??!
2 photos
Hansa C7

Hansa C7

4.4 from 22 reviews

Reviews

(18)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Portability
    3.0 (1)
  • Blade Durability
    4.5 (2)


Michael K

Michael KSydney Surrounds, NSW

HANSA C7

published

had lots of chippers shredders,bought this used about 4 year ago after adjusting new blades and putting new belts on it has completed an enormous amount of work I have cut down 20 trees on this house block there are lots that remain and require general trimming, would love to get the later model I have used it to chip leftover timber it has saved a lot more than its purchase cost in tip fees and the time it takes to complete a task, recommend these machines excellent value, never mind the cost look at what it does.

Purchased in March 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
1 comment
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hansa C7 is just amazing

published

The Hansa C7 is the perfect machine for a lifestyle block. I find myself using it 2-3 times a week and have owned it for a couple of years now. Its had a service (thanks to the excellent service standards of STIHL Shop in Richmond) - belt replaced but not much else. Of course, you need to take care of the machine and not overload it or put anything too large in but that is just common sense.

Purchased in January 2017 at Stihl Dealer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Blade Durability
See all answers
1 comment
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Thanks you for your review Garden Fanatic. We're so pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your machine and the service provided through our dealers.
Kind Regards,
The Hansa Team

DHT

DHT

  • 3 reviews

Great mulching machine perfect for my needs

published
1 comment
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hi DHT,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you are satisfied with your purchase and wish you many more happy years of chipping. :-)
Kind regards,
The Hansa Team.

Absolute frustration

published

Have given up on this machine bought new. So frustrating to have to stop it constantly due to clogging. Won’t take anything slightly moist. So temperamental I’ve gone back to burning. Easy to start. Previously made all my own garden compost with another brand which was hard to start but chewed through everything.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Mark Radnor

Mark RadnorWangaratta

  • Verified purchase

Excellent. Wish I'd bought one 20 years ago.

published

I've been burning all my garden waste for years.....what a pity. This machine is easy to start, easy to use, chomps up big branches, and produces mulch. It's all made with high quality components and finishes, and a Honda motor, will last me years. I've already sharpened the blades, easy to do and a delight to see how well it is all made.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hansa Chippers


Bernard Flynn

Bernard FlynnSouth West, WA

  • Verified purchase

The machine is more than adequate for our 1/2 acre property

published

The machine can handle most twigs and branches provided that you feed in with caution. I sometimes experience blockages with wet leaves and branches. The engine has been easy to start so far and has not stalled under heavy loads and seems suitably sized for the application.The only problem has been with one wheel which was damaged prior to delivery (the rim was dented) causing repeated slow leaks and flats. Hansa have now replaced the wheel.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hansa Chippers


Glen

GlenBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

8+ years and still going strong

published
Date PurchasedJan 2009

  • Verified purchase

Value for money

published

Hard to receive value nowadays but the Hansa C7 Chipper has been one.My honest opinion is if you maintain this machine ,keep the blades sharp and set correctly, grease the nibbles and follow manufactures recommendations this machine for the average household should last a lifetime.That would make it great value in my opinion.I made the mistake of lending it to my neighbour and he dropped a set of hand held hardened secateurs into the machine, that was no problem for Hansa C7 they came out the chute in about 400 pieces and he then carried on chipping for the rest of the day.When I found out I checked the machine over for damage and only found the blades needed sharpening. I'm very happy with our machine and love the mulch.

Date PurchasedMay 2010

Review collected in partnership with Hansa Chippers

Mark Barnes

Mark BarnesDarwin, NT

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

What an awesome machine

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
3 comments
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hi Mark, thanks for the great review! Look forward to the update.

Mark Barnes
Mark Barnes
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hi Mark, thanks for the great suggestion, the torque settings will be included in the next manual update due in February 2018. If you wish, we can send you the updated version when available. Send an email to admin@hansachippers.com.au.

Wayne

WayneNewcastle

zero warranty.

published

the machine is made very heavy, yet not strong enough to run up and down a ramp for transport. and the PR guy is not a reasonable person (like most) I've had bolts come loose and snap off, being soft metal. now I need to weld an angle between the axels to stop the tyres rubbing against the machine.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

  • Verified purchase

Fantastic Chipper!

published

I am a professional gardener in Melbourne and I use my Hansa C7 Chipper almost everyday. Has saved me a fortune in tipping costs as I just shred everything into the trailer. I can fit 3 trailer loads of rubbish into a single trailer and only get charged once! I have put entire trees through this thing and chipped it up.

Only issue... get a bottle of Locktight and make sure all nuts and bolts are secure as they will vibrate off with extended use.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Review collected in partnership with Hansa Chippers


  • Verified purchase

Great Chipper - proud to say its Australian

published

Did everything i expected plus more. What a fantastic chipper. Makes me proud to be Australian with a high quality product like this going around. Never faulted once, and never did it let me down. The product is just QUALITY PLUS and unlike any other out there. Go Hansa. .

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Review collected in partnership with Hansa Chippers


Nuts getting loose very often, machine stops frequently, unable to transport for repairs as it is to

published

Unless you have a Trailer, should not buy this chipper. Not good for average back yard, very heavy and nobody wants to transport. Very noisy.
I asked the dealer to pick up and repair the Chipper that I would pay the cost, did not have any corporation from the dealer, contacted manufacturer who advise me to take to any Mover shop. Mover shop could not repair it.

Date PurchasedNov 2013

Deedub

DeedubMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews

Incredible, much better than expected!

published

Bought an electric 'mulcher' from a popular hardware dealership - it was a waste of money. Kept jamming and just couldn't do the job. After this disaster, we tried hard to justify the heaps more dollars to buy the C7. Simply we shouldn't have worried and should have bought the C7 first. It works brilliantly with everything we can throw at it on our 9 acre property. It continually surprises us just how good it is at chipping and mulching everything we put through it, and gives us good mulch for our garden. Totally recommend this product.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Does what it says it will.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Captjas

CaptjasSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great poduct

published

Had this chipper working hard for 18 months now , only had to sharpen blades as you would expect ,,, if your thinking about a purchase ,rest assured you will not be disappointed , we use ours every two weeks and mulch our garden , this machine eats eats and eats , 5 stars


Zaphod

ZaphodQueensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Solid

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016

sos_nz

sos_nzPalmerston North

  • Verified purchase

Very solid, reliable performer for the home garden

published

TIG65

TIG65

  • 5 reviews
  • 18 likes

Very well designed machine that excels

published

Well the Hansa replaced a very ordinary Peacemaker that kept braking crankshafts and never did a great job.

The Hansa shreds 10 times faster than the Peacemaker ever did and is a superior belt driven design.
This means it's easier to start as the heavy fly wheel is decoupled reducing stresses on the motor.

Great Honda motor runs smoothly and starts easily.
Overall a very well designed and built shredder but expensive.

It's nice when a machine just does its job with no fuss!


johnh72

johnh72AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works well for for certain workloads; with one key design fault

published
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Peter B.

Peter B.asked

How much does it cost

1 answer
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your enquiry.

Our C7 chipper retails for $2,995.00 including GST.

If you require assistance in locating your nearest Hansa dealer please do not hesitate to contact us on 1800 426 722.

Kind Regards,
The Hansa Team


Keatings

Keatingsasked

I do lots of palms and lots of foxtails. They seem to wear blades quickly. Machine has done about 35 hrs. I am on 3rd set of blades and need to turn anvil around. Is this normal? Any suggestions?
Can anvil be resharpened? If so, what cutting angle?

3 answers
Mark Radnor
Mark Radnor

I have had the blades sharpened - not replaced - 3 times. (Cost $20 each time). The anvil is at 90deg, (blades 40 deg) you should be able to rotate it once, then I'd guess resharpen it or get a new one. Wear depends on what you are chipping with the machine, perhaps palms are more abrasive, particular if dry. Ask the Hansa people, they are very helpful and have given me a jig (which I have not used yet) for resetting the blades after sharpening.

Keatings
Keatings

I sharpen my blades also. What does jig do? Is it to get correct anvil setting?

Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hi Keatings, Mark is right, you can get your blades sharpened and it is quite affordable. For you to be going through blades that quick and the anvil needing replacement you must be putting through small stones or something similar (grit or sand) when picking up the palms from the ground. We sell hundreds of sets of blades a year but i could count the fingers on one hand the amount of anvils we sell a year.
You cannot sharpen the anvil as this will increase the gap between the blade and the angle too much. Turn it around 180 degrees and use but under normal working conditions this should last you at least 3 years.


Tgee

Tgeeasked

Hi. When my c7 is fully disengaged and powered up I notice the flywheel will spin slowly before I start to wind to engage, the belts seem to contact the pulleys sufficiently for this to happen. Is this normal? Belt issue perhaps? Only 4 hrs through the machine.

1 answer
Hansa Chippers
John L.Hansa Chippers

Hi Tgee,
Thank you for contact us in office yesterday.
We hope the information provided was of assistance.
If we are able to assist any further, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1800 426 722.
Kind Regards,
The Hansa Team


Get an answer from our members and Hansa Chippers representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.