??!
29 photos
Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester

S3, 79V, 1997 Release, etc...
4.2 from 283 reviews

Reviews

(149)
(81)
(24)
(14)
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (19)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (21)
  • Handling
    4.6 (20)
  • Braking
    4.7 (21)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (21)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (18)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (21)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (20)
  • Boot Size
    4.4 (20)
  • Features
    4.2 (20)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (20)


Terrible

published

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Kevvie

KevvieSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Great

published

Long time Mercedes owner, including ML 350, had one of first Forester GT in Australia. My Forester XT Premium s4 is a delight. All the negative about the CVT , crap, a great transmission. Sits nicely beside our Mercedes c200

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Kevvie, Thank you so much for the superb review and we are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your Forester. If we could ask a quick favour - we’d love to see your review on Google Reviews as well! The Subaru Team.

Superb machine

published

After having owned a WRX the Forester took a little getting used to, but it is such a refined a driver friendly car that this was an eady transition.
It handles really well for such a high car, and the cvt is crisp and responsive. The adaptive cruise control is really well sorted and helps make commuting far more palatable. It is a perfect size for the teens in the family and is a very manoevorable car in shopping centres. It is engaging enough in the twisties and manages light off-roading consumately.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Melmain

MelmainPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Incredible value for money

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Peterm

PetermPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

the best for this category of car

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Subaru Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Evonne

EvonneSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

It is great as a car, but not as a mobile entertaining tool.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Dealers for $37,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Pierre

PierreShellharbour NSW

  • 16 reviews

S Edition for the money

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Daniel

Daniel

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ticks many boxes, very versatile.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sylvia

sylviaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love this car

published

I use this car everyday for work and family and outings.
This car is brand new so it will be serviced yearly.
No issues at this point.
Fantastic car i would recommend it for all ages so comfortable and spacious .

Purchased in March 2019 at subaru sutherland for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tristan Evans

Tristan Evans

  • 3 reviews

Love this car, I almost live in it.

published

I have owned this car since March and it has not skipped a beat on the road or off the road. Great safety features that suit me for long driving trips and goes really well off the beaten track.

Purchased in March 2019 at Cricks Highway for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Kangaroo3d

Kangaroo3dHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

$170 diagnosis fee after Takata Air Bag Recall

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Year2011

Anon

AnonSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Love this car.

published

Great for everyday use in suburban and off road. So great for camping because high ground clearance (same as land cruiser). AWD is great.
If serviced regularly it's a Good reliable car.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Tony

TonySydney, NSW

Navigation System Outdated And Not Current

published

Purchased in February 2019 at LIVERPOOL SUBARU.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

levin

levinSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Reliable and maintainable family car

published

Bought it when it was 7 years old.
We used it for our family and it is always reliable.
We drove it across states, went to the snowy mountain. Never had a problem.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Raresense

RaresenseSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Safe, Reliable and wonderful car to drive! Highy Recommend!

published

Purchased in October 2017 at Trivett Subaru Paramatta for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Clark Kent

Clark KentSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 27 reviews

XT: Amazing ride quality, effortless torque, Swiss Army knife of SUV’s

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Subaru Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Marco Niere

Marco NiereGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like

TERRIBLE is an Understatement: AVOID Poor Quality and Over Hyped

published

Purchased in October 2015 for $41,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Really disappointed

published

We purchased a new Forester recently and within the first couple of days an error appeared which disabled all electronic features. It is taking 3 weeks to get fixed. Not reliable.

Purchased in January 2019.

Year2019

AliG

AliG

  • 2 reviews

Serious Design Flaws and Product Issues

published

Purchased in May 2013.

TransmissionAutomatic
Year2012

Shenanigans

ShenanigansBrisbane

  • 33 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great, but not perfect.

published

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Shenanigans
Shenanigans

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Bob B

Bob Basked

Just upgraded from a Subaru liberty 2015 (entry model) to a 2020 Forester premium. Very happy with the vehicle in general, however the radio quality and coverage is not great. I find that I need to source new stations frequently when driving, 40-60 Km is about the range. The liberty had a good range and sound. The vehicle supplier could not assist me with this issue. Learning all the new features and instructions was a daunting task and the manuals were difficult to follow. The best source of learning was from American and Canada u tube sites. Pity the car did not come with simple video instruction, it would have saved a lot of time and stress. Love the ride and cabin comfort and low road noise.

2 answers
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Bob B, Congratulations on your new Subaru! We're so glad to hear that you're happy with your Forester. All our retailers provide a free one month check and chat service for new vehicles where they can go through any concerns you have. We do appreciate your feedback about instructional videos which we will be sure to look into. Feel free to contact our Customer Relations Team if you have any other questions at feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Bob B
Bob B

Sorry, I did contact the retailer about this issue and they could not provide me with an answer, this is why I contacted Subaru Australia.


Jules

Julesasked

What's involved with the 200,000 service and how much?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Jules, We can double check that for you if you'd like to private message us your VIN or rego details on Facebook or email us at feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.


Clio

Clioasked

Does the reversing camera come with a warning sound?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.