??!
19 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 250 reviews

Reviews

(140)
(56)
(17)
(16)
(21)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (36)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (38)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (37)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (38)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (38)
  • Handling
    4.3 (38)
  • Braking
    4.6 (38)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (38)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (36)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (38)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (37)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (38)
  • Features
    4.4 (38)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (38)
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews

Saves me petrol & nice ride

published

I use my car to drive to work, run errands and occasionally drive off-road for picnics and adventure.
The car is driven daily and even more on weekends & public holidays.
The car comes with a 5 year unlimited warranty so it’s a peace of mind and every annual service has been pegged so bring it back to the dealer is not worrying at all that you’re going to get ripped off!

Purchased in June 2019 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Leigh D

Leigh DGippsland, VIC

Waiting

published

Just read these reviews of the RAV4 GXL HYBRID. Thank you, I ordered mine today, there is a wait of approx 4 months, however I have a feeling it may arrive sooner. My test drive was fabulous. It’s much quieter than my Mazda3. It handles well and with so many features I can’t wait to get behind the wheel .

Purchased in January 2020 for $41.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bundy

Bundy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rav4 Hybrid: Apple CarPlay not worth the effort

published

This is not a review of the RAV4 Hybrid, its a pretty good all round car but I just picked my car up from the dealer after the Apple CarPlay "upgrade". The poor girl trying to show me how the Apple CarPlay worked was stumped and so was I neither of us could find it. Until she went and asked the Tech. YOU NEED A CORD! The car has wireless charging for goodness sake. So the answer is if you want Apple CarPlay you will need to connect your phone via a cord to enable it, as you proceed to place it down for wireless charging. Not sure why Toyota bothered. I was disappointed.

Purchased in September 2019.

Year2019
fptr

fptrmooloolaba

  • 4 reviews

great car BUT

published

had this new since 2013 serrvices all done current mileage 55400km highway consumption 7 litres per 100km at 90k 8 litres at 100k BUT BUT around town and i drive smoothly i only get 18litres per 100k
being a pensioner this is making my car unaffordable and noone can tell me the problem i would be checking local consumption before u buy this model in all other reespects its ba great car but the servicing is expensive when not much is done

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 20 reviews
  • 2 likes

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy
Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
karenandjason4

karenandjason4South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my rav4

published

I have loved my experience with my rav4. We use it for family transport, we've done a ltttle off roadinf, I cna fit sooooo much stuff in it you wouldn't believe the space inside! Lots of little storage spots and an awesome boot compartment underneath the floor of the already massive back section of the car. Love it.

Purchased in June 2018 for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Don L

Don LMelbourne

I can't buy the RAV4 because the alerts sound levels and/or frequency are wrong for anybody with hearing difficulties

published
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Love it! Perfect car!

published

I have this car for over a year. I bought it as a new car in 2018(the last generation of Rav4 before the new model was coming). Easy driving, great rare camera and smart mirrors. Everything in this car is perfect and it’s Toyota, it always keeps the value.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Illawara for $33,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John D

John D

  • 4 reviews

Bumpy worst than small cars

published

My gxl Rav4 2018 is very bumpy worst than small cars. It is sad to have such quality when you buy an SUV. Except that it's all good, gps is great, possibility to lock/unlock the car without using the remote control buttons, the cruise control ability to brake automatically and resume etc. Many great features. 6 months service is another issue, that's too much..

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
macropod

macropodPerth, WA

Rav4 2018

published

Very smooth drive and fantastic fuel economy. Power a little less compared to other SUV's but if you push it hard it gets up very nicely. . Seating comfortable and visibility really good. Overall ,very well built and love driving it.

Purchased in February 2018 at Toyota for $31,999.00.

Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality!

published

This is our 3rd RAV4. We just keep coming back because of the quality, reliability, practicality and space that the RAV4 offers compared to its mid size 4x4 competitors. We've never had one mechanical problem with our RAV4s. Invest in some good rubber like BFG for off-road or a wider profile tire for superior grip. Also impressed with the fuel economy. Heated seats in winter are amazing!

Purchased in March 2015 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Suits my lifestyle really well

published

Can't believe how much I save on petrol compared with my last car. Very comfy to drive and still plenty room for the grandchildren. Lots of clever features which one day I will master, I hope!!

Purchased in November 2018.

Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lolly

LollyFar North Queensland, QLD

Best investment I could have made

published

Use for work & recreation. Great on fuel economy, has all the bells and Whistles. Always do log book service. This car will now see us out past retirement. Lovely car to drive. Wasn't cheap but well worth the money spent. The service & support we have had from Toyota surpasses all expectations. We paid the extra to get paint protection, rust proofing and interior protection.

Purchased in June 2018 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

Barbara R.

Barbara R.asked

Service intervals from new, warranty and is there fixed price service cost?
Main difference in cost of service for two wheel drive vs AWD.

3 answers
Al fern
Al fern

The cost for each service was made known to us upon purchase.
I am not aware of the cost of service between the 2WD vs AWD

Leigh D
Leigh D

Service intervals are 15000k. Yes fix prices servicing

Zelly
Zelly

Certainly fixed price. You can call the dealer and they can give the costs for any service over the phone

Damian Mc

Damian Mcasked

Can I run the 2020 Rav4 Hybrid Cruiser on E10 or do I have to use Premium 98?

2 answers
Leigh D
Leigh D

I see on the inside of the petrol cap it says E10 suitable

Damian Mc
Damian Mc

Thanks Leigh

Andrew

Andrewasked

RAV4 Cruiser 2.5L Hybrid AWD (2019-2020)

Hi,
I see in North America they are having issues with not being able to fill the fuel tank right up to full. Are there any Australian drivers who are experiencing the same problem?

2 answers
Leigh D
Leigh D

I asked that question at Ferntree Gully Toyota when I picked my RAV4 up last week. I was told that prop was America only. Cross fingers

Andrew
Andrew

Thanks Leigh. Enjoy the Rav!

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.