??!
5 photos
Audio Technica ATH-ANC9

Audio Technica ATH-ANC9

MPN: ATHANC9
4.1 from 19 reviews

See the Best Wired Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
0

Raymond Terrace

Raymond TerraceSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Do the research, but the ATH-ANC9 are excellent.

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Amazon Mktplc AU for $187.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Erika Yunitasari

Erika YunitasariSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Sound quality is ok, not comfortable at all

published

Sound quality is only ok for the price. One thing for sure is that this is not comfortable at all. Wear it only for a couple of minutes and I sweat all over. Noise cancellation feature is average, it cancels out a lot of noise from outside, but only mid and high. It doesn't cancel bass a lot.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Hein

HeinMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Can't hear a thing

published

The Audio Technic ANC9's have saved my life on multiple occasional when flying overseas. If you're a frequent flyer then these beauties won't disappoint you. The ANC9's have three profiles for noise cancelling, including work, home, and of course airplane. The bass on these headphones, though lacking, are very crisp.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Sam.M

Sam.MPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Comfy and a good alternative to the Bose QC35

published

I got this for around half the price of the bose QC35's and maybe their Noise cancellation isn't on par with the Bose's but the sound quality sure is. Usually some headphones are quite tight and difficult to wear for long periods of time but the ANC9's are quite comfortable for extended periods of usage. They are not flimsy like most headphones and come with a hard shell carrying case. The only knock against it is the lack of a built-in battery that can be charged with a cable.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Damo

DamoBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

Buy an extended warranty

published

I bought 2 x pairs of the ANC9 headphones for myself and my wife. They are both just over 12 months old. There was definately a difference between the 2 pairs regarding noise cancelling performace. 1 pair was good but not great and the other was average at best. After 12 months of minimal use 1 pair crackles when working hard i.e. during plane take off. The other pair works okay still but the seams have started to split on the earcups which i expect will cause noise leak. Neither products are covered under warranty after 14 months. I wouldn't recommend this product.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Jerry

Jerry

  • 4 reviews

Very great sound.

published

With the noise cancelling on, the highs and mids are crystal clear and lows has a dynamic sound to it. The noise cancelling doesn't pretty much do a justice on cancelling out most of the environmental noise but still reasonable to know that the noise cancelling capability of this headphone is working and much a cheaper great pair of headphones.

Date PurchasedJul 2014

Kevin

KevinPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Amazing sound quality

published

Amazing sound quality & good noise cancellation that you'd come to expect from Audio Technica. Headphones are comfy, has 3 noise cancellation modes and comes with a hard carry case. They are a little larger in size in comparison to the Bose QC35. My only wish is that they would have made these more foldable into a smaller carry case like the Bose as I use these mainly when i travel. The AT's case is also quite big and takes up abit of room in my carry on luggage but they sure make a huge difference with noise cancellation on an air plane, i can get a decent movie in without any disruption or a quiet sleep.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

RLLL

RLLLSydney

  • 6 reviews

Great noise cancelling earphones

published

For its price, this is an excellent earphone and rests very comfortably over your ears (no uncomfortable tightness around your ears). The sound quality is excellent and the noise cancellation lasts up to an entire day. The headset itself looks sleek and does not feel bulky/heavy on your head.

Big thumbs up!

Date PurchasedSep 2016
darshanaj

darshanajAU

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Headphones

published

I have been ANC 9 for almost 3 years and can't complain. With rechargeable batteries, ANC9 can be used for around 15 -20 hours, and I have never tried it with non-rechargeable batteries. I have used it in flights many times and noise cancelling is not Bose level, such as QC25 or QC35. But for 200 AUDs, can't complain.

Date PurchasedAug 2014
C K

C Kbrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Good sound and isolation for the price

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016

James H.

James H.Surfers Paradise

  • 6 reviews

good alternative to Bose for the price.

published

The Audio Technical ATH-ANC9 is almost as good as the Bose in terms of comfort and noise cancellation. It's not very compact, although not that much bigger than Bose in my opinion. It comes with a nice case with cables for normal and with a mic. It also has plugs for aeroplanes with is useful. After having it not that long, the ear muffs seem to start to be degrading, which is why it doesn't have 5 stars for me. It has 3 noise cancellation settings, but honestly, it doesn't make a difference. I've been travelling with it and can't travel without it anymore - it is really useful.

Bottom line: if you don't want to spend a lot for a Bose and still want similar quality in noise cancellation & comfort, this is the model to buy.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Matt

MattBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Budget headphones for office environment

published

Bought these headphones for use in noisy office environment. The noise cancelling is good, but not required for most activities. The over the ear design muffles most noise well. The are comfortable to wear and the sound quality is good. These aren't Bose headphones or Beats, but they also dont cost as much as these too.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Snugs

SnugsMid North Coast, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 17 likes

Awesome headphones

published

I use these to block out the noise of my workmates and it does an amazing job. Nothing will drive you more crazy than a continuious teleconference that you're not in but have to listen to. I use both the passive and active feature but find the active feature gives me a headache after a while. Has great bass and sound. Only problem is the ear cups have come apart at the seem and the foam is exposed, I'm sure I could get new ones but that's been too much effort to date

Date PurchasedAug 2013

Jade

Jade

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

quality sound from audio technica

published

Good quality sound from these noise cancelling audio technica headphones. They have good clarity and excellent bass. External noise is cancelled out very well. They were much cheaper than the Bose and sennheiser. I find them very comfortable to wear. They came with a handy and well designed case. 4 and a half stars.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
The Pied Piper

The Pied PiperPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Awesome Value for money ANC headphones

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
phred

phredsydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Noise reduction that works

published

These are quite good in the nice cancelling department and reasonably comfortable to wear. The audio quality is not too bad; certainly not in the "excellent" fidelity department but quite good. If you are really fussy and wish to spend hundreds more then go with the Bose. The build quality is quite good.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Falls short in the endurance

published

I bought the headphones around 10 months ago, but the foam covering on the headphones have started to come off. For a 230$ pair of headphones I would assume that it would be better built. Apart from this everything is perfect though - the sound quality is great and it's not too heavy to carry around with the case compared to other headphones.


As advertised, very quick shipping

published

Can't really ask for more than that. Great headphones. With a bit of burn in they sound perfect. Noise cancelling is excellent. Very comfortable and lightweight. Solid build quality. Nice case and accessories. Standard jack on the headphones means I can use my monster 3rd party mic cable (for beats) without issue.
Very good sound, noise cancelling does a great job blocking external sound, very comfortable.


Tek brain

Tek brainSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is one of the best sound quality i have experienced

published
Date PurchasedJun 2012

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Audio Technica representatives

Details

CategoryWired Headphones
Price (RRP) $299
TypeOver Ear
Active Noise CancellingYes
MicrophoneYes
Controls CompatibilityUniversal
Release dateJul 2012

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4961310113872
  • MPN: ATHANC9

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.