??!
21 photos
BMW X1

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Love it

The one thing I love above all else with this car is the lack of cabin noise. It is so quiet and drives like a dream. Plenty of room and perfect for work and the family.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Lovely small SUV, our family loves it!

We recently purchased a near new BMW X1 25i m sport. We have downgraded from a Ford Territory, which had become too big for us, now we don't have to carry prams (not to mention a petrol guzzler!). Fits a family of four easily. Can get two (large) car seats in the back when needed but is rare we have to use them these days.

Pros
Excellent on fuel
A lot of power and really grips the road. Steering feels tight and well controlled.
Lovely interior, full leather seats etc.
Huge electric panoramic sunroof.
Heads up display feature is awesome, predicts speed limits, displays directions etc.
Lots of safety features.
Boot space is good with even more under boot storage.
Lots of cool features!
Plenty of legroom in the back.
Sat Nav is a standard and good and entertainment system top notch.
Comfortable ride.

Cons
No blind spot sensor.
Front seats probably a little bit small. Not a problem for me. Hubby thinks they're a bit uncomfy but I don't.
Run flat tyres - not sure about this one, apparently can make the car a little noisy. I haven't noticed but have read suggestions to change to standard tyres in the future for an even better ride.

I would absolutely recommend the BMW X1 if you're looking in the smallish SUV range. Cars we compared it too were

The Audi Q5 - Lovely but boring.
New Volkswagen Tiguan - Nice car but purchasing VW I wasn't sure.

We also tested lower end cars, Ford Escape, Kia Sportage but unfortunately once you've driven a luxury European car there's no going back!

BMW X1 is definitely value for money, very fun to drive and perfect for a family of four for city driving.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

2016 X1 18d - best in its class (and price range)

This car has a stunning appearance and the drive is brilliant. Taking into account the price, i.e lower than an X3 and Mercs this is is worth a test drive.
Keep in mind that because it is alot cheaper than an X5 it does not have a premium feel like an X5 however it is certainly a better drive than Mazda and Hyundai's similar size vehicles, including top of the range Mazdas which have a similar price tag.

Purchased in October 2017.

Year2016

Great car

Car hasn't had any problem so far apart from idrive screen shutting off which was easily fixed with the software update, car is very reliable and perfect for daily use. Highly recommend the X1.

Purchased in July 2016 at BMW Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Part of the family!

Had the car since 2016. Wife, kids and I loved it then and still love it today! Perfect for getting to places in style and safely. First time BMW and SUV driver. Would recommend.

Purchased in February 2016 at BMW Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Amazing car

Amazing car ! We got it at Hornsby BMW I cannot recommend them enough ! Their team is amazing. Just has our first service & their service teams amazing. Had no problems at all with the car. Beautiful to drive & great on fuel. Plenty of room in the boot & backseat

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive0

Fantastic Entry Level BMW

A BMW was never on my radar until I looked at a friends X1 and was surprised at how little it cost. Although I have the base model, it has plenty of features. I love the Sports Mode and automatic parking. The only negative is the number of subscription offers available these days to compliment the electronic equipment such as concierge, maps, apple play. Overall, a great car.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Love my Beemer

Just love it.
Beautiful to drive, great to passenger. Easy to clean.
Great vision, love the sunroof, upgraded and got the M Sports pack so love the leather seats and interior.
Fits four adults very comfortably and even the grandchilds baby seat.
Have the run flat tyres - which I'm not sure about.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Affordable BMW SUV

The new BMW X1 which has been refreshed is a great value SUV. Much more spacious than it's older model the latest X1 boosts more power, and is about the same size as older BMW X3's. I would recommend buying the top end model and negotiating a better price as it has a lot of included options rather than the lower models.

BadgesDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Best car

I love the overall performance of the car. Minimum noise, great handling. Interior is very modern and the LED screen is big enough. Very huge legroom even in the back rows. I added on the head up display which is a great feature, shows the speed and GPS on the windscreen which makes everything so much safer and easier to read while you are driving! Running costs very low as the car runs on diesel and $60 will give me 1000km on freeway. Never regretted, love this car!

BadgesDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Very roomy

Legroom is big, engine is zippy and fuel consumption is good, car handling is good and dynamic with its 4wd, perfect for family and with kids. Boot space is plenty, a huge improvement from its previous generation. Car design is huge step up and feels bigger than it actually looks

BadgexDrive25i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Nice drive

I was looking for a SUV and was open to any make. I came across a used BMW X1 took it for a test drive and loved the look, feel and interior.
I first noticed the steering was really stiff which the sales person advised was standard for BMW and that I would get use to it. I have and it doesn't bother me. I feel safe as I feel in control of the steering wheel.
It's a bit more like a station wagon than a SUV but the size of the rear with fold down seats has been great since I recently moved house and fitted a lot of large items into the back.
The car gives off warning beeps when things need attention such as low tyre pressure, oil or service. The service book is informative and I have managed to work things out also with the help of a great technician from Ultra Tune who happened to own a BMW and went straight to the source of a query and showed me what to do.
The indicator and wipers are on the reverse side but you get use to this too.
Petrol must be high quality so its a bit more to run due to higher costs per litre.
I like how it drives and at $16k for a 6 year old car, I am happy with the purchase.

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Great value car

For the price range of 30-40 K, this is the best car you can ever buy. Fuel efficiency is the highlight, you can easily get 800 KM out of a 65$ tank. Also, the driving experience is great, the car is solid and sticks to the ground on the roads.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Most uncomfortable seats, hard ride, poor insulation, no blind spot monitor

Anybody doing a test drive in the F48 series BMW should drive the car for at least one hour. Seats are the worst not just by design (basic seat design look like stolen from a toilet) but becoming very uncomfortable over medium to long distances. No premium here. Sport seats are for very skinny people only. Flat run tyres ensure a harsh ride especially on 19 inch if no additive dampers are ordered. Insulation from tyres and engine are also poor. Even innovation package does not include blind spot option, cannot be ordered at all. Even Holden or Koreans offer this safety feature as an option. Start - Stop function is best in class. Engine is economical and delivers good torque. Automatic is excellent. idrive very easy to use. Car design is nice. In summary, in a lot of aspects not a premium car but rather disappointing. I am not a VW fan, disappointed about how they treat customers but from a car perspective, Tiguan Highline with innovation package is a better and cheaper option even with DSG. Audi A3 or MB GLA cannot keep up with Tiguan either.

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Good car

Diesel fuel gets us 800km+ on a full tank. The seats are not as comfortable and you can't adjust the lumbar position. The steering is quite heavy, comparable to the 320d. Not very expensive in particular the X1 compared to other model. as model price for a diesel as standard is excellent and a cheaper than the out going model, where diesel engine was an option

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

Beautiful car, let down by lack of Apple car play

The new 2016 X1 is a much improved version of the last. It is a perfect small SUV city car. So far, it's been a very reliable ride. We got complementary 5-year free service which was an added bonus. The innovation and comfort package are an extra $2000 each but I felt were well worth it (make sure you negotiate with the BMW dealers and never pay RRP!)

Cons:
The navigation system is a touch laggy. We also found out the car was not compatible with Apple car play and there was no way around it.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Great for around town, safe, but a bit gutless

We bought this car for my Mum, as we were worried about the second hand Japanese car she had and its ability to protect her (and the Grandkids) in an accident. First of all this car has a lot of class; all her friends were impressed. Alas she only drove it for 6 months before she failed her eye sight test, but then didn't have any problems with getting friends and relatives to drive her around. Great for an 80+ year old to get in and out of, plenty of safety features, nice finish. The 2.0L motor struggles a bit around town.

The only negative is that I would have bought the diesel option instead.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014

Excellent

Sunglass saving us from sun, scorching sun. good durable tyre. Tyre has got special device to inflate automatically which is safe while driving highway with high speed. Smooth driving, very balanced. Not very expensive in particular the X1 compared to other model. It costs only $50K where as other models cost $100K.

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013

The 2016 BMW x1 is an improvement over the previous 2010-2015 BMW x1 (e84)

Review of the 2016 BMW x1 18D

THE GOOD
Diesel fuel = 800km on a tank around the city
Better rear leg room
Bigger trunk (boot)
Start/stop cut in and more smoothly
Base model now with diesel motor (Australia)
Fuel economy better than my old 2012 BMW x1
Innovations package is excellent and worth the money
Bonnet lenght has reduced due the engine layout
New diesel engine is improved over my old 2012 x1 sdrive 20d
Base model price for a diesel as standard is excellent and a cheaper than the out going model, where diesel engine was an option

THE BAD
Runflat tyres, mean you feel deep potholds
Drivers seat needs improvement, not as comfortable as the previous model
Has gone from rear wheel drive to front wheel drive, although it still has nearly the same driving response.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Pleasant surprise

Driving a 2 litre Diesel, AWD, X1. I live in Pretoria, South Africa – typical 1st world city with good highways, surrounded by 3rd world rural areas. Has been driving a E46 BMW 323i for many years (300,000km) but the vehicle was too low for secondary gravel and dirt roads, building sites (where I frequently go as engineer), and setting of too game reserves etc. Thus my decision to upgrade the vehicle with something nimble (small), AWD, good on high speed and highway, light on fuel and safe, but capable of dealing with rough secondary roads and 3rd world routes. Thought of going for X3, but had an opportunity to buy 1 year old used X1 – took the chance and I am pleasantly surprised.
I tried various smaller SUV’s prior to purchasing the X1, including Subaru - but the fuel consumption was horrendous compared to modern diesels, Toyota – higher SUV’s centre of gravity too high for good car-like road holding and accident evasion (buck-test).
Driving the X1 most certainly has a go-cart like sport feeling about it. Its steering is very communicative, and its suspension is hard (almost too hard), but sufficiently so to counter the higher ground clearance in cornering. Its engine is well mated with the Auto-6 speed box, and brakes are sharp and consistent. Deals surprising well with rutted dirt roads notwithstanding its hard suspension, and its AWD X-drive adaptable system can be felt working hard during these forays in to bushveld roads with deep sand and rutting. The vehicle has 194 mm ground clearance, but a tall overhang (shallow approach), so it deals with rough roads, but would not be worth much going off-road. Fuel consumption in mixed city use is 12.5 km/l (driving medium to hard), and on rural roads it manages 16.3 km/l averaging 120 km/hour – I am happy with it getting just short off 1000 km range on a full 61 litre tank of diesel.
Comfort and space are plenty for a small SUV type vehicle, and my 1.83 meter length finds no problem being seated, as do a friend of 2 meters tall.
In retrospect, now having lived with the X1 for a few months, I have grown appreciation and respect for its abilities – I would do it all again, if I had to make the choice in hindsight.
Excellent road holding and ability on tar, good ability on rural dirt roads, sufficient ground clearance for rutted and sand roads. Nimble in city driving, but spacious in class. Light on diesel. Very sporty driver’s experience.
Hard suspension, short wheelbase can become bumpy on rough roads. Diesel engine more noisy than in sedan vehicle applications. Run-flat tyres, no spare wheel.

TransmissionAutomatic

Questions & Answers

Had anyone bought the x1 recently in sydney ? I'm wondering if you can share what the price you got?
No answers

Details

X1 F48 sDrive18dX1 F48 sDrive20iX1 F48 sDrive18iX1 F48 xDrive25iX1 E84X1 F48 xDrive20d
Starting Price $49,900$50,900$45,900$60,900$56,500
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic and Dual-Clutch (DCT)Automatic and Dual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars
Doors55555
Seats55555
Fuel Consumption4.7 L/100km6.1 L/100km5.4 L/100km6.6 L/100km5.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L51 L61 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L3 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm141kW @ 6000rpm103kW @ 6500rpm170kW @ 6000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque330Nm @ 1750rpm280Nm @ 1350-4600rpm220Nm @ 1480-4200rpm350Nm @ 1250-4500rpm400Nm @ 1750rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features ABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera and Traction ControlABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera and Traction Control
Extra Features Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Boot, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Parking Assist, Automatic Start/Stop Engine, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Power Steering, Telescoping Steering Wheel and USB PortAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Boot, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Parking Assist, Automatic Start/Stop Engine, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Power Steering, Telescoping Steering Wheel and USB PortAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Boot, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Parking Assist, Automatic Start/Stop Engine, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Power Steering, Telescoping Steering Wheel and USB PortAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Boot, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Parking Assist, Automatic Start/Stop Engine, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Power Steering, Telescoping Steering Wheel and USB PortAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Boot, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Parking Assist, Automatic Start/Stop Engine, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Power Steering, Telescoping Steering Wheel and USB Port
Ground Clearance250 mm250 mm250 mm250 mm250 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Dec 2017Oct 2015Apr 2010Oct 2015
Discontinuation dateSep 2010Dec 2016

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.