21 photos
BMW X1

BMW X1

E84, F48
4.5 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for BMW? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.5
23 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (6)
  • Braking
    4.7 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.9 (7)
  • Handling
    4.7 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.9 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.9 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.9 (7)
  • Features
    4.4 (7)
Previous
Next
Bharath R.
Bharath R.Southwest, VIC

Sensor problems under 95,000 km

published

I bought a 2015 BMWX one diesel version and facing problem with the oil indicator which is showing faulty and BMW people said that’s out of the warranty but it’s only 95,000 km so I don’t think it’s a quality product. 95,000 km where is other brand is giving unlimited kilometres for seven years and this is under five years under 95,000 km. So called top brands don’t have trust on their quality. And from the beginning to till now it’s only been to BMW for servicing and all the works.

Purchased in June 2015 at BMW Dealers for $50,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TTaT
TTaTSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Excellent car - best value for money

published

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gordon Bouris
Gordon BourisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

The one thing I love above all else with this car is the lack of cabin noise. It is so quiet and drives like a dream. Plenty of room and perfect for work and the family.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how BMW X1 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
EJM
EJMPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Lovely small SUV, our family loves it!

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Zamster
Zamster
  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

2016 X1 18d - best in its class (and price range)

published

This car has a stunning appearance and the drive is brilliant. Taking into account the price, i.e lower than an X3 and Mercs this is is worth a test drive.
Keep in mind that because it is alot cheaper than an X5 it does not have a premium feel like an X5 however it is certainly a better drive than Mazda and Hyundai's similar size vehicles, including top of the range Mazdas which have a similar price tag.

Purchased in October 2017.

Incentivised Review No
Year2016

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Dan
DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car hasn't had any problem so far apart from idrive screen shutting off which was easily fixed with the software update, car is very reliable and perfect for daily use. Highly recommend the X1.

Purchased in July 2016 at BMW Dealers.

Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
Ben
BenSydney, NSW

Part of the family!

published

Had the car since 2016. Wife, kids and I loved it then and still love it today! Perfect for getting to places in style and safely. First time BMW and SUV driver. Would recommend.

Purchased in February 2016 at BMW Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Louise
LouiseCastle hill
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing car

published

Amazing car ! We got it at Hornsby BMW I cannot recommend them enough ! Their team is amazing. Just has our first service & their service teams amazing. Had no problems at all with the car. Beautiful to drive & great on fuel. Plenty of room in the boot & backseat

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive0
THEZ
THEZ
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Entry Level BMW

published

A BMW was never on my radar until I looked at a friends X1 and was surprised at how little it cost. Although I have the base model, it has plenty of features. I love the Sports Mode and automatic parking. The only negative is the number of subscription offers available these days to compliment the electronic equipment such as concierge, maps, apple play. Overall, a great car.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how BMW X1 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liz
LizSouth Australia, 5413
  • 21 reviews
  • 7 likes

Love my Beemer

published

Just love it.
Beautiful to drive, great to passenger. Easy to clean.
Great vision, love the sunroof, upgraded and got the M Sports pack so love the leather seats and interior.
Fits four adults very comfortably and even the grandchilds baby seat.
Have the run flat tyres - which I'm not sure about.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Xav
Xav
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Affordable BMW SUV

published

The new BMW X1 which has been refreshed is a great value SUV. Much more spacious than it's older model the latest X1 boosts more power, and is about the same size as older BMW X3's. I would recommend buying the top end model and negotiating a better price as it has a lot of included options rather than the lower models.

BadgesDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
YSU
YSUTaylors Lakes
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car

published

I love the overall performance of the car. Minimum noise, great handling. Interior is very modern and the LED screen is big enough. Very huge legroom even in the back rows. I added on the head up display which is a great feature, shows the speed and GPS on the windscreen which makes everything so much safer and easier to read while you are driving! Running costs very low as the car runs on diesel and $60 will give me 1000km on freeway. Never regretted, love this car!

BadgesDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Sam
SamPerth
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very roomy

published

Legroom is big, engine is zippy and fuel consumption is good, car handling is good and dynamic with its 4wd, perfect for family and with kids. Boot space is plenty, a huge improvement from its previous generation. Car design is huge step up and feels bigger than it actually looks

BadgexDrive25i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Diana
DianaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice drive

published
BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
glen
glenSydney, NSW
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Truly Relaxing And Quiet

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Small / Compact SUVs

Find out how BMW X1 compares to other Small / Compact SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Melissa L.
Melissa L.asked
X1

Looking to buy a X1 SDrive 18d, 2010 model. It’s coming up for its 120k service. Can anyone tell me what that involves and how much it’s might be? I’m in Sydney.

No answers
ex-BMW-owner
ex-BMW-ownerasked
X1

Did anyone experience problem with right engine mount (defect code 2211010100 ) at an early age of the car (below 25k)? Also, clunking noise in front suspension cause by rubber bushings (defect code 3112013900)? These 2 issues are known defect related to manufacturer but it is not honoured by BMW Australia. Google search these Technical Service Bulletins and insist on warranty cover. Google these 3 TSB’s SI B22 02 17, SI B31 05 16, SI B22 02 17 and give a copy to BMW Australia.

4 answers
TTaT
TTaT

You got a bad car. Bushings can worn out on any car, with engine mount cracked and bushing worn at 25k? That car has been driven very roughly and recklessly and obviously off road.

ex-BMW-owner
ex-BMW-owner

Car is driven only in the city and coastal drive on weekends.

BenE
BenE

I still love my X1 25i, although at 5 yrs and less than 45k kms - I experienced the engine mount issue and had to make urgent repairs in Sydney Just this week. Similar to you I do city driving too. My awesome mechanic agrees that this should be a known issue and typically affects the X1 and Minis given they share the same platform. The specific Component car part is question has been changed and modified since inception which suggest bmw had tried to resolve and make this part better. I put it down to being unlucky and just keep driving cos it’s still great!

Nicola
Nicolaasked
X1 F48 sDrive18d (2015-2021)

Does this car fit three car seats in the back?

1 answer
TTaT
TTaT

I doubt it. It will definitely fit 2, but the middle section would be a bit small for a 3rd. All the back seats can fold down.

See all BMW X1 questions

Get an answer from our members

BMW X1

Details

Compare all 6 BMW X1
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $49,900$50,900$45,900$60,900
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic and Dual-Clutch (DCT)Automatic and Dual-Clutch (DCT)Automatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption4.7 L/100km6.1 L/100km5.4 L/100km6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L51 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L3 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm141kW @ 6000rpm103kW @ 6500rpm170kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque330Nm @ 1750rpm280Nm @ 1350-4600rpm220Nm @ 1480-4200rpm350Nm @ 1250-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance250 mm250 mm250 mm250 mm
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Dec 2017Oct 2015
Compare all 6 BMW X1
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.