??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.1 from 277 reviews

Reviews

(146)
(72)
(20)
(14)
(25)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (42)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (42)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (36)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (41)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (40)
  • Handling
    4.6 (38)
  • Braking
    4.5 (40)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (38)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (33)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (39)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (40)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (40)
  • Features
    4.3 (38)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (40)
brarboyz

brarboyzPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Best car I ever had. Value of money. 7 litres urban. All sensor working great. Comfortable ride. 5 years warranty, 4 yrs free service. High quality material , feel luxurious. Best in this segment

Purchased in December 2018 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mr SS

Mr SS

  • 4 reviews

Fantastic car, navigation system is poor

published

Purchased in December 2017 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kelly

KellyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Feels sturdy and safe and a breeze to drive

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $28,496.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maree66

Maree66Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Never buy a Mazda!!!

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Mazda Dealers for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Mazda is NOT good

Mazda is NOT goodGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My real experience with Mazda Australia and Penfold Burwood after getting my CX-5 - 4 days with engine issue

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $49,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
teag

teagNorth ryde

  • 11 reviews

Perfect upgrade from our Mazda 6

published

We have owned a Mazda 6 for 18 years and its always been very reliable. We purchased a Mazda CX-5 for an upgrade and are very happy with it.

Great value for money and all the features youd expect in a modern car.

No issues

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Abandoned by Mazda Australia.

published

My Mazda CX-5 has a Front diff seal leak it's only done 120,000klms. Repair quote $3980. I've had it since new. Mazda Aust refuse to repair. Car always serviced as per schedule. Private use only.

Purchased in June 2013 for $46,000.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Frank Hope Valley SA

Frank Hope Valley SAMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Best car ever!

published

The Mazda CX5 is the best car we have ever bought. We bought it from Paradise Motors SA in October 2019. After considering many other medium SUVs, the CX5 confirms all the positive reviews we read months before making our decision. We chose "soul red" colour and had the MotorOne Protektiv Car Care product included. Often people remark on the quality of the paintwork (eg very shiny) and are impressed (as we are) on the general appearance of the car. It's the 4th Mazda vehicle we've had, including 3 new ones from Paradise Motors who are simply the best as far as service is concerned - we won't go anywhere else!

Purchased in October 2019 for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Michael R.

Michael R.Canberra 2600, ACT

Looks nice but impractical

published

Looks nice drives like a dream but the centre console is like half a metre wide and highly inconvenient. Please make a slime line in future models, please and thankyou.

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
esp

espMelbourne

  • 34 reviews

Zoom zoom!

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Mazda Dealers for $29,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Predrag J.

Predrag J.

  • 2 reviews

Amazing car can not image life without it.

published

Extremely comfortable and easy to drive used in daily comutes, going to work picking up grocery etc, the car is serviced every 6 months. Have not had any issues tho when you turn the car off sometimes the monitor and ignition is still on having to turn it off twice.

Purchased in November 2012 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for $35.99.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Comfy but noisy

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Dwyer's mazda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
a79

a79Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 9 likes

Such a great family car

published

We love our cx 5 it is perfect for our little family and has been very reliable and comes with such fantastic safety features
We have 3 children in car seats across the back so it’s a squishy fit but works for now
The boot space is enough for prams and such but for holidays we have found a roof pod is necessary for all the luggage
Fuel economy is pretty good and the car drives really well

Purchased in December 2012 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Delzey

DelzeyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my CX-5 and Mazda's customer service is second to none.

published

Purchased in April 2014 at CityMazda for $35,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Wiesiek

Wiesieksydney

  • 7 reviews

10 K review

published
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah T.

Sarah T.Victoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable comfortable car

published

A great family car drove up from Victoria to Queensland effortlessly. Servicing very reasonably priced compared to the Q5 it replaced. Great handling, plenty of room for a family of 4.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mick

MickGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Be warned

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Mazda Dealers for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nina56

Nina56Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Stylish, Safe and the Best Red Car on the Market

published

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
J and T Smith

J and T SmithSouth West, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

In love with my car!

published

I have had my Mazda CX-5 for just over 12 months and have never looked back! It is so comfortable to be in and drive. The technology is user friendly and has so many features to assist you such as the navigation and even the average fuel consumption. It is driven each day for commuting to work, the gym and around town. I have had my CX-5 serviced once and the customer service I received was wonderful, very friendly and informative throughout the entire experience.

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John P

John PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Great Reliable Car

published

Purchased at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

CX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L Petrol (2015-2020)

can I use any type of grade petrol in my 2 litre CX 5 Mazda

No answers
Jason

Jasonasked

CX-5

I have a mazda cx 5 2016 sport maxx diesel awd. I bought it brand new. Initially the range of the tank was upto 990 km on a full tank, but lately I have noticed a decline in the range down to 700 km. Can you advise me what I can do?

2 answers
Mr SS
Mr SS

Don't know why that is unless you were driving long distance on an open road getting great fuel economy. I have a 2017 CX5 diesel and driving around the city get about 7 liters per 100 kilometers which will show on your trip meter. The math is a 55 liter tank x (100/7) = 785 kilometers per tank.

Jason
Jason

Hi Mr SS, taking your maths into account, I'm currently getting 750 km. How can I get the 35 km back?

Gillian B.

Gillian B.asked

CX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L Diesel (2017-2020)

Is the Mazda warranty for 3 or 5 years?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.