7 photos
Mitsubishi Outlander

Mitsubishi Outlander

ZG, ZH, ZJ, ZE, ZF, etc...
4.1 from 267 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mitsubishi? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (39)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (39)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (36)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (37)
  • Braking
    4.4 (36)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (36)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (34)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (36)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (36)
  • Handling
    4.2 (36)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (36)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (37)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (35)
  • Features
    3.9 (35)
Previous
Next
Dean B
Dean B
  • 4 reviews
  • 13 likes

Outlander BUYER BEWARE

published
Incentivised Review No
Sangar X.
Sangar X.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Absolute rubbish

published

Rear main leak at 30,000 kms. Bearing at 60,000. Mistubishi Australia refuses to do warranty work as the issues arent big enough. Will never buy another mitsubishi again.
Car has issues excellerating, but aparently its normal.

Purchased in October 2017 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Dave G.
Dave G.
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Thirsty, too easy to skid

published

Have had a 2012 ZH Outlander 5sp manual for a year, and while I really like Mitsubishi, this model is pretty average. Fuel consumption is heavy, however when the fuel light comes on I can get at least 45km before refilling. It is too easy to induce a front-wheel skid and spin the wheels in this, even when taking off on a level road. I would not want to tow anything as a result. I recently bought new tyres, and it is still skidding when I take off turning a corner with foot to the floor. It is very sluggish acceleration until the engine gets to about 1800rpm. so you need to give plenty of accelerator when taking off. However, one good feature is that it has rear folding seats that give you more room in the back for large items.

Incentivised Review No
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Outlander compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Frank
FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

towing with Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV ZK ES (2018-2020)

published

Despite what the brochures say the Mitsubishi PHEV ZK is not suitable (or rather safe) for any sort of towing if there is any chance of having to go up a slope. They (Mitsubishi) don't advertise the fact it has 'torque limiting' apparently to protect the electric motors. It means if you have to stop on an uphill slope due to traffic etc you will not be able to move off. A PHEV loaded to its max GCM (1500kg trailer + passengers) struggles to move if the gradient is greater than approximately 6 deg. Even at its GVM (passengers + baggage, no trailer) the limit is about 9 deg.

Purchased in June 2020 for $57,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Robert
RobertCanberra Central 2601, ACT

2011 ZH Outlander LS 2.4 5 seater 4WD Auto CVT. Full size spare.

published

Purchased in July 2015 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Loyal to good businesses
Loyal to good businessesUnincorporated, VIC
  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Towing with a Mitsubishi PHEV

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Frank
FrankGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic SUV. Big Size but very fuel efficient.

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $31,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Frank
FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The Mitsubishi PHEV Exceed 2020 model - after 4 weeks

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Australian Motors for $57,634.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Perry
PerrySydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This is my fourth Outlander

published

I believe the Outlander is best value for money of all vehicles in its category. It's not necessarily the quickest or best equipped, but for all-round value it's hard to beat. Admittedly, my usage is low, more of a runaround, so I can't speak for how well it survives long-distance commuting, for example. Certainly worth consideration if you're in the market for a family SVU.

Purchased in February 2019 at Booths Wyong for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Outlander compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don’t be DECEIVE by the sales price at NORTHSHORE Mitsubishi RYDE!

published

# AVOID NORTHSHORE Mitsubishi # at all cost.
Read all the reviews left by customers at their Facebook Page and Google review for both Mitsubishi and Hunter Holder !
The same dealer principle for Hunter Holden Ryde ,603 Victoria Road NSW
They will lied to you with the LOWest price compare with other Mitsubishi dealership but the price you pay for a POOR after sales service and EXPENSIVE spares parts is what you get. Misled and Misrepresented of the product is what they are good at ...STAY AWAY please don’t b tempted by their low price you pay what for you get

Purchased in March 2020 at Northshore Mitshubishi .

Build Quality
Value for Money
J Hump
J HumpHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good choice for second hand vehicle

published

I was pleasantly surprised to how smoothly my car drives. Fuel economy is very reasonable. Inside space and back seating roomy and comfortable. Best to consider bigger than the two litre engine, as underpowered on hilly roads.

Purchased in June 2019 at Oz cars for $16,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nitish
Nitish
  • 5 reviews

I use my outlander to go to work and family outings it has heaps of space in it.
Very smooth in driving i drove it to snowy mountains very comfi drive.
Service it regularly from dealership.

Purchased in April 2019 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ray
Ray
  • 14 reviews
  • 7 likes

warranty repairs

published

Bought my 2017 outlander brand new within 12 months the carpet started to fall apart (no where near feet area) MMA replaced and said it was a good will.
Roughly 12 month later same place same issue. Was told sorry its wear and tear through foot traffic. Funny unless u are driving with a twisted foot.
I now in the process of taking them to the small claims tribunal

Purchased in February 2017 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Matt H
Matt H
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Outlander

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Mitsubishi Dealers for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Loyal to good businesses
Loyal to good businessesUnincorporated, VIC
  • 21 reviews
  • 9 likes

Misunderstood by car reviewers

published

Purchased for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mitsubishi Outlander compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

alan
alanasked
Outlander

is the 2014 automatic 2.5 4x4 outlander relieable and what goes wrong

No answers
Bree W.
Bree W.asked
Outlander ZJ (2014-2015)

I have a diesel, have had it 2 year, the last year there has been the odd little chug when coasting along the highway. This problem got rapidly worse and the car blows smoke and loses power and ability to get revs up.
I have replaced the MAF sensor yesterday and it went beautifully until this morning when it was cold and it played up again. It’s blowing smoke, can get revs or power up, just dies when you press the accelerator. Starts and idles fine.

3 answers
Sangar X.
Sangar X.

Take it to a local mechanic, they will look iver it for you, Mitsubishi are hopeless at their own brand.

John C.
John C.

Take off air inlet hose & try a few spurts of throttle body cleaner. And of course make sure to replace air filter if you havn't done so.

John C.
John C.

Wipe around inside of throttle body carefully with a clean rag. Check outside of throttle body for leaks of oily sludge or soot. Would also replace fuel filter.

Doooooob
Doooooobasked
Outlander

Hi, I have an outlander LS 2018.5 MY. Have been using premium 98 fuel, personally I found the mileage is better than 91 and its bit smooth to drive.

I read a few articles about premium fuels not necessary benefit the cars where recommended fuel is 91. Now I am doubting myself on the improvements am getting in my car is not a placebo (haha), hence asking other outlander owners their experience using 98 fuel

No answers
See all Mitsubishi Outlander questions

Get an answer from our members

Mitsubishi Outlander

Details

Compare all 28 Mitsubishi Outlander
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $45,990$47,490$53,990$45,290
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic and Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeHybridHybridHybridPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption1.7 L/100km1.7 L/100km1.7 L/100km7.2 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L45 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0 L4 Cylinder 2.0 L4 Cylinder 2.0 L4 Cylinder 2.2 L
Max Power87kW @ 4500rpm87kW @ 4500rpm87kW @ 4500rpm124kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque186Nm @ 4500rpm186Nm @ 4500rpm186Nm @ 4500rpm220Nm @ 4200rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,500 kg1,500 kg1,500 kg1,600 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance190 mm190 mm190 mm190 mm
Release dateSept 2018Sept 2018Sept 2018Nov 2017
Compare all 28 Mitsubishi Outlander
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.