??!
7 photos
Mitsubishi Outlander

Mitsubishi Outlander

ZG, ZH, ZJ, ZE, ZF, etc...
4.1 from 247 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
127
4 star
72
3 star
16
2 star
15
1 star
17

Avnish

AvnishSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice Car good value

published

Bought seven seater Mitsubishi outlander from motorama springwood. Very happy with the car and support by staff at Motorama springwood both sales and service teams were fantastic in providing information on time.

Purchased in June 2019 at Motorama Mitsubishi for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Gary

GaryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Well the car is an amazing vehicle but the service was expensive and terrible

published

2017 model took it in for capacity loss but been told it is all good and as per design.
Had to take it to Adelaide to fix it.
Yes I did have to drive it to Adelie from Melbourne because nobody knew a thing about it here

Purchased in March 2019 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Justin

JustinSydney, NSW

Don't bother

published

Very bad on fuel,for a 60 litre tank the maximum I get out of it is 500kms no matter how I drive.Sensors in the car keep going off randomly for no reason and connecting samsung phone via Bluetooth to play music keeps cutting out.Sound quality isn't the best and you have to turn stereo up to well over half way to hear it properly.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Doooooob

Doooooob

  • 9 reviews

Excellent car

published

Got this after a lot of bargain at 28.7k. Needed a seven seater for my family and the regular visitors from overseas. The car is value for money, it has got all the bells and whistles, safety features like lane departure warning and forward collision plus adaptive cruise control, auto lights, reverse camera.. Etc

Mileage is good due to CVT engine and got enough power to overtake on the road. Use sport mode if you want immediate power.

Go for it if you are after seven seater and practical family car.

Cheers.

Purchased for $28,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Mimi

MimiSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Great car at a great price

published

We are a family of four and this car is great, comfortably fits two car seats at the back however it's too tight for a 3rd adult in the middle. You would have to buy more slim line baby car seats. I like that it is a 7 seater. Lot's of room.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
See all answers

Scott

ScottGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value for money

published

Replaced our 2014 with a 2018 ls 7 seater. Great price for a 7 seater. Has all you need. Hasnt let us down its a great family car. For day to day or roadtrips it does it all

Purchased in March 2018 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

WHATCANISAY

WHATCANISAYPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

OUTLANDER OUT PROFORMS ITSELF

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Rockingham Mitsubishi for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

jye

jyeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Awesome - a step ahead of the rest

published

140k's a day mixed freeway and city driving and weekenders. Great all round car, smooth on freeways at high speeds, responsive from a red light and fuel efficient. Services only ever 15,000k's ( unlike others ) and still same price, value ! We've always had pajero's tritons lancers 380's Vrx / pajero sport also and never skipped a beat at all, but have lasted with high k's. Tried BMW and VW but was hopeless the x3 was a beautiful car but died at 96,000k's. Just love this outlander fits our two large dogs in easy, and is our cheap commuter car but has everything you need. Extremely safe to which is ahead of majority in competition.

Purchased in June 2019 for $22,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Andrewse

AndrewseHobart, TAS

  • 4 reviews

Excellent vehicle

published

Owned the 2017 zk outlander for almost 12 months and pretty much don't have a bad work to say about it. A easy pick when choosing a new car over Nissan and Subaru.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sue J

Sue JGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not crazy about this car

published

Chose this car because of country travel and 3 rows of seats. Lots of extras with top of the range model including seat warmers etc but it feels cheap. Power is lacking on acceleration and not great for city driving. Will not get another Mitsubishi when my novated lease expires in a year.

Purchased in April 2016 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Engine Overhaul

published

Has anyone gone for engine overhaul? If yes, how much has you spend on the overhaul? Was it with Mitsubishi or just a non-M mechanic? If non-M, can you recommend?

Purchased in September 2012.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2008

mello

mello

  • 2 reviews

Great Car - Very Versatile, Roomy, Reliable.

published

Purchased in December 2010.

TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2009
Design
Boot Size
See all answers

Phil

PhilEbor nsw

  • 21 reviews
  • 3 likes

160,000 Kms , 9 YEARS and only minor faults

published

Purchased in March 2010 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

dtc code u011b vlc can timeout

published

my outlander 2014 model. the code dtc show ( U011B - VLC CAN TIMOUT ) what can do. when show this code the car is run to slow and show engine check light

Purchased in December 2014.

Year2014

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

val

valIngleburn

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

CVT Fails and its Expensive to fix

published

I bought a 2012/13 model outlander and after clocking 50,000 kilometres the cvt fail. I rang up suppliers and found out that too many outlanders in the wrecking yard mostly with failed CVT. A rebuild CVT cost 5,500 AUD and may last for another 5 years if you are lucky. No wonder why Mitsubishi is cheap, coz you will be spending a fortune once cvt fails.

Purchased in October 2016 at Tynan Motors for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mark

MarkRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible customer service, very hard to talk to a person

published

I am writing this in the hope that a real person will call me about a serious Dealership complaint. The Electric component of my Phev is only good for 40 KMS . It should do 300 and they say nothing is wrong with it. If that's true I will go to the department of Fair Trading as they car has false advertising.

Purchased in June 2017.

Year2014

Mudith Jayasinghe

Mudith JayasingheGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best outlander model they have ever released.

published

I’ve purchased the outlander LS MY19 a couple of weeks ago. An amazing car with all the modern features you can think of.
Lane departure warning, autonomous emergency braking are the best safety features I enjoy. Front (I’ve added this for $399) and revers parking sensors and revers camera are fantastic.
Comfortability is at its best, headed partial leather seats, dual zone climate control, 7
Seats, cup holders, auto wipers, auto head lights, heated mirrors are some of the features.

Purchased in February 2019 for $30,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Alyse M

Alyse MMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

The best car we've had!

published

Woah! This car is amazing! Super comfortable seats, 7 seats which fold into the floor so you have ample space in the back! The air-conditioner is amazing! Super cold in summer! Runs like a dream, reversing camera makes things easy and the charging ports in the back are convenient for passengers!

Purchased in October 2017 at Mitsubishi Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

DON’T DO IT

published

6 months ago I purchased a brand new Mitsubishi Outlander LS model. I was drawn to the fact that it had pretty much all I wanted and needed in a car for just over $30,000.
This car is a gutless fuel guzzler, I’ve had electrical problem after electrical problem, won’t lock, won’t unlock, won’t start, reverseing camera won’t work, the interior quality is absolutely terrible and the seats are uncomfortable.
Very disappointing

BadgeLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
DriveFWD

Amy L

Amy LBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Great value for money. Boot is the best!

published

This is great value for money car. Part of reason I bought it was the decent boot size. So many other cars in this category have small boots which would not fit a pram, scooters , beach gear, groceries and more in it. I also love that you can see the front of the car from the driver seat- so many cars have average vision. I love my outlander- it does the right thing by me!

BadgeXLS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Drive4WD

Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Bob

Bobasked

My Mitsubishi Outlander 2006 (ZG.ZH - 11.06 to 10.12) has a fuel tank level indicator problem is the problem with the sensor or the computer. When full the indication is correct but rapidly drops and at 300 kilometres shows need for refuel, but only takes 30 litres to full.

No answers

GR A.

GR A.asked

Hi My right side front camber needs adjustment as its out from the bottem part of the tire a bit - what are my options please

1 answer
GR A.
GR A.

Hi its Outlander LS (FWD) model


Maureen C

Maureen Casked

I have a 2003 mitsubishi outlander ze, it is badged as 4wd but I can't find any 4wd switch

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mitsubishi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.