14 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50 (See All)
4.1 from 282 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Toyota

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (67)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (69)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (67)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (68)
  • Braking
    4.5 (67)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (69)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (60)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (66)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (68)
  • Handling
    4.3 (68)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (67)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (68)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (68)
  • Features
    4.1 (67)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Bumble Bee
Bumble Bee
  • 3 reviews
  • 9 likes

Painful.

published

Have the 2109 RAV4. Ride and handling are good, solid car that feels it’ll run forever. Lots of room and safety features. Road & Wind noise is pure hell, rear passengers complain also. Having the radio up load didn’t dampen it at all. Service charges are okay considering not much is done and the staff are generally good to deal with. Will not buy another one due to the fact on long drives it feels like we’ve flying in an aeroplane. Wish they would make the cabin quieter as we had found on our Tucson & XV.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SSA
SSAGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Somewhat disappointed

published

Disappointed in some of the aspects, Of first the steering wheel is not centred to the drivers seat. Often times I struggle with discomfort when driving long distances due to the odd angle.
Road noise is unbearable, and infotainment screen is of very poor quality on the 2020 model. I seen better quality screens on the cheaper corolla’s.

Got to commend the fuel economy thou, which was what got me into it.

Purchased in April 2020 at Toyota Dealers for $52,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Freelancer
Freelancer
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic SUV

published

Car has clocked about 245,000km and has never let me done. It is comfortable and a very easy car to drive. With regular servicing and preventive maintenance, these cars can run forever. The engine does burn some oil so make sure to check it every so often. Around town I get about 450-500km to a tank (U91).

Purchased for $7,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stop_shonky_sellers
Stop_shonky_sellersSydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Definitely low entry level dynamics and comfort

published

Purchased in November 2021 at AVIS as it was a 2 week rental for $48,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joshua
JoshuaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Dangerous list of unresolved problems and issues. Please share!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 for $41,850.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Harrism
HarrismAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent dashcam

published

Dashcam fitted front and back works excellently. Very easy to use and the Toyota sales staff were very helpful in explaining the features. Makes us feel a lot safer. Highly recommended.

Purchased in April 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

FELIX AGIUS
FELIX AGIUS
  • 5 reviews

Perfect daily

published

My RAV4 is my daily drive, before lock down would travel approx 40,000KM per year, also my vehicle is used for towing a Jet ski around the state where possible. Vehicle always serviced on time, has never given me any issues, when I did have a small problem and out of warranty Toyota still managed to fix it under warranty, kudos to Toyota...Would seriously consider buying the current model.

Purchased in April 2013 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Gordon
GordonSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great tough little suv

published

This car gets rough treatment as a work vehicle on a site. So far it's done 50k trouble free, fuel economy compared to the old hilux we had is amazing!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BlueAnto
BlueAntoSydney, NSW
  • 25 reviews
  • 11 likes

Absolutely Amazing Vehicle - Simply The Best

published

We were a family that was loyal to Nissan for years and decided to switch to Toyota. This vehicle is spacious, economical, quiet, comfortable and stylish. What an awesome buy!

Vehicle is mostly used as a shopping basket by the home boss! :)

Purchased in June 2021 at Phil Gilbert for $47,895.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Digger
DiggerCanberra Central 2601, ACT
  • 6 reviews
  • 16 likes

Perfect car for me.

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MMM
MMMMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

RAV4 - Still loving it

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Jarvis Cars.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Decca
DeccaCanberra 2600, ACT
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

My utilitarian wonder

published

Purchased new in 2015 and I have not regretted my choice for one minute.
Due for its 160,000 service at my local dealer shortly, It has not had any issues whatsoever.
It may not be the most exciting vehicle to drive (going by anecdotal reports) but it is roomy, easy to manoeuvre and good on fuel.
Not only is it my daily driver, it has done many a country trip with recent ones being to outback NSW where I slept in the back of my 'Tin Swag'
Unfortunately it is the last of its kind being a manual diesel with no DPF, so hopefully it will continue giving me exemplary service.

Purchased in June 2015 for $36,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill M
Bill MMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Totally relaxing. Quiet & Safe.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Cornes Toyota.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
james.drougas.3
james.drougas.3Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy with the car

published

Purchased in April 2021 at Toyota Dealers for $52,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Southeast Appliance
Southeast ApplianceSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Hybrid is fantastic!

published

This is our second Rav4 hybrid, we traded our first GX model at the dealer, after 2 years for only 3k drop price from what we paid, we upgraded this time to the Cruiser and love it, we average 5.5lt/100km fuel consumption which is less than half of our old Xtrail, comfort is great, I never thought we would use the heated seats living in Qld.

Purchased in June 2021 at Sunshine Toyota for $48,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Steve
Steveasked
RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel (2013-2019)

Hi .. I’ve heard people say that short trips build up deposits on Diesel engines .. can be pricey to repair.. has anyone had issues with the RAV4 diesel?

No answers
Sash
Sashasked
RAV4

How do you turn off or only have one beep when the boot of my Rav 4 Cruiser opens and closes? Can’t seem to locate it. Thanks

2 answers
anonymous32
anonymous32

On the infotainment screen in speedometer area, keep scrolling right then vehicle settings and that’s where the beep settings are

Southeast Appliance
Southeast Appliance

You can make the beeps quieter but not turn it completely off.

Brian S.
Brian S.asked
XA40 (2013-2019)

Does a 2015 RAV4 Australian have a traction control button to turn on and off. I see the light come on on the dash but don't see any button.

1 answer
Anthony H.
Anthony H.
See all Toyota RAV4 questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota RAV4

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $36,670.00$40,378.00$43,365.00$39,245.00
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.