??!

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(372)
(70)
(17)
(12)
(17)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (48)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (51)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (50)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (48)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (26)
    • Several times a week (11)
    • Daily (7)
    • Rarely (2)
    • Monthly (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (50)
  • Pet OwnerYes (24) · No (24)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (2) · No (45)


JAR

JAR

  • 3 reviews

Love this vacuum cleaner!

published

This vacuum cleaner has REALLY amazing suction, it's quiet and super lightweight and easy to use. Makes it easy to vacuum both our timber floor and carpeted areas. Would highly recommend

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

pretty solid

published

solid machine, does what it says, turns on and off and picks up the dog and cat hair, pretty powerful, even when other brands did not work as well or difficult

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Lisa-marie

Lisa-marieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

This is perfect! I cant live without it. So much better then the other big leading brand

published

Love love love my c3 multi floor. I will never buy the other leading brand D____ again my miele is so sturdy with great suction easy to move around. The best feature is the movable flexable head

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman for $650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Lisa-Marie for the wonderful feedback!

Galca

GalcaSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Best Vacuum

published

Having ducted vacuuming we were quite picky on what vacuum to purchase. After reading several reveiws we opted to go with the Miele. We were not disappointed. Absolutely love this unit. Easy to manoeuvre, very powerful and great to use on stairs. Highly recommend!

Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Tone

ToneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 15 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The only Miele product worthy of the hype.

published

Purchased in May 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Dear Tone, thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review!
Best regards
Joel


Usman

Usman

  • 2 reviews

Failed product and pain for Canberra buyers

published

Pathetic product stopped working after warranty period. Better off buying cheaper brand and dispose them after two years. Warranty period is scam as Miele does not have repair centre in Canberra and they refer to third party for repair who charge upfront for inspection.

Purchased in November 2016 at Harvey Norman for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers

Pop-up

Pop-upBrisbane

  • 33 reviews

Okay but not great

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

airsolaja

airsolajaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 46 reviews
  • 1 like

Miele vacuums always outperform bagless ones

published

Reliable vacuum, impeccable vacuuming. Dust bags are in my opinion far better and more hygienic solution than bagless vacuums. I would like to have an option to get covers for air filter, as they only come with the bags. Other than that no complaints. Have been using it daily for the past 10 years now and still works as a charm!

Purchased in January 2010 at Harvey Norman for $250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!

Andrew Mills

Andrew MillsSydney, NSW

Good to grwat vacuum but Miele bags too expensive

published

Purchased 2 years ago after owning the previous cat&dog for 20 years. I really want the old one back. The new one is powerful and could suck the chrome off a door handle but we own a Labrador. I would need to take a third job to pay for the Miele vacuum bags as we go through one a day. To make it worse, the cunning Germans have modified modern bags to stop the customer emptying and reusing the bag. When companies behave like that it is time to look elsewhere.

Purchased in December 2017 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Tess B.

Tess B.Perth, WA

Love it more than my children

published

Thankyou for this vacuum cleaner, it glides like butter across the floor. The swivel head is amazing and the 3 wheel design on the barrel makes it easier to pull along behind you. I will cherish it always

Purchased for $499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
See all answers

Erica M.

Erica M.Southeast, SA

  • 3 reviews

Excellent suction and Instant hair dryer

published

Excellent suction ease of handing ,purchased a larger foot attachment which suits big spaces, quiet, the retractable cord could have been longer and the exhaust should have been placed on one side. When switching power on exhaust blows directly in face which is not good.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Bronte F.

Bronte F.Darling Downs, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Amazing vacuum cleaner

published

Great vaccuum cleaner, I use this all the time. Find the suction power to be good for carpet and hard floors. Attachments are handy, especially the crevice cleaner and I use the brush one on upholstery. Easy to empty, don't have to replace bag very often. Would recommend.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thanks Bronte for taking the time to leave this review!


Nice working with it

published

Nice work on compiling Miele C3 over view and review, best I found, thanks. All the those models are available in Australia) plus it looks like miele are dumping their old 2000w models out here so some info n/a. Just one thought you might consider .


ali

aliPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent performance, powerful, quiet

published

We got it almost 5 months ago from David Jones. Since then, haven't had single issue with that. It's very quiet, very powerful and excellent accuracy in cleaning as you can't see any little stuff remained on the floor after. Our vacuum is bagged, still we are using the bag came with. To give you an idea we have a 1 bedroom unit all wooden except bedroom which has carpet. It does a nice job on both hard and soft floors. It came with 2 heads, one with brush and another one without which is designed for both soft and hard floors. Love the buttons which are located on the handle, very modern and easy to use. Bottom line: highly highly recommended. It's like a Mercedes Benz; Germans are number one.

Purchased in May 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for $500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Ali for taking the time to leave this review!

Stephen I.

Stephen I.Sydney, NSW

Powerful and lots of accessories

published

Very versatile Vacuum Cleaner. Extremely powerful with sturdy construction. The Powerhead is height adjustable for rugs etc, and the LED light makes it easy to clean under furniture etc. All in all highly recommend this Vacuum Cleaner.

Purchased in March 2017 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thanks Stephen for taking the time to leave this review!

Henri

HenriMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little vacuum

published

I have had my Miele for 6 yrs now and its a great little vacuum, I have a little dog in the house and she sheds quite a bit so my vacuum gets daily use. Ive had no problems with it and its easy to clean the filter I even got a second one so I can wash one and have another to put in straight away. Great little vacuum I would recommend one to my friends.

Purchased in May 2013 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Henri for taking the time to leave this feedback!


Paul

PaulCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Great vacuum but sticks to short carpet

published

Have only used it a few times because it is so hard to use on short pile carpet. The standard head that comes with it just does not glide at all on the carpet or rugs we have at home. So now am faced with the choice of forking out $175 for a turbo 305 head to be able to use it or returning it. Yes it is quiet but seriously it has one job to do and that is vacuum. The standard head is not designed well to work on carpets and rugs we have at home.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bing Lee for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers

Andy

AndyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Hope this one lasts

published

I am replacing my Miele Complete C3 Powerline with Complete C3 Allergy Tech Blue. C3 Powerline only lasted for 3 years. :( Hope this one lasts a bit longer. Great vacuum cleaner however it would be better if the suction hose connecting to the handle swivel like the Powerline for more flexibility.

3 comments
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Andy for providing this feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns. Kind regards, Anna.

Andy
Andy

Hi Anna,
What is the best way to reach Miele?

Miele
JoelMiele

Hi Andy, please call us on 1300 464 353 to speak with a Miele team member. Kind regards, Anna.


Simon

Simon

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Had buyers regret, but pleasantly surprised.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Simon for taking the time to leave this review!


Berocca

BeroccaBunbury

  • 29 reviews

Great Vacuum, Amazing Suction and very quiet

published

We bought this vacuum to replace an 8 year old Dyson that blew up.

The Dyson (DC23) was a good vacuum, but the Miele leaves it for dead in terms of suction and quietness.

The Miele has adjustable power which I have found has to be turned down by our cleaning lady as it has so much suction that it is too hard to push! (First World Problem)

If I had a criticism it would be that the bag full indicator is not accurate as it comes on when sucking hard even with a new bag so it is hard to tell when it needs replacing.

If you are tossing up another Dyson or a Miele - I think you will be very happy coming to this from a Dyson

Purchased in May 2019 at RetraVision for $450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Miele
JoelMiele

Thank you Berocca for taking the time to leave this review!


Page 1 of 25

Questions & Answers

Andrew M

Andrew Masked

Could the Miele rep please provide information on the power of the C3 model when operating in:

(a) "standard mode" (presumably 2.0kW?), and
(b) "energy saving" mode.

I can see that the C3 is rated at 2000kW, which is presumably the power draw when the vacuum cleaner is used on the standard setting.

However, I cannot find the wattage when the C3 is used in "energy saving" mode?

1 answer
Usman
Usman

Avoid Miele. Their after sales is disappointing. Vacuum cleaner good for the period of warranty only. If you are looking for a product with two year life then buy cheaper brand and Save money for new one.


bevaau

bevaauasked

How/If the filter needs cleaning?

No answers

Michael B.

Michael B.asked

Hi, Ive just bought a C3 Cat & Dog and am also struggling with the bag full indicator. Even before using it with the Powerhead attached its saying the bag is 3/4 fullwhen on full power. Do I simply ignore this? Thanks!

4 answers
ali
ali

Hi Michael, it's nothing to worry; It shouldn't be like this; either the indicator is jammed because of dirt or needs a little bit adjustment. Watching this video will help you to understand the mechanism: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mHGyy0sogQ
It's a simple fix. I am pretty sure Miele customer service will look after that for you.

Michael B.
Michael B.

Thanks ali. I dont think its jammed as when I turn it off it then shows empty. Its as if the moment I put it on the carpet (and short loop weave construction) suction is restricted or compromised and the indicator shows full. Is my carpet the issue? Thats said, I then move onto floorboards and its still displaying full. Perhaps I should blame its predecessor for inadequate hoovering and fine dust has blocked the bag?

ali
ali

Ahhh this is something happening for us as well. This is my guess: I assume your bag is not new and is half full? If so, putting the vacuum on high power suction makes the indicator show full bag as the whole amount of air cant quit from the proper way which is bag to chamber. In contrast, low suction causes most of air flows through proper way so it shows empty bag as the air easily goes from the proper way which is bag to chamber.
This is my understanding, although Miele technician would be the best to ask.


Get an answer from our members and Miele representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.