordable BMW SUV

published

The new BMW X1 which has been refreshed is a great value SUV. Much more spacious than it's older model the latest X1 boosts more power, and is about the same size as older BMW X3's. I would recommend buying the top end model and negotiating a better price as it has a lot of included options rather than the lower models.

BadgesDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
YSU

YSUTaylors Lakes

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car

published

I love the overall performance of the car. Minimum noise, great handling. Interior is very modern and the LED screen is big enough. Very huge legroom even in the back rows. I added on the head up display which is a great feature, shows the speed and GPS on the windscreen which makes everything so much safer and easier to read while you are driving! Running costs very low as the car runs on diesel and $60 will give me 1000km on freeway. Never regretted, love this car!

BadgesDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Sam

SamPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very roomy

published

Legroom is big, engine is zippy and fuel consumption is good, car handling is good and dynamic with its 4wd, perfect for family and with kids. Boot space is plenty, a huge improvement from its previous generation. Car design is huge step up and feels bigger than it actually looks

BadgexDrive25i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Diana

DianaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice drive

published
BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
glen

glenSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Truly Relaxing And Quiet

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how BMW X1 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bhaman K

Bhaman Kmelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value car

published

For the price range of 30-40 K, this is the best car you can ever buy. Fuel efficiency is the highlight, you can easily get 800 KM out of a 65$ tank. Also, the driving experience is great, the car is solid and sticks to the ground on the roads.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Most uncomfortable seats, hard ride, poor insulation, no blind spot monitor

published
BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bren

BrenPerth

  • 4 reviews

Good car

published

Diesel fuel gets us 800km+ on a full tank. The seats are not as comfortable and you can't adjust the lumbar position. The steering is quite heavy, comparable to the 320d. Not very expensive in particular the X1 compared to other model. as model price for a diesel as standard is excellent and a cheaper than the out going model, where diesel engine was an option

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012
SpaceG

SpaceGMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Beautiful car, let down by lack of Apple car play

published

The new 2016 X1 is a much improved version of the last. It is a perfect small SUV city car. So far, it's been a very reliable ride. We got complementary 5-year free service which was an added bonus. The innovation and comfort package are an extra $2000 each but I felt were well worth it (make sure you negotiate with the BMW dealers and never pay RRP!)

Cons:
The navigation system is a touch laggy. We also found out the car was not compatible with Apple car play and there was no way around it.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016
Harry FoodTech

Harry FoodTechAuckland

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for around town, safe, but a bit gutless

published

We bought this car for my Mum, as we were worried about the second hand Japanese car she had and its ability to protect her (and the Grandkids) in an accident. First of all this car has a lot of class; all her friends were impressed. Alas she only drove it for 6 months before she failed her eye sight test, but then didn't have any problems with getting friends and relatives to drive her around. Great for an 80+ year old to get in and out of, plenty of safety features, nice finish. The 2.0L motor struggles a bit around town.

The only negative is that I would have bought the diesel option instead.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Melissa L.

Melissa L.asked

X1

Looking to buy a X1 SDrive 18d, 2010 model. It’s coming up for its 120k service. Can anyone tell me what that involves and how much it’s might be? I’m in Sydney.

No answers
ex-BMW-owner

ex-BMW-ownerasked

X1

Did anyone experience problem with right engine mount (defect code 2211010100 ) at an early age of the car (below 25k)? Also, clunking noise in front suspension cause by rubber bushings (defect code 3112013900)? These 2 issues are known defect related to manufacturer but it is not honoured by BMW Australia. Google search these Technical Service Bulletins and insist on warranty cover. Google these 3 TSB’s SI B22 02 17, SI B31 05 16, SI B22 02 17 and give a copy to BMW Australia.

2 answers
TTaT
TTaT

You got a bad car. Bushings can worn out on any car, with engine mount cracked and bushing worn at 25k? That car has been driven very roughly and recklessly and obviously off road.

ex-BMW-owner
ex-BMW-owner

Car is driven only in the city and coastal drive on weekends.

Nicola

Nicolaasked

X1 F48 sDrive18d (2015-2020)

Does this car fit three car seats in the back?

1 answer
TTaT
TTaT

I doubt it. It will definitely fit 2, but the middle section would be a bit small for a 3rd. All the back seats can fold down.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.