??!
5 photos
Audio Technica ATH-M50x

Audio Technica ATH-M50x

4.7 from 94 reviews

See the Best Wired Headphones in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
72
4 star
20
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0

Brad

BradSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great, solid headphones

published

Solid, fairly light, great sound, good looking. Bought this for production and DJ monitor headphones to replace the hd25's I have, because I found they were lacking in bass. The M50x are great, they go very loud, you might have to adjust a bit if coming from something else. As with any headphones, always take them for a spin in store first.

Bonus points for including various cables in the box

Purchased in May 2019 at Store DJ Physical store for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Jim C

Jim CSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Worth every cent

published

I brought this pair back in July 2015 and have used it almost every single day until now. The only issue til this day is that I needed to swap out the ear cushion as the original have degraded so much over the 4+ years.
The headphone is light and easy to bring on the train, bus or plane.
The bass is deeper, however it does not drown out the higher tones.
The durability is off the charts. (I am super careless. i.e. I have dropped it, thrown it, bumped it, etc...)
The wire is anchored it has saved my phone from certain death. (As long as the jack stays plugged in.

I would highly recommend this pair to all my friends and family looking for a headphone wihtin the 150-250 price range. (I brought these at 180 back in the days.)

Purchased in July 2015 at Wireless 1 for $185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers
ablelisax

ablelisaxGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great Product for Great Price

published

You can find these headphones at around $200 and for that price it's pretty great. The sound quality is great for what you get, though I'm not entirely satisfied with it and I'm planning to move onto higher-quality headphones. The noise-cancelling aspect of the headphones is great but not perfect (you can still hear things like a conversation going on near you) and it's going strong for a couple of years. I don't have any issue with comfort, these are very comfortable headphones. It feels of great construction and not flimsy at all, and it's been a nice companion for long overseas plane rides, vacuuming and casual listening.

Purchased in August 2016 at Jaben Audio for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers
Zuwei C

Zuwei CGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice headphones

published

Have been using these daily for gaming, youtube, twitch and music daily for 3 months now and so far so good! If you want to use these for outdoors, definitely consider buying the wireless ones.

Purchased in February 2019 at Addicted to Audio for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Tom A.

Tom A.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great general purpose headphones

published

I use these headphones to edit videos in a noisy open-plan office. I've also used them for monitoring audio on a film shoot. They offer great clarity and accurate sound. The closed-back design helps to block out environmental noise.

I've worn them for a full day of editing before and, while they are a little tiring after long periods, they are not as bad as other studio headphones I've used.

It comes with three difference cables, which is a nice touch. Pads are replaceable too.

Purchased in August 2017 at Minidisc Australia Online store for $208.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Randy

RandySydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful headphones

published

I used to play competitive FPS, so i needed a good pair of headphones to give me an advantage. It was really good for gaming, watching movies and listening to music. This is my 3rd pair of audio technicas and i am very happy with their brand

Purchased in February 2018 at Mwave Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Kayla

KaylaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great for listening and great to look at

published

I use this to listen to music for my daily commute to work and uni. They're super comfy and can be worn for a long time without it hurting. I haven't had any issues with them so far and they make for a great bit of head fashion.

Purchased in February 2019 at Store DJ for $190.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


d33nd33n

d33nd33n

  • 6 reviews

Decent.

published

The soundstage is very good and it has great bass. You can quite easily distinguish notes and sounds from each other in a song. The difference between my old earbuds (samsung defaults) was night and day. My only critique of them is that they are tight and will make your ears sweat within an hour.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Hugh s

Hugh sMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great value

published

Excellent headphones with almost perfect sounds quality. For their price they compete with earphones twice as expensive. Build quality is excellent and the addition of several different cables is extremely useful especially if the cables are damaged. Also these headphones are extremely comfortable and fit almost any head size really well.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
Bella

BellaWarialda

  • 4 reviews

Perfect headphones

published

I think i finally found the perfect headphones, just wow. The sound is so perfect, clean and balanced, i'm so surprised.
I've read a lot about them and there's several good reviews about them but just try them and I'm way impressed.
This headset is great and so far so good, I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Cel

CelCranbourne East

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best all round headphones. Highly recommend

published

I bought this for my son and compared to all of the headphones he had in the past, this one ticked all the boxes. He said that the sound quality and comfort is excellent and for the price as well as being a perfect all round headphone. It is definitely worth buying.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Chris Y

Chris YSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

THE BEST

published

Whether it be for mixing or listening, you can't go past them in the price range they are. I own headphones from $20 to $500 and quite honestly the M50x sound the best for everyday listening, brilliant build quality, honestly I'd be lost without them. NOTHING in the price range even comes close to the levels of comfort you can get with these.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Darren

DarrenPerth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

These are excellent headphones for under $200

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016

Matt

MattAustralia

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A must have

published

I have used these headphones for over 2 years. Of all the headphones I have used, these ones provide the best frequency response and a powerful volume level. They're comfortable enough to wear for long periods of time and sturdy enough to last a lifetime. They are a must have for anybody who wants to listen to high-quality music and audio.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
MasterAnt

MasterAnt

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Best of the lot

published

I spent a good hour listening to all the headphones on display at Jaben Audio. I chose this out of the lot, and also over the M40x and M70x. Yes, they do get uncomfortable after a short time and a quick break is required. Sennheiser had the most comfortable pair, but the audio quality did not compare. At the end of the day, these are fantastic for my studio mixing, and got me through a mixing project I had to complete. I am still very happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
J Ferguson

J FergusonNSW, 2207

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes

REALLY, REALLY GOOD

published

these things are built well, have amazing sound and for the price they are right now to have those three important things all very strong is no-brainer.

They look good, sit comfortably on you head and just do EVERYTHING very well.

If you are an AUDIOPHILE, you might be wanting a bit more but only comes from spending more $$$$

If you want good audio but aren't wanting to spent hundreds more,in buying these You will not be disappointed

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Mary Rose Arias

Mary Rose AriasAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Love it!

published

Bought this item as a birthday present for my husband. Didnt really know much about the headphone and was only watching review.
My husband did love it, as he said it is perfect for gaming.
Hubby is a gamer, so would really recommend this to all game users.
Price is just right, as compare to other expensive headphones that does same job :)

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Josh M.

Josh M.

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Top Quality Headphones

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Jess

JessMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Better than expected

published

We’ve had these on our buy list for a while after seeing them on a Grimes gear recommendation. Purchased them 30% off during a promotion. Amazing sound, clear and crisp. Great accessories and a super long cable. One of us has a large head and the other super petite, the headphones fit both of us comfortably. Had read the bass wasn’t super boomy but on use they are outstanding monitor headphones on a basic budget. No regrets. We’ll get a second pair next time they’re on sale for sure.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Car54

Car54Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Outstanding Earphones

published

I love these headphones and dont have any issues at all with wearing them for long periods - perhaps its individual head shape but they work perfectly for me. Sound quality is outstanding . I always play certain tracks with passages that I listen for to test out new headphones and these shone through where many fail. Very pleased with these and would recommend them to all.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Robynne1951

Robynne1951asked

What is the inbuilt microphone like? I want for singing

1 answer
Darren
Darren

There is no microphone in these headphones .... https://audio-technica.com.au/products/ath-m50x/


Get an answer from our members and Audio Technica representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.