??!

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
367
4 star
70
3 star
16
2 star
12
1 star
16

airsolaja

airsolajaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 45 reviews

Miele vacuums always outperform bagless ones

published

Reliable vacuum, impeccable vacuuming. Dust bags are in my opinion far better and more hygienic solution than bagless vacuums. I would like to have an option to get covers for air filter, as they only come with the bags. Other than that no complaints. Have been using it daily for the past 10 years now and still works as a charm!

Purchased in January 2010 at Harvey Norman for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!


Andrew Mills

Andrew MillsSydney, NSW

Good to grwat vacuum but Miele bags too expensive

published

Purchased 2 years ago after owning the previous cat&dog for 20 years. I really want the old one back. The new one is powerful and could suck the chrome off a door handle but we own a Labrador. I would need to take a third job to pay for the Miele vacuum bags as we go through one a day. To make it worse, the cunning Germans have modified modern bags to stop the customer emptying and reusing the bag. When companies behave like that it is time to look elsewhere.

Purchased in December 2017 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Tess B.

Tess B.Perth, WA

Love it more than my children

published

Thankyou for this vacuum cleaner, it glides like butter across the floor. The swivel head is amazing and the 3 wheel design on the barrel makes it easier to pull along behind you. I will cherish it always

Purchased for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers
Erica M.

Erica M.Southeast, SA

  • 3 reviews

Excellent suction and Instant hair dryer

published

Excellent suction ease of handing ,purchased a larger foot attachment which suits big spaces, quiet, the retractable cord could have been longer and the exhaust should have been placed on one side. When switching power on exhaust blows directly in face which is not good.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Bronte F.

Bronte F.Darling Downs, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Amazing vacuum cleaner

published

Great vaccuum cleaner, I use this all the time. Find the suction power to be good for carpet and hard floors. Attachments are handy, especially the crevice cleaner and I use the brush one on upholstery. Easy to empty, don't have to replace bag very often. Would recommend.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thanks Bronte for taking the time to leave this review!


Nice working with it

published

Nice work on compiling Miele C3 over view and review, best I found, thanks. All the those models are available in Australia) plus it looks like miele are dumping their old 2000w models out here so some info n/a. Just one thought you might consider .


ali

aliPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent performance, powerful, quiet

published

We got it almost 5 months ago from David Jones. Since then, haven't had single issue with that. It's very quiet, very powerful and excellent accuracy in cleaning as you can't see any little stuff remained on the floor after. Our vacuum is bagged, still we are using the bag came with. To give you an idea we have a 1 bedroom unit all wooden except bedroom which has carpet. It does a nice job on both hard and soft floors. It came with 2 heads, one with brush and another one without which is designed for both soft and hard floors. Love the buttons which are located on the handle, very modern and easy to use. Bottom line: highly highly recommended. It's like a Mercedes Benz; Germans are number one.

Purchased in May 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Ali for taking the time to leave this review!


Stephen I.

Stephen I.Sydney, NSW

Powerful and lots of accessories

published

Very versatile Vacuum Cleaner. Extremely powerful with sturdy construction. The Powerhead is height adjustable for rugs etc, and the LED light makes it easy to clean under furniture etc. All in all highly recommend this Vacuum Cleaner.

Purchased in March 2017 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thanks Stephen for taking the time to leave this review!

Henri

HenriMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little vacuum

published

I have had my Miele for 6 yrs now and its a great little vacuum, I have a little dog in the house and she sheds quite a bit so my vacuum gets daily use. Ive had no problems with it and its easy to clean the filter I even got a second one so I can wash one and have another to put in straight away. Great little vacuum I would recommend one to my friends.

Purchased in May 2013 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Henri for taking the time to leave this feedback!

Paul

PaulCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Great vacuum but sticks to short carpet

published

Have only used it a few times because it is so hard to use on short pile carpet. The standard head that comes with it just does not glide at all on the carpet or rugs we have at home. So now am faced with the choice of forking out $175 for a turbo 305 head to be able to use it or returning it. Yes it is quiet but seriously it has one job to do and that is vacuum. The standard head is not designed well to work on carpets and rugs we have at home.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bing Lee for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Andy

AndyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Hope this one lasts

published

I am replacing my Miele Complete C3 Powerline with Complete C3 Allergy Tech Blue. C3 Powerline only lasted for 3 years. :( Hope this one lasts a bit longer. Great vacuum cleaner however it would be better if the suction hose connecting to the handle swivel like the Powerline for more flexibility.

3 comments
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Andy for providing this feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns. Kind regards, Anna.

Andy
Andy

Hi Anna,
What is the best way to reach Miele?

Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Hi Andy, please call us on 1300 464 353 to speak with a Miele team member. Kind regards, Anna.


Simon

Simon

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Had buyers regret, but pleasantly surprised.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Simon for taking the time to leave this review!


Berocca

BeroccaBunbury

  • 29 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great Vacuum, Amazing Suction and very quiet

published

We bought this vacuum to replace an 8 year old Dyson that blew up.

The Dyson (DC23) was a good vacuum, but the Miele leaves it for dead in terms of suction and quietness.

The Miele has adjustable power which I have found has to be turned down by our cleaning lady as it has so much suction that it is too hard to push! (First World Problem)

If I had a criticism it would be that the bag full indicator is not accurate as it comes on when sucking hard even with a new bag so it is hard to tell when it needs replacing.

If you are tossing up another Dyson or a Miele - I think you will be very happy coming to this from a Dyson

Purchased in May 2019 at RetraVision for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Berocca for taking the time to leave this review!


satch

satchSouth East Queensland, QLD

performance & quality

published

The Miele c3 was recommended to me as I have so many different floor surfaces 2 dogs that think they own the and a very sandy outdoor area. I purchased it online with the genuine turbo head & mini turbo head I find that I can clean all of my floor surfaces without changing heads & I am able to clean my fabric furniture with the mini turbo. The bag and filtration system is absolutely great as after cleaning no lingering odor. This review is not sponsored or supplied in any way I have recommended this cleaner to some other friends & had nothing but positive feedback. Satch
P S it even cleans my artificial turf on the bbq area

Purchased in February 2019 at E Bay for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!

Stueycam

StueycamSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Power to the vacuum

published

I purchased the Miele C3 after a brief stay at my brothers house. I realised not all vacuums were powerless. I will now only own Miele vacuum from now.
It's nice to buy products that have been built and designed with quality and that are made to last.
I am sure this machine will 'Suck the rio through concrete' I often have to use it on a lower setting so I can actually move it across the carpet.
The extendable handle is quite compact for storage but can also extend long enough to make it comfortable to use and moves around the house effortlessly.
It works extremely well on hard floors also. It's not overly loud either.

Purchased in November 2018 at The Good Guys for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!

Ayleen

Ayleen

  • 3 reviews

Excellent cleaning power

published

I love this vacuum cleaner, after a long period of inadequate cleaners I saved up for this one. It has amazing power and has reduced my housework time immensely. It can be a little heavy to push when on maximum power Which I am getting used to.Its easy to clean and quiet which I like.

Purchased in January 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Ayleen for taking the time to leave this review!


UNBELIEVABLE

UNBELIEVABLEPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Finally a literally 'no back ache' vacuum cleaner!

published

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!


Emma W

Emma WGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Outstanding

published

This vacuum makes cleaning a pleasure. Effortless on the cat furniture as well. Carpet and floating floors are cleaned with ease. Much quieter than other machines and lighter which was a surprise given the power it provides. Love it.

Purchased in July 2019 at Keysborough Factory for $289.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Emma for taking the time to leave this review!


Sony

SonyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Very Good vacuum cleaner !

published

My apartment is carpeted and this vacuum cleaner has worked very well in sucking out dust.
It doesn't not require lot of effort to clean.
I am happy with this vaccuum cleaner as it does the job very well..
There is quiet option which makes less sound .

Purchased in February 2016 at Harvey Norman Physical Store for $220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you Sony for taking the time to leave this review!


Mehrsa G.

Mehrsa G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Astonishing!

published

If I say this vacuum cleaner has changed my life, I’m not exaggerating! The rooms with carpet flooring get dusty way slower, and my allergy and asthma had been at ease since we made this purchase! The power is astonishing to the point that it would pick up the smallest bits that you can’t see with the naked eye, and the design enables (adjustable handle) the machine to fit even in the smallest cabinets !

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
Jack TaylorMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!


Page 1 of 25

Questions & Answers

bevaau

bevaauasked

How/If the filter needs cleaning?

No answers

Michael B.

Michael B.asked

Hi, Ive just bought a C3 Cat & Dog and am also struggling with the bag full indicator. Even before using it with the Powerhead attached its saying the bag is 3/4 fullwhen on full power. Do I simply ignore this? Thanks!

4 answers
ali
ali

Hi Michael, it's nothing to worry; It shouldn't be like this; either the indicator is jammed because of dirt or needs a little bit adjustment. Watching this video will help you to understand the mechanism: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mHGyy0sogQ
It's a simple fix. I am pretty sure Miele customer service will look after that for you.

Michael B.
Michael B.

Thanks ali. I dont think its jammed as when I turn it off it then shows empty. Its as if the moment I put it on the carpet (and short loop weave construction) suction is restricted or compromised and the indicator shows full. Is my carpet the issue? Thats said, I then move onto floorboards and its still displaying full. Perhaps I should blame its predecessor for inadequate hoovering and fine dust has blocked the bag?

ali
ali

Ahhh this is something happening for us as well. This is my guess: I assume your bag is not new and is half full? If so, putting the vacuum on high power suction makes the indicator show full bag as the whole amount of air cant quit from the proper way which is bag to chamber. In contrast, low suction causes most of air flows through proper way so it shows empty bag as the air easily goes from the proper way which is bag to chamber.
This is my understanding, although Miele technician would be the best to ask.


Laura

Lauraasked

Is it good for the short hair carpet? If it is not the best, which one is the best for cleaning a carpet with long hair of a woman glued to the carpet?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Miele representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.