?
? !
14 photos
Toyota RAV4

Toyota RAV4

XA30, XA20, XA40, XA50
4.1 from 262 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (47)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (49)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (47)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (49)
  • Braking
    4.6 (49)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (49)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (44)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (48)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (48)
  • Handling
    4.4 (48)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (47)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (48)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (48)
  • Features
    4.2 (48)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Max

Max

  • 17 reviews
  • 3 likes

Five Star ( in this Class )

published

Rav Edge 2021. Super Car. Expensive , but once i started driving it: very good value. I would have bought Cruiser, if i lived in City. I live in Central Coast and RavEdge is perfect for mee= very happy with my car. I use the car locally ( very nice ride , perfect handling. easy to park, quite ride,Fuel: 5 to 9L / 100km) and on hwy ( super ride, reasonably quite. Fuel: 7L /100km). Acceleration is good ( 200 HP ), breaks are good. Safety is excellent and on par level of Lexus. I tried ( Rav4 Edge and Cruiser) and NX . In my opinion Rav4 wins by far, with present NX. ( although i imagine next model NX will be great :) Maxwell

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ralph Smith

Ralph SmithAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Over rated, economical, horribly boring and almost unpleasant

published

The one and only reasonable thing is the fuel economy. I hate the nasty CVT transmission that makes it sound like a sewing machine, hard plastics and a feeling of commercial quality not luxury. The entertainment screen is of very average quality with camera resolution poor. I expected more but this car I just find so boring and uninspiring to drive

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BSF

BSFAU

  • 55 reviews
  • 16 likes

A very competent car, so smooth

published

Had the car for 4 months now. Cannot complain. As smooth and quiet as a Lexus. Surprisingly quiet and quick for its size. Cabin is full of nice features. Minor complaints but overall am quite satisfied.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
WCC

WCCGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 likes

Comfort with incredible economy

published

Purchased in November 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fonsie

FonsieSydney, NSW

Great packaging. Overall a well designed SUV

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johnson T.

Johnson T.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Lovely SUV and good petrol consumption

published

I bought the Rav4 Hybrid Cruiser since Aug 2019. These are the benefit points:
- value for money
- low petrol consumption (900 km mileage usage per tank)
- Quite and smooth transmission
- Top interior quality

Purchased in August 2019 at Toyota Dealers for $45,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
natureboy t.

natureboy t.Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Simply one of THEE BEST cars I've owned.

published

I use my car going off in trips and around town. I get it serviced every 6 months and the ONLY issue is the drivers window. The cog must be stuck, but never bothered to get it repaired, not important. Its got 109,000. ks on it.

Purchased in September 2005 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin

JustinMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great drive

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Frank

FrankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

No brainer

published

If you thinking of spending around $40K for a SUV, strongly consider the Toyota RAV 4 Hybrid. It has numerous safety features with many bells and whistles. Extremely fuel efficient. Currently getting around 880 km on a tank of petrol. Fuel gauge is displaying 5.7 litres per 100 km. Extremely quiet and excellent for the environment. It will hold its value over many years. Had to wait 5 months for delivery but well worth the wait. Toyota have been making hybrids for over 20 years so their technology is well ahead of the pack. Highly recommended. Absolute no brainer.

Purchased in May 2020 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carol Downing

Carol DowningCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable and easy to use

published

Purchased in October 2019 for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam Cartwright

Sam CartwrightSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hybrids are amazing

published

My wife and I bought this car recently. It is so quiet and drives like butter. We love the car and everything about it, great interiors, enough room in the back for our dog, the stereo system has wonderful sound. It has a really top notch safety rating which is the main reason we got it. Mechanically I trust toyota always, so far so good with this one too.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SUN SUN

SUN SUNGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 9 likes

Love this car

published

Next month will be 6 years we have the rav on diesel we just done 80000 km services it’s bit costly but we happy with never had any issues been told the car still as new

Purchased in May 2014 at Lemans toyota for $42,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Al fern

Al fernGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Saves me petrol & nice ride

published

I use my car to drive to work, run errands and occasionally drive off-road for picnics and adventure.
The car is driven daily and even more on weekends & public holidays.
The car comes with a 5 year unlimited warranty so it’s a peace of mind and every annual service has been pegged so bring it back to the dealer is not worrying at all that you’re going to get ripped off!

Purchased in June 2019 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leigh D

Leigh DGippsland, VIC

Waiting

published

Just read these reviews of the RAV4 GXL HYBRID. Thank you, I ordered mine today, there is a wait of approx 4 months, however I have a feeling it may arrive sooner. My test drive was fabulous. It’s much quieter than my Mazda3. It handles well and with so many features I can’t wait to get behind the wheel .

Purchased in January 2020 for $41.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zelly

ZellyLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best decision ever

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Launceston Toyota.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Toyota RAV4 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bundy

Bundy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rav4 Hybrid: Apple CarPlay not worth the effort

published

This is not a review of the RAV4 Hybrid, its a pretty good all round car but I just picked my car up from the dealer after the Apple CarPlay "upgrade". The poor girl trying to show me how the Apple CarPlay worked was stumped and so was I neither of us could find it. Until she went and asked the Tech. YOU NEED A CORD! The car has wireless charging for goodness sake. So the answer is if you want Apple CarPlay you will need to connect your phone via a cord to enable it, as you proceed to place it down for wireless charging. Not sure why Toyota bothered. I was disappointed.

Purchased in September 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2019
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
fptr

fptrmooloolaba

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

great car BUT

published

had this new since 2013 serrvices all done current mileage 55400km highway consumption 7 litres per 100km at 90k 8 litres at 100k BUT BUT around town and i drive smoothly i only get 18litres per 100k
being a pensioner this is making my car unaffordable and noone can tell me the problem i would be checking local consumption before u buy this model in all other reespects its ba great car but the servicing is expensive when not much is done

Purchased in January 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Canberra Daddy

Canberra DaddyKingston 2604, ACT

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes

Glimpse of automotive future

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Canberra Daddy
Canberra Daddy
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Daniel P.

Daniel P.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Brilliant

published

A solid car.
Has plenty of room for my needs, is fuel efficient, has a great build and is very robust.
The ease of use is brilliant and the seller offers great service if required

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews
  • 26 likes

Motoring perfection.

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Judy

Judyasked

RAV4

How do you turn off "Mobile Speed Camera found" alert. I have googled and read the manual over and over and just when I think i have fixed it and everything is turned off, it still comes on and repeats the alert several times to the point I'm considering selling the car. It's a 2020 RAV4 hybrid AWD. I have also been to the dealership twice to help with this problem but the alert will not stop!

No answers
Braco

Bracoasked

RAV4

Hi all, I have only recently purchased brand new RAV4 Hybrid 2WD and I am finding the suspension rather disconcerting. A normal drive has become irritating, particulalry on a longer journey as all road vibration is excessively felt through the vehicle. I have never experienced this in a new vehicle before and I wonder whether this could be a fault in my vehicle or whether this is standard with the new RAV4.

1 answer
WCC
WCC

Hi, I only experienced this, when the tyre pressure was set to the dealer recommended 38psig. It was bouncy and noisy at the same time.
I checked the tyre pressure label on the door frame and it stated 32psig.
I reduced all 4 tyres down to 36psig and is lots more comfortable and stable. 32psig is too low for my liking and increases fuel use too.

Ali G.

Ali G.asked

RAV4

Review of Toyota RAV4 2017 GXL 2.5L

No answers
See all Toyota RAV4 questions

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Toyota RAV4

Details

Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $36,670$40,378$43,365$39,245
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT) and ManualContinuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)Continuously Variable (CVT)
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolHybrid
Wheels17" Allow18" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km6.5 L/100km4.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 55 L55 L55 L55 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5L
Max Power127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm127kW @ 6600rpm160kW
Max Torque203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm203Nm @ 4400-4900rpm221Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)800 kg800 kg800 kg480 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg480 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance195 mm190 mm195 mm190 mm
Release dateMay 2019May 2019May 2019May 2019
Compare all 20 Toyota RAV4

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.