??!
21 photos
BMW X1

See the Best Small / Compact SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
15
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0

Gordon Bouris

Gordon BourisGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love it

published

The one thing I love above all else with this car is the lack of cabin noise. It is so quiet and drives like a dream. Plenty of room and perfect for work and the family.

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

EJM

EJMPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Lovely small SUV, our family loves it!

published

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Zamster

Zamster

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

2016 X1 18d - best in its class (and price range)

published

This car has a stunning appearance and the drive is brilliant. Taking into account the price, i.e lower than an X3 and Mercs this is is worth a test drive.
Keep in mind that because it is alot cheaper than an X5 it does not have a premium feel like an X5 however it is certainly a better drive than Mazda and Hyundai's similar size vehicles, including top of the range Mazdas which have a similar price tag.

Purchased in October 2017.

Year2016
Dan

DanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car hasn't had any problem so far apart from idrive screen shutting off which was easily fixed with the software update, car is very reliable and perfect for daily use. Highly recommend the X1.

Purchased in July 2016 at BMW Dealers.

TransmissionAutomatic
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ben

BenSydney, NSW

Part of the family!

published

Had the car since 2016. Wife, kids and I loved it then and still love it today! Perfect for getting to places in style and safely. First time BMW and SUV driver. Would recommend.

Purchased in February 2016 at BMW Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Louise

LouiseCastle hill

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing car

published

Amazing car ! We got it at Hornsby BMW I cannot recommend them enough ! Their team is amazing. Just has our first service & their service teams amazing. Had no problems at all with the car. Beautiful to drive & great on fuel. Plenty of room in the boot & backseat

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Drive0

THEZ

THEZ

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic Entry Level BMW

published

A BMW was never on my radar until I looked at a friends X1 and was surprised at how little it cost. Although I have the base model, it has plenty of features. I love the Sports Mode and automatic parking. The only negative is the number of subscription offers available these days to compliment the electronic equipment such as concierge, maps, apple play. Overall, a great car.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Liz

LizSouth Australia, 5413

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes

Love my Beemer

published

Just love it.
Beautiful to drive, great to passenger. Easy to clean.
Great vision, love the sunroof, upgraded and got the M Sports pack so love the leather seats and interior.
Fits four adults very comfortably and even the grandchilds baby seat.
Have the run flat tyres - which I'm not sure about.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Xav

Xav

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Affordable BMW SUV

published

The new BMW X1 which has been refreshed is a great value SUV. Much more spacious than it's older model the latest X1 boosts more power, and is about the same size as older BMW X3's. I would recommend buying the top end model and negotiating a better price as it has a lot of included options rather than the lower models.

BadgesDrive20i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
YSU

YSUTaylors Lakes

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best car

published

I love the overall performance of the car. Minimum noise, great handling. Interior is very modern and the LED screen is big enough. Very huge legroom even in the back rows. I added on the head up display which is a great feature, shows the speed and GPS on the windscreen which makes everything so much safer and easier to read while you are driving! Running costs very low as the car runs on diesel and $60 will give me 1000km on freeway. Never regretted, love this car!

BadgesDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Sam

SamPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very roomy

published

Legroom is big, engine is zippy and fuel consumption is good, car handling is good and dynamic with its 4wd, perfect for family and with kids. Boot space is plenty, a huge improvement from its previous generation. Car design is huge step up and feels bigger than it actually looks

BadgexDrive25i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Diana

DianaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice drive

published
BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

glen

glenSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Truly Relaxing And Quiet

published

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bhaman K

Bhaman Kmelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great value car

published

For the price range of 30-40 K, this is the best car you can ever buy. Fuel efficiency is the highlight, you can easily get 800 KM out of a 65$ tank. Also, the driving experience is great, the car is solid and sticks to the ground on the roads.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Most uncomfortable seats, hard ride, poor insulation, no blind spot monitor

published
BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bren

BrenPerth

  • 4 reviews

Good car

published

Diesel fuel gets us 800km+ on a full tank. The seats are not as comfortable and you can't adjust the lumbar position. The steering is quite heavy, comparable to the 320d. Not very expensive in particular the X1 compared to other model. as model price for a diesel as standard is excellent and a cheaper than the out going model, where diesel engine was an option

BadgexDrive20d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

SpaceG

SpaceGMelbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Beautiful car, let down by lack of Apple car play

published

The new 2016 X1 is a much improved version of the last. It is a perfect small SUV city car. So far, it's been a very reliable ride. We got complementary 5-year free service which was an added bonus. The innovation and comfort package are an extra $2000 each but I felt were well worth it (make sure you negotiate with the BMW dealers and never pay RRP!)

Cons:
The navigation system is a touch laggy. We also found out the car was not compatible with Apple car play and there was no way around it.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Harry FoodTech

Harry FoodTechAuckland

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for around town, safe, but a bit gutless

published

We bought this car for my Mum, as we were worried about the second hand Japanese car she had and its ability to protect her (and the Grandkids) in an accident. First of all this car has a lot of class; all her friends were impressed. Alas she only drove it for 6 months before she failed her eye sight test, but then didn't have any problems with getting friends and relatives to drive her around. Great for an 80+ year old to get in and out of, plenty of safety features, nice finish. The 2.0L motor struggles a bit around town.

The only negative is that I would have bought the diesel option instead.

BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014

buetian

buetiansydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Excellent

published

Sunglass saving us from sun, scorching sun. good durable tyre. Tyre has got special device to inflate automatically which is safe while driving highway with high speed. Smooth driving, very balanced. Not very expensive in particular the X1 compared to other model. It costs only $50K where as other models cost $100K.

BadgesDrive18i
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013

Davidm

DavidmBrisbane, Queensland

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

The 2016 BMW x1 is an improvement over the previous 2010-2015 BMW x1 (e84)

published
BadgesDrive18d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Paul F.

Paul F.asked

X1 F48

I have the F48 X1 / the purchase detail suggest 2015 but did not receive until Apr 2016 - I would like to change the kidney grills but unsure whether the grill was changed in 2016 model - any thoughts on whether the 2016 advertised grill will fit a 2015 model

No answers

dna4

dna4asked

X1 F48

Had anyone bought the x1 recently in sydney ? I'm wondering if you can share what the price you got?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

BMW X1 F48 sDrive18d

BMW X1 F48 sDrive18d (2015-2019)

5 reviews
BMW X1 F48 sDrive20i

BMW X1 F48 sDrive20i (2015-2019)

2 reviews
BMW X1 F48 sDrive18i

BMW X1 F48 sDrive18i (2017-2019)

2 reviews
BMW X1 F48 xDrive25i

BMW X1 F48 xDrive25i (2015-2019)

3 reviews
BMW X1 E84
  • Discontinued

BMW X1 E84 (2010)

6 reviews
BMW X1 F48 xDrive20d
  • Discontinued

BMW X1 F48 xDrive20d (2015-2016)

2 reviews
CategorySmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVsSmall / Compact SUVs
Starting Price $49,900$50,900$45,900$60,900$56,500
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic and Dual-Clutch (DCT)Automatic and Dual-Clutch (DCT)AutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy19" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555
Seats55555
Fuel Consumption4.7 L/100km6.1 L/100km5.4 L/100km6.6 L/100km5.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L51 L61 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L3 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power110kW @ 4000rpm141kW @ 6000rpm103kW @ 6500rpm170kW @ 6000rpm140kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque330Nm @ 1750rpm280Nm @ 1350-4600rpm220Nm @ 1480-4200rpm350Nm @ 1250-4500rpm400Nm @ 1750rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
Ground Clearance250 mm250 mm250 mm250 mm250 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Dec 2017Oct 2015Apr 2010Oct 2015
Discontinuation dateSep 2010Dec 2016

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.