??!
3 photos
Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU

Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU

MPN: BGL3PWERAU
3.9 from 24 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

3.9

24 reviews
5
(9)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.1 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (7)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (7)
Previous
Next
Tigz

TigzGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Impressed again by Bosch .

published

Purchased in May ( appliance online ) awesome price and great delivery , The unit itself is fantastic doesnt hurt my back like my old hoover ,was impressed after first use results and the cords longer which is perfect also , has a first rate filter system which is good for my Asthma , went with bosch for this based on my Bosch washing machine which i'm glad I bought also , Thanks Bosch .

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for A$190.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Bought this vacuum after reading a review in Choice. How wrong did they get it!

published

This vacuum has such strong suction as to render it extremely hard to use on carpets and rugs as even on the lowest suction setting the head digs in and the handle is slippery.Where the handle pushes into the wand there is no locking mechanism so it keeps coming apart unless you push it in hard and then you will never get it apart when you want to!Bags are also quite small and at $19.00 for a pack of 4 this becomes an expensive proposition.In fairness it performs very well on hard floors but overall I cannot recommend this machine.Now sits in the garage awaiting our next yard sale!!!

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$227.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Mee2

Mee2

  • 18 reviews
  • 4 likes

Expected so much more from a German made product

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for A$189.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike

MikeBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

It lost suction after 4th use! Poor customers Service.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
PHM

PHMBrighton

  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

A great vacuum cleaner!

published

Having lost patience with our Dyson V6, I purchased this machine on a Choice recommendation from Appliances Online during its Australia Day sale. The machine cleans equally well on carpet or hard floors, cleans edges well, is quiet, light to pull around and very powerful. I have to turn the suction right down to vacuum carpets and rugs. Register on line and the motor warranty is extended to ten years. We are very happy with our purchase and wonder what extra we would receive with machines twice or three times the price.

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for A$158.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Kate

KateBrisbane

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Pretty good

published

This vacuum came with plenty of accessories and works well on all surfaces. The only issue was actually fitting the bags. As with many brands this was tricky. We also have a Meile which is far more powerful but was double the price.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$180.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Good value for money

published

This model is good for value given it is genuine German made. The only thing I am not totally happy about it is there is no secure lock 'slots' at various connection points for different sections of the tubes. As a result, the sucking head easily slips out. The middle tube that connects with the arrow button that suppose works for overall tube length extension adjustment also easily slips out while the vacuum cleaner is in use.

Purchased in May 2019 at Winning Appliances for A$243.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Vivek

VivekMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best one to keep its competitors to rest

published

I am not yet sure of the after sales service however the vacuum cleaner is silent and powerful. You need to set to minimum power to vacuum the carpet effortlessly. The extension cord is long enough to cover two bedrooms in one go. So far so good. I feel I made a good choice.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Belle

BellePerth

  • 5 reviews

Forget the brand name competitors

published

This is the best vacuum cleaner I have ever had. Solid and sturdy and very quiet. Wide hose, with very strong suction. Went into retailer to purchase a different one. Sales person said "forget that " everyone comes into buy that particular one. I am so glad I listened as the Bosch was not as expensive but equal or even better in quality.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rick

RickHill Top

  • 2 reviews

Not a bad cleaner, pity about no parts and service

published

We found the cleaner good value and did the job for us on hard floors. But very disappointed that we bought from Bing Lee and they have stopped selling it. No one else seems to carry bags or filters. Even on the Bosch site, they are out of stock and almost forty bucks for Hepa filter plus fifteen for delivery is outrageous. Have to live with the smelly filter.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
chack008

chack008Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

It does the job and does it very well

published

I purchased it during the boxing day sales for $70 and it is good value for money. It comes with strong suction power and is quiet. Couple of issues I face is that it is bit hard to move through the carpets ( probably due to its high suction ). Also the air exhaust is on the top of the machine which was making all the dust from ceiling fly around. Overall, I am pretty happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
SVN

SVNMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value for money.

published

This is a small and lightweight machine made in Germany. Bought it in a deal last boxing day for 70 dollars and this is worth every cent. Multiple speed settings and sufficient accessories. I was also looking for a model with bags since i find it difficult to remove the dirt from bagless ones.

Has good suction and is not very noisy. Easy to move along since it is light and over all an excellent cleaner with HEPA filter. Not as good as the Dysons or Mieles, but excellent value for the price i bought it for.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Smaths

SmathsSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent vacuum cleaner!

published

I think this is an excellent vacuum cleaner at this price point.

Has excellent suction, the hepa filter works well and picks up plenty of dust and dirt. It's small side makes it ideal for storage and overall an excellent vaccum for smaller areas (1-2 bed apartment, or for an upstairs area).

The accessories aren't superb - but definitely workable. The annoying thing about this model over other bosch vacuums is that it has no on board storage, so you need to develop your own little bag to store these items in. Additionally the small wheels sometimes don't roll as well as they could. But at the $100 - $200 range this might be somewhat expected.

The positives definitely outweigh any negatives and I would recommend this.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Yun Oh

Yun Oh

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good Value for Money

published

I have Miele Complete C2 Celebration too and this is not as powerful as My Miele C2. However this works perfect for my small granny flat. Compact, light-weight and less noise. Replacement bags are reasonably priced too. If you have a small house. I would recommend this product for everyday use.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Yun Oh,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch BGL3PWERAU Vacuum.
If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

JenConsumes

JenConsumesSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good entry level vacuum

published

I was lucky enough to get this for under $100 on special, and it is a fantastic vacuum for that price. The suction is very strong and it comes with a few accessories to make it easy to vacuum your house, your wardrobe, your car etc (sadly it doesn’t have a small dusting brush but I was able to use the one from my old vacuum).
The length of the handle is easily adjustable which is great for taller people.
The vacuum is very lightweight, but a downside of that is that it does feel a bit flimsy when changing the vacuum bags.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
styck

styck

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good efficient vacuum cleaner. No negatives

published

This vacuum is so good looking. I really like it's lightweight manoeuvrability. It is very user friendly and has really strong suction. I bought it even though I had an OK vacuum, the reviews were all positive. I'm glad I took the step.
I would recommend if you are OK with buying bags, which I think you can buy economically online.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Clem

ClemSt Ives

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very strong suction!!! It really suck!!

published

Very happy with this vacuum cleaner, sometime it suck too much and need to control the suction pressure, some people complaint about it's hard to move on carpet, I think its related to the strong suction, so adjusting the suction level fix the problem. I guess buying a vacuum cleaner that really suck is very important.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Sandy

SandyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Great value and performance.

published

It is very light, easy to store and it has great suction.I am allergic to the dust and house mites, so needed something really powerful to work on carpets as well as on the hard floor. And to my surprise, this product works amazing. I have been very happy and I highly recommend it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
edwintky

edwintkyMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great value

published

Purchased this vacuum 2 months ago. Very powerful, used mostly on hard floor and picks up dirt easily. It is compact and lightweight with good filtration. No complaints so far and attached a turbo brush purchased separately which has been excellent in picking up long hair. Noise levels have been comparable to my previous Nilfisk.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Gary

GarySydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great value vacuum

published

This Bosch vacuum is one of our three vacuums with the greatest performance and lowest price. The suction is greater than expected. It is more quiet than the others. The design is very user friendly. I have tile floor and a cat at home, which using this vacuum is clean the floor with no problem.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

energise70

energise70asked

Hi there
What does it mean when people say they can only drag this product backwards, you can't push it forwards? Could you please advise? Thanks.

1 answer
Vivek
Vivek

Not at all. I can drag it both ways.

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.