??!
1 photo
Bankwest Zero Platinum MasterCard

Bankwest Zero Platinum MasterCard

4.0 from 40 reviews

See the Best No Annual Fee Credit Cards in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Pros

  • $0 Annual Fee

  • No Foreign Transaction Fees

  • Complimentary Overseas Travel Insurance

  • 2.99% p.a. on Balance Transfers for the first 9 months

Cons

  • No attached rewards program

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
21
4 star
11
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
5

Guo

GuoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Perfect card for travelling

published

I have had this card for over 3 years. I have been using this card for overseas traveling in APAC, Europe and NA, the obvious advantage is that you can check transactions from mobile app instantly. And the conversation rate is quite good as well.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2015
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Joseph

JosephSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

The best no annual fee card for travel

published

This card is great as it has no annual fees, no conversion fees and a great mobile banking system for convenient access during travel or everyday purchases. It also includes free insurance which is not the best, but great for a free card. It would be comparable to 28 Degrees, but is much better than anything else.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2018
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Kipper

KipperMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

No foreign transaction fees

published

Having an annual fee is a pain but we make a lot of overseas purchases so the zero foreign transaction fees make the card worthwhile. Good customer service over the phone also.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2014
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers
honesty

honestysydney

  • 47 reviews
  • 34 likes

works for us

published

We have a $7500 limit - we keep it low to keep our spend in check. We have had this card for around 15 years (the product has changed a few times over these years). The rewards are pretty good and we don't pay interest because we are vigilant about paying it off to zero every month. I know there is a fee (around $59 a year I think) which I think is a sting due to the fact that bankwest reams us for interest of our mortgages! Overall, we rate bankwest above other banks (we have tried quote a few!) and have generally found their customer service to be excellent. If they brought back the days of giving us our own personal banker boy that would be awesome.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Matty

MattyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Perfect for overseas transactions.

published

Had this card for years.
Highly recommended for overseas purchases / online shopping, as no foreign fees apply.
Card was skimmed once, and Bankwest promptly assisted in cancellation of the card, and reissuing a replacement.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2013
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Ang C.

Ang C.Perth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Perfect travel credit card

published

There is no foreign transaction fee if you use the credit card overseas or purchase an overseas product with a foreign currency. Not only that, the card offers very good exchange rate. The exchange is usually better than the rate obtained from Google currency exchange rate.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Andrew

AndrewGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best card for travellers

published

I usually abandon a credit card after a year (when a better deal comes up), but this card could be a game changer. Ticks all the boxes for overseas travellers - free travel insurance, no overseas transaction fees, low annual fee. The customer online services are smooth - convenient message feature and online chat. Contacting BankWest by phone is also easy, no long periods on hold and friendly efficient operators.

Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2019
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

Keli

KeliAU

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified customer

Perfect for overseas purchases

published

Brilliant. I've never had any issues with it. It works every time and never has any exchange fees. I also get free travel insurance when I use it to book >$500 worth of travel items (although I've never had to utilise it). The only bad thing bad thing is having to wait a few days until the purchases are authorised, during which the price can change, but it's not usually too different, depending on the exchange rate of the day.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJanuary 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Felix

FelixGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Simple credit card for overseas transactions

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2015
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers
Navin

NavinSydney, NSW

Perfect card for travellers

published
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateDecember 2018
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForSpecial Purchases
See all answers

Apocrine

ApocrineBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified customer

Free card great for internet purchases and overseas travel with no downsides

published

Free card great for internet purchases and overseas travel with no downsides. Never had an unexpected fee. No international transaction fees and good forex conversion rates make it perfect for both travel and internet purchases.. Free travel insurance, extended warranties make it all the much sweeter.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2012
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

ApplePineapplePen

ApplePineapplePenPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Best credit card for overseas use

published

Pros:
Free travel insurance when air ticket is booked with this card
No annual fee
Best card for overseas use and online purchases in a foreign CURRENCY {NO TRANSACTION FEE AND BEST EXHANGE RATE}
Cons: Nothing to complain as it does not has an annual fee

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOnline Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

txb

txbSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Zero fee, perfect for overseas travel

published

No transaction or exchange fees. BankWest use the MasterCard exchange rate (which come to very close to the real time rate) was my daily use card and saved hundreds in foreign and transaction fees.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateFebruary 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Perfect for overseas purchase!

published

No overseas transactions fee. No annual fee. Perfect for people to shop online overseas. The exchange rate is pretty good and very close to XE real time rate.
Easy to use app to repay overdraft.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Rewards
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJuly 2016
Main Point of ContactPhone
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping and Overseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Great for overseas use with no foreign transaction fees

published

The title says it all, this no-annual-fee card comes with the added bonus that foreign transaction fees are waived. Whenever I travel or shop online from overseas sellers this is my go-to card.
Unfortunately no points/rewards program, so domestically I prefer to use other cards. If you are like me and don't mind choosing a card for a purpose, then having this one is a good idea.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2010
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

Great for overseas travel

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateAugust 2017
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Brian K.

Brian K.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

No annual fee + free international travel insurance!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateJune 2013
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

A_J

A_JPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Worth it for the travel insurance alone!

published

I’ve been unfortunate enough to have to claim travel insurance on two occasions while on holiday overseas, and the complimentary travel insurance on my Zero Platinum MasterCard covered it in full. I was very impressed with the high level of support and compassion I received when calling the helpline when I was unexpectedly hospitalised overseas. On the second occasion, the airline we bought our tickets from went bust, and again, I received excellent support, and received a full compensation on my claim, no questions asked. A brilliant product, in my experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateApril 2011
Card / Account Used ForEveryday Expenses, Online Shopping, Overseas/Travel and Special Purchases
See all answers

Janey

JaneySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Great card for overseas travel!

published

This is a great card for overseas travel. There are no ongoing fees and no fees for overseas purchases. I mainly picked it for that reason plus the included overseas travel insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Card Start DateMarch 2016
Main Point of ContactOnline
See all answers

Bibi

BibiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good solid no-frills card but bit outdated...

published

I got this card a few years for overseas travel. No annual fee and no fees for overseas purchases were exactly what I wanted. However although I have had it for a while now I only ever use it for this, and now it's even my back-up o/s card as many other cards, including my go-to card ,the coles reward mastercard, now offer no transaction fees on overseas purchases. I would say it was good when I got it but others have used there game. It also had no online way of cancelling the card when I lost my purse and the over-the-phone experience was frustrating as all the security check questions related to other 'cards' in my purse such as my drivers licence... Finally got there but a little stressful.

Transparency
Customer Service
Rates and Fees
Online Experience
Application Process
Main Point of ContactOnline
Card / Account Used ForOverseas/Travel
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

AS

ASasked

Is this card better than GE Money 28 Degree Mastercard which also offers Zero international transaction fee and Mastercard exchange rates?
My intension to get this credit card is only for online purchases(USD/GBP) and overseas travel.

1 answer
Andyrock81
Andyrock81

Bankwest customer service/call centre is in Australia, and are easier to deal with than 28 degrees call centre in India. Travel insurance is complimentary too, unlike the 28 degrees card where you have to pay extra for this benefit.


Get an answer from our members and BankWest representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.