??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.0 from 293 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (58)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (58)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (51)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (57)
  • Braking
    4.6 (53)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.1 (53)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (46)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (51)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (52)
  • Handling
    4.6 (51)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (53)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (52)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (53)
  • Features
    4.3 (51)
Previous
Next
TheDigitalPixxie

TheDigitalPixxieCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

My first SUV, and I've never felt happier or safer

published

Purchased in November 2017 for $19,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great car shame about the warranty and Mazda Australia

published

I was very pleased with my new Mazda CX-5 - a great car..... until the $500 key fob fell apart. I haven’t dropped it or damaged it so I went back to the Mazda dealer and they told me (after 3 visits, emails and phone calls) it was a Mazda Australia warranty issue.

Mazda Australia declined the claim - in my view the warranty is worthless.....which was one of my main criteria in buying the car.

I now find the ACCC took Mazda Australia to court for “unconscionable conduct and false and misleading statements.”

Purchased in May 2020 for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Luke

LukeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome SUV

published

We love this car and use it with two kids and two adults. We have the 2.5 litre petrol AWD maxx sport. Two baby seats fitted plus a factory tow bar and after market roof racks. Had family trips , I regularly tow a small boat, been to the snow, out west on road trips, commuting etc. always serviced - we have no major issues. We have replaced things like brake pads, tyres etc but nothing major.

Purchased in December 2013 at Artarmon mazda for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bilby

BilbySydney

  • 14 reviews
  • 3 likes

Definitely a drivers SUV!

published

The CX-5 is used for mainly commuting as well as the occasional long drive.

With the leather seats (cool / heated at the front), LED lighting inside and out, HUD, bose sound system and safety features paired with a petrol turbo it really feels like a premium SUV. It is a great car to drive with its 6 speed auto.

Boot space is a little smaller compared to other SUVs but it is also easier to park.

Car is serviced in line with recommended timing / distance and is reasonably priced (though not capped).

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Dani

DaniSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good performance, good quality, disappointing manual gearbox...

published

The car has good performance, it's economical and comfortable to run...

But:

In the manual gearbox - The first gear is to short for a smooth ride, becoming a bit jerky if using low revs...

Head rest of the front are too much leaning forward becoming very uncomfortable in long rides, causing back pain at times ...

Purchased in August 2016 for $26,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Pilgrim1936

Pilgrim1936Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disgruntled

published

This car is used now for shopping or visiting family or church events. Last year I would have used it almost daily; this year, because of corona virus, Probably once a week. This car is serviced whenever the reminder comes up on the dashboard. I expect that the GPS in a top-of-the-range model would last much more than seven years. Mazda Australia was plainly not interested!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2017 at Pickles Auctions for $34,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Nathan

NathanDarling Downs, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little car for those with small families and appreciate the little extras

published

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Romeo

RomeoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

published

VARUN failed to help. Maps don't update even with valid subscription. POOR customer service, expect me to pay because he dragged his feet and didn't get it done in time

Purchased in July 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
AbFab

AbFabSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful, value for money car!

published

I treated myself to my first brand new car and chose the new CX5 maxx sport in Deep Crystal Blue
it is a beautiful car with loads of useful features including call controls and cruise control on the steering wheel. Fully integrates your mobile phone to make everything seamless and easy.
Very user friendly, intuitive design and extremely comfortable to drive.
Senors ensure that parking and safety is easy and the design means no blind spots. Sound system is excellent and the split air conditioning controls mean the driver is always comfortable.
I love my new Mazda. Zoom zoom!!!

Purchased in June 2020 at Mazda Dealers for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lewis

LewisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Smooth luxury

published

Purchased the cx5 akera and every little feature in this car is great, the safety pack has everything we need to feel even safer in the car, and the leather interior and sunroof give it a luxury feel. The push button handbrake is also great for saving space.

Purchased in June 2020 at Dealer for $22,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Tan

TanCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car we’ve ever had!

published

Had this car for 7 years, bought it as a demo model. About to trade it in for something bigger but thought it was about time I gave it a review.
Looking at new cars now has made us realize just how many features this Mazda has, and how great of a car it’s been. I can’t ever own something without heated leather seats now, the Mazda has spoilt us. It hasn’t missed a beat in the whole 7 years and has been a pleasure to drive. Mazda has actually been brilliant to deal with for servicing too, a far cry from the debacle that is Ford!
Overall, a good looking, reliable, comfortable and classy car.

Purchased in May 2013 for $45,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
David C.

David C.South East Queensland, QLD

Great Car only 1 fault.

published

I have a Mazda CX5 2016 model car has always been serviced at a Mazda dealership. Car goes exceptionally well only problem I have with it is a design fault. The i-stop function should have been an option not something that is engaged every time you turn it on. Being a Diesel engine it must cause excessive use on the starter motor. Even with the i-stop off my car tries to turn off when I stop then starts up straight away. This is the only thing that would stop me from looking at another car where this function is not optional.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
sccouple

sccoupleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dreadful Tyres

published

My Mazda CX5 tyres lasted 29000klms. Woeful really. Very easy driving and rotated and aligned regularly. If you are buying a CX5 with Yokohama Geolanders fitted, then best to budget an extra $400 per year for tyre replacement. This is a 2017 2.5 litre petrol AWD with auto, purchased new.
The Yokohamas were absolutely had it at replacement. Replaced with Pirelli Verdes.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
LLS

LLS

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

very disappointing except the design

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Mazda Dealers for $36,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

This car air-conditioning is not good and bad paint of the body is very bad.

published

I bought Mazda CX5 (Akira) in 2018 . Since I bought suffering from bad air-conditioning. Despite of reporting thus they were keep saying it is up to the standard. But it is not compare with other car.
Two years old car 30k on the odometer having paint problem. In front of the car there are lot of places paint came off. Looks like chipping. Chipping can't be all over the places. My thinking is quality of paint. Very bad.

Purchased in May 2018 at Penrith mazda for $43,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
brarboyz

brarboyzPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it

published

Best car I ever had. Value of money. 7 litres urban. All sensor working great. Comfortable ride. 5 years warranty, 4 yrs free service. High quality material , feel luxurious. Best in this segment

Purchased in December 2018 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mr SS

Mr SS

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Fantastic car, navigation system is poor

published

Purchased in December 2017 for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kelly

KellyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Feels sturdy and safe and a breeze to drive

published

Purchased in January 2020 for $28,496.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Maree66

Maree66Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 20 likes

Never buy a Mazda!!!

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Mazda Dealers for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Mazda is NOT good

Mazda is NOT goodGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My real experience with Mazda Australia and Penfold Burwood after getting my CX-5 - 4 days with engine issue

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $49,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Gary S.

Gary S.asked

CX-5

I have a Mazda CX 5 but when dash would not shut down, I couldn't lock the car. A free igbnition battery replacement didn't solve the problem and I had to order a new Selection Lever Part No MZB45-46-100D at a cost of $1160 fitted. Apparently as I was told by a service person at local Mazda dealership, the previous model would have fixed this problem by exchanging a simple microswitch, which is integrated into a more substantial part into the pre 2016 model. Can this be true? Do I have any redress with Mazda...or do we just give up on such seeming examples of design idiocy and apparent money making from we poor consumers? Gary Sydney Australia

No answers
Tush

Tushasked

CX-5 KE.II (2015-2016)

Any one heard about auto transmission failure in CX-5 AWD GT model 2015?

No answers
Tony T

Tony Tasked

CX-5

2020 Mazda CX-5 Akera. Tailgate will not open if iStop stopped the engine before turning the ignition off.

Is anyone else experiencing this

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 16 Mazda CX-5
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVsMidsize / Medium SUVs
Starting Price $32,990$34,990$37,990$37,240
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Steel17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.9 L/100km6.9 L/100km7.4 L/100km6.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 56 L56 L58 L56 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.5 L4 Cylinder 2.0L
Max Power115kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm140kW @ 6000rpm115kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm252Nm @ 4000rpm200Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
  • Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC)
  • Attention Assist (Fatigue Detection)
  • Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB)
  • Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM)
  • Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
  • Forward Collision Warning
  • ISO-FIX Compatible
  • Lane Keep Assist (LKA)
  • Reversing Camera
  • Tyre Pressure Monitor (TPM)
Extra Features
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
  • Android Auto / Apple Carplay
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Automatic Wipers
  • Bluetooth Connectivity
  • Built-In Navigation System
  • Dual Zone Air Conditioning
  • Immobilizer
  • Telescoping Steering Wheel
  • USB Port
  • Voice Control
Ground Clearance193 mm193 mm193 mm193 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2015
Compare all 16 Mazda CX-5

Visit official website

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.