??!
19 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 247 reviews

See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
137
4 star
56
3 star
17
2 star
16
1 star
21

Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Bundy

Bundy

  • 2 reviews

Rav4 Hybrid: Apple CarPlay not worth the effort

published

This is not a review of the RAV4 Hybrid, its a pretty good all round car but I just picked my car up from the dealer after the Apple CarPlay "upgrade". The poor girl trying to show me how the Apple CarPlay worked was stumped and so was I neither of us could find it. Until she went and asked the Tech. YOU NEED A CORD! The car has wireless charging for goodness sake. So the answer is if you want Apple CarPlay you will need to connect your phone via a cord to enable it, as you proceed to place it down for wireless charging. Not sure why Toyota bothered. I was disappointed.

Purchased in September 2019.

Year2019
fptr

fptrmooloolaba

  • 4 reviews

great car BUT

published

had this new since 2013 serrvices all done current mileage 55400km highway consumption 7 litres per 100km at 90k 8 litres at 100k BUT BUT around town and i drive smoothly i only get 18litres per 100k
being a pensioner this is making my car unaffordable and noone can tell me the problem i would be checking local consumption before u buy this model in all other reespects its ba great car but the servicing is expensive when not much is done

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 19 reviews

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 14 reviews

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

karenandjason4

karenandjason4South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my rav4

published

I have loved my experience with my rav4. We use it for family transport, we've done a ltttle off roadinf, I cna fit sooooo much stuff in it you wouldn't believe the space inside! Lots of little storage spots and an awesome boot compartment underneath the floor of the already massive back section of the car. Love it.

Purchased in June 2018 for $8,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

blackphase3

blackphase3Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

A car that does its job

published

Purchased in April 2018 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
CPW

CPWSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 7 likes

My first Toyota & a very pleasant surprise overall!

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Don L

Don LMelbourne

I can't buy the RAV4 because the alerts sound levels and/or frequency are wrong for anybody with hearing difficulties

published
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019

massi

massiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews

Love it! Perfect car!

published

I have this car for over a year. I bought it as a new car in 2018(the last generation of Rav4 before the new model was coming). Easy driving, great rare camera and smart mirrors. Everything in this car is perfect and it’s Toyota, it always keeps the value.

Purchased in July 2018 at Toyota Illawara for $33,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John D

John D

  • 4 reviews

Bumpy worst than small cars

published

My gxl Rav4 2018 is very bumpy worst than small cars. It is sad to have such quality when you buy an SUV. Except that it's all good, gps is great, possibility to lock/unlock the car without using the remote control buttons, the cruise control ability to brake automatically and resume etc. Many great features. 6 months service is another issue, that's too much..

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Panders0

Panders0Perth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable car from always reliable Toyota

published

Big fan of Toyota. We had to update the family car with a baby on the way so Toyota was a pretty easy choice. It’s not the most powerful car but that’s not much of an issue. Clean layout inside, knobs, buttons etc don’t feel cheap. Boot space is great (we have a big pram so it was a big consideration). Very happy with purchase

Purchased in October 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $23,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Chris S.

Chris S.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quality!

published

This is our 3rd RAV4. We just keep coming back because of the quality, reliability, practicality and space that the RAV4 offers compared to its mid size 4x4 competitors. We've never had one mechanical problem with our RAV4s. Invest in some good rubber like BFG for off-road or a wider profile tire for superior grip. Also impressed with the fuel economy. Heated seats in winter are amazing!

Purchased in March 2015 for $31,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
S Jones

S JonesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Vehicle with so many extras included

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Toyota Dealers for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Suits my lifestyle really well

published

Can't believe how much I save on petrol compared with my last car. Very comfy to drive and still plenty room for the grandchildren. Lots of clever features which one day I will master, I hope!!

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Lolly

LollyFar North Queensland, QLD

Best investment I could have made

published

Use for work & recreation. Great on fuel economy, has all the bells and Whistles. Always do log book service. This car will now see us out past retirement. Lovely car to drive. Wasn't cheap but well worth the money spent. The service & support we have had from Toyota surpasses all expectations. We paid the extra to get paint protection, rust proofing and interior protection.

Purchased in June 2018 for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

CarlK

CarlK

  • 3 reviews

Great SUV, exceeds expectations

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Charlestown Toyota for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

mapman

mapmanPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

New Rav4

published

I have a 2010 Rav4 Cruiser which went in for a service. I was given a 2019 Rav4 as a loan car. Drive was nice and smooth but car felt bigger than mine. Technology was awesome like lane assist and blind spot monitor and LED lights. Only downfall is the run flat spare tyre and non adjustable back row seats. I was expecting a compact car feel but it felt bigger than what it looked like. Overall it was great but I still prefer my 2010 Rav4.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Paul

PaulIllawarra, NSW

Excellent car

published

Bought this car in 2012 with 140k on it. Drove it from WOLLONGONG to Bega for 6 years for work. Serviced every 10k replaced brakes pads, rear wheel bearings and finally clutch at 270k.

This has to be the best car I’ve ever owned and I’ve owned a few in 40 years of driving, expect 500k with no problem.

Just bought another RAV4 2004, if it half as good as this one I’ll be very happy.

Purchased in February 2012 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

John h

John hasked

Have rav 4 2012 ,and fitted after market reverse camera. It will only work if you put the car in reverse before the radio appears on the screen ( you have 4 seconds approx. ,Toyota symbol first) if you beet the radio it will then work as normal until the ignition is switched off and on again. Has anyone seen this problem?

2 answers
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy

RAV4 2019 is different in every way from 2012. It has 360 Deg cameras built in. So cannot help. As cars and systems get more complex, there is little room for aftermarket products.

John h
John h

Strange answer mate????


Garry W

Garry Wasked

How does the rav4 hybrid go in snow and ice conditions

4 answers
Brian
Brian

Sorry havent had to drive on snow or ice yet, but i think it would be OK, but you will get more wheel slip. I have driven in wet, mud and gravel, and you know the car is correcting itself and feel quite safe, whereas other permanent AWD cars didnt slip at all for me, the wheels just locked together. The Hybrid is also quite heavy which probably helps it dig in.

Garry W
Garry W

Cheers Brian for your quick response. Unfortunately there is very limited unbiased info out there. If you ever get the chance to drive in snow and ice conditions would love to get your thoughts. Garry

Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy

Go on-line to Toyota RAV4 Forums. World wide site with lots of experiences from US and Canadian owners.


Sally M

Sally Masked

Is it ok to use the rear fixed points for installing roof racks, or should it always be the front and middle sets? I would like to use the front and rear ones for more stability but no one seems to do this.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.