??!
10 photos
Mazda CX-5

Great reliable car

This is our second Mazda. I find the car functional, reliable and looks good. I gave 4 Stars because the back doesn’t quite fit 3 baby seats comfortably so we now have to consider another suv which would.

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Great Car

I purchased the Mazda CX5 and I love it. It's a wonderful car, it has a lot of safety tech and they all work perfectly well. This is the first time I own a Mazda and have had no problems with it at all. My next car will certainly be a Mazda.

Purchased in October 2018 at Mazda Dealers for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

One of the best car I've ever had

I love my mazda cx5. It's fun and soo comfortable to drive since I got the diesel one. Very good on the freeway and hilly areas, drives effortlessly. Looks very sleek and elegant. Can't fault a thing. Hopefully it will keep going like now for numbers of years.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Fun to drive car

I have a Mazda CX 5 and i usually do 70 Km per day. Very happy with the overall performance of the car. Mileage is 9.2 per 100kms with 91 octane fuel. Could have been a bit better. Otherwise I enjoy driving this car. Interior is very posh and I love the BOSE music system. No wonder CX5 is the trending SUV in the Australian car market for years.

Purchased in November 2018 at Brighton Mazda for $43,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Multiple Safety System Malfunction Messages on Hot Sunny Days

Good car but having ongoing problems with multiple safety system malfunction messages.
Cloth seats are comfortable & ride is compliant.
Petrol 2.5L motor is powerful but lacks a bit in low down torque.

Purchased in February 2019 at Penrith Mazda Centre.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Not reliable - don’t buy a lemon

Don’t buy these cars. My Mazda CX-5 diesel needed a new engine after only 90,000km due to a known manufacturing defect. Mazda has dragged it on for months. Not a reliable family car. Lots of maintenance issues once it has done over 80,000km.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew

Terrible car ! Do NOT buy it

The only good thing about Mazda CX5 is that it is a beautiful sporty car. Otherwise, the maintenance costs are way too high! Maintenance costs are comparable to that of BMW or even Mercedes Benz specially after you drive over and around 100,000 kilometers with your car ! I hate my CX5 with passion! Would buy a proper reliable German car instead of buying a rubbish Japanese car !

Purchased in December 2014 at Max Kirwin Mazda for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort

Brilliant car

have purchased a December 2018 GT 2.5 petrol... only had for a short period... truly a superb car.. all the upgraded safety tech.. apple car play..radar cruise...head up display works a treat absolute pleasure to drive.. have had Mazda’s before and ran without any trouble.. will do another review down track...

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD

Product works greatly for me

I was looking for a second vehicle for the three drivers at home. After searching online various options I was attracted to comments on Mazda Maxx CX-5 on this web site. They are genuine feedback from vehicle owners and answered most of my queries about the car I was looking for. It became no brainer to choose this car as our second car. After convincing my missus we went to look for a good deal in the market and got one from a local dealer. Having owned the vehicle for just a week we're quite happy with its performance and fuel efficiency. The only aspect I'm not fully satisfied is that CarPlay support costs extra $495 for 2018 model while 2019 model has it included (brochure for Mazda CX-5 presented to us in dealership is for 2019, as I found out later). This web site makes my life much easier to get useful feedback about product and help make informed and wise decision for small or big purchase.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2018
DriveAWD

CX5 Diesel _ Great car to drive but doubts over diesel engine reliability.

Have owned a CX5 GT Diesel for 3 years and it has been a pleasure to drive until recently. I do a long highway commute to work each day, which is why I purchased the diesel (longevity and fuel economy). Everything was fine until recently when the car started to experience loss of power and high engine temperatures (light flashed up on dash). I have it booked into the dealer to be checked, but now that I have done a bit of research it seems the diesel engine has issues with heating and blowing head gaskets, not a good issue to have for a car driven long distances in the Aussie summer. The rest of the car is to the usual Mazda quality standard, but it seems the diesel engine may have a design flaw.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2015
DriveAWD

$500 to retrofit android auto / apple carplay on 2 month old car - Ridiculous!

After receiving my brand new Mazda CX-5 GT only 2 months ago i'm now being asked to pay an additional $500 to retrofit android auto/ apple carplay unit which now comes standard on the CX-5. You'd think for people that have recently purchased a CX-5 (ie, in the last 6 months) that they would as a courtesy offer to upgrade the entertainment unit for free or at the very least a subsided price.

Very disappointing as i was expecting more from Mazda.

Will I buy a Mazda again? Hmmm, not so sure now.

BadgeGT
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Buyer beware

Beware! When driving in rainy conditions you can’t bloody see out the windscreen. The angle of the windscreen holds the water even when you have the highest speed working. It’s a new car with new windscreen wipers.
After owning lots of cars this is far the worst.
Absolute nightmare to drive in the wet. Death trap
Love to hear from other owners if they experienced the same problem

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2017

Fantastic safety features

Used every day about 70-80 k a day. Truly an Suv which is hard to beat for safety features and at the same time great looks all around. Servicing is capped for 3 years and is reasonable priced. One irritation is its very occasional habit of not restarting immediately when engaging gear at traffic lights whilst in skyactiv mode. But otherwise a great car.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

LOVE my New Car!

Parkland Mazda, W.A. were the great people who sold me my first New Car last week. I absolutely LOVE this Car, and can't believe its mine, its such a pleasure to drive - very economical, very light on the steering and whisper quiet. A/C and Sound is great, along with the stylish interior. Turbo Diesel is also very economical and highly recommended. I recommend this Car thoroughly - you won't be sorry you chose it! Thanks Parkland Mazda.

BadgeTouring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Great car

Use this car every day. Typical Mazda no issues. Not a race car but looks great and goes well. Service is expensive at a dealer, but its worth it knowing you will have trouble free driving for years to come. Love the car and will buy Mazda again for sure.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

Best car I’ve ever owned!

We use this car for family transport mainly. Often driving several hours to the county and back. We chose to do capped servicing with Mazda. I can’t fault this car. It’s been brilliant and the service at Mazda fantastic. I think we will probably need to upgrade to the cx9 when we have a second car.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

THE BEST!

Car for everyday commuting and weekend trips with the family and dog. No issues so far. A lovely upgrade with a navman, entertainment options, dashboard screen and controls in the mid section. The controls are a great change to the normal layout as it is less distracting and closer to arms length.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018

Perfect-

I love my Mazda what can I say I love it I love it. One thing that I’m not happy with is the air con and heating and the boot. But I love it it is a great car and great with petrol. Thank you Mazda I’m in love. The family also love it I have 2 children so it is very spacious.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Radio headset.

The entertainment unit whe n playing music from usb memory always restarts thebsame song every time the car is resarted.
Divers you insane.
Car is fantastic for towing our van. Economy is great.Good driving position. But the door closure warning light does not indicate which door is not closed properly.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014

Amazing!

I purchased a second hand 2015 model this year and I’m in love! In my opinion, it’s the perfect size - heaps of room for passengers and heaps of boot space without being too big that it’s hard to park. Really comfortable to drive, really quiet and reaaaaally cheap to run. I previously had a corolla and they’re close to each other with fuel consumption. I would 100% recommend this!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine SizeI’m not sure
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Page 1 of 13

Questions & Answers

What consumption do you have on CX5 2.0 petrol?
No answers

I have a Mazda CX-5 2015 model 2.5 litre petrol . I would like to know how much load it is able to carry . Mazda can’t tell me , and there is no info on the compliance plate or in the manual .
No answers

I purchased my CX-5 second hand through a mazda dealership, buying a turbo diesel as i live in the Kimberley and it will be great for exploring. I recently was on a drive back to darwin where it looks like my turbos are not in good condition, The edges of the blades dont sit flush, with 80,000km on the clock they shouldnt be so worn. Anyone else experience the same issues??
No answers

Details

CX-5 KF Maxx FWD, 2.0L Petrol, ManualCX-5 KF Maxx FWD, 2.0L Petrol, AutomaticCX-5 KF Maxx AWD, 2.5L Petrol, AutomaticCX-5 KF Maxx Sport FWD, 2.0L PetrolCX-5 KF Maxx Sport AWD, 2.5L PetrolCX-5 KF Maxx Sport AWD, 2.2L DieselCX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.5L PetrolCX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.5L Turbo PetrolCX-5 KF Akera AWD, 2.2L DieselCX-5 KF GT AWD, 2.2L DieselCX-5 KF GT AWD, 2.5L PetrolCX-5 KF GT AWD, 2.5L Turbo PetrolCX-5 KF Touring AWD, 2.2L DieselCX-5 KF Touring AWD, 2.5L PetrolCX-5 KE.ICX-5 KE.II
Starting Price $32,990$34,990$37,990$37,240$40,240$43,240$49,290$51,790$52,290$49,540$46,540$49,040$45,240$42,240
TransmissionManualAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolDieselDieselPetrolPetrolDieselPetrol
Wheels17" Steel17" Steel17" Steel17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars5 stars
Doors5555555555555555
Seats5555555555555555
Fuel Consumption6.9L/100km6.9L/100km7.4L/100km6.9L/100km7.4L/100km5.7L/100km7.4L/100km8.2L/100km5.7L/100km5.7L/100km7.4L/100km8.2L/100km5.7L/100km7.4L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 56 L56 L58 L56 L58 L58 L58 L58 L58 L58 L58 L58 L58 L58 L
Engine4 Cylinder, 2.0L4 Cylinder, 2.0L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L4 Cylinder, 2.0L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L4 Cylinder, 2.2 L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L4 Cylinder, 2.2 L4 Cylinder, 2.2 L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L4 Cylinder, 2.2 L4 Cylinder, 2.5 L
Max Power115kW@6000rpm115kW@6000rpm140kW@6000rpm115kW@6000rpm140kW@6000rpm140kw@4500rpm140kW@6000rpm170kW@5000rpm140kW@4500rpm140kW@4500rpm140kW@6000rpm170kW@5000rpm140kW@4500rpm140kW@6000rpm
Max Torque200Nm@4000rpm200Nm@4000rpm252Nm@4000rpm200Nm@4000rpm252Nm@4000rpm450Nm@2000rpm252Nm@4000rpm420Nm@2000rpm450Nm@2000rpm450Nm@2000rpm252Nm@4000rpm420Nm@2000rpm450Nm@2500rpm252Nm@4000rpm
Country of ManufactureJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapanJapan
Safety Features ABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure MonitorABS (Antilock Braking System), Active Cruise Control, AEB (Auto Emergency Braking), Blindspot Warning System, Driver Attention Detection, ESC (Electronic Stability Control), Forward Collision Warning, ISO-fix Compatible, Lane Assist, Reversing Camera, Seat Belt Reminders, Traction Control and Tyre Pressure Monitor
Extra Features Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Immobilizer, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Immobilizer, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Immobilizer, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Immobilizer, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice Control360° Camera, Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Heated Steering Wheel, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice Control360° Camera, Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Heated Steering Wheel, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice Control360° Camera, Android Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Heated Steering Wheel, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Heated Seats, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Sunroof, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice ControlAndroid Auto / Apple Carplay, Automatic Headlights, Automatic Wipers, Bluetooth Connectivity, Built-In Navigation System, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Heads-up Display, Immobilizer, Keyless Entry, Telescoping Steering Wheel, USB Port and Voice Control
Ground Clearance193 mm193 mm193 mm193 mm193 mm193 mm200 mm200 mm200 mm200 mm200 mm200 mm193 mm193 mm
Maximum Towing Capacity (braked)1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg1,800 kg2,000 kg1,800 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg1,800 kg2,000 kg2,000 kg1,800 kg
Maximum Towing Capacity (unbraked)750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg750 kg
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2015Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2018Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2018Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2012Jan 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2014Dec 2016
Replaced byMazda CX-5 KE.IIMazda CX-5 KF

Visit official website

Similar listings