??!
8 photos
BMW X5

BMW X5

E53, E70, F15, G05
3.8 from 66 reviews

Reviews

3.8

66 reviews
5
(28)
4
(18)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (11)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (11)
  • Handling
    4.5 (11)
  • Braking
    4.5 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (10)
  • Features
    4.5 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (11)
Previous
Next
L.Smith

L.SmithSydney

  • 5 reviews

BMW F15 M50d

published

Great family car, looks tough, very impressive acceleration with a tonne of power, interior has it all. Watch out for suspension bushes is my only thing to consider, they seem to squeak in all models. But no expensive to replace.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$84,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hunter

Hunter

  • 5 reviews

Rubbish under luxury shell

published
peter b

peter bSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

great quality car for people who can afford it .

published

bought my 2015 30d m sport x5 brand new cant fault it m few minor issues but all were covered by warranty , i bought the extra 2 years from bmw so had 5 years full cover , just done 70000km no issues what so ever , usually i change cars after 5 years , will keep it for 2 more years , for piece of mind have taken an extended manufactures warranty so the same as bmw from car sales for $2410 three years , as the new warranty so cant go wrong to keep it , drives great , looks great , great on fuel , would buy the next one after this , as long as you get the service plan for bmw for 5 years and extended warranty there is no reason why you cant keep the car for 5 even 6 -7 years . if not i would change it every 4- 5 years for sure .

Purchased in June 2015 at trivett bmw for A$110,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • X5
  • Verified purchase

Great car! Love it!

published

I just generally drive around with this car, I must say, I love it! The seating is great and it is a perfect size for me, might be a bit harder for smaller people to get in however. The reason it is not 5 stars is that it does not last very long at all! If you need a car for around a year I recommend this.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bendigo Ford for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
tryingtoslowdown

tryingtoslowdownCentral Queensland, QLD

Still in love

published

Bought a 2013 35d, we have done 60.000ks in about 18 months taking it to 190,000 on the clock, its such a great car, that's an understatement, the power and torque allows towing a large float loaded effortless, and extremely economical, my wife gets around 1000ks per tank (me about 800ks) but you can really hoof it and it takes corners better than most small cars I have owned, I change the oil every 10,000ks. the runflats wear quick but if you want a 2500 ton vehicle to handle like a sports car suck it up or put normal tyres on it and buy a spare like one of my mates did.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sandeep S

Sandeep SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Beautiful car with great fuel efficiency

published

I use this car for personal and professional use. Amazingly spacious and luxurious, as I had many upgrades that were included including a 10-year servicing plan. It's a beautiful car that rides well is fuel-efficient and the best in its class.

Purchased in February 2019 at BMW Dealers for A$135,955.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Beautiful to drive, an absolute horror to repair

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Awesome car, the best I've owned

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Doncaster BMW.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
nick

nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lemon Car

published

only prestige looking - otherwise LEMON CAR - will run first 40-50 000 kms without a problem and then issues coming as one behind behind - very bad lot of problems end up with expensive repairs and maintenance

Purchased in March 2016 for A$100,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt C

Matt CSydney, NSW

This car puts a smile on my dial every time I drive it

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
trev

trevSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my bmw f15 x5 30d

published

I bought my x5 fi5 30d brand new 3 years ago have done 60,000 km have not had a single problem
I drive it every day I did buy the service package which I think was a good idea probably after the warrenty expires I will get it serviced privately as the dealers are very expensive before this car I had a 2009 x5 e70 also very good .There is something special about bmw I really enjoy the brand.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

Not that good

published
BadgexDrive30d Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2008
Drive4WD
Aidos

AidosKarrinyup

  • 3 reviews

It is hard to drive anything else now...

published

This is my second X5 and I have to say driving anything else is a pain. The car is quiet, accelerates aggressively when you want it too, comfortable and has all the trimmings you would expect from BMW. I hire a lot of cars when I travel for work, and getting into Toyota, Holden, Ford, Kia or something else is like stepping back in time. I got all my servicing including in my package and the people at West Coast BMW treat you like a friend.

BadgexDrive40d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Dominic L O

Dominic L OWELLINGTON POINT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW

published
BadgeM
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Pam

Pam

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW X5

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2003
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin

MartinBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Great car, hard to fault.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Superb drive but lots of little issue

published

Solid car and a great drive but get used to replacing / fixing parts. 2006 diesel now has 200000km. Recent issues include window regulator clips, low beam and angel eye bulbs, door handle carriers, alternator brushes. Don't waste money on mechanics, just get the parts on ebay and google how to fix and replace. Unbelievable economy for a large heavy car. Plenty of room and excellent for long drives.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Rakesh

RakeshPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great luxury car

published

The driving experience is amazing not much noise, easy to handle and great performance. The interior in mine is cream and it looks amazing I also have great legroom and the dashboard is very fancy. This is where the bad part comes it is really expensive to maintain i.e, fuel, oil, maintenance, brakes and etc. are super costly.

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Arsh G

Arsh GPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car, expensive to maintain

published

I have a Twin Turbo Diesel X-drive 35d. The handling, cornering and comfort is fantastic. The steering can feel a bit heavy but when you are driving in a long stretch of road, you will be thankful for the steady drive.
The only issue I have is the running costs. If you can afford around $2000 per year on maintenance alone, then enjoy the ride!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Joerg

JoergSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW...

published
Badgei
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2001
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Lucas G.

Lucas G.asked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

The car will drive for a short distance and switches off, when started for the first after switch off it does not start but only start on the second try, but when gear is engaged it switch off. After a 3 hour period of waiting the car will move, and it will repeatedly continue the same with faulty. Please advise?

No answers
Richard Walker

Richard Walkerasked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

My BMW X5 3.5 D E70 XDrive MY 2009 has just completed 150,000 km and has a big end bearing and con rod failure in No 3 cylinder . It was bought new and has been serviced by BMW all of its life .Prior to this happening it was making a squealing noise for a few seconds when cold and the particulate filter light warning came on. I reported this to BMW and they changed the glow plugs but could not identify the cause of the squealing . I expected this engine to last at least 300,000 kms if not more. Has anyone else encountered a big end bearing failure ?

No answers
Shaun 1508

Shaun 1508asked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

My 2008 BMW X5 cutting out whilst driving then will not start but if I take key out and put back in it start. Any help?

1 answer
Zilvinas S.
Zilvinas S.

Have you find out your problem? Few years ago i had same problem, that end up to change injector nr. 5 because on x5 there is water leack from Windows

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.