??!

See the Best Large / 7 Seater SUVs in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
25
4 star
16
3 star
9
2 star
3
1 star
7

Beautiful to drive, an absolute horror to repair

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Awesome car, the best I've owned

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Doncaster BMW.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
nick

nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lemon Car

published

only prestige looking - otherwise LEMON CAR - will run first 40-50 000 kms without a problem and then issues coming as one behind behind - very bad lot of problems end up with expensive repairs and maintenance

Purchased in March 2016 for $100,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Matt C

Matt CSydney, NSW

This car puts a smile on my dial every time I drive it

published

Purchased in June 2018 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

trev

trevSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my bmw f15 x5 30d

published

I bought my x5 fi5 30d brand new 3 years ago have done 60,000 km have not had a single problem
I drive it every day I did buy the service package which I think was a good idea probably after the warrenty expires I will get it serviced privately as the dealers are very expensive before this car I had a 2009 x5 e70 also very good .There is something special about bmw I really enjoy the brand.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

Not that good

published
BadgexDrive30d Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2008
Drive4WD

Aidos

AidosKarrinyup

  • 3 reviews

It is hard to drive anything else now...

published

This is my second X5 and I have to say driving anything else is a pain. The car is quiet, accelerates aggressively when you want it too, comfortable and has all the trimmings you would expect from BMW. I hire a lot of cars when I travel for work, and getting into Toyota, Holden, Ford, Kia or something else is like stepping back in time. I got all my servicing including in my package and the people at West Coast BMW treat you like a friend.

BadgexDrive40d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

Dominic L O

Dominic L OWELLINGTON POINT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW

published
BadgeM
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Pam

Pam

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW X5

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2003
Martin

MartinBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car, hard to fault.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Superb drive but lots of little issue

published

Solid car and a great drive but get used to replacing / fixing parts. 2006 diesel now has 200000km. Recent issues include window regulator clips, low beam and angel eye bulbs, door handle carriers, alternator brushes. Don't waste money on mechanics, just get the parts on ebay and google how to fix and replace. Unbelievable economy for a large heavy car. Plenty of room and excellent for long drives.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Rakesh

RakeshPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great luxury car

published

The driving experience is amazing not much noise, easy to handle and great performance. The interior in mine is cream and it looks amazing I also have great legroom and the dashboard is very fancy. This is where the bad part comes it is really expensive to maintain i.e, fuel, oil, maintenance, brakes and etc. are super costly.

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Arsh G

Arsh GPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good car, expensive to maintain

published

I have a Twin Turbo Diesel X-drive 35d. The handling, cornering and comfort is fantastic. The steering can feel a bit heavy but when you are driving in a long stretch of road, you will be thankful for the steady drive.
The only issue I have is the running costs. If you can afford around $2000 per year on maintenance alone, then enjoy the ride!

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Joerg

JoergSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW...

published
Badgei
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2001
Melbourne Australia

Melbourne AustraliaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

It's like a small car in a big shell

published

Easy to drive with its awesome power steering. My wife is a very short woman but she drives this car like a small sedan. The vehicle itself xdrive30d has a powerful engine and you can really feel the power. The seats are comfortable and the ride is smooth. The GPS screen is massive and ever since the first day we owned this vehicle, there has not been any issues.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2011
Shubh

Shubhperth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A pleasure to drive!

published

The driving experience is absolutely brilliant! The car runs smooth and has many features like inbuilt navigation, TV, Radio, emergency contact services and etc. The X5 is a great car overall with a nice and stylish interior and a nice SUV outer body which makes it look a lot more elegant.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013

trievalot

trievalotAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent features and build quality

published

This is my first BMW, after driving Mitsubishi, Toyota and Mazda. The driving experience is a pleasure, and despite being a diesel has much more get up than my previous petrol Prado. Mine is a 7 seater, which is OK for children/teenagers in the back row, not so good for a full size adult. Whiie the white leather was a concern at first, it is easy to clean, and the instruments are well laid out. i really like the heads up display for speed and nav.
The service costs have been reasonable, and any non warrant parts have been purchased offline for much cheaper than the dealer.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Zues Lives on!

Zues Lives on!Western Australia, 6060

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great when new, would not buy again

published

Purchased in May 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2003
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

BMW X5

published

s25d have twin turbo engine and power is excellent considering the size of engine. Also s25d is very fuel efficient
I have a lot of fun to drive this car and BMW service is also excellent. And shape of the car is very attractive. The light is so bright at night.

BadgesDrive25d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

nothappyJan04

nothappyJan04MELBOURNE

  • 41 reviews
  • 33 likes

DON'T BOTHER

published

This car was great until the kms crept up. Once it hit 200,000km then everything started breaking. Fair enough, the car's done a lot of kms, but the cost to replace the parts is insane! I've always serviced the car with a specialist repairer (not BMW as they charge like wounded bulls), and I've always looked after the car.
If you're looking for a great 4WD then I wouldn't say not to buy an X5 but don't buy one second hand if it's got a few kms on the odometer. They're just not worth the massive repair bills !!! It would be cheaper to buy a new Aussie made 4WD.

BadgexDrive30i Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2007

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Steve c

Steve casked

X5 E70

I have a bmw 2007 x5 e70 3.0d. I start it and it will tick over for like 10 minutes then shuts off, I remover the key start it again then it starts but dies straight away. This happens over and over . The next morning it did the same. Any ideas please?

No answers

Striney Pillay

Striney Pillayasked

X5 E70

My E70 3.0 SD X5 loses power after a long trip , I can still drive it but when I depress accelerator the response is poor , like no boost

No answers

Sydney C.

Sydney C.asked

X5 E70

Hi my 2007 BMW x5 3.0 d cuts off while driving. I replaced all fuel related sensors, fuel regulator, fuel pressure, fuel measure and the fuel pump. But it still do the same. It will start and cuts off after some few minutes. It shows the low battery warning signs and lose time and date. Can a low battery cause the car to cut off while running? Please help I am frustrated

No answers

Get an answer from our members and BMW representatives

Details

BMW X5 G05 xDrive30d

BMW X5 G05 xDrive30d (2018-2019)

No reviews
BMW X5 G05 xDrive40i

BMW X5 G05 xDrive40i (2018-2019)

No reviews
BMW X5 G05 M50d

BMW X5 G05 M50d (2018-2019)

No reviews
BMW X5 E70
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 E70 (2007-2013)

23 reviews
BMW X5 F15 sDrive25d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 sDrive25d (2014-2018)

1 review
BMW X5 F15 xDrive25d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive25d (2014-2018)

No reviews
BMW X5 F15 xDrive40d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive40d (2014-2018)

1 review
BMW X5 F15 xDrive35i
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive35i (2014-2018)

No reviews
BMW X5 F15 M
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 M (2015-2018)

1 review
BMW X5 F15 xDrive30d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive30d (2013-2018)

5 reviews
BMW X5 F15 xDrive50i
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 xDrive50i (2013-2018)

No reviews
BMW X5 F15 M50d
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 F15 M50d (2013-2018)

No reviews
BMW X5 E53
  • Discontinued

BMW X5 E53 (2000-2006)

26 reviews
CategoryLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVsLarge / 7 Seater SUVs
Starting Price $112,990$115,990$149,900$93,990$91,155$124,990$109,615$112,990$143,619$144,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFour Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)Four Wheel Drive (4WD)
Fuel TypeDieselPetrolDieselDieselDieselDieselPetrolDieselPetrolDiesel
Wheels20" Alloy20" Alloy22" Alloy18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy19" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555555555
Seats55555555555
Fuel Consumption7.2 L/100km9.2 L/100km7.5 L/100km5.5 L/100km5.6 L/100km6.3 L/100km8.5 L/100km6.2 L/100km10.5 L/100km6.7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 80 L83 L80 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L85 L
Engine6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L6 Cylinder 3.0L8 Cylinder 4.4L6 Cylinder 3.0L
Max Power195kW @ 4000rpm250kW @ 6500rpm294kW @ 4400rpm170kW @ 4400rpm170kW @ 4400rpm230kW @ 4400rpm225kW @ 6000rpm190kW @ 4000rpm330kW @ 6000rpm280kW @ 4400rpm
Max Torque620Nm @ 2000-2500rpm450Nm @ 1500-2500rpm760Nm @ 2000-3000rpm500Nm @ 1500-3000rpm500Nm @ 1500-3000rpm630Nm @ 1500-2500rpm400Nm @ 1200-5000rpm560Nm @ 1500-3000rpm650Nm @ 2000-4500rpm740Nm @ 2000-3000rpm
Country of ManufactureUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited StatesUnited States
Safety Features
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
  • ABS (Antilock Braking System)
  • Active Cruise Control
  • AEB (Auto Emergency Braking)
  • Driver Attention Detection
  • ESC (Electronic Stability Control)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISA (Intelligent Speed Assist)
  • Lane Assist
  • Reversing Camera
  • Traction Control
Extra Features
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • 360° Camera
  • Automatic Boot
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Parking Assist
  • Automatic Start/Stop Engine
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Heads-up Display
  • Heated Seats
  • Immobilizer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Power Steering
  • Sunroof
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance500 mm500 mm500 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)3,500 kg3,500 kg3,500 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg2,700 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateNov 2018Nov 2018Nov 2018Mar 2007Mar 2014Mar 2014Mar 2014Mar 2014Apr 2015Nov 2013Nov 2013Nov 2013Nov 2000
Discontinuation dateOct 2013Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Oct 2018Dec 2006

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.