??!
1 photo
Bosch AXT Rapid 2200

Bosch AXT Rapid 2200

2.8 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (4)
  • Portability
    4.0 (4)
  • Blade Durability
    2.0 (4)
Previous
Next

Garbage

published

Lousy from the start. It jams frequently and now cuts out as soon as is switched on. Utter garbage and a complete waste of money. Avoid it at all costs.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools

Bosch AXT rapid 2200 vs AXT 2000

published

No comparison. My old model (AXT 2000) had a helix cutter that would draw in the material and cut it evenly and into a nice fine mulch. It was very robust and utilised a gearbox arrangement on the drive. Very well engineered. I bought this 2200 instead of buying a new helix cutter as the cost was going to be over half of the new 2200 and my 2000 was 15 yrs old. Very poor decision on my part. The 2000 keeps cutting out and the blade "mauls" the material not cut it. I have only used it about 12 times and really regret buying it.

Purchased in February 2020 at Mitre 10 for A$489.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools

Bosch disappointment - the 2200

published

Until the first engine failure, it started well enough.
It struggled, leading me to reduce the size of anything that I tried to shred in it.
The agents took some time to decide on a course of action the first failure - the back garden became unsightly with piles of cuttings still awaiting their shredding.
https://youtu.be/ghi7QeSw-jI I purchased a Morrison from local agent.

Purchased in May 2018 at Mitre 10.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
3 comments
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools
C3PO
C3PO

Thank you Gracie - I did not receive the back up and support that would have retained my custom.
I am most disappointed in the help given here in NZ.

Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools
Garden Shredders

Find out how Bosch AXT Rapid 2200 compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

To be 100% honest ... Rubbish

published

I like Bosch, I have numerous tools from them but the AXT RaPID 2200 is totally rubbish !
Quite simply it does not work !!!!
The old version ( cutting screw) was good but this revolving blade design is ................well garbage
It jams , will only cut 1/4" if you are lucky before it clogs up.
Quite simply look at others or buy an original Bosch shredder

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Peterb666

Peterb666Merimbula

  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

Works well but beware of the design flaw in the switch

published
Date PurchasedDec 2013

Good until the motor seized

published
Date PurchasedSep 2015
really

reallyAdelaide, South Australia

  • 17 reviews
  • 12 likes

Does the job well

published

I cannot understand the poor reviews of this fantastic workhorse. No, I am not a Bosch employee. I have used this machine frequently in the last 12 months. It smashes up small solid branches, the diameter as recommended in the instructions, efficiently. I have have had minimal problems with clogging as such. I have used the reverse button to clear it now and again and this does the trick. As for the blades, no issues whatsoever. This machine has gobbled up Gum branches, Acacia, Olive, fruit tree and other cuttings. It has been simply amazing. We have a big yard and this machine has been the best thing since sliced bread. This machine has been faultless.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
  • Verified purchase

Tends to clog, and the safety cutout switch is flimsy

published

This machine type relies on keeping the blade sharp for efficient cutting. The blades get blunt quickly and are expensive to replace, so it is adviseable to sharpen the blades yourself. Jamming seemed to be exacerbated by a lip on the body projecting past the lid into the outlet chute. Trimming it back reduces blockage. The safety cut out is a flimsy device and sometimes prevent starting. It may be possible to bypass the cutout in the future if needed but would invalidate warranty and create danger.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Consumer555

Consumer555Sydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 21 likes
  • Verified purchase

9 months and then dead. It was OK while it lived.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Garden Shredders

Find out how Bosch AXT Rapid 2200 compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Waste of money

published

This machine is no use wahatsoever. Constantly jamming or blocking. Only a few minutes of work and have to stop and clean it out. Won’t work on any wet stuff old stuff or any branches. Better to spend your money and order some mulch. Not to mention the hours wasted spent trying to mulch and only getting frustrated and annoyed.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Phil W

Phil W

  • 2 reviews

Died after 2 uses

published

I purchased this device on the 25th Jan to process garden cuts at home,
Day 1 first use, OK the long leaf stuff just runs through or comes out looking like string. but otherwise OK
March 4th I bring it out, got 1 branch into it, and it jammed, now when it starts it seems to run faster than normal but shuts down as soon as it gets up to speed, Sunday therefore is a waste of time.
I am returning for refund. Dead loss, will go back to burning waste and using ashes on garden,

Date PurchasedJan 2018
NGW

NGWMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Does the job but with some shortcomings

published

The shredder does the job I bought it for, shredding small branches and twigs.However, I must agree with previous reviews which mentioned various shortcomings. One is that the shredder clogs up far too often. It is easy to free it up again, but it is a nuisance and time-wasting that you have to do this so often. The other issue is that it does not shred small twigs properly. In most cases they come out cut back to just approx 10cm long thin twigs without any further cutting applied.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
NGW
NGW

I made above comment 9 days ago. Having used the shredder now a fair bit for small twigs and branches well below 40mm, I feel like downgrading my review to a bad, mostly because of the poor quality of the blades which wear out far too quickly.

Total garbage.

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Mulga Bill

Mulga BillBankstown

I like the Bosch ATX Rapid 2200

published

I bought this shredder on 24/ October/2016 after doing a lot of research on line. Despite contradictory reviews I bought it. My main need was to shred a lot of thin leafy material from some recent trimming and some branches. I wanted a fine mulch which was not going to be produced by some of the other models. After the initial use use yesterday I have found the Bosch AXT 2200 to meet all my expectations. I am happy with it and would certainly buy at again. I am particularly happy with the large opening to feed in the branches and the rapid shredding, plus the fine mulch produced. If Bosch could make it be able to shred even thicker branches eg 50mm or more, it would be even better. However overall I am happy with it and would recommend it.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Sandy

SandyCairns

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not made for the tropics

published

Bought this shredder a year ago. No good on banana leaves, heloconias and palm leaves, which is most of our mulching material. Instead of shredding it creates long twine material that winds around the cutter causing it to jam. Have tried cutting things into shorter pieces but makes no difference. Agree with other reviews about clogging up, does it regularly if there is moisture in the cuttings. Needs a much bigger, wider shute. Not up to the job for our tropics backyard, not value for money.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Garden Shredders

Find out how Bosch AXT Rapid 2200 compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bee Bee

Bee BeeAuckland

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Useful but not perfect

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Sj1

Sj1

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for the price

published

Bought it and assembled it to chop up some very dry twigs from last year's pruning - worked fabulously until I put too thick a branch in which clogged it up immediately! Once unblocked, it was then used on some green cuttings from this year's pruning - worked well until it clogged up with the green mulch sticking to the cutting blades. Very easy to open and unclog, so it is a minor nuisance at best. It is probably a good idea to make sure the chute is clean and unclogged after each use, and to mix dry and moist matter when mulching.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Tim46

Tim46Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Had it for two weeks so far..

published

Does what it says. Cuts branches up to 40mm diameter and shreds them well. Green wood or drier wood doesn't matter and works well. No complaints. How it goes over the long term I dont know but initial impressions are very good. I find Bosch very reliable, have a drill and dishwasher that are both great.

1 comment
Tim46
Tim46

Still using it with no issues. It's also really easy to clean.

Dan Johnson

Dan JohnsonSunshine Coast, QLD

  • 90 reviews
  • 120 likes

Good machine if you can sharpen blades

published
1 comment
Dan Johnson
Dan Johnson

Tip: use an angle grinder with a twisted wire cup brush to keep the blades and turntable free of resin fouling.

Waste of time and money

published

I have had a Bosch AXT 2000 HP for a number of years and apart from replacing the "chopper" it has given sterling service. I recently decided to upgrade to the AXT Rapid 2200 and to say it is disappointing would give it a complement. It will not mulch palm leaves as did the other model and clogs up constantly. I wish I could get my money back.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Kevin Graham

Kevin Grahamasked

My AXT Rapid Multcher will start but stops working in a few seconds?.... every thing is clean and tight with no vibration..... it was working fine then stopped? Any help?

1 answer
Sandy
Sandy

Haven't had your particular probelm. Up until a few weeks ago mine was running OK. However, one day I switched it off to get some more cuttings and it wouldn't switch back on again. Hasn't worked since. I think the on/off switch is the problem. Undecided whether to get it repaired as it only does half the job I need (ie chokes up on ginger and banana plant cuttings).

Dakes Parker

Dakes Parkerasked

Is there a service facility available for Bosch Shredders?

3 answers
H Hoffmann
H Hoffmann

There are a number of licensed Bosch Service dealers listed on their website here: http://www.bosch-pt.com.au/au/en/professional/service/after-sales-service/authorised-bosch-service-dealers/authorised-bosch-service-dealers.html
They also have a Bosch service centre in Clayton Victoria.

Lily V
Lily V

I have had the same issue. There is a magnet inside the motor which comes loose and needs to be glued back on. I found a Utube video by a russian guy that shows how to fix it.

Ian B
Ian B

Many thanks, have you got a link to the video or what to search for so I can find it. I will look for the loose magnet, but expert advice is always good.

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Power Tools representatives

Details

CategoryGarden Shredders
Price (RRP)$399
Power2200W
Cutting Capacity40mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.