??!

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1

nick

nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lemon Car

published

only prestige looking - otherwise LEMON CAR - will run first 40-50 000 kms without a problem and then issues coming as one behind behind - very bad lot of problems end up with expensive repairs and maintenance

Purchased in March 2016 for $100,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

trev

trevSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my bmw f15 x5 30d

published

I bought my x5 fi5 30d brand new 3 years ago have done 60,000 km have not had a single problem
I drive it every day I did buy the service package which I think was a good idea probably after the warrenty expires I will get it serviced privately as the dealers are very expensive before this car I had a 2009 x5 e70 also very good .There is something special about bmw I really enjoy the brand.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD
Aidos

AidosKarrinyup

  • 3 reviews

It is hard to drive anything else now...

published

This is my second X5 and I have to say driving anything else is a pain. The car is quiet, accelerates aggressively when you want it too, comfortable and has all the trimmings you would expect from BMW. I hire a lot of cars when I travel for work, and getting into Toyota, Holden, Ford, Kia or something else is like stepping back in time. I got all my servicing including in my package and the people at West Coast BMW treat you like a friend.

BadgexDrive40d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Dominic L O

Dominic L OWELLINGTON POINT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW

published
BadgeM
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Martin

MartinBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car, hard to fault.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Rakesh

RakeshPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great luxury car

published

The driving experience is amazing not much noise, easy to handle and great performance. The interior in mine is cream and it looks amazing I also have great legroom and the dashboard is very fancy. This is where the bad part comes it is really expensive to maintain i.e, fuel, oil, maintenance, brakes and etc. are super costly.

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

BMW X5

published

s25d have twin turbo engine and power is excellent considering the size of engine. Also s25d is very fuel efficient
I have a lot of fun to drive this car and BMW service is also excellent. And shape of the car is very attractive. The light is so bright at night.

BadgesDrive25d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

Fred

FredGold coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still enjoy our x5

published

Our BMW x5 still is enjoyable to drive and is comfortable . Lots of nice features and air conditioning is nice.
Seats are comfortable and lots of legroom. Great performance on long and short trips and for daily driving to and from my work. Should last us for a while.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Awesome SUV - Love it!

published

Purchased a new 2016 X5 30D with M-Sport, panoramic glass roof and innovations package. Plus 5 year warranty.
Lots of cool features, great performance for a large car and very comfortable. Maybe too comfortable.
Love the active cruise control, head up display, lane departure warning, fuel economy and so much more.
Highly recommend this vehicle.
Previous car was a BMW E92 335i which was great apart from the rattly turbo waste gates.
Loved the car and the performance but the seat belt extenders were a bad design and as mentioned above, the turbos can be noisy.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Unimpressed

UnimpressedBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

What a Brillant SUV!

published

Purchased in February 2017 for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

See all BMW X5 reviews

Questions & Answers

glenn

glennasked

how do you put your X5 in 4WD mode?

1 answer
terrywang
terrywang

xDrive is permanent All Wheel Drive, you cannot switch between 2WD(RWD) and AWD.


jqm986

jqm986asked

I just bought a BMW X5 F15 30D. Sales told me the BMW diesel very reliable and shouldn't have any particulate filter problem like other brand.
I might only drive metro and not much highway probably 5K ~ 10K km a year. Does anyone know the new X5 still have DPF and my situation may not be suitable for diesel?

2 answers
janaka
janaka

Until something goes wrong you can't tell but make sure you service it and get a computer put on it and tested to see if there's any faults which you should have done when you purchased it if you have any codes pop up you need to clear it and see if you have any problems.I hope it will help please ask if you have any problems

Anyone buying a Diesel car that travels less than 40,000km's per year (110km's per day) is just wasting their money.
Diesel's are designed for heavy towing and long haul driving.
To answer your question, the DPF will self clean (within reason) in long motorway drives. Other than that, it will need to be serviced.


Mary Stulner

Mary Stulnerasked

can a BMW x5 be left for 4 weeks without being started or driven?

3 answers

There's two answers to that question.
1) Yes and make sure you leave as little fuel in the tank as possible and you have no known electrical and/or fuel problems.
2) No - if you park the car in a garage/other and your insurance isn't paid up to date plus the above.

Unimpressed
Unimpressed

Left parked for 6 weeks while overseas and not a single issue.

Well Unimpressed, option 1: was the correct choice for you.
I mean, who would leave a car with a full tank of fuel parked at home, in a garage, for so long when so many modern day cars just catch fire.


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

BMW X5 F15 sDrive25d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 sDrive25d (2014-2018)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive25d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive25d (2014-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive40d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive40d (2014-2018)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive35i
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive35i (2014-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 F15 M
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 M (2015-2018)

5.0
(1)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive30d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive30d (2013-2018)

4.6
(5)
BMW X5 F15 xDrive50i
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive50i (2013-2018)

0.0
(0)
BMW X5 F15 M50d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 M50d (2013-2018)

0.0
(0)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $93,990$91,155$124,990$109,615$112,990$143,619$144,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselPetrolDiesel
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
Doors55555555
Seats55555555
Fuel Consumption5.5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.3 L/100km8.5 L/100km6.2 L/100km10.5 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L8 Cylinder 4.4L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power170kW @ 4400rpm170kW @ 4400rpm230kW @ 4400rpm225kW @ 6000rpm190kW @ 4000rpm330kW @ 6000rpm280kW @ 4400rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 1500-3000rpm500Nm @ 1500-3000rpm630Nm @ 1500-2500rpm400Nm @ 1200-5000rpm560Nm @ 1500-3000rpm650Nm @ 2000-4500rpm740Nm @ 2000-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMar 2014Mar 2014Mar 2014Mar 2014Apr 2015Nov 2013Nov 2013Nov 2013
Discontinuation dateOct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018
Compare all BMW X5

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.