??!
7 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 259 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (44)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (46)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (44)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (46)
  • Braking
    4.6 (46)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (46)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (42)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (46)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (46)
  • Handling
    4.4 (46)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (45)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (46)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (46)
  • Features
    4.3 (46)
Previous
Next
WCC

WCCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Comfort with incredible economy

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Fonsie

FonsieSydney, NSW

Great packaging. Overall a well designed SUV

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Johnson T.

Johnson T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Lovely SUV and good petrol consumption

published

I bought the Rav4 Hybrid Cruiser since Aug 2019. These are the benefit points:
- value for money
- low petrol consumption (900 km mileage usage per tank)
- Quite and smooth transmission
- Top interior quality

Purchased in August 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$45,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
natureboy t.

natureboy t.Far North Queensland, QLD

Simply one of THEE BEST cars I've owned.

published

I use my car going off in trips and around town. I get it serviced every 6 months and the ONLY issue is the drivers window. The cog must be stuck, but never bothered to get it repaired, not important. Its got 109,000. ks on it.

Purchased in September 2005 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2001
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Justin

JustinMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely love it

published

Such a great drive, so relaxed & comfortable with outstanding fuel efficiency. Brakes are fantastic a massive improvement on my previous 07/2015 Camry Altise Hybrid. Really good space making it feel so spacious inside whilst feeling compact outside, noise levels inside are really quiet. Awesome tech & safety features like Radar Cruise Control, Blind spot Monitoring, Lane keep assist & CarPlay, etc make any journey enjoyable & calming. Vision is fantastic, especially like the extra little windows on the front doors instead of internal side mirror covers which really reduces the front blind spots, side mirrors also give an excellent view down both sides. Nice looking vehicle even the base model, highly recommended. Great job Toyota.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No brainer

published

If you thinking of spending around $40K for a SUV, strongly consider the Toyota RAV 4 Hybrid. It has numerous safety features with many bells and whistles. Extremely fuel efficient. Currently getting around 880 km on a tank of petrol. Fuel gauge is displaying 5.7 litres per 100 km. Extremely quiet and excellent for the environment. It will hold its value over many years. Had to wait 5 months for delivery but well worth the wait. Toyota have been making hybrids for over 20 years so their technology is well ahead of the pack. Highly recommended. Absolute no brainer.

Purchased in May 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Carol Downing

Carol DowningCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Reliable and easy to use

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Sam Cartwright

Sam CartwrightSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hybrids are amazing

published

My wife and I bought this car recently. It is so quiet and drives like butter. We love the car and everything about it, great interiors, enough room in the back for our dog, the stereo system has wonderful sound. It has a really top notch safety rating which is the main reason we got it. Mechanically I trust toyota always, so far so good with this one too.

Incentivised ReviewNo
SUN SUN

SUN SUNGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love this car

published

Next month will be 6 years we have the rav on diesel we just done 80000 km services it’s bit costly but we happy with never had any issues been told the car still as new

Purchased in May 2014 at Lemans toyota for A$42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Saves me petrol & nice ride

published

I use my car to drive to work, run errands and occasionally drive off-road for picnics and adventure.
The car is driven daily and even more on weekends & public holidays.
The car comes with a 5 year unlimited warranty so it’s a peace of mind and every annual service has been pegged so bring it back to the dealer is not worrying at all that you’re going to get ripped off!

Purchased in June 2019 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Leigh D

Leigh DGippsland, VIC

Waiting

published

Just read these reviews of the RAV4 GXL HYBRID. Thank you, I ordered mine today, there is a wait of approx 4 months, however I have a feeling it may arrive sooner. My test drive was fabulous. It’s much quieter than my Mazda3. It handles well and with so many features I can’t wait to get behind the wheel .

Purchased in January 2020 for A$41.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bundy

Bundy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rav4 Hybrid: Apple CarPlay not worth the effort

published

This is not a review of the RAV4 Hybrid, its a pretty good all round car but I just picked my car up from the dealer after the Apple CarPlay "upgrade". The poor girl trying to show me how the Apple CarPlay worked was stumped and so was I neither of us could find it. Until she went and asked the Tech. YOU NEED A CORD! The car has wireless charging for goodness sake. So the answer is if you want Apple CarPlay you will need to connect your phone via a cord to enable it, as you proceed to place it down for wireless charging. Not sure why Toyota bothered. I was disappointed.

Purchased in September 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2019
fptr

fptrmooloolaba

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great car BUT

published

had this new since 2013 serrvices all done current mileage 55400km highway consumption 7 litres per 100km at 90k 8 litres at 100k BUT BUT around town and i drive smoothly i only get 18litres per 100k
being a pensioner this is making my car unaffordable and noone can tell me the problem i would be checking local consumption before u buy this model in all other reespects its ba great car but the servicing is expensive when not much is done

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
1 comment
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews
  • 26 likes

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
karenandjason4

karenandjason4South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my rav4

published

I have loved my experience with my rav4. We use it for family transport, we've done a ltttle off roadinf, I cna fit sooooo much stuff in it you wouldn't believe the space inside! Lots of little storage spots and an awesome boot compartment underneath the floor of the already massive back section of the car. Love it.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Errol E.

Errol E.asked

RAV4

I wish to buy a Petrol Graphite colour Automatic New! How Much?

No answers
Mick G.

Mick G.asked

RAV4

Has anyone fitted different wheels to their 2020 RAV4 Edge? If so do you have an OEM wheel for sale. I would like a full size spare but am not prepared to pay $2000 for a new rim. Mick G.

No answers
Lee

Leeasked

RAV4

2wd Hybrid Cruiser - While on stop and dead silent, I hear a very faint but constant high pitch whining sound. It goes away when I further depress the brake but only after the drilling sound. Has anyone ever noticed this or has this ever happened to you?

2 answers
kathylange6
kathylange6

Yes we have that too. I just have the audio system on and then don't hear it

Andy.N
Andy.N

Same, its on all Hybrid Rav4's apparently.

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price A$36,670A$40,378A$43,365A$39,245
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.