??!
9 photos
Kia Sportage

Kia Sportage

KM, QL, SL, NB
4.4 from 207 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (41)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (40)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (40)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (40)
  • Braking
    4.6 (39)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (40)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (35)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (39)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (39)
  • Handling
    4.3 (40)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (40)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (40)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (40)
  • Features
    4.4 (40)
Previous
Next
Paul38

Paul38Illawarra, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 29 likes

Equal to the best of Europe

published

Traded in a great Kia Sorrento... too big and cumbersome for my liking or need. Bought new Sportage just over 6 months ago and have done 11000kms in mixed urban and country running. All the good gear, even has self parking, and goes like the wind!
Superb fuel consumption, affordable insurance category, fixed price servicing and unlimited 7 year warranty.
Get over the badge snobbery and you’ll get the best value / quality in the market!

Purchased in April 2020 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Engima2

Engima2Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Big Surprise

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $11,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tracey

TraceyPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A little bit of glamour for an SUV

published

Purchased in October 2020 at Kia Dealers for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
macko

mackoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Still going strong

published

Coming up to 9 years of ownership and the sportage is still going strong, The only part i had to replace since my last review is the front passenger power window motor in which i installed myself. At the moment it is sitting on 220km

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Nathan

Nathan

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Surprisingly nice inside. Great space (boot could be bigger). 2L engine disappoints above 90kph. Sound quality sub-par.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Alan

AlanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bulletproof, very happy owner

published

Purchased in February 2014 at Kia Dealers for $29,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

an exceptional car

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $49,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Greg

GregWestern Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome Small AWD DIESEL. Would be 5star if 15+cms longer in boot & roof less sloped.

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kia Dealers for $25,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Bridgd

BridgdCentral, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

If only it would stay on the road and not wander off - I wish Kia treated me like a person and not a moron

published

Purchased in January 2018 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Giselle

GiselleCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Nightmare Car & Service stay away or regret it

published

Bought new as one of first in Australia in this range. Used as family car then nightmare began after 2 years when Mechanical problems surfaced, losing power while driving & very dangerous on highway. KIA service kept denying its fault until I gave up then ran out of warranty. Appalling service. Stressful & traumatic experience. Never again with KIA.

Purchased in December 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
James

JamesPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Great family car

published

I have had this car for about 8 months and can't fault it yet. Great safe family car and great on fuel for a suv. 7 year warranty can't go wrong.

Purchased in October 2019 at Private for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Jess and casper

Jess and casperGippsland, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good car for a cheap car

published

Easy to steer
I use it to drive around my small town
Good off road
Horrible on petrol and wish it could go further :( good family car and going on adventures

Purchased in May 2020 for $3,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Laz

LazSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great Car and very reliable .

published

Thos is probably the best balue car in the market , been driving it for 5 years now but the only issue i have is it needs a larger fuel tank and secondly the pillars on the front side windows are way too big , I have to be extra careful especially at pedestrial crossings they act as blind spot so im always double checking when people are crossing. Other than that a well rounded car , suspension abit hard than I like but I haven't had any mechanical issues .

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Quality Car

published

Pleasure to drive this car. It's a breeze to drive, great acceleration, nearly to great, you get up to speed quickly and a good all round view when you're driving. Standard features inside but they do the job. Surprisingly easy to park for a chunky SUV as well.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Red Griffin

Red GriffinBrisbane

  • 39 reviews
  • 31 likes

9 year 150,000km update.

published

Purchased in February 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Kia Sportage compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Perfect, searched high and low, got it right.

published

I have been reviewing and searching for a new small SUV for sometime, once I drove the Kia Sportage I was hooked. It drives like a dream. I was looking for a no frills new car and this has it, it focuses on important things like, comfortable seats, small steering wheel, adaquate room for each passenger and driver, sat nav, reversing camera plenty of leg room just to name a few. Just only purchased my Kia last week, so still feeling it........... Customer service was top quality and very informative. I have no hesitation in recommending BMG to purchase your next new car.

Purchased in April 2020 at Kia Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bomurra

BomurraPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Car for everyday city driving

published

Purchased in July 2018 at Kia Dealers for $31,490.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Kathy

KathyHunter Region, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

Love the car, like the GPS system, but...

published

I’ve only had the vehicle a couple of weeks and I love everything about it except the maps. I like the system itself, I didn’t even mind having to pay close to $300 a week ago to get the latest maps update, but I do mind the fact that the latest maps are still years out of date here in Newcastle. It renders the system useless to me. I’ll be investigating spending more money ripping Kia’s system out and installing something else that will work with the Sportage and give me accurate, up to date maps.
Lift your game, Kia.
Those of us who bought our vehicles three years ago deserve better. After all, our vehicles are still covered by your warranty, too.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tony

TonyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

6 years of pleasurable driving

published

I have owned a Series II Platinum Turbo Diesel for 6 years, and now have 170K on the clock. Without a doubt the best car I have ever owned - I still enjoy sliding into the driver's seat. Plenty of comfort for passengers as well. Agree with comments re the Sat Nav - a bit clunky, and updates few and far between (the only answer is to make sure you have Android Auto/Apple Car Play in conjunction with a mobile phone map and you will never be out of date). But as for the drive, the power, and the comfort, it cannot be faulted (the Turbo Diesel has great torque).

It is also deceptively good for transporting goods - I have even had 4.2 metre beams poking out through the sunroof!

Due to update soon, and this will be at the top of my list.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
JohnK_Australia

JohnK_AustraliaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Better than expected, but..

published

We love our new family car from Kia, the engine is very responsive and accelerates beautifully. We have done close to 10K in our new car and the whole family enjoys the drive in the morning to school, the grocery shopping and the weekend getaways.

However, we have noticed that a bit too much plastic has been used in the interior which makes it look a bit cheapish sometimes. Overall though its a great car and with its diesel engine it'super economical too!

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Page 1 of 11

Questions & Answers

Kazzie

Kazzieasked

Sportage

Has anyone had a problem with their 2012 Diesel Kia Sportage Platinum, with the Panaromic Sunroof leaking? I only noticed just recently that there was a little water mark on the roof just above the back left hand passenger seat. Would love to hear if anyone has had issues if any?

No answers
Jason N.

Jason N.asked

Sportage QL (2015-2021)

How do I turn off the audible speed camera warning?
Are the headlights adjustable, I’m constantly getting high beamed by on coming traffic because they think I’m on high beam?

1 answer
Engima2
Engima2

Sorry Jason, I don't have these items fitted to my model....

Kylie

Kylieasked

Sportage SL (2010-2015)

I have a 2014 sportage which was regularly serviced. No oil or water leaks.
Whilst driving I heard a knocking noise coming from the engine. I stopped and called NRMA roadside service. It was found that the engine had seized. I had no prior warning of any problem. What can I do?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 18 Kia Sportage
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $39,558$33,996$41,000$46,562
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.4 L/100km7.9 L/100km7.9 L/100km6.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 62 L62 L62 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power136kW @ 4000rpm114kW @ 6200rpm114kW @ 6200rpm136kW @ 4000rpm
Max Torque400Nm @ 2750rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm192Nm @ 4000rpm400Nm @ 2750rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance172 mm172 mm172 mm172 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,900 kg1,600 kg1,600 kg1,900 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)7 year(s)
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2017
Compare all 18 Kia Sportage

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.