8 photos
BMW X5

BMW X5

E70, E53, F15, G05 (See All)
3.8 from 73 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by BMW

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (18)
  • Braking
    4.4 (17)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (17)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (17)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (16)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (16)
  • Handling
    4.5 (17)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (17)
  • Boot Size
    4.1 (16)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (17)
  • Features
    4.4 (17)
Previous
Next
Harry
HarrySydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Elegent and high quality product but missed some basics

published

Purchased in May 2021 for $140,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
John V.
John V.Western District, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great SUV!

published

Use it for commuting, off roading regularly. I service the car myself (been servicing BMWs for the last 40 years). 90,000kms with the only fault being that the front cigarette lighter blows fuses every now and again. Had previously BMW X5 3.0D which was as reliable as the day is long. Over 300,000kms and still giving great power and fuel economy. My current X5 40D twin turbo is a real stump puller. Long term average fuel consumption is 7.3l/100kms. Absolute please to drive once you get used to the electric steering. Three engine settings: Comfort, Sport and Sport +. Fantastic adaptive light system. Very pleased with it. Runs rings around my 200 series Toyota V8...

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kay281
Kay281Sydney, NSW

Car shutting down, door opening without reason, the main dashboard not working, water entry into car on both sides.

published

Private use, family car.
Daily use for twin toddlers.
20k a year km.
Services a recommended.

Sad that BMW have not solved significant issues. Who has time to take a car back every few months for repairs.

Purchased in February 2019 for $142,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jacob Xu
Jacob XuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This vehicle is rubbish - timing chain, footwell module, BMW customer services

published

I have this vehicle for some 6 years. It has done less than 150K KMs. I have done all services, never missed one.
The Timing Chain, according to Tim Collins of Berwick Motor Works, was damaged and must be replaced. It cost me some $7,000. When the Timing Chain was replaced, I was told that the Footwell Module was dead because the battery had to be disconnected when the engine was disassembled. I then contacted BMW, none of the phone numbers get me to any human beings. I was then told that BMW does not accept any responsibility unless the vehicle was diagnosed by its dealership. So, more than $7,000 for less than 150K KMs.

Purchased in October 2015 for $50,000.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul
PaulAdelaide
  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Really nice car, but could be so much better

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
reviewman27
reviewman27Perth, WA
  • 20 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nightmare - Run away, and buy a Lexus/Mazda/Toyota/Genesis

published
Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BCJ
BCJSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Second X5, great car

published

This is the second E70 I’ve had - the first was a 2007 and this is the facelift 2011. Same look but quite a remarkable difference in ride, steering, and tech. Heads up display, 3 cameras, etc, all pretty advanced for 2011. It’s a good car to drive, a bit hard and some road noise but handling is good. Incredibly reliable. Between the two cars and over 100,000 km I’ve only had two problems - one where the belt pulley sheared off, another the iDrive button had to be replaced (all on the 2007 model). Other than that, very reliable.

Purchased for $32,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
L.Smith
L.SmithSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

BMW F15 M50d

published

Great family car, looks tough, very impressive acceleration with a tonne of power, interior has it all. Watch out for suspension bushes is my only thing to consider, they seem to squeak in all models. But no expensive to replace.

Purchased in July 2018 for $84,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hunter
Hunter
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish under luxury shell

published
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
peter b
peter bSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

great quality car for people who can afford it .

published

bought my 2015 30d m sport x5 brand new cant fault it m few minor issues but all were covered by warranty , i bought the extra 2 years from bmw so had 5 years full cover , just done 70000km no issues what so ever , usually i change cars after 5 years , will keep it for 2 more years , for piece of mind have taken an extended manufactures warranty so the same as bmw from car sales for $2410 three years , as the new warranty so cant go wrong to keep it , drives great , looks great , great on fuel , would buy the next one after this , as long as you get the service plan for bmw for 5 years and extended warranty there is no reason why you cant keep the car for 5 even 6 -7 years . if not i would change it every 4- 5 years for sure .

Purchased in June 2015 at trivett bmw for $110,000.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Adqm
AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 16 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • X5
  • Verified

Great car! Love it!

published

I just generally drive around with this car, I must say, I love it! The seating is great and it is a perfect size for me, might be a bit harder for smaller people to get in however. The reason it is not 5 stars is that it does not last very long at all! If you need a car for around a year I recommend this.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bendigo Ford for $7,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tryingtoslowdown
tryingtoslowdownCentral Queensland, QLD

Still in love

published

Bought a 2013 35d, we have done 60.000ks in about 18 months taking it to 190,000 on the clock, its such a great car, that's an understatement, the power and torque allows towing a large float loaded effortless, and extremely economical, my wife gets around 1000ks per tank (me about 800ks) but you can really hoof it and it takes corners better than most small cars I have owned, I change the oil every 10,000ks. the runflats wear quick but if you want a 2500 ton vehicle to handle like a sports car suck it up or put normal tyres on it and buy a spare like one of my mates did.

Purchased in March 2018 for $35,000.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandeep S
Sandeep SSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Beautiful car with great fuel efficiency

published

I use this car for personal and professional use. Amazingly spacious and luxurious, as I had many upgrades that were included including a 10-year servicing plan. It's a beautiful car that rides well is fuel-efficient and the best in its class.

Purchased in February 2019 at BMW Dealers for $135,955.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Beautiful to drive, an absolute horror to repair

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
James
JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Awesome car, the best I've owned

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Doncaster BMW.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Jake L.
Jake L.asked
X5 E53 (2000-2006)

Does anyone know the cost to replace the fuel injectors on the vehicle listed below?

2003 BMW X5 4.4i Sport Utility 4D

No answers
Sammy
Sammyasked
X5 E53 (2000-2006)

I recently got my hands on a 2005 BMW X5 E53 Automatic All-Wheel drive (3.0L) and would love to take it off-road. So I'm putting it out there to those who have the same car and have tested it off-road. Is it okay to take off-road? and to what extent? (as I plan to beach drive with it - if it is safe to do so)

No answers
michael t.
michael t.asked
X5 E53 (2000-2006)

I am a car idiot. I have a X5 2006. What happens when I nudge the gear lever to the left and go into the manual mode? Is this a 4WD situation or what? Answer in simple terms please.
Robert

2 answers
John V.
John V.

The X5 is always in 4WD, all it does is drop the gear ratios to make it go faster. Great car. Look on the website for BSR tuning and you can increase the horsepower by 28%. We have an E53 X5 and a Drive 4.0d twin turbo. you can increase the HP to 212Kw.

michael t.
michael t.

Many thanks

See all BMW X5 questions

Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

BMW X5

Details

Compare all 13 BMW X5
BMW X5 E70
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 E70 (2007-2013)

3.6
(28)
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $112,990.00$115,990.00$149,900.00
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy22" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km9.2 L/100km7.5 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L83 L80 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power195kW @ 4000rpm250kW @ 6500rpm294kW @ 4400rpm
Max Torque620Nm @ 2000-2500rpm450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm760Nm @ 2000-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Dimensions
Ground Clearance500 mm500 mm500 mm
Release dateNov 2018Nov 2018Nov 2018Mar 2007
Discontinuation dateOct 2013
Compare all 13 BMW X5
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.