??!
7 photos
Mitsubishi Outlander

Mitsubishi Outlander

ZG, ZH, ZJ, ZE, ZF, etc...
4.1 from 265 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (38)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (38)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (36)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (36)
  • Braking
    4.4 (35)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (35)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (33)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (35)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (35)
  • Handling
    4.2 (35)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (35)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (36)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (34)
  • Features
    4.0 (34)
Previous
Next
Dave G.

Dave G.

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Thirsty, too easy to skid

published

Have had a 2012 ZH Outlander 5sp manual for a year, and while I really like Mitsubishi, this model is pretty average. Fuel consumption is heavy, however when the fuel light comes on I can get at least 45km before refilling. It is too easy to induce a front-wheel skid and spin the wheels in this, even when taking off on a level road. I would not want to tow anything as a result. I recently bought new tyres, and it is still skidding when I take off turning a corner with foot to the floor. It is very sluggish acceleration until the engine gets to about 1800rpm. so you need to give plenty of accelerator when taking off. However, one good feature is that it has rear folding seats that give you more room in the back for large items.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

towing with Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV ZK ES (2018-2020)

published

Despite what the brochures say the Mitsubishi PHEV ZK is not suitable (or rather safe) for any sort of towing if there is any chance of having to go up a slope. They (Mitsubishi) don't advertise the fact it has 'torque limiting' apparently to protect the electric motors. It means if you have to stop on an uphill slope due to traffic etc you will not be able to move off. A PHEV loaded to its max GCM (1500kg trailer + passengers) struggles to move if the gradient is greater than approximately 6 deg. Even at its GVM (passengers + baggage, no trailer) the limit is about 9 deg.

Purchased in June 2020 for $57,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Robert

RobertCanberra Central 2601, ACT

2011 ZH Outlander LS 2.4 5 seater 4WD Auto CVT. Full size spare.

published

Purchased in July 2015 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Outlander compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Loyal to good businesses

Loyal to good businessesUnincorporated, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Towing with a Mitsubishi PHEV

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Frank

FrankGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic SUV. Big Size but very fuel efficient.

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $31,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The Mitsubishi PHEV Exceed 2020 model - after 4 weeks

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Australian Motors for $57,634.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Perry

PerrySydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This is my fourth Outlander

published

I believe the Outlander is best value for money of all vehicles in its category. It's not necessarily the quickest or best equipped, but for all-round value it's hard to beat. Admittedly, my usage is low, more of a runaround, so I can't speak for how well it survives long-distance commuting, for example. Certainly worth consideration if you're in the market for a family SVU.

Purchased in February 2019 at Booths Wyong for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Don’t be DECEIVE by the sales price at NORTHSHORE Mitsubishi RYDE!

published

# AVOID NORTHSHORE Mitsubishi # at all cost.
Read all the reviews left by customers at their Facebook Page and Google review for both Mitsubishi and Hunter Holder !
The same dealer principle for Hunter Holden Ryde ,603 Victoria Road NSW
They will lied to you with the LOWest price compare with other Mitsubishi dealership but the price you pay for a POOR after sales service and EXPENSIVE spares parts is what you get. Misled and Misrepresented of the product is what they are good at ...STAY AWAY please don’t b tempted by their low price you pay what for you get

Purchased in March 2020 at Northshore Mitshubishi .

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
J Hump

J HumpHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good choice for second hand vehicle

published

I was pleasantly surprised to how smoothly my car drives. Fuel economy is very reasonable. Inside space and back seating roomy and comfortable. Best to consider bigger than the two litre engine, as underpowered on hilly roads.

Purchased in June 2019 at Oz cars for $16,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Outlander compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nitish

Nitish

  • 5 reviews

Great Car

published

I use my outlander to go to work and family outings it has heaps of space in it.
Very smooth in driving i drove it to snowy mountains very comfi drive.
Service it regularly from dealership.

Purchased in April 2019 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ray

Ray

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

warranty repairs

published

Bought my 2017 outlander brand new within 12 months the carpet started to fall apart (no where near feet area) MMA replaced and said it was a good will.
Roughly 12 month later same place same issue. Was told sorry its wear and tear through foot traffic. Funny unless u are driving with a twisted foot.
I now in the process of taking them to the small claims tribunal

Purchased in February 2017 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Matt H

Matt H

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Outlander

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Loyal to good businesses

Loyal to good businessesUnincorporated, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 8 likes

Misunderstood by car reviewers

published

Purchased for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ray

Ray

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Happy with vehicle but not happy with warranty. Carpet falling apart, it was replaced once,

published

Mitsubishi said the issue is wear and tear, however the issue is on the side wall not on the floor were shoes can wear out carpet.
Been told i have to pay for it at $1700.
It was replaced once under warranty, but they wont admit its a fault.

Purchased in February 2017 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Its crap. Dont buy it

published

I bought a 2013 second hand outlander. Engine light came up, transmission needs service, 4wd needs service, ASC needs service messages came up. Took it to a few mechanics done all the services but still the same. The car doesnt speed more than 60 km/hr. Dont buy it

Purchased for $13,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Outlander compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

CVT FAILURE....

published

ZK 2.4 4X4 SAFETY PACK...Complete cvt failure and replacement required after 83000km..Thankfully covered by warranty,but will take more than a month to get done due to no transmissions available in the country...
This vehicle has always been maintained on time at the dealer...Once it's repaired we will be getting rid of it for something without a cvt...

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Carlos BM

Carlos BMSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect family car price and value very happy and good comfort

published

I using my car for work and personal use then for my everyday needs and doing the normal service and no problems at all.
Very cheap to run and perfect space.

Purchased in March 2018 for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Avnish

AvnishSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Nice Car good value

published

Bought seven seater Mitsubishi outlander from motorama springwood. Very happy with the car and support by staff at Motorama springwood both sales and service teams were fantastic in providing information on time.

Purchased in June 2019 at Motorama Mitsubishi for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Gary

GaryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Well the car is an amazing vehicle but the service was expensive and terrible

published

2017 model took it in for capacity loss but been told it is all good and as per design.
Had to take it to Adelaide to fix it.
Yes I did have to drive it to Adelie from Melbourne because nobody knew a thing about it here

Purchased in March 2019 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Justin

JustinSydney, NSW

Don't bother

published

Very bad on fuel,for a 60 litre tank the maximum I get out of it is 500kms no matter how I drive.Sensors in the car keep going off randomly for no reason and connecting samsung phone via Bluetooth to play music keeps cutting out.Sound quality isn't the best and you have to turn stereo up to well over half way to hear it properly.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Dale T.

Dale T.asked

Outlander ZE, ZF (2003-2006)

Hi all. The drive belt in my mivec zf went and I’m now motorless. Finding it hard to find another zf motor, would the next motor up (zg or upwards) fit it? Thank you in advance

No answers
gerry161

gerry161asked

Outlander

Where can I find my 2 reviews yesterday, I found an update I did on an old post, but not the one on Service and Warranty costs etc?

2 answers
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Why ask the public??

gerry161
gerry161

No reply needed.

John B.

John B.asked

Outlander ZK (2015-2017)

Process for servicing automatic transmission

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 28 Mitsubishi Outlander
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $45,990$47,490$53,990$45,290
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeHybridHybridHybridPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption1.7 L/100km1.7 L/100km1.7 L/100km7.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0 L4 Cylinder 2.0 L4 Cylinder 2.0 L4 Cylinder 2.2 L
Max Power87kW @ 4500rpm87kW @ 4500rpm87kW @ 4500rpm124kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque186Nm @ 4500rpm186Nm @ 4500rpm186Nm @ 4500rpm220Nm @ 4200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance190 mm190 mm190 mm190 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateSept 2018Sept 2018Sept 2018Nov 2017
Compare all 28 Mitsubishi Outlander

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.