??!
3 photos
Blackmores Formula

Blackmores Formula

Newborn, Toddler, Follow-On
4.4 from 133 reviews

Reviews

4.4

133 reviews
5
(92)
4
(17)
3
(11)
2
(7)
1
(6)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (8)
  • Breastfed Child Yes (50%) · No (50%)
  • Easy to PrepareYes (100%) · No (0%)
  • Caused Unease / Sickness Yes (0%) · No (100%)
Previous
Next
Vivian V.

Vivian V.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Baby goes to poo while feeding

published

Hi there
My baby just take BM formula stage 2 nearly finish tin. Only I awared that during she is feeding ,she goes to poos . Its not watery but if I feeding her 3 times , then 3 times she goes pooing. Is this any problem with this. Otherwise It is a good choice for bubs

Purchased in April 2020 at My Chemist Online Store for A$29.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

BelliniB

BelliniBSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Love this formula

published

Love this formula, was using another brand but bub ends up with bad gas and farts stinks. So swap to this, powder dissolve easy and no more stinky farts. Fair price product as well.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$26.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
Mary L.

Mary L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Happy baby what more can I say!

published

My baby had issues on NAN Opti Pro so I was looking for at alternative

Blackmore formulation is similar but not the same and I could see that from bubbys first feed she really enjoyed it. She just wanted more and more.
On Blackmore she has stopped screening between burps and can now take the bottle for longer between burps.
Shes now gone from holding in poos for days to soiled nappies at least 1-2 times a day

She’s so much happier thank you Blackmore!! Another great Australian company ...hard to find worth every penny!!!

Purchased in January 2020 at Chemist Warehouse Online Store.

Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
Baby Formulas

Find out how Blackmores Formula compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liis

LiisSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Smells and tastes closest to my breastmilk

published

Smells and tastes closest to my breastmilk compared to so many other formulas we have tried. Little one is also very regular and not constipated or straining just to pass wind as seen with other formulas. Dissolves very well, no lumps left behind.

Purchased in October 2019 at Chemist Warehouse.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

I have a newborn for 4 months we have been using the newborn formula as it is truly great, it is now out of stock!

published

It was perfect formula but so disappointed that it is out of stock as I trusted this brand so much!! Do you know how hard it is now to find a formula at 4 months old

Purchased at Chemist Warehouse for A$28.99.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
2 comments
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Mum
Mum

Thank you, but unfortunately selling it to China is not helping Australian families.

Srah

Srah

  • 7 reviews

Nice works well

published

Easy to prepare doesn't form any lumps or foam and bub enjoy drinking this formula and diapers are good no constipated and no side effects and no reaction by drinking this formula.but I don't know why they discontinued

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for A$30.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
2 comments
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Srah
Srah

Thanks

Emma

EmmaSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great product!

published

My mum brought this for me while I was pregnant and I was unsure if I was gonna use it as a first time mum but I started using Blackmore formula occasionally to feed my son and I’d say his pretty satisfied with it

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

D_p

D_pMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Keeps baby satisfied for longer overnight

published

Baby (2.5mo) regularly drinks a between 115-135ml of a serving between 10-11pm as a top up feed. Sleeps til nearly 4am after that. The rest of the day she is on breastmilk, and I give her 1 bottle of formula per day as a top up.
Formula dissolves easily in warm water.
Was on sale a few weeks ago, so stocked up.

Purchased in May 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store for A$19.99.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Thanks for your review. If you have any questions for us, please get in touch on 1800 808 669 (freecall within Australia).
With kind regards,
Julie

LynL

LynLGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

Creamy and loved by baby

published

Baby enjoys this in comparison to 2 other popular formula brands out there. Finishes the whole serve.
No noticeable side effects, perhaps she doesn't poo as often as when she is on breastmilk. Sleeps well after. Easy to prep, scoop is a good size (2 scoops for 120ml), so it's less troublesome than another formula which requires 4 scoops per 120ml due to a smaller scoop provided.
I would repurchase.

Purchased in May 2019 at Chemist Warehouse Online Store for A$19.98.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers
1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Hi Lyn,
Thanks for your review. If you have any questions for us, please get in touch on 1800 808 669 (freecall within Australia).
With kind regards,
Julie

Baby Formulas

Find out how Blackmores Formula compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kayla O.

Kayla O.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Loved this product.

published

My son was originally on NAN and after him habing bad reflux we were advised to change formulas, we went to blackmores and were so happy. It was great while we were able to purchase it, it became harder to find and buy by the time my son was moving up to the 2 so we decided to cut it rather then keep looking and not finding it. I did also use to stock up when it was on sale which was quiet alot which was a big plus for me.

Purchased in March 2017 for A$16.00.

Value for Money
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Little Bub Loves it

published

I was very apprehensive of putting my third baby onto a milk based formula after my first baby have a milk reaction (I put my second Bub straight on to soy!). With my third Bub I started straight into this formula and never looked back. I thought I would be going through the dramas of trying three or four different formulas, but this hasn't been great from the start.
Very important for us that it is made in Australia.
Shame Woolworths has stopped selling it, but can buy at Chemist Warehouse

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
ISHA

ISHAMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Perfect

published

My kid started with another baby formula, which didn't suit her at all as she pukes just after having it every time. Then we started with black mores, luckily she liked this taste and loved drinking it. Obviously I read the reviews first as I already took the chance with the previous one which didn't worked well.

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Sarai

SaraiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great find!

published
1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

We're happy to hear that your son is doing well Sarai. If you have any questions or concerns, please call 1800 808 669 (feecall within Australia).
With kind regards,
Julie

Skye W

Skye WSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

The best

published

My little girl was a preemie, we had so much trouble getting weight on her and we tried 6 different formulas.
This one saved us, she is putting weight on and has no nasty side effects. Blackmores really nailed it with this 1. I am forever great full. Unfortunately Woolworths have deleted this line. Chemist warehouse here I come.

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Aubs83

Aubs83AU

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Fantastic formula but sadly Woolworths are deleting!

published

We love this formula. Our baby is happy and growing well. After noticing it’s absence on the shelves at multiple Woolworths stores i sent a message to Woolworths who have replied sadly with “unfortunately we can confirm the Blackmores Formula Stage 1 900g has been discontinued from our stores. We always want to provide you with the products you'd like to see on shelves first and foremost so rest assured we will share this with the team for consideration at the following range review. Never say never.”

There should be some process where parents are warned in advance about this. Very upset. We will have to start looking for an alternate.

2 comments
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Aubs83
Aubs83

Thank you for this info! We have a Chemist Warehouse not far from us so that’s great.

Baby Formulas

Find out how Blackmores Formula compares to other Baby Formulas

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ann

AnnRyde

  • 7 reviews

Nice

published

I have tried few different brands and this is the best one. It dissolve into cold or room temperature water ( others not really). And it taste really good. I can even use it as a normal milk powder for adults. There's so strange flavour. The price is not the most expensive in the market however it can still go cheaper. It doesn't always have promotion but hope there's more discount for Xmas season

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Thanks so much for your review Ann. Please give us a call on 1800 808 669 (freecall within Australia) if you any questions.
With kind regards,
Julie

Courty

Courty

  • 7 reviews

My toddler loves the taste!

published

My toddler absolutely love this formula. We have used a few other brands but this one seems to be her favourite as she never leaves a drop! It is very easy to mix up with the measuring spoon including and easy to read instructions and it is loaded with lots of vitamins and minerals for growing babies. It is more expensive than some of the other formulas on the market but I think it is definitely worth paying the extra for. Thanks :)

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Thanks for your review Courty, we're glad to hear your little one is doing well. If you have any questions for us, we're here on 1800 808 669 (free call within Australia) or email to advice@balckmores.com.au.

With kind regards,
Julie

Horrible

published

This formula sneaks up on you. No newborn child or any child should go through the pain from this formula. My poor baby has been screaming for almost 2 days because this formula makes him so constipated. I’m a first time mum and not knowing how to help my baby and crying with him because he’s in so much pain.
Not impressed at all.

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Jess

JessCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hard to find sometimes but worth the look!

published

This formula made our transition from breastfeeding very easy! But we have had times when we couldn't find a tin anywhere so we once had to travel out of state just for formula. It is also priced differently at every supplier but overall very happy with the product and would recommend it!

1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores
Leesha

LeeshaIpswich

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but bad!

published
1 comment
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Dear Lessha,
Thank you for review. I'm sorry to hear that your baby has been uncomfortable. If you would like to discuss this with our infant adviser, please call us on 1800 808 669 (freecall in Australia).
With kind regards,
Julie

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Ngoc Han I.

Ngoc Han I.asked

Formula

Hi. I would like to know about the color of milk powder. Is it yellowish or dark yellow. It will go under the water when we putting the powder in cold water or not. Please give an advice. Many thanks.

2 answers
BelliniB
BelliniB

Yellowish white, more towards white u think. (from my perspective) it normally sits on top of the water till u shake it up

Ngoc Han I.
Ngoc Han I.

From my observation, it is totally different. Its color is more toward not yellowish white and it does not sit on top of the water till I shake it up. It automatically goes under the water. I wonder that whether it is a authentic product or not. Please give an advice on it. Thank you very much.

Ashlee L.

Ashlee L.asked

Formula

My 7 week old son suffers from terrible gas. He gets very upset a lot during the day. So far we have tried 4 different formula mama without success. Is Blackmores a good formula for sensitive little tummies? Im desperate!

1 answer
Liis
Liis

I also tried more than hand-full different formulas, have found my 4m.old bb most suited to Blackmores newborn formula. Drinks it well, with regular daily poops. Mixes well and tastes better than the rest in my opinion. Even my other 7 yr old says she likes the taste and always wants her baby sis left overs....lolz! Only issue is the stage 1 for newborn is getting very popular now and may be hard to find. Blackmores has informed me that stock should come back in late December 2019.

Aina

Ainaasked

Formula Toddler

Hi, my daughter have lactose intolerance. Is this formula suits her?

2 answers
Blackmores
Julie C.Blackmores

Dear Aina,
Blackmores Toddler Milk drink is dairy based and contains lactose and is not suitable for toddlers with lactose intolerance.
Please give us a call on 18008 808 669 (free call in Australia) if you have any further questions.
With kind regards,
Julie

Sujatha
Sujatha

Even i think it is not suitable for ur baby.Better Consult your GP

Get an answer from our members and Blackmores representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.