3 photos
Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU

Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU

MPN: BGL3PWERAU
3.7 from 27 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (10)
  • Pet OwnerYes (2) · No (8)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (1) · No (9)
Previous
Next
abc123
abc123Sydney, NSW

Not good for carpet

published

Vacuum cleaner head won't move forwards or backwards on the wool carpet surface without great difficulty, rendering it useless. I immediately took it back to the shop. Thankfully got refund.

Purchased in February 2021 at Bing Lee Physical store for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Judy
JudyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Not a great purchase.

published

It was purchased as it was recommended to use on slate and hard floors. The metal wand for accessory attachment is flimsy and if dropped then end for attaching accessories will squash - although it is flimsy enough to easily straighten it out again. Attachments push on to the wand but do not lock on so they are not very secure and the vacuum head especially comes off easily when using it. The retractable cord is a great length but retracts just when you don't want it to. It is a noisy unit. The suction is strong but the brush head for hard floors can still scratch the slate. Not what I expected at all and it will end up in the shed as soon as I can afford to replace it.

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
HonestHoncho
HonestHoncho
  • 5 reviews

Awesome vacuum cleaner, ridiculously powerful suction.

published

Simple, just a ridiculous amount of suction and it seems really well built - I find the head comes off the pole sometimes if I'm dragging it towards me due to the great suction to the surface so either i'm doing it wrong or they could improve the design so it locks onto the pole.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tigz
TigzGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Impressed again by Bosch .

published

Purchased in May ( appliance online ) awesome price and great delivery , The unit itself is fantastic doesnt hurt my back like my old hoover ,was impressed after first use results and the cords longer which is perfect also , has a first rate filter system which is good for my Asthma , went with bosch for this based on my Bosch washing machine which i'm glad I bought also , Thanks Bosch .

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for $190.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Gary J
Gary J
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bought this vacuum after reading a review in Choice. How wrong did they get it!

published

This vacuum has such strong suction as to render it extremely hard to use on carpets and rugs as even on the lowest suction setting the head digs in and the handle is slippery.Where the handle pushes into the wand there is no locking mechanism so it keeps coming apart unless you push it in hard and then you will never get it apart when you want to!Bags are also quite small and at $19.00 for a pack of 4 this becomes an expensive proposition.In fairness it performs very well on hard floors but overall I cannot recommend this machine.Now sits in the garage awaiting our next yard sale!!!

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $227.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Mee2
Mee2
  • 22 reviews
  • 6 likes

Expected so much more from a German made product

published

Purchased in May 2020 at Appliances Online for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Mike
MikeBrisbane
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

It lost suction after 4th use! Poor customers Service.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
PHM
PHMBrighton
  • 20 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified

A great vacuum cleaner!

published

Having lost patience with our Dyson V6, I purchased this machine on a Choice recommendation from Appliances Online during its Australia Day sale. The machine cleans equally well on carpet or hard floors, cleans edges well, is quiet, light to pull around and very powerful. I have to turn the suction right down to vacuum carpets and rugs. Register on line and the motor warranty is extended to ten years. We are very happy with our purchase and wonder what extra we would receive with machines twice or three times the price.

Purchased in January 2020 at Appliances Online for $158.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kate
KateBrisbane
  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Pretty good

published

This vacuum came with plenty of accessories and works well on all surfaces. The only issue was actually fitting the bags. As with many brands this was tricky. We also have a Meile which is far more powerful but was double the price.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
J Lo
J Lo
  • 2 reviews

Good value for money

published

This model is good for value given it is genuine German made. The only thing I am not totally happy about it is there is no secure lock 'slots' at various connection points for different sections of the tubes. As a result, the sucking head easily slips out. The middle tube that connects with the arrow button that suppose works for overall tube length extension adjustment also easily slips out while the vacuum cleaner is in use.

Purchased in May 2019 at Winning Appliances for $243.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Vivek
VivekMelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best one to keep its competitors to rest

published

I am not yet sure of the after sales service however the vacuum cleaner is silent and powerful. You need to set to minimum power to vacuum the carpet effortlessly. The extension cord is long enough to cover two bedrooms in one go. So far so good. I feel I made a good choice.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Belle
BellePerth
  • 5 reviews

Forget the brand name competitors

published

This is the best vacuum cleaner I have ever had. Solid and sturdy and very quiet. Wide hose, with very strong suction. Went into retailer to purchase a different one. Sales person said "forget that " everyone comes into buy that particular one. I am so glad I listened as the Bosch was not as expensive but equal or even better in quality.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Rick
RickHill Top
  • 2 reviews

Not a bad cleaner, pity about no parts and service

published

We found the cleaner good value and did the job for us on hard floors. But very disappointed that we bought from Bing Lee and they have stopped selling it. No one else seems to carry bags or filters. Even on the Bosch site, they are out of stock and almost forty bucks for Hepa filter plus fifteen for delivery is outrageous. Have to live with the smelly filter.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
chack008
chack008Melbourne
  • 4 reviews

It does the job and does it very well

published

I purchased it during the boxing day sales for $70 and it is good value for money. It comes with strong suction power and is quiet. Couple of issues I face is that it is bit hard to move through the carpets ( probably due to its high suction ). Also the air exhaust is on the top of the machine which was making all the dust from ceiling fly around. Overall, I am pretty happy with the purchase.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
SVN
SVNMelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value for money.

published

This is a small and lightweight machine made in Germany. Bought it in a deal last boxing day for 70 dollars and this is worth every cent. Multiple speed settings and sufficient accessories. I was also looking for a model with bags since i find it difficult to remove the dirt from bagless ones.

Has good suction and is not very noisy. Easy to move along since it is light and over all an excellent cleaner with HEPA filter. Not as good as the Dysons or Mieles, but excellent value for the price i bought it for.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
BSH Home AppliancesBosch Home Appliances
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch GL-30 Free'e ProPower BGL3PWERAU compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

energise70
energise70asked

Hi there
What does it mean when people say they can only drag this product backwards, you can't push it forwards? Could you please advise? Thanks.

1 answer
Vivek
Vivek

Not at all. I can drag it both ways.

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $299.00
Bin Capacity4 L
HEPA FilterYes
Weight5.7 kg
TypeBagged
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4242002984766
  • MPN: BGL3PWERAU

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.