9 photos
Kia Sportage

Kia Sportage

KM, QL, SL, NB
4.4 from 210 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Midsize / Medium SUVs in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Kia? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.6 (44)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (43)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (43)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (43)
  • Braking
    4.6 (42)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (43)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (38)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (42)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (42)
  • Handling
    4.3 (43)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (43)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (43)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (43)
  • Features
    4.3 (43)
Previous
Next

Excellent Car Powerful Economical Great Drive

published

Love this car 8 speed turbo diesel check out its power to weight .. Real grunt pulls my 5 metre boat like its not there. Great around town --pleasure to park --it can do it itself . Packed with all the good bits

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Vicci27
Vicci27Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect family car

published

I use this car everyday and have done since our toddler was a baby. It fits a capsule really well with room to move still and plenty of boot space for a stroller and shopping. We get our yearly service and although it is part of a recent recall, we have found Kia to be very helpful. I would highly recommend to a family. So much so 2 of my friends now own one.

Purchased in February 2018 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Steve B.
Steve B.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It’s dead..

published

Purchased in February 2011 for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnHunter Region, NSW

Sweet little fourby

published

2005 model, 200000kms, bought for 5K AUD. Ive had this for about 15 months. Great to drive, fits plenty in it. Can tow well, and the 4x4 has come in handy. I bought this thinking I would tart it up and flip it in 6 months but it is a bullet proof and fun to drive car. Is thirsty on the juice but worth it. Wish it had dual range 4 wheel drive though. Had to replace all of the mounting/sway bushes, cost 1k at the mechanics. Not unreasonable for these to perish in a 15 year old car with 200k on it. I love it and will probably drive it until God calls it home one day.

Purchased in November 2019 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Paul38
Paul38Illawarra, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 29 likes

Equal to the best of Europe

published

Traded in a great Kia Sorrento... too big and cumbersome for my liking or need. Bought new Sportage just over 6 months ago and have done 11000kms in mixed urban and country running. All the good gear, even has self parking, and goes like the wind!
Superb fuel consumption, affordable insurance category, fixed price servicing and unlimited 7 year warranty.
Get over the badge snobbery and you’ll get the best value / quality in the market!

Purchased in April 2020 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Engima2
Engima2Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Big Surprise

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tracey
TraceyPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A little bit of glamour for an SUV

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Kia Dealers for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
macko
mackoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Still going strong

published

Coming up to 9 years of ownership and the sportage is still going strong, The only part i had to replace since my last review is the front passenger power window motor in which i installed myself. At the moment it is sitting on 220km

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nathan
Nathan
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Surprisingly nice inside. Great space (boot could be bigger). 2L engine disappoints above 90kph. Sound quality sub-par.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alan
AlanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bulletproof, very happy owner

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Kia Dealers for $29,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Greg
GregWestern Australia
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome Small AWD DIESEL. Would be 5star if 15+cms longer in boot & roof less sloped.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kia Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bridgd
BridgdCentral, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

If only it would stay on the road and not wander off - I wish Kia treated me like a person and not a moron

published

Purchased in January 2018 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Giselle
GiselleCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nightmare Car & Service stay away or regret it

published

Bought new as one of first in Australia in this range. Used as family car then nightmare began after 2 years when Mechanical problems surfaced, losing power while driving & very dangerous on highway. KIA service kept denying its fault until I gave up then ran out of warranty. Appalling service. Stressful & traumatic experience. Never again with KIA.

Purchased in December 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
James
JamesPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews

Great family car

published

I have had this car for about 8 months and can't fault it yet. Great safe family car and great on fuel for a suv. 7 year warranty can't go wrong.

Purchased in October 2019 at Private for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jess and casper
Jess and casperGippsland, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good car for a cheap car

published

Easy to steer
I use it to drive around my small town
Good off road
Horrible on petrol and wish it could go further :( good family car and going on adventures

Purchased in May 2020 for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Ian
Ian asked
2 answers
DOUG H.
DOUG H.

I would think that depends very much on the service history and how well it was cared for and even the roads it spent its life on . Also how many ks a year you do is a factor to consider Its a good idea to get a good mechanic and a panelbeater to drive it and run his eye over it if you have no real experience with cars . There are a lot of suv's out there i would not go near but this is my second kia sportage and my 3rd will be a kia and perhaps the sorrento good luck

Ian
Ian

Thank you

Aileen
Aileenasked
Sportage QL GT-Line (2017-2021)

Just purchased a 2021 Kia Sportage have just been told someone had an experience with catching fire parke in a garage ? Is this a cooking thing to worry about happening

2 answers
DOUG H.
DOUG H.

For a start it does not apply to diesels only petrol models (and a quick call to your kia dealer providing the rego or the vin no will find out if you have to put it in for a no cost recall which i believe takes a 1/2 hour. I am fairly sure of the tens of thousands in aust none have had a problem but it is good Kia is pro active and on the job

Aileen
Aileen

good to know thank you gives me reassurance

Winston B.
Winston B.asked
Sportage

What is the average miles/gallon?

No answers
See all Kia Sportage questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Sportage

Details

Compare all 18 Kia Sportage
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $39,558$33,996$41,000$46,562
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power136kW @ 4000rpm114kW @ 6200rpm114kW @ 6200rpm136kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 2750rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm400Nm @ 2750rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,900 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg1,900 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance172 mm172 mm172 mm172 mm
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2017
Compare all 18 Kia Sportage
Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next
See all Midsize / Medium SUVs

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.