??!
9 photos
Kia Sportage

Kia Sportage

KM, QL, SL, NB
4.4 from 204 reviews

Reviews

4.4

204 reviews
5
(134)
4
(43)
3
(12)
2
(5)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (37)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (36)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (36)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (36)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (36)
  • Handling
    4.3 (36)
  • Braking
    4.6 (35)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (35)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (32)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (36)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (36)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (36)
  • Features
    4.4 (36)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (36)
Previous
Next
macko

mackoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Still going strong

published

Coming up to 9 years of ownership and the sportage is still going strong, The only part i had to replace since my last review is the front passenger power window motor in which i installed myself. At the moment it is sitting on 220km

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nathan

Nathan

  • 5 reviews

Surprisingly nice inside. Great space (boot could be bigger). 2L engine disappoints above 90kph. Sound quality sub-par.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Alan

AlanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Bulletproof, very happy owner

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Kia Dealers for A$29,995.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

an exceptional car

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$49,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Greg

GregWestern Australia

  • 6 reviews

Awesome Small AWD DIESEL. Would be 5star if 15+cms longer in boot & roof less sloped.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kia Dealers for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Bridgd

BridgdCentral, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

If only it would stay on the road and not wander off - I wish Kia treated me like a person and not a moron

published

Purchased in January 2018 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Giselle

GiselleCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Nightmare Car & Service stay away or regret it

published

Bought new as one of first in Australia in this range. Used as family car then nightmare began after 2 years when Mechanical problems surfaced, losing power while driving & very dangerous on highway. KIA service kept denying its fault until I gave up then ran out of warranty. Appalling service. Stressful & traumatic experience. Never again with KIA.

Purchased in December 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
James

JamesPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Great family car

published

I have had this car for about 8 months and can't fault it yet. Great safe family car and great on fuel for a suv. 7 year warranty can't go wrong.

Purchased in October 2019 at Private for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jess and casper

Jess and casperGippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good car for a cheap car

published

Easy to steer
I use it to drive around my small town
Good off road
Horrible on petrol and wish it could go further :( good family car and going on adventures

Purchased in May 2020 for A$3,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Laz

LazSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Car and very reliable .

published

Thos is probably the best balue car in the market , been driving it for 5 years now but the only issue i have is it needs a larger fuel tank and secondly the pillars on the front side windows are way too big , I have to be extra careful especially at pedestrial crossings they act as blind spot so im always double checking when people are crossing. Other than that a well rounded car , suspension abit hard than I like but I haven't had any mechanical issues .

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 10 likes

Quality Car

published

Pleasure to drive this car. It's a breeze to drive, great acceleration, nearly to great, you get up to speed quickly and a good all round view when you're driving. Standard features inside but they do the job. Surprisingly easy to park for a chunky SUV as well.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Red Griffin

Red GriffinBrisbane

  • 39 reviews
  • 31 likes

9 year 150,000km update.

published

Purchased in February 2011.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Perfect, searched high and low, got it right.

published

I have been reviewing and searching for a new small SUV for sometime, once I drove the Kia Sportage I was hooked. It drives like a dream. I was looking for a no frills new car and this has it, it focuses on important things like, comfortable seats, small steering wheel, adaquate room for each passenger and driver, sat nav, reversing camera plenty of leg room just to name a few. Just only purchased my Kia last week, so still feeling it........... Customer service was top quality and very informative. I have no hesitation in recommending BMG to purchase your next new car.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bomurra

BomurraPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car for everyday city driving

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Kia Dealers for A$31,490.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kathy

KathyHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

Love the car, like the GPS system, but...

published

I’ve only had the vehicle a couple of weeks and I love everything about it except the maps. I like the system itself, I didn’t even mind having to pay close to $300 a week ago to get the latest maps update, but I do mind the fact that the latest maps are still years out of date here in Newcastle. It renders the system useless to me. I’ll be investigating spending more money ripping Kia’s system out and installing something else that will work with the Sportage and give me accurate, up to date maps.
Lift your game, Kia.
Those of us who bought our vehicles three years ago deserve better. After all, our vehicles are still covered by your warranty, too.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

6 years of pleasurable driving

published

I have owned a Series II Platinum Turbo Diesel for 6 years, and now have 170K on the clock. Without a doubt the best car I have ever owned - I still enjoy sliding into the driver's seat. Plenty of comfort for passengers as well. Agree with comments re the Sat Nav - a bit clunky, and updates few and far between (the only answer is to make sure you have Android Auto/Apple Car Play in conjunction with a mobile phone map and you will never be out of date). But as for the drive, the power, and the comfort, it cannot be faulted (the Turbo Diesel has great torque).

It is also deceptively good for transporting goods - I have even had 4.2 metre beams poking out through the sunroof!

Due to update soon, and this will be at the top of my list.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JohnK_Australia

JohnK_AustraliaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than expected, but..

published

We love our new family car from Kia, the engine is very responsive and accelerates beautifully. We have done close to 10K in our new car and the whole family enjoys the drive in the morning to school, the grocery shopping and the weekend getaways.

However, we have noticed that a bit too much plastic has been used in the interior which makes it look a bit cheapish sometimes. Overall though its a great car and with its diesel engine it'super economical too!

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ali

AliSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Excellent car ever

published

I've tried Kia sportage 2017, and now I have 2019, both of them are just perfect cars, economic, classy!, I love KIA for sure. I drive it daily with no problems, and i do the service for my car every 10k kms, but you can do it every 15 that's fine.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Angelito

AngelitoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

I’ve driven several but Kia Sportage is best car so far. My Kia done 137k kilometre and I didn’t encounter any single problem. If I will replace my car I will be buying the same brand.

Purchased in January 2009 at Bundoora .

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rad

RadSouthwest, VIC

  • 33 reviews
  • 24 likes

Well built, Average performer, Excellent comfort.

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
2 comments
Rad
Rad
Rad
Rad
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Sharniqua O.

Sharniqua O.asked

Sportage SL Platinum (2010-2015)

I’m thinking of buying my first car, the 2012 Kia Sportage platinum auto 4x4. I would like to know if it’s reliable when travelling on dirt road? The km is 182835 and what should I be concern about buying and travelling?

2 answers
macko
macko

Just check that the vehicle has been serviced on time. Reliability is one of there good points Travelling on dirt is no problem for them Find a tyre that is more suited to dirt roads.

Sharniqua O.
Sharniqua O.

Hi Macko,
Thank you so much, it’s very helpful. Cheers

rb8

rb8asked

Sportage QL GT-Line (2017-2020)

Hi. I see the gt line has almost every feature, but does it have a speed limiter? Also is the digital speedo a decent size.

1 answer
Alan
Alan

Mine has neither...I have a SLi, just a
regular Speedo.. not aware of àny "speed limiter"

Bob E.

Bob E.asked

Sportage SL (2010-2015)

Hi thinking of buying a 2009 4 wheel drive deisel 2 litre sportage 90000 miles what are your thoughts please?

1 answer
Bridgd
Bridgd

I loved the diesel engine. Just stay away from AWD

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.