??!
2 photos
Benzac AC Range

Benzac AC Range

3.7 from 129 reviews

See the Best Acne Treatments in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
62
4 star
23
3 star
12
2 star
8
1 star
24

Stibz

StibzBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

So far so good!

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $17.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Kelly F.

Kelly F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Swollen limpy skin it is not worth it

published

I used the benzac 3 steps at 5% for no longer than three days.. And my skin now has small lumpy blisters all over I wish I could upload pictures.. It hurts so bad and I don't know how to get rid of them.. It is embarrassing this should not be sold off the shelf it should be behind the counter I wish I had of spent the money on proactive as that was what I originally want but it was sold out...

Purchased in October 2019 at Priceline for $34.95.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers
Bec

BecTasmania

  • 2 reviews

Amazing stuff it’s been a real lifesaver

published

I’ve been using the 2.5% kit for about 2 months and I’m almost bump free I was suffering hormonal and cyctic acne nothing else helped at all, I’m so happy I found these products, couldn’t be happier with my results, I just need to get rid of the marks left behind

Purchased in August 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers
Chantel

ChantelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Don’t use it.

published

I’ve had acne all my life and only recently found out about benzac and thought it would help with my acne,so I used the 3 step benzac kit consisting of the Benzac Daily Facial Foam Cleanser,2.5 gel treatment and the moisturizer, with the first day of using my face became itchy and small bumps continued to increase with everyday of using it.my skin started to peel and my acne is at its WORSE ITS EVER BEEN.i don’t recommend anyone who has acne and hyperpigmentation to use this product

Purchased in August 2019 at Priceline for $34.00.

Ease of Application
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeveritySevere
See all answers

Lauren

LaurenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Brand New Person

published

Purchased in January 2017 at Chemist Warehouse for $17.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeSensitive Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Audrey76

Audrey76Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Make sure you follow the directions for this product!

published

This product is great for treating a pimple now and then. Be careful though not to apply it on larger skin surfaces as it left me with noticeable skin pigmentation issues and never apply before going into the sun (I have white patches on my face). It must contain some sort of lightening or bleaching agent as my clothes, towels, pillow slips etc were discoloured from using this. I now only apply it to one pimple at a time when I get one in the morning and apply my normal moisturiser on top.

Purchased in January 2014 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation Yes
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityMild
See all answers

Elle

ElleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Using the 3 step treatment and amazing results

published

I have had acne pretty much my entire life (now 28). After having a baby recently my usual acne treatment was a no go so I got to the point of being fed up with my acne getting worse and worse as the weeks progressed. I used the 3 step treatment - cleanser, treatment and moisturiser. Within 2 days I have seen the most dramatic improvement ever. My acne has almost completely cleared with only some small ones remaining which are decreasing rapidly. Honestly incredibly happy with the results and worth every cent for me. This is something I will continue with. I am using the 2.5% strength.

Purchased in June 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $31.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Nicko

NickoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Scalp Acne Cured

published

I am in my sixties and a few years ago started getting large red acne with white heads on the back and sides of my scalp. Tried many things without success till Benzac AC Wash 5%. I realise it is a face/body wash and they warn that it may bleach the hair somewhat but I have old man silver/white hair so no issue there. Absolutely no new acne since the first use.
I used it every day at first but have reduced it to twice a week at this stage with continued success. I wash my hair (no conditioner), rub in a smallish amount of Benzac and rinse after a minute or two.

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeOily Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Changed my skin!

published

I started using this product about 1 month ago and it has completely changed my skin! After suffering from moderate acne for almost a decade, this has been the most effective product for me. Highly recommend!

Purchased in March 2019 at Priceline for $20.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Smell
Causes Irritation No
Skin TypeCombination Skin
Acne SeverityModerate
See all answers

Amazing product

published

As a 20 yr old male who’s had moderate acne for 5+ years this product worked wonders. I’ve used all sorts of face washes and scrubs from the supermarkets to no avail. I then came across the benzac triple acne control kit online and decided to try it. It didn’t really work that well at first but I heard it takes a few months to see results. I started in September/October and now in January I can see clear results. Most of my acne has gone or at least become less noticeable.


Kat

KatAustralia

  • Verified purchase

Do not work for Adult Acne, Acne worsen

published

I was using tea tree oil for my face wash and rosehip oil to moisture my face. It was working very slowly but great. In hope to heal it quickly, i bought benzac ac cream. When first time i applied, i had a new acne popped up. I thought it is just a new one and stopped the use of cream for couple of days. As soon as i did not apply for two days, and continued with my normal products, it healed. This happened 3 times (including my partner trying once too and the same happened) and now i can confirm that this cream instead of healing the acne, is worsening the symptoms. My face looks worse than before. Wish i shouldn't have bought this product.


Tori32

Tori32Highton

  • 9 reviews

Literally burns away the acne - strong but effective

published

Changed my skin so much !!

published

First of all I’ve tried so many products and I was about to go on minocycline but I’ve heard a lot of bad side effects of that antibiotics and then I went to the chemist and I bought benzac ac and it gave my results in 1 week :) I highly highly recommend it for people who are going through acne :) it will get Better


jord

jordHunter Region, NSW

  • 21 reviews
  • 3 likes

Really wish i hadn't.

published

One of the first products i tried for adult acne, i really wish i hadn't. I could only use for a week or so before having enough of the burning, redness and pain that the products caused. I tried weaker strengths of the spot treatment and that still burnt.. After washing face it would feel so tight, stripped of oils and uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend to anyone, it's really not a great range.

Burnt me

published

If you want your face to be itchy, burning, peeling (dry skin) and tomato red. This product is perfect. I do NOT recommend. Do not make the same mistake I did!!!!

Amazing product!

published

Didn't Work :(

published

I used 5% consistently for 6 months and it didn't do its job. My skin is now dry and has more acne than before. I definitely would not recommend Benzac AC.


Almost instant result

published

I have been using benzac acne wash 5% for a few days. My skin has already started to clear up.
My skin feels tighter as it’s dried I think.

I noticed my grey face washer has orange patches in it, first I thought it was foundation and it won’t wash out.
I use it again and this time my face towel is 85% orange.

I rinsed my face with water after and pay dry with another towel.
Boom! Light orange on my other towel.

Works for pimples for me so far but please be careful with your towel especially if they are good one. They just gonna end up in the bin


SixteenYO

SixteenYOSomewhere

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mixed Feelings TBH

published
1 comment
SixteenYO
SixteenYO

Update: my skin is 95% clear now! Very smooth, no bumps, only faint scars. Yay so impressed!


Used 3 times and WOW

published

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Robin C.

Robin C.asked

I've started using Benzac AC 5% recently. I put a very small amount on and then tea-tree moisturiser afterwards, and it burns like hell all night. My skin is really dry and it's peeling around my eyes. I put it on yesterday night and my face is still sore all day. What do I do?

1 answer
Patricia R.
Patricia R.

I would use 2.5 benzac gel ...dont use near eyes...use the same brand moisturiser...if still burning dont use ...not an expert ut hope this helps


Karabo.L

Karabo.Lasked

Hi,I'm also using the benzac Ac 5 wash product it make's my skin dry and it also peel's off so am not sure if I should continue using the product?

No answers

Road2Success

Road2Successasked

I don't have an active skincare routine. I kind of just wash my face then put on this gel. My acne has been getting worse as of late and just picked this product up in hopes of it getting better. How long do I have to wait minimum to have my acne clear up? I've only been using this product for ~2 days and there have been 0 results as of lately. Is there anything I have to change up, do I continue?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryAcne Treatments
ApplicationFace
Release dateNov 2009

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.