??!
29 photos
Subaru Forester

Subaru Forester

S3, 79V, 1997 Release, etc...
4.2 from 289 reviews

Reviews

4.2

289 reviews
5
(151)
4
(83)
3
(24)
2
(16)
1
(15)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (25)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (27)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (28)
  • Handling
    4.4 (27)
  • Braking
    4.6 (28)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (28)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (25)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (28)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (27)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (26)
  • Features
    4.2 (26)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (27)
Previous
Next
Russell H.

Russell H.Southern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews

3rd Subaru but quality has slipped badly.

published

Whole dash rattles since almost new. Cracking sounds around B Pillar on both sides everytime body flexes. No thigh support for front seats. Subaru Australia don't care nor does dealer.

Purchased in November 2014 at Subaru Dealers for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Russell H, We’re sorry to hear of your experience with your Forester. If you would like to discuss this further with us, you’re welcome to contact our Customer Relations Team on 1800 22 66 43 or feedback@subaru.com.au. The Subaru Team.

Ted

TedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job nicely

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Subaru Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Gajic

GajicPerth, WA

2.0D Premium by name and nature

published

Purchased in May 2011 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jeanette

JeanetteGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very comfortable fabulous safety features,

published

Easy to get in and out of, very comfortable, great colour range, best of all the excellent safety features. Easy to read large infotainment screen. plenty of leg room in the back. Excellent visibility. Love it

Purchased in March 2019 at Subaru Docklands for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Shane D.

Shane D.Perth, WA

Fantastic car combines performance & practicality.

published

Purchased used through a dealer the XT is my 4th Subaru. It offers the combination of useable performance & good internal space that I need.
I have found it great for day to day commuting and for fun on the weekends,
The only issue I have is the Bluetooth connectivity not working which my research seems to show is a common fault with the 2014 Forester.
I will look to get this sorted & then the XT will be the perfect car for me!

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
PierreP

PierrePGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

If only it would start!

published

Purchased in December 2015 at Subaru Dealers for A$46,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Terrible

published

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Kevvie

KevvieSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Great

published

Long time Mercedes owner, including ML 350, had one of first Forester GT in Australia. My Forester XT Premium s4 is a delight. All the negative about the CVT , crap, a great transmission. Sits nicely beside our Mercedes c200

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @Kevvie, Thank you so much for the superb review and we are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your Forester. If we could ask a quick favour - we’d love to see your review on Google Reviews as well! The Subaru Team.

Superb machine

published

After having owned a WRX the Forester took a little getting used to, but it is such a refined a driver friendly car that this was an eady transition.
It handles really well for such a high car, and the cvt is crisp and responsive. The adaptive cruise control is really well sorted and helps make commuting far more palatable. It is a perfect size for the teens in the family and is a very manoevorable car in shopping centres. It is engaging enough in the twisties and manages light off-roading consumately.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Melmain

MelmainPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews

Incredible value for money

published

Purchased in March 2019 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia
Peterm

PetermPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

the best for this category of car

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Subaru Dealers for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Evonne

EvonneSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

It is great as a car, but not as a mobile entertaining tool.

published

Purchased in March 2018 at Subaru Dealers for A$37,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Pierre

PierreShellharbour NSW

  • 17 reviews

S Edition for the money

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Daniel

Daniel

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ticks many boxes, very versatile.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Subaru Docklands.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sylvia

sylviaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Love this car

published

I use this car everyday for work and family and outings.
This car is brand new so it will be serviced yearly.
No issues at this point.
Fantastic car i would recommend it for all ages so comfortable and spacious .

Purchased in March 2019 at subaru sutherland for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Subaru Forester compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tristan Evans

Tristan Evans

  • 3 reviews

Love this car, I almost live in it.

published

I have owned this car since March and it has not skipped a beat on the road or off the road. Great safety features that suit me for long driving trips and goes really well off the beaten track.

Purchased in March 2019 at Cricks Highway for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kangaroo3d

Kangaroo3dHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 12 likes

$170 diagnosis fee after Takata Air Bag Recall

published

Purchased in July 2014.

Year2011
Anon

AnonSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Love this car.

published

Great for everyday use in suburban and off road. So great for camping because high ground clearance (same as land cruiser). AWD is great.
If serviced regularly it's a Good reliable car.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

Navigation System Outdated And Not Current

published

Purchased in February 2019 at LIVERPOOL SUBARU.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
levin

levinSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Reliable and maintainable family car

published

Bought it when it was 7 years old.
We used it for our family and it is always reliable.
We drove it across states, went to the snowy mountain. Never had a problem.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Jon M.

Jon M.asked

Forester 79V (2002-2008)

Started the vehicle this morning and let it idle for 90 seconds with my foot on the clutch...dog escaped so I took foot of clutch and got out to retrieve dog (all up...about 30seconds).

Heard a gear grating noise behind me and watched the car jump forward, then stall. Bugger said I.

Put dog away and went back out to the car.

Got in - tried the gear stick and it balked at all gears. Started the car with foot on the clutch and engine started, no problem. No engagement of gearbox.

Went to engage gears - which I couldn't, so I took my foot of the clutch which promptly stalled the engine.

Gearbox stuck in 5th gear.

Any body had a similar experience? Time for a new gearbox?

1 answer
Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Jon M, We're sorry to hear of your experience with your Forester. We recommend having your vehicle inspected and diagnosed by a Subaru service retailer to see what can be done for you and your vehicle. The Subaru Team http://bit.ly/2WZZ8yv

Jeff

Jeffasked

Forester

Hi,
I own a 2014 Subaru forester, 2.5i petrol engine and I'm wondering if I need to change the intank fuel filter or not? The car is at its 125,000 km and the fuel consumption is around 9.5 to 10.5 L/100km. I'm wondering if I change the fuel filter, I might get better mileage on gas or not? Your answer to my question is highly appreciated.

Cheers,
Jeff

3 answers
Jeanette
Jeanette

Hi Jeff, Sorry I cannot help with this but a quick call to a Subaru Service centre will help with that

Ted
Ted

Hi all. My understanding is that poor fuel economy is not a symptom of a dirty fuel filter. It's more so bad idling, poor performance. That said, you can never be sure - until you replace it ! Our Forester gets the same economy numbers as yours, Jeff. Has since new, and never seems to vary. As Jeanette suggests, ask your trusted mechanic or Subaru.

Jeff
Jeff

Thanks Ted and Jeanette for your responses. As fot the fuel filter, many mechanics say that you don't need to change it unless there is something wrong with it. Since the intank fuel filter for FB engines comes with the fuel pump, I have to buy the whole kit together which will cost me around $250 and $200 for labour. I'm not sure if it worth it or not but it's in the logbook to change at 125000 Kms. Anyhow, I'm more relaxed now to hear that your car's consumption is the same. Maybe I just leave it like this for a while and see what happens :)

By the way, does anyone here has issue with the oil leak from the camshaft right on top of the exhaust manifold? I'm having this issue recently and the smell is just horrible. Any ideas that the oil leak stop products could help or not? (I think it's really time for me to change my car :D)

Ron

Ronasked

Forester

Before getting to my queries, I love my MY19 Forester Premium, bought May last year, under 6500kms as I have not done any long trips and the country is now in lock down. Fuel consumption from day one worked down from 9.6l/km to 8.5l/km as the motor "ran in".

Queries
Is it possible for a front seat passenger to lock the car? (My 2013 dual cab has this security feature)
As I drive out of my home street there is a very slight ridge in the road and as I go over it there is a very minor thump. Will have the dealer check it at one year service but just ask if this would be normal with this type of suspension?
I had the impression that there was a "maximum speed" button but I have not been able to find it. It would be a pretty good feature for roadworks speed restricted areas.
The Infotainment/navigation system seems to have an obscure and sealed operating system. Can an owner put any more programs on the system? If it was Windows or Android then I could use Oziexplorer on it.
Thanks for your advice on these matters.

Ron

3 answers
Ron
Ron

Angie E. received a response directly from Subaru Australia and I hoped I may be lucky with a similar response.

Subaru Australia
SubaruSubaru Australia

Hi @ Ron, Thank you so much for your review and congratulations on your new Forester - a great choice!
Passengers can only lock/unlock their own door using the lock/unlock lever. With the minor thump, it is best to have your Subaru service retailer check that out for you as its difficult to say if there’s an issue without firsthand knowledge. The MY19 Forester does have a Manual Speed Limiter function which is a part of the eyesight technology so please check the Eyesight Manual and/or your dealer can also help you with it. As for the infotainment unit, it’s not possible to add any software aside from what is provided by the factory through any updates. We hope you and your loved ones are safe and well. The Subaru Team.

Ron
Ron

Many thanks

Get an answer from our members and Subaru Australia representatives

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs


ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.