1 photo
Black & Decker Compact VM2040

Black & Decker Compact VM2040

MPN: VM2040-XE
2.1 from 8 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

2.1

8 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (8)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (7)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (2)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (5)
Previous
Next
Law
LawSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Product overheat, very weak suction

published

Product overheats after approx. 10 minutes.

As the vacuum is still under warranty, I tried contacting Black & Decker but they never got back to me.

Suction is very weak compared to my Dyson. Spend the extra dollar to buy something that works and last.

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
R.C.N
R.C.NWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 22 reviews
  • 6 likes

Decent for a budget Vacuum.

published

Purchased in March 2021 for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Yashhh
YashhhPerth, WA

Terrible

published

I purchased this about a month ago and this one was the first one I bought, terrible experience as initially it was fine working but suddenly it get hot after just doing 1 room and shut down suddenly though I cleaned the filter as well regularly. Unhappy with the purchase.

Purchased in December 2020 for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Black & Decker Compact VM2040 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karyn
KarynMurray Mallee, SA

would never buy B&D again

published

I have always had success with relatively inexpensive vacuum cleaners but this one is USELESS.
the main issue is how heavy it is, the wheels do not roll easily and you are having to tug the vacuum so hard that the hose pops out of the front connection. I will warn everyone NOT to buy this vacuum cleaner unless you want to be yelling expletives the whole time you are cleaning your floors.

Purchased in November 2020 at Big W for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
SunnyCoastChef
SunnyCoastChefSouth East Queensland, QLD

Disappointing

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Big W for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

What a nightmare!

published

We were looking for a vacuum for the interim while we get another after some research. This model seem to be good on watts, bagless and price. No 1. The huge wheels do not roll or spin smoothly on tiles let alone carpet. A rubber put her makes this terrible to move. No 2.The extension pipe and height of the reach is that I have to bend over to get good use. I'm 6foot. No3. The cord is only long enough for one room and requires unplugging to do each room effectively. No4. Noise for the full 2000W sounds like a spaceship is about to leave earth.
Overall, not to happy with the product in general.

Purchased in March 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jenny
JennyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Perfect!

published

I purchased this vacuum cleaner for my carpet and upholstery. And I must say it is the right choice! It has good suction power and I can get rid of all the dust really fast. I will recommend it for quality and value for money.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Wayne
WayneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Good suction, easy to use and clean.

published

This is my first vacuum cleaner and it is decent. I use it for the wooden floor and carpet as well and for both do a good job. Strong pick-up and good suction, meanwhile easy to use and clean. Highly recommend this vacuum for rugs, carpets, laminate floorboards. All in all, good value and designed well.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Questions & Answers

Scott K.
Scott K.asked

The opening of the suction head is way too big for the stem?

No answers
Jun Pepito
Jun Pepitoasked

where is this vacuum cleaner black and decker vm2040, 220volts, 50hz made? In what country?

No answers
Mansha K.
Mansha K.asked

May i use it to clean my car?.. And how about electric in my house there is 1300 wat electric meter is vm2040 ok for me ?

1 answer
Wayne
Wayne

To my view, VM2040 is too big for a car. As the power support issure, sorry, I have no idear, regards.

Get an answer from our members and Black & Decker representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $129.00
Bin Capacity2.5 L
HEPA FilterYes
Weight6 kg
TypeBagless
Cord Length5 m
Power2,000 W
Visit official website
  • MPN: VM2040-XE

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.