??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Mazda CX-5

KE.I, KE.II, KF
4.1 from 284 reviews

Reviews

4.1

284 reviews
5
(149)
4
(73)
3
(20)
2
(15)
1
(27)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (49)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (49)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (43)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (48)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (46)
  • Handling
    4.6 (44)
  • Braking
    4.6 (46)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (44)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (39)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (45)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (46)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (45)
  • Features
    4.3 (44)
  • Comfort
    4.6 (46)
Previous
Next
AbFab

AbFabSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Beautiful, value for money car!

published

I treated myself to my first brand new car and chose the new CX5 maxx sport in Deep Crystal Blue
it is a beautiful car with loads of useful features including call controls and cruise control on the steering wheel. Fully integrates your mobile phone to make everything seamless and easy.
Very user friendly, intuitive design and extremely comfortable to drive.
Senors ensure that parking and safety is easy and the design means no blind spots. Sound system is excellent and the split air conditioning controls mean the driver is always comfortable.
I love my new Mazda. Zoom zoom!!!

Purchased in June 2020 at Mazda Dealers for A$37,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lewis

LewisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Smooth luxury

published

Purchased the cx5 akera and every little feature in this car is great, the safety pack has everything we need to feel even safer in the car, and the leather interior and sunroof give it a luxury feel. The push button handbrake is also great for saving space.

Purchased in June 2020 at Dealer for A$22,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tan

TanCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 5 reviews

Best car we’ve ever had!

published

Had this car for 7 years, bought it as a demo model. About to trade it in for something bigger but thought it was about time I gave it a review.
Looking at new cars now has made us realize just how many features this Mazda has, and how great of a car it’s been. I can’t ever own something without heated leather seats now, the Mazda has spoilt us. It hasn’t missed a beat in the whole 7 years and has been a pleasure to drive. Mazda has actually been brilliant to deal with for servicing too, a far cry from the debacle that is Ford!
Overall, a good looking, reliable, comfortable and classy car.

Purchased in May 2013 for A$45,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David C.

David C.South East Queensland, QLD

Great Car only 1 fault.

published

I have a Mazda CX5 2016 model car has always been serviced at a Mazda dealership. Car goes exceptionally well only problem I have with it is a design fault. The i-stop function should have been an option not something that is engaged every time you turn it on. Being a Diesel engine it must cause excessive use on the starter motor. Even with the i-stop off my car tries to turn off when I stop then starts up straight away. This is the only thing that would stop me from looking at another car where this function is not optional.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sccouple

sccoupleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Dreadful Tyres

published

My Mazda CX5 tyres lasted 29000klms. Woeful really. Very easy driving and rotated and aligned regularly. If you are buying a CX5 with Yokohama Geolanders fitted, then best to budget an extra $400 per year for tyre replacement. This is a 2017 2.5 litre petrol AWD with auto, purchased new.
The Yokohamas were absolutely had it at replacement. Replaced with Pirelli Verdes.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
LLS

LLS

  • 4 reviews

very disappointing except the design

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Mazda Dealers for A$36,900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

This car air-conditioning is not good and bad paint of the body is very bad.

published

I bought Mazda CX5 (Akira) in 2018 . Since I bought suffering from bad air-conditioning. Despite of reporting thus they were keep saying it is up to the standard. But it is not compare with other car.
Two years old car 30k on the odometer having paint problem. In front of the car there are lot of places paint came off. Looks like chipping. Chipping can't be all over the places. My thinking is quality of paint. Very bad.

Purchased in May 2018 at Penrith mazda for A$43,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
See all answers
brarboyz

brarboyzPerth, WA

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Best car I ever had. Value of money. 7 litres urban. All sensor working great. Comfortable ride. 5 years warranty, 4 yrs free service. High quality material , feel luxurious. Best in this segment

Purchased in December 2018 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mr SS

Mr SS

  • 7 reviews

Fantastic car, navigation system is poor

published

Purchased in December 2017 for A$43,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kelly

KellyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Feels sturdy and safe and a breeze to drive

published

Purchased in January 2020 for A$28,496.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Maree66

Maree66Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Never buy a Mazda!!!

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Mazda Dealers for A$36,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Mazda is NOT good

Mazda is NOT goodGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

My real experience with Mazda Australia and Penfold Burwood after getting my CX-5 - 4 days with engine issue

published

Purchased in November 2019 for A$49,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
teag

teagNorth ryde

  • 11 reviews

Perfect upgrade from our Mazda 6

published

We have owned a Mazda 6 for 18 years and its always been very reliable. We purchased a Mazda CX-5 for an upgrade and are very happy with it.

Great value for money and all the features youd expect in a modern car.

No issues

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Abandoned by Mazda Australia.

published

My Mazda CX-5 has a Front diff seal leak it's only done 120,000klms. Repair quote $3980. I've had it since new. Mazda Aust refuse to repair. Car always serviced as per schedule. Private use only.

Purchased in June 2013 for A$46,000.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Frank Hope Valley SA

Frank Hope Valley SAMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Best car ever!

published

The Mazda CX5 is the best car we have ever bought. We bought it from Paradise Motors SA in October 2019. After considering many other medium SUVs, the CX5 confirms all the positive reviews we read months before making our decision. We chose "soul red" colour and had the MotorOne Protektiv Car Care product included. Often people remark on the quality of the paintwork (eg very shiny) and are impressed (as we are) on the general appearance of the car. It's the 4th Mazda vehicle we've had, including 3 new ones from Paradise Motors who are simply the best as far as service is concerned - we won't go anywhere else!

Purchased in October 2019 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael R.

Michael R.Canberra 2600, ACT

Looks nice but impractical

published

Looks nice drives like a dream but the centre console is like half a metre wide and highly inconvenient. Please make a slime line in future models, please and thankyou.

Purchased in January 2017 for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
esp

espMelbourne

  • 35 reviews

Zoom zoom!

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Mazda Dealers for A$29,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Predrag J.

Predrag J.

  • 2 reviews

Amazing car can not image life without it.

published

Extremely comfortable and easy to drive used in daily comutes, going to work picking up grocery etc, the car is serviced every 6 months. Have not had any issues tho when you turn the car off sometimes the monitor and ignition is still on having to turn it off twice.

Purchased in November 2012 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for A$35.99.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Comfy but noisy

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Dwyer's mazda.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
a79

a79Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 25 reviews

Such a great family car

published

We love our cx 5 it is perfect for our little family and has been very reliable and comes with such fantastic safety features
We have 3 children in car seats across the back so it’s a squishy fit but works for now
The boot space is enough for prams and such but for holidays we have found a roof pod is necessary for all the luggage
Fuel economy is pretty good and the car drives really well

Purchased in December 2012 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Michelle

Michelleasked

CX-5

Hi, I am looking at buying Mazda CX 5 2.0 sport 2020 but after reading reviews concerned at petrol consumption & using more because it doesnt have the power. I live regional but usually drive short distances & planning on a few trips up the coast & using for sleeping in the back. I had toyota corolla which was great on fuel but need a bigger car for carrying thins & sleeping in. Car brokee says it should be fine. Michelle

2 answers
AbFab
AbFab

I’m a city driver but drove 140 klms today - no problem, quarter of a tank. Used to drive a Jeep Cherokee so the Mazda is a dream!

Michelle
Michelle

Thank you. Good to know.

jared b.

jared b.asked

CX-5

Have a 2016 limited edition.
Wanting to know if there is a way to view how many km I have left to go before I need fuel. Most new cars have this. But not sure. Thanks

1 answer
Ay R.
Ay R.

Info button on the steering wheel will cycle through different options on the instrument panel screen.

Trish

Trishasked

CX-5

Purchased CX-5 November 2012 and have driven 65,600 kms and no off road, now the diff has failed and when inspected found to have water inside and completely rusted out! Has anyone else had this problem or know if this problem?

2 answers
sccouple
sccouple

Hi Trish
Have not seen this problem with a CX5 before. However, saw that a number of new Fords and Toyotas in nth qld experienced similar problems after the Townsville floods.
Early 2012 saw huge amounts of rain and inundation in nsw. Dont wish to be a harbinger of nasties, but wondering if this is a coincidence.

Trish
Trish

Maybe, but I didn’t buy it until Nov 2012 and the dealer was waiting on it, but I will look into the weather patterns for that year. Thank you for the info

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.