??!
8 photos
BMW X5

BMW X5

E70, E53, F15, G05
3.8 from 68 reviews

Reviews

3.8

68 reviews
5
(29)
4
(18)
3
(9)
2
(3)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (13)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (13)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (13)
  • Handling
    4.4 (13)
  • Braking
    4.4 (13)
  • Suspension
    3.9 (13)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.2 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (12)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (13)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (12)
  • Features
    4.3 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (13)
Previous
Next
reviewman27

reviewman27Perth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Nightmare - Run away, and buy a Lexus/Mazda/Toyota/Genesis

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BCJ

BCJSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Second X5, great car

published

This is the second E70 I’ve had - the first was a 2007 and this is the facelift 2011. Same look but quite a remarkable difference in ride, steering, and tech. Heads up display, 3 cameras, etc, all pretty advanced for 2011. It’s a good car to drive, a bit hard and some road noise but handling is good. Incredibly reliable. Between the two cars and over 100,000 km I’ve only had two problems - one where the belt pulley sheared off, another the iDrive button had to be replaced (all on the 2007 model). Other than that, very reliable.

Purchased for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
L.Smith

L.SmithSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

BMW F15 M50d

published

Great family car, looks tough, very impressive acceleration with a tonne of power, interior has it all. Watch out for suspension bushes is my only thing to consider, they seem to squeak in all models. But no expensive to replace.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$84,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hunter

Hunter

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Rubbish under luxury shell

published
peter b

peter bSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

great quality car for people who can afford it .

published

bought my 2015 30d m sport x5 brand new cant fault it m few minor issues but all were covered by warranty , i bought the extra 2 years from bmw so had 5 years full cover , just done 70000km no issues what so ever , usually i change cars after 5 years , will keep it for 2 more years , for piece of mind have taken an extended manufactures warranty so the same as bmw from car sales for $2410 three years , as the new warranty so cant go wrong to keep it , drives great , looks great , great on fuel , would buy the next one after this , as long as you get the service plan for bmw for 5 years and extended warranty there is no reason why you cant keep the car for 5 even 6 -7 years . if not i would change it every 4- 5 years for sure .

Purchased in June 2015 at trivett bmw for A$110,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Adqm

AdqmCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • X5
  • Verified purchase

Great car! Love it!

published

I just generally drive around with this car, I must say, I love it! The seating is great and it is a perfect size for me, might be a bit harder for smaller people to get in however. The reason it is not 5 stars is that it does not last very long at all! If you need a car for around a year I recommend this.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bendigo Ford for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
tryingtoslowdown

tryingtoslowdownCentral Queensland, QLD

Still in love

published

Bought a 2013 35d, we have done 60.000ks in about 18 months taking it to 190,000 on the clock, its such a great car, that's an understatement, the power and torque allows towing a large float loaded effortless, and extremely economical, my wife gets around 1000ks per tank (me about 800ks) but you can really hoof it and it takes corners better than most small cars I have owned, I change the oil every 10,000ks. the runflats wear quick but if you want a 2500 ton vehicle to handle like a sports car suck it up or put normal tyres on it and buy a spare like one of my mates did.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sandeep S

Sandeep SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Beautiful car with great fuel efficiency

published

I use this car for personal and professional use. Amazingly spacious and luxurious, as I had many upgrades that were included including a 10-year servicing plan. It's a beautiful car that rides well is fuel-efficient and the best in its class.

Purchased in February 2019 at BMW Dealers for A$135,955.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Beautiful to drive, an absolute horror to repair

published

Purchased in January 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
James

JamesGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Awesome car, the best I've owned

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Doncaster BMW.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
nick

nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Lemon Car

published

only prestige looking - otherwise LEMON CAR - will run first 40-50 000 kms without a problem and then issues coming as one behind behind - very bad lot of problems end up with expensive repairs and maintenance

Purchased in March 2016 for A$100,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Matt C

Matt CSydney, NSW

This car puts a smile on my dial every time I drive it

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
trev

trevSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

I love my bmw f15 x5 30d

published

I bought my x5 fi5 30d brand new 3 years ago have done 60,000 km have not had a single problem
I drive it every day I did buy the service package which I think was a good idea probably after the warrenty expires I will get it serviced privately as the dealers are very expensive before this car I had a 2009 x5 e70 also very good .There is something special about bmw I really enjoy the brand.

BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Drive4WD

Not that good

published
BadgexDrive30d Executive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2008
Drive4WD
Aidos

AidosKarrinyup

  • 3 reviews

It is hard to drive anything else now...

published

This is my second X5 and I have to say driving anything else is a pain. The car is quiet, accelerates aggressively when you want it too, comfortable and has all the trimmings you would expect from BMW. I hire a lot of cars when I travel for work, and getting into Toyota, Holden, Ford, Kia or something else is like stepping back in time. I got all my servicing including in my package and the people at West Coast BMW treat you like a friend.

BadgexDrive40d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Find out how BMW X5 compares to other Large / 7 Seater SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dominic L O

Dominic L OWELLINGTON POINT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Classic BMW

published
BadgeM
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Pam

Pam

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

BMW X5

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2003
Martin

MartinBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car, hard to fault.

published
BadgexDrive30d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Superb drive but lots of little issue

published

Solid car and a great drive but get used to replacing / fixing parts. 2006 diesel now has 200000km. Recent issues include window regulator clips, low beam and angel eye bulbs, door handle carriers, alternator brushes. Don't waste money on mechanics, just get the parts on ebay and google how to fix and replace. Unbelievable economy for a large heavy car. Plenty of room and excellent for long drives.

Badged
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015
Rakesh

RakeshPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great luxury car

published

The driving experience is amazing not much noise, easy to handle and great performance. The interior in mine is cream and it looks amazing I also have great legroom and the dashboard is very fancy. This is where the bad part comes it is really expensive to maintain i.e, fuel, oil, maintenance, brakes and etc. are super costly.

BadgexDrive35d
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

GrayS

GraySasked

X5 F15 xDrive25d (2014-2018)

I am looking at buying a 2014 BMW X5 F15 xdrive 35i with the M Sport package with 150 000km on it. I would get an extended warranty but does anybody have any adivice? It has a full service history at BMW.

No answers
Carl M

Carl Masked

X5

does anyone own an X5 50i 2017/2018 model? looking at buying one, have been warned off buying because of engine failure - is that correct?

No answers
Ray

Rayasked

X5 E70 (2007-2013)

im having issue with my x5 E70 2008 model as a warning light came up saying sos system not working then immediately after this notification my Bluetooth as well as rear view camera stop working any ideas what maybe the cause ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.