??!
8 photos
BMW X5

BMW X5

E53, E70, F15, G05
3.9 from 64 reviews

Reviews

(28)
(17)
(9)
(3)
(7)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (10)
  • Handling
    4.4 (10)
  • Braking
    4.4 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.1 (9)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.9 (9)
  • Features
    4.4 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (10)


peter b

peter bSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

great quality car for people who can afford it .

published

bought my 2015 30d m sport x5 brand new cant fault it m few minor issues but all were covered by warranty , i bought the extra 2 years from bmw so had 5 years full cover , just done 70000km no issues what so ever , usually i change cars after 5 years , will keep it for 2 more years , for piece of mind have taken an extended manufactures warranty so the same as bmw from car sales for $2410 three years , as the new warranty so cant go wrong to keep it , drives great , looks great , great on fuel , would buy the next one after this , as long as you get the service plan for bmw for 5 years and extended warranty there is no reason why you cant keep the car for 5 even 6 -7 years . if not i would change it every 4- 5 years for sure .

Purchased in June 2015 at trivett bmw for $110,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great car! Love it!

published

I just generally drive around with this car, I must say, I love it! The seating is great and it is a perfect size for me, might be a bit harder for smaller people to get in however. The reason it is not 5 stars is that it does not last very long at all! If you need a car for around a year I recommend this.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bendigo Ford for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
tryingtoslowdown

tryingtoslowdownCentral Queensland, QLD

Still in love

published

Bought a 2013 35d, we have done 60.000ks in about 18 months taking it to 190,000 on the clock, its such a great car, that's an understatement, the power and torque allows towing a large float loaded effortless, and extremely economical, my wife gets around 1000ks per tank (me about 800ks) but you can really hoof it and it takes corners better than most small cars I have owned, I change the oil every 10,000ks. the runflats wear quick but if you want a 2500 ton vehicle to handle like a sports car suck it up or put normal tyres on it and buy a spare like one of my mates did.

Purchased in March 2018 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sandeep S

Sandeep SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Beautiful car with great fuel efficiency

published

I use this car for personal and professional use. Amazingly spacious and luxurious, as I had many upgrades that were included including a 10-year servicing plan. It's a beautiful car that rides well is fuel-efficient and the best in its class.

Purchased in February 2019 at BMW Dealers for $135,955.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Beautiful to drive, an absolute horror to repair

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Awesome car, the best I've owned

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Doncaster BMW.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

nick

nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lemon Car

published

only prestige looking - otherwise LEMON CAR - will run first 40-50 000 kms without a problem and then issues coming as one behind behind - very bad lot of problems end up with expensive repairs and maintenance

Purchased in March 2016 for $100,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Matt C

Matt CSydney, NSW

This car puts a smile on my dial every time I drive it

published

Purchased in June 2018 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
trev

trevSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my bmw f15 x5 30d

published

I bought my x5 fi5 30d brand new 3 years ago have done 60,000 km have not had a single problem
I drive it every day I did buy the service package which I think was a good idea probably after the warrenty expires I will get it serviced privately as the dealers are very expensive before this car I had a 2009 x5 e70 also very good .There is something special about bmw I really enjoy the brand.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

Not that good

published
BadgexDrive30d Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2008
Drive4WD

Aidos

AidosKarrinyup

  • 3 reviews

It is hard to drive anything else now...

published

This is my second X5 and I have to say driving anything else is a pain. The car is quiet, accelerates aggressively when you want it too, comfortable and has all the trimmings you would expect from BMW. I hire a lot of cars when I travel for work, and getting into Toyota, Holden, Ford, Kia or something else is like stepping back in time. I got all my servicing including in my package and the people at West Coast BMW treat you like a friend.

BadgexDrive40d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Dominic L O

Dominic L OWELLINGTON POINT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW

published
BadgeM
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Pam

Pam

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW X5

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2003

Martin

MartinBrisbane

  • 2 reviews

Great car, hard to fault.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Superb drive but lots of little issue

published

Solid car and a great drive but get used to replacing / fixing parts. 2006 diesel now has 200000km. Recent issues include window regulator clips, low beam and angel eye bulbs, door handle carriers, alternator brushes. Don't waste money on mechanics, just get the parts on ebay and google how to fix and replace. Unbelievable economy for a large heavy car. Plenty of room and excellent for long drives.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Rakesh

RakeshPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great luxury car

published

The driving experience is amazing not much noise, easy to handle and great performance. The interior in mine is cream and it looks amazing I also have great legroom and the dashboard is very fancy. This is where the bad part comes it is really expensive to maintain i.e, fuel, oil, maintenance, brakes and etc. are super costly.

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Arsh G

Arsh GPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car, expensive to maintain

published

I have a Twin Turbo Diesel X-drive 35d. The handling, cornering and comfort is fantastic. The steering can feel a bit heavy but when you are driving in a long stretch of road, you will be thankful for the steady drive.
The only issue I have is the running costs. If you can afford around $2000 per year on maintenance alone, then enjoy the ride!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Joerg

JoergSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW...

published
Badgei
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2001

Melbourne Australia

Melbourne AustraliaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

It's like a small car in a big shell

published

Easy to drive with its awesome power steering. My wife is a very short woman but she drives this car like a small sedan. The vehicle itself xdrive30d has a powerful engine and you can really feel the power. The seats are comfortable and the ride is smooth. The GPS screen is massive and ever since the first day we owned this vehicle, there has not been any issues.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011

Shubh

Shubhperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A pleasure to drive!

published

The driving experience is absolutely brilliant! The car runs smooth and has many features like inbuilt navigation, TV, Radio, emergency contact services and etc. The X5 is a great car overall with a nice and stylish interior and a nice SUV outer body which makes it look a lot more elegant.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Glynn B.

Glynn B.asked

When sitting at the lights for a short period the car will start miss firing have to pull over turn off the engine wait a minute and start again and will run fine till you have a stop again , what could be the cause

2 answers
tryingtoslowdown
tryingtoslowdown

Does a light come on the dash?

tryingtoslowdown
tryingtoslowdown

I'd start by inspecting the battery connections it sounds simple but being lose or poor connections can cause grief,check all connections around the engine for something not right and are the spark plugs overdue to be replaced? if so change them it could be that simple and a set is only around $90 (Bosch) unless anyone else has better ideas you'll need a computer diagnosis after that


Chris

Chrisasked

I am considering the purchase of either a second hand E70 X5M or X5 50i, 2012 or 2013 model.
Is there any issues with these vehicles that I need to be aware of? Chris

No answers

Steve c

Steve casked

I have a bmw 2007 x5 e70 3.0d. I start it and it will tick over for like 10 minutes then shuts off, I remover the key start it again then it starts but dies straight away. This happens over and over . The next morning it did the same. Any ideas please?

1 answer
Dolorado
Dolorado

Hi Steve,
Mine had the same problem and we found it was the MAS (Mass Airflow Sensor) then ran perfectly afterwards. I sold it before something else went wrong. :-)


Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.