??!
9 photos
Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines

Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines

WAT24261AU, WAT24220AU, WAU28490AU, etc...
3.9 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

How to buy the best washing machine

A good washing machine is essential to every household, and while they all serve the same purpose, the variety of machines available can make purchasing one a puzzle. This buying guide will take you through each type of machine, and explain what to look for in each to guarantee you’re making the most informed choice possible when shopping.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (15)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (19)
Previous
Next
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Leaking Beyond Repair After 2.5 Years

published

Thought this machine was quite good after a top loader and was fairly quiet and washed ok. However after 2.5 yrs started leaking. Serviceman said something like a screw or coin had cracked the outside drum, yes, it is stainless steel on inside but plastic around it, apparently. Said it happens often. Replacement component ~$800 AU. Will now change brands but am told many have a plastic drum. Haven't found the supposed offending object.

Purchased in April 2018 for A$940.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Paul
Paul

Too late. We also had a Bosch oven that failed and that was repaired under warranty 3 times and still wasn't fixed. Got our money back and bought Asko.

Caz

CazFrankston

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

So quiet and the best washing machine ever

published

I bought this 10kg machine so l could was doona's and blankets and it's perfect. lt has a lot a different cycles for wool, delicates and a cycle for allergies. So much to love about this quality machine.

Purchased in October 2020 at e&s for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Lou

LouMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 6 likes

Good reliable clean washes every time...

published

Decided to try a different brand to previous purchases and went for this Bosch front loader.

Haven't been disappointed. Easy to use in terms of pre-set programs and washing for a family of 4 is not a problem/

Can't fault it and would happily recommend it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$844.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michaela

Michaela

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great looking washing machine and washes well

published

I have 2 young boys so the clothes I usually wash are heavily soiled - this Bosch washing machine does a great job cleaning them. I’m also very happy with the look of it and it’s nice and quiet too.

Purchased in June 2020 at The Good Guys.

Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Cat

Cat

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely disappointed and would not recommend this machine

published

Purchased in May 2020 at The Good Guys for A$1,354.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeBeko BDP810W
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Kristina

KristinaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Good washing machine but after a few years has got some issues

published

I bought it three years ago and I was very happy with my purchase. But a few months ago the washing machine has got an issue with its door. it does not close properly, the rubber band around the washing machine's door has become weak and I have to push the door a few times for the program to start work. Sometimes the display does not work and I have to click on it several times. Oh well maybe it's time to replace it.

Purchased in January 2018 at Appliancesonline for A$805.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeFisher & Paykel 4.5kg DE45F56AW
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Emily H

Emily HOrange nsw

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

So disappointed I’m selling it

published

I bought this machine after using a 7.5kg Samsung for ten years. This 9kg doesn’t fit any more than my old one which was the only reason I upgraded.

On top of that my load of white sheets came out with stains still on them. This was on the 1:04 cotton speed cycle. One hour was plenty for spotless sheets in my old machine.

The cycle options are so disappointing. I can choose around an hour and have dirty clothes or wait 2.40 for clean. No options in between. I thought I’d be spending less time washing. Now i can’t even get the washing done in one day.

Also even though this machine spins at 1400 (my old one 1200) the clothes are coming out wetter.

Purchased in March 2020 at Appliances Online for A$919.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Emily H
Emily H
magaret

magaretGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Sorry I purchased it

published

Purchased in March 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
magaret
magaret
Erica

EricaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

'Unlock' function is excellent!

published

I was drawn to the Bosch front load washing machine due to the feature of being able to unlock the door mid cycle which I have not been able to do with a front loader before.
Is extremely quiet, except for the load beeps at the end of the wash which would be nice if you could turn down as I find them very load and the periodically repeat until you open the machine.
It is excellent quality and looks lovely stacked with a Bosch dryer.
I bought the additional stacking kit but it doesn't need it as they stack easily with just some non-slip mat between.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeBosch HomeProfessional Heat Pump Tumble Dryers
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shirley

ShirleyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

cleanest, softest clothes

published

I bought this product after reading Choice recommendations. The clothes are noticeably cleaner and softer than the last machine I had. It was not the cheapest, but after having trouble getting the last machine fixed by the manufacturer I was looking at after sales assistance as well. Very happy with the product.

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
terri

terriAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

A nightmare and I’m in tears!

published

Purchased at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Pete from Vic

Pete from VicGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works but many annoying quirks

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Appliances Online for A$839.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Marilyn

MarilynMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Lasted 7 months

published

I was very happy with this machine, until a coin punctured a hole in the outer drum after only seven months and water started pouring all over the floor. It is not covered by warranty because a coin is a foreign object - although in my opinion coins are a common item to carry in your pockets and a washing machine should be able to withstand the odd coin going through every now and then. It makes me wonder what would happen if a metal button came off your jeans during a wash. I was not aware that the outer drum was made of plastic. Only Miele and Asko make domestic machines with a stainless steel outer drum.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Melvin T.

Melvin T.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

AN AWESOME & SILENT PERFORMER

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Shellby

ShellbyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 19 likes

Great Washing Machine and Love It

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Dryer TypeFisher and Paykel
See all answers
Front Loading Washing Machines

Find out how Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines compares to other Front Loading Washing Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alain

Alain

  • 2 reviews

disappointing

published

Compared to my old top loader, this machine does not clean as well, does not spin as dry and towels especially are left very stiff. I am not sure how anyone could fit the maximum of 8 kg of clothes in it. It is also more expensive to run as it uses only cold water intake and I need to wash before my solar panels are producing enough. I use a 20 or 30 heating and the recommended detergent but have had to reduce the amount to achieve good rinsing even though I use the extra rinse. However, it is quiet and does not take too long. It is water efficient. I have used various settings and like to variety to suit different fabrics.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Alain,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your washing machine.
We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744 well investigate for you. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Annabell

Annabell

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Disappointed

published

It washes clean, however, it shrinks the clothing when it's not on a delicate mode. We tried to call Bosch multiple times and we can't get a hold of anyone who we can speak to. They told us that they will call us back and it never happened. I tried to post a review on their website but they didn't allow it to go live. Bosch probably only allows positive reviews to be displayed on their website. Disappointed for such a reputable company to have such horrendous customer service.

Purchased in November 2018 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
SieFou

SieFou

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Magnificent washing machine.

published

Amazing machine, extraordinary value for money.
Very good working machine, have not have clothes come out dirty.
Efficient on water and energy (when used with the proper settings).

Clothes come out fairly dry too with the high spin cycle.
Has not missed a beat since november 2017.

Can highly recommend!

Purchased in November 2017 for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Sahar M.

Sahar M.saharwem@yahoo.com

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing washing machine!

published

The best washing machine I have ever used. It is very easy to use, very quite and the result is an immaculately clean wash. I bought for under $1000 which is very cheap for such an great washing machine.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Rebecca Clare

Rebecca ClareTORQUAY

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great washer for busy family

published

This does the job well almost every time. I have a toddler who gets her clothes very grubby, and we are an active family with plenty of sports clothing to wash. Clothes come out clean, and it seems to handle delicates well. My whites come out very white on a Cottons and pre wash cycle.
I use the 45 minute wash for daily washes and it does the job well.
It isn't too noisy and doesn't move - the spin is a bit noisy but that is to be expected. Great value for the price.

Purchased in October 2018 at The Good Guys for A$840.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Nagihan S.

Nagihan S.asked

Serie 6 WAP28482AU

Hi,

I have purchased this washing machine and really trusted Bosch as a brand. Unfortunately I have realised by time that the machine does not foam up if there is more clothes than half way up. This is a 9kg washing machine and it is very disappointing to not be able to wash with a full machine of clothes. I’ve tried full but doesn’t wash well. The water usage is so minimum that you feel like you are watching it wash without water. Sad to say but I wish I hadn’t brought this machine.
Is there anyway to increase the foaming as I fell it does not wash well enough just seeing it tumble without nearly any water and foam?

Thank you

2 answers
Caz
Caz

l don't know the answer to that sorry

Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Nagihan S,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Washing Machine.
We'd like to help, if you email us at socialmedia.au@bshg.com, quoting BSH11406 in the subject line with your contact number. We’ll investigate for you.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Janey M

Janey Masked

Serie 6 WAU28490AU

Just wondering what is the quickest wash cycle and can you adjust the spin higher and lower on each selected cycle?

1 answer
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Janey M,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch WAU28490AU Washing Machine. The quickest cycle is mixed load. This program duration is 1 1/4 h. Adjustments can be made to the spin.
If you need any more help, feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia

Louise

Louiseasked

Serie 6 WAT24261AU

Hi are you able to stop the wash and open the door during a wash cycle, can you use just cold water? or does every wash have to use hot water

2 answers
Caz
Caz

Hi Louise, it's connected to a cold water tap only. lt heats the water if you want to do a hot/warm wash. l have not tried to stop it or open the door. l have'nt fully read the manual so l don't know.

Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Louise,
Thanks for question. We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744. Be sure to provide your model number & we’ll investigate for you. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines
Bosch Serie 6 WAP24261AU
  • Discontinued

Bosch Serie 6 WAP24261AU

3.3
(4)
CategoryFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing MachinesFront Loading Washing Machines
Price (RRP) A$1,399.00A$1,899.00A$1,399.00
Capacity9 kg8 kg
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesDoor/Lid Lock (Child-proof) and Reload/Add WashAuto Balancing and Door/Lid Lock (Child-proof)
Energy Rating5 star(s)4 star(s)
Water Rating4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Drum MaterialStainless SteelPlastic
Colour / FinishWhiteWhite
Dimensions 848 x 598 x 590 mm848 x 598 x 590 mm
Max Spin Speed 1,400 rpm1,200 rpm
Maximum Noise Level69 db74 db
Number of Wash Cycles12
Weight72.6 kg71 kg
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermany
StackableNoYes
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual and manual 2Download manual
Compare all 5 Bosch Serie 6 Front Load Washing Machines

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.