??!
9 photos
Kia Sportage

Kia Sportage

KM, QL, SL, NB
4.4 from 191 reviews

Reviews

(126)
(41)
(11)
(4)
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (23)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (23)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (23)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (23)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (22)
  • Handling
    4.5 (22)
  • Braking
    4.7 (22)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (22)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (22)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (22)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (22)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (22)
  • Features
    4.4 (22)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (22)
Kathy

KathyHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Love the car, like the GPS system, but...

published

I’ve only had the vehicle a couple of weeks and I love everything about it except the maps. I like the system itself, I didn’t even mind having to pay close to $300 a week ago to get the latest maps update, but I do mind the fact that the latest maps are still years out of date here in Newcastle. It renders the system useless to me. I’ll be investigating spending more money ripping Kia’s system out and installing something else that will work with the Sportage and give me accurate, up to date maps.
Lift your game, Kia.
Those of us who bought our vehicles three years ago deserve better. After all, our vehicles are still covered by your warranty, too.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

6 years of pleasurable driving

published

I have owned a Series II Platinum Turbo Diesel for 6 years, and now have 170K on the clock. Without a doubt the best car I have ever owned - I still enjoy sliding into the driver's seat. Plenty of comfort for passengers as well. Agree with comments re the Sat Nav - a bit clunky, and updates few and far between (the only answer is to make sure you have Android Auto/Apple Car Play in conjunction with a mobile phone map and you will never be out of date). But as for the drive, the power, and the comfort, it cannot be faulted (the Turbo Diesel has great torque).

It is also deceptively good for transporting goods - I have even had 4.2 metre beams poking out through the sunroof!

Due to update soon, and this will be at the top of my list.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JohnK_Australia

JohnK_AustraliaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Better than expected, but..

published

We love our new family car from Kia, the engine is very responsive and accelerates beautifully. We have done close to 10K in our new car and the whole family enjoys the drive in the morning to school, the grocery shopping and the weekend getaways.

However, we have noticed that a bit too much plastic has been used in the interior which makes it look a bit cheapish sometimes. Overall though its a great car and with its diesel engine it'super economical too!

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ali

AliSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Excellent car ever

published

I'm uber driver, I've tried Kia sportage 2017, and now I have 2019, both of them are just perfect cars, economic, classy!, I love KIA for sure. I drive it daily with no problems, and i do the service for my car every 10k kms, but you can do it every 15 that's fine.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Angelito

AngelitoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Great car

published

I’ve driven several but Kia Sportage is best car so far. My Kia done 137k kilometre and I didn’t encounter any single problem. If I will replace my car I will be buying the same brand.

Purchased in January 2009 at Bundoora .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rad

RadSouthwest, VIC

  • 33 reviews

Well built, Average performer, Excellent comfort.

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Rad
Rad
gibz

gibzHobart, TAS

  • 19 reviews

good car.... however

published

listen to the motor before you buy!!! love this car, however,,,,, the interior has rattles and creaks. it drives GREAT, love it.

heres the pinch...... the theta petrol engines are rubbish. around 200k they are ruined. Had to replace mine, it had 209 thousand km, the theta engines are known to die early. In the us, hundreds of thousands have been recalled.

they are just another car with a 15000 km service interval, this, ruins engines. They last until warranty runs out, and then boom. If you buy one, listen to the motor, they have noisy injectors, which isnt a problem, but the knock coming from piston slap, gets loud.

if you own one, or buy one, service it with the correct oil, every 10 thousand or less, it may last longer.

Purchased in July 2019 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
DinkyDiD

DinkyDiDSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Not happy - drives like a noddy car

published

Not happy - drives like a noddy car. Wobbly suspension and wouldn't recommend because the quality is really poor. Mechanics treat you like a moron but sometimes there r nice ppl to help. Not recommended.

John88888

John88888AU

  • 29 reviews

High spec and great value for money

published

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
A511276

A511276Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Excellent Engineering and Design

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Brian Hilton for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tanvir

TanvirSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

Under the shadow of hyundai, Kia makes the mark to prove its worthiness.

published

I have bought this Kia sportage GT line as a second car and I am impressed with the workmanship. The features are really advanced and useful. It's another smart car under Kia branding where u donot pay extra for the loyalty. As a user of hyundai and Kia I will definitely recommend Kia over my hyundai by its extra features and interior looks. B4 buying any car just test drive one of the model. Use brain not heart when buying a car ..... hope u will enjoy the drive if u choose wisely.

Purchased in April 2019 at Thompson ford for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

D Beaumont

D Beaumont

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best value vehicle

published

This vehicle is the best value with a 7 year warranty and capped priced servicing.top quality fittings.very comfortable to drive.plenty of power and very responsive. Great handling. Beats more expensive vehicles in all aspects couldn't rate it more highly.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kia Dealers for $31,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brenda

BrendaPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not as good as other SUV'S

published

I drive my car regularly to commute. From the start the inbuilt Sat Nav hasn't been reliable no matter what the weather is. I took it back at least three times under warranty but gave up in the end. It is not a quiet or smooth drive. Also, not as economical as others (diesel).

October 24th 2019 Update: Disappointed

Built in sat nav unreliable. Even when replaced under warranty. Bits fall off such as vent open and close handle. Not a smooth ride all the time. Visibility is so bad makes me scared. Windows too small, can't see around the strut on drivers side when using roundabout. Not much room inside, especially for tall people.

Purchased in May 2013 at Kia Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
mcgrathglenn

mcgrathglennSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

For only $31,990, you don,t need to pay more to go in style.

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jofo

JofoMaleny

  • 3 reviews

What a great car. Kia has come of age as a quality car manufacturer

published

Purchased in May 2018.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kane

KanePerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

.Excellent value

published

This little car is spacious reliable comfortable and economical You can fit a bath tub in the back not just a kitchen sink.Its not a Mercedes, but its practical sensible and economical. I will definitely buy another Kia which is a BIG surprise.

Purchased in April 2010.

Year2008
Lamexy

LamexyMoncrieff 2914, ACT

Perfect car for a small family

published

Perfect car. bought the 2010 SL platinuim full option 3 yrs ago from used car garage. ac compressor replaced last year. Apart from that it has served us since 2016 to date. still going. always answers us each time we call on it. Now looking forward to a 7 seater bc of growing family. will dearly miss the sportage. i am looking forward to another Korean car like Hyundai santa fe.

Purchased in February 2016 for $17,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
inxs

inxsAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes

A reliable & strong SUV

published

Over 50k done on this SUV and still running strong.
Diesel Fuel economy around 8l/100km mainly city driving.
Has a good acceleration curve, plenty of punch for highway overtaking.
Not one sign of a leak or problem with the car.

Cons:
Missed out on the Android Auto and Apple CarPlay on this years model.
No car lane monitoring in side windows for preimium model.
Paint seems to scratch easily.
Can't set North to top on Map.
Pretty limited audio and map settings for being a premium model.

BadgePlatinum
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
DriveAWD
Anthony95

Anthony95South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Everything has been thought of.

published

I love my new Kia Sportage its been amazing to drive with all the standard tech and safety for a suv under 31K. The car is 3 months old I have done 6500km so far it’s been great I love the big touchscreen, the automatic brake system and the lane keep I do turn the lane keep off around town but on the highway it’s great. Going to be doing a brisbane to Sydney road trip at the end of February this year with myself, wife and son (2.5 years old ) so that will be a good test.

BadgeSi Premium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2018
DriveFWD
Kim N

Kim NSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great car, excellent fuel economy, love it.

published
BadgeGT-Line
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
DriveAWD
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Lindsey T.

Lindsey T.asked

When I turn a corner the car make a low beeping! It only happens when I turn left and sounds like the passenger wheel! I have put air in my tyres but still beeps on corners. Any help?

No answers
Hank K.

Hank K.asked

Sportage QL GT-Line AWD, 2.4L Petrol, Automatic (2017-2020)

how do i keep the radio and bluetooth (Phone) to stay on longer after you stop the engine

No answers
Sarahndean

Sarahndeanasked

Anyone have the issue with a 2019 sportage 8 speed diesel hunting between the top 3 gears at freeway speeds? Even on near dead flat roads? Drives me nuts

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Kia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.