??!
1 photo
BankWest Zero MasterCard

BankWest Zero MasterCard

2.9 from 48 reviews

Pros

  • No annual fee

  • Accessible $1,000 minimum credit limit

Cons

  • 2.95% foreign transaction fee

Reviews

2.9

48 reviews
5
(12)
4
(10)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(18)
Previous
Next
GAUTAM

GAUTAMMacGregor 2615, ACT

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes

Hopeless!!! Stay away from them

published

This is the second time when this banks has completely failed in its customer service skills. The first time was a payment made to someone who did not deliver the service that was promised. When I complained, the bank sent me a big questionnaire to fill in which had questions that were next to impossible to be answered. and this time, even during these torrid times, the bank has gone down the track of charging a late payment fee which was delayed by only 1 day. They have lost me as a customer. Will close with the next due payment. Hopeless, greedy, disgusting.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Jennifer

JenniferNew South Wales

  • 2 reviews

No Explanation for decline

published

After researching Global Credit card reviews, we decided to apply to Bankwest today for a global credit card in an case of an emergency. Have been rejected. With a property valued at $900000 with a mtg under $70k & a small personal loan, with both of us working were rejected. Spoke to 3 Customer Service reps, neither could explain how we didn't qualify for their criteria. I asked to speak to a supervisor, to discuss it, they couldn't or wouldn't talk to us. They want all our information, but, won't give us any in return. Very poor business conduct. Won't be recommending them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Dave

DaveSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Decent credit card with no ongoing fees!!!

published

I've had this credit card as part of my mortgage package. I opted for this one as I didn't want any ongoing fees for using it. I have been using it for couple of years now for both everyday purchases and online shopping and haven't had any issues so far. The customer service is very helpful and trying to resolve any issues you have. All in all I am quite satisfied with this card and would recommend it to anyone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Find out how BankWest Zero MasterCard compares to other No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brisbee

BrisbeeBrisbane

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great card with travel insurance and no annual fee

published

This was a good credit card to start out with - no fees and covers for international travel insurance. Downside is that there was no rewards attached to the card but apart from that, I had no problems with this card and would recommend for those that is after a basic credit card.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2013
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Basic but OK

published

As others have said there is no annual fee. This should be a given for all cards since I believe that they make enough from the interest paid by a lot of customers. A basic card with no real extras.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2011
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Hunter

HunterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

good card

published

this card comes with no fees which helps to save normally annual charges of around $200 to $300. Using this card for a while and have no issues so far.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers

Good Credit Card

published

It's a good credit card with low annual fees. It is very easy to transfer the balance to this credit card. It has low international fees and easy to use overseas.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Rustproofhydra

RustproofhydraPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Great card with Great benefits

published

My friend refer this card and its fantabulous. This card only has downside that it cannot give you earn points however the benefit of no fees, no international transaction fees and at par exhange currency rate offset that one downside.
Highly recommended.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateOctober 2019
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Steven N.

Steven N.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Bankwest Mastercard

published

I use this card, the fees can be much and interest rates are a bit higher then normal.
However when overseas using this card with no overseas fees and good exchange rates helps make the card more useful to use.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Find out how BankWest Zero MasterCard compares to other No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BYV

BYVGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Zero fees and very convenient

published

Have been using the Bankwest Zero Master Card for long time now. The best thing about the card is there is no annual fees and the online app is also very easy to use. I use the card for my day to day shopping, groceries, online shopping and never had any issue.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
Traveller

TravellerPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Zero fees

published

I have had this card for some years and use it for online purchases from sites I have not previously used. There are no ongoing fees which make it perfect for using as a back up. I use a rewards card for most things when buying locally but for safety and to avoid any issues with ongoing debits this card is perfect.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2010
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
See all answers
Rinoz

RinozSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Great for overseas travel and purchases

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Miriam

MiriamSydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 21 likes

Bank West credit card

published
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Prashant

PrashantSydney, NSW

terrible bank. terrible card.

published

This is the worst bank ever. i applied for a higher tiered card then this one. Was instead deceptively given this card instead and not told that it was not the higher one that I applied for. As part of their rigorous application process had to twice go into one of their bank branches and email 6 months of statements. All for wasted effort. Their customer service is terrible too. Takes 20-30m each time you cal them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Suzy

SuzyNortheast, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Good card, terrible service from this bank

published

This card has a great rate but they are quick to charge fees and also the phone bank staff are rude, unhelpful and difficult to deal with. Not a nice bank if you come into any financial difficulty

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateNovember 2001
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Find out how BankWest Zero MasterCard compares to other No Annual Fee Credit Cards

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Patro

PatroGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Excellent ... No overheads

published

I have been using since two yeas. no problem even once late fees reversed as it was a genuine mistake. i gave four star because when i loaded money on credit card over the limit and withdraw money less then what is excess amount, still they charged fees where it never happend with other credit card. Still i like to continue with a low limit for safe overseas travel.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2017
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Overseas/Travel
  • Special Purchases
See all answers
daveys777

daveys777Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Was really looking forward to this card

published

Was looking forward to this card . Unfortunately a few Days after setting up a direct debit with another bank for this card I had an unauthorised transaction on the account with Bankwest in the notation.
Thankfully my bank called me and had it reversed.
After contacting Bankwest they did not think they had a problem and it was my other banks issue , not much help .
I had no choice but to cancel my 1 week old Credit card as in my opinion Bankwest has either made a huge mistake or someone who saw the Direct Debit form I sent has used it or passed it onto a third party for fraudulent use .
Very disappointed that Bankwest won’t own it !

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2019
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Online Shopping
  • Overseas/Travel
See all answers
savvy shopper

savvy shopperMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Cancelled my card and will be closing my account also

published

Bankwest have no idea of what customer service is. There fees are excessive and it is difficult to access help or customer assistance. I will be taking my banking elsewhere. These guys are just a big Bank in Sheep clothing. Shop around there are many better products out there.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Card Start DateJanuary 2016
Main Point of ContactBranch
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
See all answers
Erwin

ErwinSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

A great credit card without annual fees

published

I have this card for almost a tear now and it is great if you pay the closing balance per month. I find their support a great to deal with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Shaun31

Shaun31Amaroo 2914, ACT

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is perfect, easy to use, no fuss

published

Easy to use. Alert immediately if there are any unauthorised transactions. Although the card has not been used overseas, I could not see there being any major issue. Long expiry date so you don't have to worry about replacing the card - at time of renewal, a new card is automatically sent to the customer.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2008
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used For
  • Everyday Expenses
  • Online Shopping
  • Special Purchases
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Edward F.

Edward F.asked

Where do you get your fees from if this is a "Zero Fee" card? All banks need to make a profit from someone. Where does this card make a profit? Is it from the exorbitant rate of interest if balance not paid by the due date? Or is it from use of the card overseas?

No answers
graeme quinn

graeme quinnasked

how can i upgrade my zero card to a platinum card

1 answer
Erwin
Erwin

Call them and they will verify based on the parameters that they need to look at.

Sandy

Sandyasked

Hi,
Could you please tell me what is included in Prepaid overseas itinerary items.

Thanks.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.