2 photos
Benzac AC Range

Benzac AC Range

3.6 from 142 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Acne Treatments in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Benzac? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

  • Fast-acting

  • Available in 3 strengths

  • Good value for money

Cons

  • May dry skin

  • May not be suitable for sensitive skin

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
penegeau
penegeauSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 28 reviews
  • 22 likes

Drying and causes milia

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Priceline for $10.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application

So excellent

published

My 14 year old son has been struggling with acne. I’ve tried everything except medication and certainly did not want to go down that road. In chemist, thought I’d buy Benzac. If it didn’t work, it’s just another thing. Two weeks later his skin is clearing and he’s feeling a lot better about himself. It’s brilliant stuff.

Purchased in March 2021 for $49.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application

Other Acne Treatments

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Tabitha
Tabitha
  • 2 reviews

Only product that cleared up my adult acne.

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Priceline for $45.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Acne Treatments

Find out how Benzac AC Range compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amelia D.
Amelia D.Richmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified

Worked well and helped clear acne but smells disgusting

published

I noticed my skin was a lot clearer and less oily with this product in a very short amount of time. I didn’t suffer any adverse reactions but I did go a bit red after the first 2 uses but that subsided within a few minutes. The product was perfect for my level of acne but I didn’t like the smell all that much.

Purchased in August 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Claire Marsia
Claire MarsiaQueensland
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

So far so good

published

I’ve been using the benzac ac wash for my pimples and it’s worked well in reducing acne. The first few days it caused my skin to dry up and flake away but that soon subsided and left me with clearer skin.

Purchased in July 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Liz
Liz
  • 2 reviews

It's fine, but didn't really help. The moisturiser burns my skin.

published
Value for Money
Ease of Application
Stacey
StaceyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible!!!

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Tgg
TggVictoria

Use with extreme caution!

published

Be very careful. Mild acne went to more severe pustules. Flaky Inflamation. This should not be sold over the counter. Used it sparingly aswell! This is day 3 before/after pics

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2020 at Priceline.

Value for Money
Ease of Application

Other Acne Treatments

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Nikki
Nikki

Helps in clearing Pus out of pimples

published

I had pus breakouts on my skin during the bush fire season and the extreme smoky weather. I used this product as an initial step . It helped in safely clearing out the pus within 2-3 days but din't help much in clearing out the spot caused after it . It doesn't cause any irritation and is good on my skin

Purchased in December 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Acne Treatments

Find out how Benzac AC Range compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sarahjanegrau
sarahjanegrauGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

BENZAC AC Mild Strength 2.5% Acne Gel

published

Purchased for $16.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Muna L.
Muna L.Sydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

flaky skin./not good for sensitive/ dry skin

published

not good for sensitive skin.i have been using this for about 1 and half month although it's side effects were harsh on my skin yet, no changes can be seen .It made my skin super flaky and skin peeling was pretty intense..It is effective for small pimples/acne but was not as good as i thought for my huge hormonal acnes also.The good thing is that it dries out the pimples fast and maybe the reason for the flakes around my pimples.maybe

Purchased in November 2019 at Priceline.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Elizabeth
ElizabethSydney Surrounds, NSW

Not a good choice for adult Acne.

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Priceline for $30.00.

Ease of Application
Incentivised Review No
Matthewm8
Matthewm8Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Cheap and nasty :)

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Online Store for $20.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Stibz
StibzBrisbane
  • 2 reviews

So far so good!

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Chemist Warehouse for $17.99.

Value for Money
Ease of Application

Other Acne Treatments

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Kelly F.
Kelly F.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Swollen limpy skin it is not worth it

published

I used the benzac 3 steps at 5% for no longer than three days.. And my skin now has small lumpy blisters all over I wish I could upload pictures.. It hurts so bad and I don't know how to get rid of them.. It is embarrassing this should not be sold off the shelf it should be behind the counter I wish I had of spent the money on proactive as that was what I originally want but it was sold out...

Purchased in October 2019 at Priceline for $34.95.

Value for Money
Ease of Application
Acne Treatments

Find out how Benzac AC Range compares to other Acne Treatments

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Myne T
Myne Tasked

How long after I stopped using benzac ac 5 gel can I use other face products?

No answers
Mahelaqua j.
Mahelaqua j.asked

Hi, I'm using benzac ac 2.5 on my face.but it's making my face worst.. How I get rid?

1 answer
Sofia A.
Sofia A.

It makes your skin worst before it gets bettter. Dont give up

Promise S.
Promise S.asked

Do I rinse benzac ac gel after applying it?

1 answer
sarahjanegrau
sarahjanegrau

No

See all Benzac AC Range questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

Benzac’s AC range contains two powerful ingredients – benzoyl peroxide (BPO) and Benzac’s unique AC technology. Acrylates copolymers are tiny beads that absorb up to four times their own weight in fluid.

The active ingredient benzoyl peroxide first kills the acne-causing bacteria that has multiplied. It also reduces inflammation and removes dead skin cells that are clogging your pores. Then, the AC technology acts like a sponge on the skin, making sure any excess oil is fully absorbed.

Once the excess oil is removed, the glycerin properties of the AC technology help hydrate your skin.

The treatment gels and wash are the only products within the Benzac range that contain benzoyl peroxide. The treatment gel comes in three strengths: mild (2.5%), moderate (5%) and high (10%). It’s recommended to start with the mild (2.5%) strength treatment gel if you’re using the products for the first time.

The daily cleansers and moisturiser have been formulated to prepare your skin before the treatment and provide relief and restoration afterwards.

What reviewers thought:

This product is affordable and rated as good value for money. It is fast-acting and many users find that it is very effective at tackling their acne.

Other reviewers had a bad reaction to the product and felt that it made their acne worse, drying out their skin.

It is recommended for those with mild to moderate acne and combination to oily skin. It is also recommended to apply a moisturising treatment after using the AC range.

CategoryAcne Treatments
ApplicationFace
Release dateNov 2009
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.